Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 08:32:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 [106] 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827993 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 01:20:23 PM
 #2101

Good news guys. I just tried upgrading to the ATI 11.11 driver on linux and the CPU usage bug is finally fixed, AND it works with newer xorg 1.11 (in case you're on a very recent distribution, like Archlinux).

Has anyone tried this on Windoze yet?
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
1481445120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481445120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481445120
Reply with quote  #2

1481445120
Report to moderator
1481445120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481445120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481445120
Reply with quote  #2

1481445120
Report to moderator
1481445120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481445120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481445120
Reply with quote  #2

1481445120
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 01:21:46 PM
 #2102

What's the ADL and how do I install it under Windows 7 64bit?

By installing a recent enough version of the Catalyst drivers that has that support.  That's why I asked what version you had.

I know that Catalyst 11.6 has that support because that is what I'm using.  And I'm using 11.6 because it doesn't have the 100% CPU utilization bug.

So what version are you using?
Sam

Edit: ADL is the ATI display library used for monitoring and setting GPU parameters.

Catalyst 11.9

That version should work fine.  Do you get any error messages when starting CG Miner?
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 01:26:39 PM
 #2103

Good news guys. I just tried upgrading to the ATI 11.11 driver on linux and the CPU usage bug is finally fixed, AND it works with newer xorg 1.11 (in case you're on a very recent distribution, like Archlinux).

How many GPUs?
1 GPU has been fixed since 11.9
2+ GPU was unfixed as of 11.10

If 2+ GPU work in 11.11 that is awesome.
freakfantom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73



View Profile
November 16, 2011, 01:29:58 PM
 #2104

Beware when using teamviewer/vnc on windows; make sure catalyst isnt running. When I tried it, the GPU would always crash when ending the teamviewer session, the same way it would crash and get horrible corruption if I start cgminer before CCC has loaded.

ah... that's why it keeps crushing.. because of vnc.. what about remote admin? is it affected too?
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 02:05:58 PM
 #2105

What's the ADL and how do I install it under Windows 7 64bit?

By installing a recent enough version of the Catalyst drivers that has that support.  That's why I asked what version you had.

I know that Catalyst 11.6 has that support because that is what I'm using.  And I'm using 11.6 because it doesn't have the 100% CPU utilization bug.

So what version are you using?
Sam

Edit: ADL is the ATI display library used for monitoring and setting GPU parameters.

Catalyst 11.9

That version should work fine.  Do you get any error messages when starting CG Miner?

No, no error message at all. Cgminer just doesn't show RPM and temperature etc...

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 02:27:42 PM
 #2106

What's the ADL and how do I install it under Windows 7 64bit?

By installing a recent enough version of the Catalyst drivers that has that support.  That's why I asked what version you had.

I know that Catalyst 11.6 has that support because that is what I'm using.  And I'm using 11.6 because it doesn't have the 100% CPU utilization bug.

So what version are you using?
Sam

Edit: ADL is the ATI display library used for monitoring and setting GPU parameters.

Catalyst 11.9

That version should work fine.  Do you get any error messages when starting CG Miner?

No, no error message at all. Cgminer just doesn't show RPM and temperature etc...

When you go into the GPU menu do you have the options to change the clocks and such?

I put your command lines into my miner and it all works fine.  But I'm using WinXP and Win7 32 bit and different GPU's of course.
Dunno,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 16, 2011, 03:06:30 PM
 #2107

ah... that's why it keeps crushing.. because of vnc.. what about remote admin? is it affected too?

Dont know TBH. I gave up on windows once I discovered that linuxcoin has no problems overclocking beyond the hardcoded "safe limits". That was the only reason I tried windows. I think getting rid of CCC is all you need to do, but I havent tested it.

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
November 16, 2011, 04:02:23 PM
 #2108

How do you configure cgminer in linuxcoin?  I find that those options --auto etc all can't seem to work. Sad . My GPU can be recognized though and the other thing I can key in is the pool.

ah... that's why it keeps crushing.. because of vnc.. what about remote admin? is it affected too?

Dont know TBH. I gave up on windows once I discovered that linuxcoin has no problems overclocking beyond the hardcoded "safe limits". That was the only reason I tried windows. I think getting rid of CCC is all you need to do, but I havent tested it.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 16, 2011, 05:27:04 PM
 #2109

How do you configure cgminer in linuxcoin?  I find that those options --auto etc all can't seem to work. Sad . My GPU can be recognized though and the other thing I can key in is the pool.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg620360#msg620360

Also applies if you are not running a GUI.

tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 05:39:37 PM
 #2110

What's the ADL and how do I install it under Windows 7 64bit?

By installing a recent enough version of the Catalyst drivers that has that support.  That's why I asked what version you had.

I know that Catalyst 11.6 has that support because that is what I'm using.  And I'm using 11.6 because it doesn't have the 100% CPU utilization bug.

So what version are you using?
Sam

Edit: ADL is the ATI display library used for monitoring and setting GPU parameters.

Catalyst 11.9

That version should work fine.  Do you get any error messages when starting CG Miner?

No, no error message at all. Cgminer just doesn't show RPM and temperature etc...

When you go into the GPU menu do you have the options to change the clocks and such?

I put your command lines into my miner and it all works fine.  But I'm using WinXP and Win7 32 bit and different GPU's of course.

Found the problem... When using VNC instead of RDP, everything works just fine...  I see temperatures and RPMs now ;-)  Thanks for all the help.

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 05:43:47 PM
 #2111

Found the problem... When using VNC instead of RDP, everything works just fine...  I see temperatures and RPMs now ;-)  Thanks for all the help.

Ah, the little details Smiley.  But that kept your GPU fans at 30%?  That seems odd?
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2011, 08:57:20 PM
 #2112

Good news guys. I just tried upgrading to the ATI 11.11 driver on linux and the CPU usage bug is finally fixed, AND it works with newer xorg 1.11 (in case you're on a very recent distribution, like Archlinux).

How many GPUs?
1 GPU has been fixed since 11.9
2+ GPU was unfixed as of 11.10

If 2+ GPU work in 11.11 that is awesome.
Even 1 GPU was NOT fixed for many of us on either 11.9 or 11.10.

11.11 fixes CPU usage for any number of GPUS for me.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 09:04:22 PM
 #2113

Good news guys. I just tried upgrading to the ATI 11.11 driver on linux and the CPU usage bug is finally fixed, AND it works with newer xorg 1.11 (in case you're on a very recent distribution, like Archlinux).

AWESOME.  Looks like I need to upgrade.

How many GPUs?
1 GPU has been fixed since 11.9
2+ GPU was unfixed as of 11.10

If 2+ GPU work in 11.11 that is awesome.
Even 1 GPU was NOT fixed for many of us on either 11.9 or 11.10.

11.11 fixes CPU usage for any number of GPUS for me.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 09:06:08 PM
 #2114

Good news guys. I just tried upgrading to the ATI 11.11 driver on linux and the CPU usage bug is finally fixed, AND it works with newer xorg 1.11 (in case you're on a very recent distribution, like Archlinux).

How many GPUs?
1 GPU has been fixed since 11.9
2+ GPU was unfixed as of 11.10

If 2+ GPU work in 11.11 that is awesome.
Even 1 GPU was NOT fixed for many of us on either 11.9 or 11.10.

11.11 fixes CPU usage for any number of GPUS for me.
Hmm, maybe it depends on the cards?
Since you say it's fixed I'd guess that means it's certainly fixed for 69xx cards.
I guess we'll see as others try it and find out how far the fix reaches.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
November 16, 2011, 09:25:56 PM
 #2115

From what I have read so far, the 100% CPU fix for 2+ GPUs with 11.11 drivers may be Linux only

JinTu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


Hopping down the bunny trail


View Profile
November 17, 2011, 02:00:37 AM
 #2116

Good news guys. I just tried upgrading to the ATI 11.11 driver on linux and the CPU usage bug is finally fixed, AND it works with newer xorg 1.11 (in case you're on a very recent distribution, like Archlinux).

How many GPUs?
1 GPU has been fixed since 11.9
2+ GPU was unfixed as of 11.10

If 2+ GPU work in 11.11 that is awesome.
Even 1 GPU was NOT fixed for many of us on either 11.9 or 11.10.

11.11 fixes CPU usage for any number of GPUS for me.

Confirmed in my CentOS 6 x86_64 dual 6990 rig as well. Loving the lower power consumption!

Please donate if this was helpful: 14CLqCNphUJ54ro2PtqQWJDmW3Eic1WmUd
Cacti templates for pool, GPU and CGMINER monitoring.
GPU monitoring with SNMP
manifold
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
November 17, 2011, 05:36:35 PM
 #2117

awesome miner!!!!! thanks!

Osiris Bitcoin Forum
This is a recursive text, if you restart reading from the beginning. And you will never get to this point informing you that it had no exit condition.
dlb76
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
November 17, 2011, 08:43:48 PM
 #2118

switched to cgminer 2.0.8 from cpuminer 1.0.2
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
November 17, 2011, 09:11:32 PM
 #2119

100% CPU Usage Bug for me under Linux with 4 x 5870 with Catalyst 11.11 fixed !

Finally.


suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2011, 10:03:27 PM
 #2120

awesome miner!!!!! thanks!
You're most welcome Smiley

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 [106] 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!