Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:11:36 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What miner backend do you use with GUIMiner?
OpenCL (poclbm) - 1390 (46.9%)
Phoenix - 339 (11.4%)
ufasoft CPU miner - 172 (5.8%)
puddinpop RPC Miner - 43 (1.5%)
Other - 173 (5.8%)
Don't know - 844 (28.5%)
Total Voters: 2959

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ... 70 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GUI mining - updated Dec 3 with 7970 bugfix, also supports Stratum!  (Read 2968910 times)
friendsofkim
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
March 01, 2011, 10:10:10 PM
 #61

Quote
The difficulty changes are not unpredictable. You can look at the estimate here or calculate it yourself. Every 2016 blocks, the network (all of the clients) recalculate the difficulty such that over the past 2016 blocks, using the new difficulty would result in around 10 blocks being found per minute.

True but I was thinking of the longer term... e.g. where will difficulty be in 2 months? This seems harder to estimate, as it depends on unforeseeable events, like bitcoin getting a sudden burst of publicity.
1481040696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040696
Reply with quote  #2

1481040696
Report to moderator
1481040696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040696
Reply with quote  #2

1481040696
Report to moderator
1481040696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040696
Reply with quote  #2

1481040696
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 06:00:26 AM
 #62

Quote
Better change ur graphics card if u want to mine.
The investment u make is worth more than u can think.

Mind me asking what you're earning at the moment with your 6870? I am tempted to buy a better GPU. Hard to know if it's worth the investment if difficulty is going to keep climbing (unpredictably as well.)


For the past 4 days mining i got around 19btc, on average 4btc daily, running 23/7


Quote
The difficulty changes are not unpredictable. You can look at the estimate here or calculate it yourself. Every 2016 blocks, the network (all of the clients) recalculate the difficulty such that over the past 2016 blocks, using the new difficulty would result in around 10 blocks being found per minute.

True but I was thinking of the longer term... e.g. where will difficulty be in 2 months? This seems harder to estimate, as it depends on unforeseeable events, like bitcoin getting a sudden burst of publicity.

For long term, the next difficulty will be <=70000 , & then after 2 months it will be 23000909.

In 2 months not a single 5970 is enough to mine, u need atleast 2-3X 5970 to mine.
U better instead of mining try buying & selling, that will be easy & profitable.
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 01:18:49 PM
 #63

When I try to run guiminer.exe on my inspiron1520 dell laptop I get this error: "Couldn't find any OpenCL devices."

From guiminer.exe.log:
Quote
Exception TypeErrorERROR:root:Exception:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "guiminer.py", line 836, in <module>
  File "guiminer.py", line 518, in __init__
SystemExit: 1
ERROR:root:Exception:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "guiminer.py", line 836, in <module>
  File "guiminer.py", line 518, in __init__
SystemExit: 1

Could anyone tell me what I need to do and if my laptop is just too weak to even bother?

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
friendsofkim
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 01:25:14 PM
 #64

Quote
When I try to run guiminer.exe on my inspiron1520 dell laptop I get this error: "Couldn't find any OpenCL devices."

What kind of graphics card is in your laptop? You probably need to download an up to date driver for it with OpenCL - assuming one exists.
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 01:32:53 PM
 #65

8600m GT

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
friendsofkim
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 01:55:16 PM
 #66

Quote
8600m GT

Download and update your driver from here: http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 02:32:28 PM
 #67

Quote
8600m GT

Download and update your driver from here: http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

ugh I soo do not want to update my driver and potentially fk something up and then having the trouble of trying to reverse back to an old version which I don't even remember anymore where I got

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
friendsofkim
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 02:34:43 PM
 #68

Quote
ugh I soo do not want to my driver and potentially fk something up and then having the trouble of trying to reverse back to an old version which I don't even remember anymore where I got it.

I have a similar graphics card to you (8400 GS) and mining about 0.3 BTC a day at 1.5 MHash/s... so maybe not worth the bother.
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 02:47:18 PM
 #69

Too late for that now  Roll Eyes

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 03:23:30 PM
 #70

Driver updated, got the miner running but the status bar says:

Shares: 0 accepted, 0 stale/invalid           4Mhash/s



Is this how it's suppose to read? Do I need to use any flags?

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
theGECK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 03:30:33 PM
 #71

That looks right. At 4Mhash/s, it will probably take a bit of time for your first share to be accepted.

Use my referral codes for Bitcoin faucets and I'll send you 25% of my referral bonus - Win/Win! PM for details on all sites available or use one of the links here.

FreeBitco.in | FreeDoge.co.in
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 04:06:24 PM
 #72

Yep, just found my first one!  Grin

Thank you very much to everyone who helped me out with this!

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
new_in_this
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 04:51:18 PM
 #73

In 2 months not a single 5970 is enough to mine, u need atleast 2-3X 5970 to mine.
Oh FFS, rich gets more riches and us poor peoples are stuck because can't do constant upgrading :/
fizgig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 05:10:23 PM
 #74

Anyone know why Quadro FX 1800M running on XP isn't seen as an opencl device?  I installed the nvidia driver a month ago.

edit:  Nevermind.  I didn't see that I had to install the ATI Stream SDK (even though I have an Nvidia card).  All good now.
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 05:59:41 PM
 #75

In 2 months not a single 5970 is enough to mine, u need atleast 2-3X 5970 to mine.
Oh FFS, rich gets more riches and us poor peoples are stuck because can't do constant upgrading :/

Don't listen to this guy. Either he was being sarcastic or he doesn't know what he's talking about. I doubt we'll see difficulty increase much faster than the 30% increments we've been seeing.
fizgig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 06:40:16 PM
 #76

I'm still not quite understanding the "Difficulty 1 hashes: X" number and I'm very interested in what it means.  I've read that it tells you how many close hashes you've calculated but what does that mean?  If that number is X, does that mean if the current requirement is for 14 leading zeros in the hash, that I've made X number of hashes with (14 - 1 = 13) zeros in it?
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2011, 07:38:47 PM
 #77

no,
on pools you work on easy hashes,
means say the current requirement is for 14 leading zeros in the hash to solve a block, you are trying to find hashes with say at least 3 leading zeros.
you'll find and submit hashes with 3,4,5,6,7,8,9..... leading zeros (which all get you a share in the pool) and every once in a while someone finds a hash with the required 14 leading zeros and bang, pool gets the block, everyones happy.

dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 07:40:48 PM
 #78


For long term, the next difficulty will be <=70000 , & then after 2 months it will be 230009.

In 2 months not a single 5970 is enough to mine, u need atleast 2-3X 5970 to mine.
U better instead of mining try buying & selling, that will be easy & profitable.

Sorry, by tyoing mistake i added double 09.
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2011, 07:49:29 PM
 #79

so saying
Quote
In 2 months not a single 5970 is enough to mine, u need atleast 2-3X 5970 to mine.
wasn't a mistake?  Cheesy

hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 07:50:34 PM
 #80

no,
on pools you work on easy hashes,
means say the current requirement is for 14 leading zeros in the hash to solve a block, you are trying to find hashes with say at least 3 leading zeros.
you'll find and submit hashes with 3,4,5,6,7,8,9..... leading zeros (which all get you a share in the pool) and every once in a while someone finds a hash with the required 14 leading zeros and bang, pool gets the block, everyones happy.

Question: Can we run out of difficulty?

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ... 70 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!