Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 07:34:37 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 ... 139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux mining distro for the Raspberry PI - MinePeon  (Read 684871 times)
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1014



View Profile WWW
August 14, 2013, 01:24:30 PM
 #1061

I am waiting for 0.2.3 image, after the FS on my previous 0.2.2 installation SD card got corrupted. I think the hubs were drawing too much from RPi.

In any case, I'll need to recreate all my settings and configurations from scratch, so a fresh 0.2.3 would be welcome. Wink

Oh, and a note to self. Once I have everything configured (again), I need to take a backup image of that SD card.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
1713555277
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713555277

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713555277
Reply with quote  #2

1713555277
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: mining our own business since 2009" -- Pieter Wuille
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713555277
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713555277

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713555277
Reply with quote  #2

1713555277
Report to moderator
1713555277
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713555277

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713555277
Reply with quote  #2

1713555277
Report to moderator
1713555277
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713555277

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713555277
Reply with quote  #2

1713555277
Report to moderator
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1082


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2013, 09:14:00 PM
 #1062

Can i change a const in cgminer in minepeon? Its the maximum voltage for bitburners i want to change. I didnt test minepeon yet but it sounds like its ready to run so i dont know how far i can change the sourcecode and compile it.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
Zeronic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 243
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 10:02:42 PM
 #1063

I was do a little testing with BFGMiner and X6500, you only need to do the following to get them working.

sudo nano /etc/udev/rules.d/90-x6500.rules

SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTR{idVendor}=="0403", ATTR{idProduct}=="6001", MODE="0660", GROUP="minepeon"

BFGminer will see the miner with out that line but you will need to sudo for it to work, this just applies the KISS method.

  ●   John McAfee Supports   ●
 ❰❰❰❰❰❰  Advertising Platform  ❱❱❱❱❱❱   
● ▬▬▬▬▬ ● ▬▬▬▬▬ ●●●    ●  YOUC  ●    ●●● ▬▬▬▬▬ ● ▬▬▬▬▬ ●
dave111223
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2013, 10:35:11 PM
 #1064

thats what i'm going off of except i did it from bottom to top so
Code:
sudo systemctl enable openntpd.service
sudo ntpd -s
date
to make sure its the right date
webpage says :Server Time: Wed, 31 Dec 1969 18:04:03 CST
and at the top it says:Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-3357)
so did i do it in the wrong order?

I'm getting to the same problem frequently, is there a way to try different time servers?  Maybe there is an issue with the default server.
yxzq
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 10:52:11 PM
 #1065

Can i change a const in cgminer in minepeon? Its the maximum voltage for bitburners i want to change. I didnt test minepeon yet but it sounds like its ready to run so i dont know how far i can change the sourcecode and compile it.

The next version will make that easy.

But for version 0.2.2, add a setting in /opt/minepeon/etc/miner.conf like:
"bitburner-voltage" : 5
Then restart the miner and it will load the new config.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 11:56:22 PM
 #1066

Can i change a const in cgminer in minepeon? Its the maximum voltage for bitburners i want to change. I didnt test minepeon yet but it sounds like its ready to run so i dont know how far i can change the sourcecode and compile it.

The next version will make that easy.

But for version 0.2.2, add a setting in /opt/minepeon/etc/miner.conf like:
"bitburner-voltage" : 5
Then restart the miner and it will load the new config.
Yeah except it has to be valid otherwise cgminer will quit.
This will tell you the valid values for your board (if you only have one asic) while cgminer is running and the first ASIC is a BTB
java API "ascset|0,help"
At the moment it's 1000 to 1310 (mV)

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 299
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 15, 2013, 01:26:32 AM
 #1067

I saw on this forum somewhere an image of a mining rig with an LCD display showing its vital stats. Can this be done with MinePeon? Are there instructions anywhere?
dave111223
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2013, 03:16:53 AM
 #1068

Hooked up 100 USB miners, using 2 raspberry PI.

In my testing each raspberry can only handle about 45 miners, after that the additional miners just don't get detected.  However after you get into the 35+ range you start to get a much higher rate of HW errors.

So I had to split the miners 34 per raspberry and 32 on my desktop, got another raspberry in the mail, so will run 3 total to handle all 100 miners.



Currently cooled with just a standard room fan, but the rig really doesn't run that hot so I think I'll replace that fan with a small USB fan for each hub.
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2013, 03:27:54 AM
 #1069

I'm now mining with cgminer 3.3.4. Thanks, Neil & Kano & yxzq and all other that are working for the best mining system: MinePeon.


Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 15, 2013, 04:06:23 AM
 #1070

Since I've added the new % fields to the API, I've found that using them in the LCD display solves for when you hash too fast and run out of space
I sent an update to cardcomm:
https://github.com/cardcomm/cgminerLCDStats/pull/4
As usual I don't know much about python and spent most of the time working out the 'in' lines Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 15, 2013, 04:12:59 AM
 #1071

Hooked up 100 USB miners, using 2 raspberry PI.

In my testing each raspberry can only handle about 45 miners, after that the additional miners just don't get detected.  However after you get into the 35+ range you start to get a much higher rate of HW errors.

So I had to split the miners 34 per raspberry and 32 on my desktop, got another raspberry in the mail, so will run 3 total to handle all 100 miners.

Currently cooled with just a standard room fan, but the rig really doesn't run that hot so I think I'll replace that fan with a small USB fan for each hub.

Almost a grand for the hubs ya madman , Excellent rig.
bzh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2013, 04:17:44 AM
 #1072

Hooked up 100 USB miners, using 2 raspberry PI.

In my testing each raspberry can only handle about 45 miners, after that the additional miners just don't get detected.  However after you get into the 35+ range you start to get a much higher rate of HW errors.

So I had to split the miners 34 per raspberry and 32 on my desktop, got another raspberry in the mail, so will run 3 total to handle all 100 miners.

Currently cooled with just a standard room fan, but the rig really doesn't run that hot so I think I'll replace that fan with a small USB fan for each hub.

Almost a grand for the hubs ya madman , Excellent rig.

US $559.04 for 6
 http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Great-price-Sipolar-20-port-USB2-0-HUB-USB-HUB-Copy-Industry-level-HUB-Original-quality/979153532.html
dave111223
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2013, 04:29:57 AM
 #1073

Hooked up 100 USB miners, using 2 raspberry PI.

In my testing each raspberry can only handle about 45 miners, after that the additional miners just don't get detected.  However after you get into the 35+ range you start to get a much higher rate of HW errors.

So I had to split the miners 34 per raspberry and 32 on my desktop, got another raspberry in the mail, so will run 3 total to handle all 100 miners.

Currently cooled with just a standard room fan, but the rig really doesn't run that hot so I think I'll replace that fan with a small USB fan for each hub.

Almost a grand for the hubs ya madman , Excellent rig.

US $559.04 for 6
 http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Great-price-Sipolar-20-port-USB2-0-HUB-USB-HUB-Copy-Industry-level-HUB-Original-quality/979153532.html

Yeah that's where I ordered them, I figured it would be better than trying to mess around with smaller ones.

At least after my USBs are no longer profitable...I'll be able to charge all of my 120 cellphones at once
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 15, 2013, 04:31:55 AM
 #1074

Hooked up 100 USB miners, using 2 raspberry PI.

In my testing each raspberry can only handle about 45 miners, after that the additional miners just don't get detected.  However after you get into the 35+ range you start to get a much higher rate of HW errors.

So I had to split the miners 34 per raspberry and 32 on my desktop, got another raspberry in the mail, so will run 3 total to handle all 100 miners.

Currently cooled with just a standard room fan, but the rig really doesn't run that hot so I think I'll replace that fan with a small USB fan for each hub.

Almost a grand for the hubs ya madman , Excellent rig.

US $559.04 for 6
 http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Great-price-Sipolar-20-port-USB2-0-HUB-USB-HUB-Copy-Industry-level-HUB-Original-quality/979153532.html

Yeah that's where I ordered them, I figured it would be better than trying to mess around with smaller ones.

At least after my USBs are no longer profitable...I'll be able to charge all of my 120 cellphones at once

That's good info for the NSA  ^  Tongue

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1014



View Profile WWW
August 15, 2013, 08:26:03 AM
 #1075

Hooked up 100 USB miners, using 2 raspberry PI.

In my testing each raspberry can only handle about 45 miners, after that the additional miners just don't get detected.  However after you get into the 35+ range you start to get a much higher rate of HW errors.

So I had to split the miners 34 per raspberry and 32 on my desktop, got another raspberry in the mail, so will run 3 total to handle all 100 miners.

Currently cooled with just a standard room fan, but the rig really doesn't run that hot so I think I'll replace that fan with a small USB fan for each hub.

Dave, could you re-post your entire message in this USB hub thread as well?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.0
What's the amperage of the AC adapter that you got? I have Sipolar in a "beware" section, as it got some negative reviews.- Might consider moving it into the regular table...

I have only 1 Pi and 30 BEs, which all ran nicely through 5 D-Link hubs.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.msg2903723#msg2903723

I await 30 more from Canary, and then will try to run them all from the same Pi. If it does not work, as you post seems to indicate, then I'll just run them off a PC, which is up 24/7 anyway, while I'll use Pi for other fun stuff.

Oh, and seeing as Pi's chips were rather hot to the touch, I could not resist adding some cooling: Smiley


“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 15, 2013, 11:56:02 AM
 #1076

I saw on this forum somewhere an image of a mining rig with an LCD display showing its vital stats. Can this be done with MinePeon? Are there instructions anywhere?
As cardcomm mentioned in this thread
https://github.com/cardcomm/cgminerLCDStats/blob/master/MinePeon%20Install.md

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 299
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 15, 2013, 12:35:07 PM
 #1077

I saw on this forum somewhere an image of a mining rig with an LCD display showing its vital stats. Can this be done with MinePeon? Are there instructions anywhere?
As cardcomm mentioned in this thread
https://github.com/cardcomm/cgminerLCDStats/blob/master/MinePeon%20Install.md

Cool, thanks! But what LCD should I buy? Cheesy
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 15, 2013, 12:42:16 PM
 #1078

I saw on this forum somewhere an image of a mining rig with an LCD display showing its vital stats. Can this be done with MinePeon? Are there instructions anywhere?
As cardcomm mentioned in this thread
https://github.com/cardcomm/cgminerLCDStats/blob/master/MinePeon%20Install.md

Cool, thanks! But what LCD should I buy? Cheesy
https://github.com/cardcomm/cgminerLCDStats/blob/master/README.md

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
bzh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2013, 03:34:32 PM
 #1079

Hooked up 100 USB miners, using 2 raspberry PI.

In my testing each raspberry can only handle about 45 miners, after that the additional miners just don't get detected.  However after you get into the 35+ range you start to get a much higher rate of HW errors.

So I had to split the miners 34 per raspberry and 32 on my desktop, got another raspberry in the mail, so will run 3 total to handle all 100 miners.

Currently cooled with just a standard room fan, but the rig really doesn't run that hot so I think I'll replace that fan with a small USB fan for each hub.

Dave, could you re-post your entire message in this USB hub thread as well?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.0
What's the amperage of the AC adapter that you got? I have Sipolar in a "beware" section, as it got some negative reviews.- Might consider moving it into the regular table...

I have only 1 Pi and 30 BEs, which all ran nicely through 5 D-Link hubs.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.msg2903723#msg2903723

I await 30 more from Canary, and then will try to run them all from the same Pi. If it does not work, as you post seems to indicate, then I'll just run them off a PC, which is up 24/7 anyway, while I'll use Pi for other fun stuff.

Oh, and seeing as Pi's chips were rather hot to the touch, I could not resist adding some cooling: Smiley


The supply I received was 4.5a 20v. Also note: 100-240 Input with a Chinese prong adapter.
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 16, 2013, 07:01:12 PM
Last edit: August 16, 2013, 08:19:43 PM by cardcomm
 #1080

Since I've added the new % fields to the API, I've found that using them in the LCD display solves for when you hash too fast and run out of space
I sent an update to cardcomm:
https://github.com/cardcomm/cgminerLCDStats/pull/4
As usual I don't know much about python and spent most of the time working out the 'in' lines Smiley


Thanks Kano. I've been away for a couple days working on my time lapse project. I'll look at your updates today and accept the changes. Also thanks for fielding questions about the project in my absence Smiley

BTW, I updated the code that gets the current pool URL, but I didn't double check your PM yet to make sure the code is correct. LOL.  I'll verify that as well today, although it SEEMS right from my testing.

It's nice to see an example of a display with "real world" statistics. My setup doesn't have much hashing power, so everything fits really well on my screen. Your display is pretty full... I was actually hoping to add a bitcoin price ticker somewhere. I was originally thinking I'd have room to the right of the WU display on the last line. But in looking at your screen, I see there's not really room :/

Maybe I'll do a second, alternating screen. I dunno. I liked that idea at first, but now I'm thinking it'll be jarring having the display cycle between screens... Maybe an optional screen where the lower three lines display MtGox info. Anyone have any suggestions or preferences?

Edit: Maybe I'll format/shorten the size of the Uptime line, then maybe squeeze in the current mtgox rate.


Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 ... 139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!