Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:23:53 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What miner backend do you use with GUIMiner?
OpenCL (poclbm) - 1390 (46.9%)
Phoenix - 339 (11.4%)
ufasoft CPU miner - 172 (5.8%)
puddinpop RPC Miner - 43 (1.5%)
Other - 173 (5.8%)
Don't know - 844 (28.5%)
Total Voters: 2959

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GUI mining - updated Dec 3 with 7970 bugfix, also supports Stratum!  (Read 2967238 times)
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
August 06, 2011, 02:41:03 AM
 #961

Is there a way to set up GUIMiner to restart crashed/frozen miners in the case of unstable overclocks? I'm trying to max out my system, and it really frustrated me to set an OC, go to work, and come back 8 hours later to learned the miner froze 10 minutes into mining because the display driver had to reset and recover.

1480703033
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480703033

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480703033
Reply with quote  #2

1480703033
Report to moderator
"Apparently, so I am told, there exist "people" who prefer to wipe sitting down. From the front. Initial research indicates it could be up to half the population." -- benjamindees
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
CD-RW
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 05:20:18 PM
 #962

Somehow it still doesn't feel that stable, or having full control, something I do have when I use command line.  Undecided
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 06, 2011, 05:27:18 PM
 #963

Is there a way to set up GUIMiner to restart crashed/frozen miners in the case of unstable overclocks? I'm trying to max out my system, and it really frustrated me to set an OC, go to work, and come back 8 hours later to learned the miner froze 10 minutes into mining because the display driver had to reset and recover.

Not really unless you set up a task to kill and restart GUIminer every 30 minutes to an hour so you don't lose that much mining time.  It's probably better to not set clocks to unknown levels unless you can let it run and watch it for a few hours.  Usually if you go too high it'll crash right away or within an hour or so.

Also, just a thought.  Totally overclocking your cards to the extremes for a few extra MH isn't really worth it in the long run.  Say you can squeeze another 20 MH out of it, that equates to a whopping .32 BTC / month at the current difficulty.  While it may seem good, if you have to replace the card after 4-6 months, is it really worth the 1-2 extra BTC?



JuanPabloCuervo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 04:00:29 PM
 #964

can someone explain...why two different Hash rates?
 [396.272 MH/s (~320 MH/s)] HuhHuhHuhHuh
 [395.441 MH/s (~463 MH/s)]

in solo localhost mode:
[395.441 MH/s (~0 MH/s)] HuhHuhHuhHuh?


Terminal Mode, Kiv-poclbm-v2011-05-21.tar.gz

Bump.!
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
August 07, 2011, 07:31:03 PM
 #965

Do you know when the new version is coming out? and are there any more optimisaions for the app planned?

I have a suggestion for the dev.try to have your own website,that way it's a one stop shop for all the latest versions as well as change log,regressions (if any like bugs),optimisations,e.t.c.

have a website for hte app,saves ppl like me a lot of time searching through the cluttered forum thread about latest versions of the app.

I'd also like to see more optimisations for the Radeon HD69xx series cards as well as for all other cards used for BTC mining.If it takes a substantial rewrite of the whole app,then the optimisations (I expect) can be significant and should be pushed as far as they can go in s/w (as overclocking and shader unlocking can only go so far without an unstable system)

Thank you

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
Beta-coiner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 09:58:47 PM
 #966

...........I'd also like to see more optimisations for the Radeon HD69xx series cards as well as for all other cards used for BTC mining.If it takes a substantial rewrite of the whole app,then the optimisations (I expect) can be significant and should be pushed as far as they can go in s/w (as overclocking and shader unlocking can only go so far without an unstable system)

Thank you

+1

It would explain the disparity in speed between the 58xx and 69xx series of videocards somewhat with regards to efficiency.Another point to consider would be that most new architectures whether Nv or more importantly ATI/AMD will more than likely be using the VLIW4 architecture as well making it even more important that the software be up to date with the current standard and future changes.Considering mining requires large amounts of electicity and BTC is not valued that much now.....the only thing that can be done is to optimize for efficiency on the software side.

If you believe this post has helped,please donate-

1JfwAiV8WbT9HtmQVvnkJ6KwUy9gLjzxdK
Elder III
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
August 08, 2011, 10:15:15 PM
 #967

Is it typical to have a lower average hash rate when running 3 GPUs as opposed to running them 1 at a time?  I seem to lose close to 15% of the potential hash rate when running all 3 as opposed to what they each get individually.

3 x 6770s @ 1000/300 stock voltages
223 Mh/s single - averaging approx. 200 Mh/s each when running all 3.
-v -w128
Windows 7 64bit
11.6 drivers
Antec HighPower 750 watt
Asrock 970 mobo
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2011, 10:26:14 PM
 #968

Is it typical to have a lower average hash rate when running 3 GPUs as opposed to running them 1 at a time?  I seem to lose close to 15% of the potential hash rate when running all 3 as opposed to what they each get individually.

3 x 6770s @ 1000/300 stock voltages
223 Mh/s single - averaging approx. 200 Mh/s each when running all 3.
-v -w128
Windows 7 64bit
11.6 drivers
Antec HighPower 750 watt
Asrock 970 mobo

This doesn't sound right.I've heard that in many cases,the accepted practice is to run 1 miner on each individual GPU as opposed to running 1 miner on 3 cards in crossfire.I'm not too sure myself as I'm no expert but that's something you may wish to try.

set up 1 miner on each of your GPUs basically.

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
Elder III
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
August 09, 2011, 02:14:35 AM
 #969

I do, they are called - Top, Middle, and Bottom...  anyways, if I reboot I only lose about 5% per card avg. which is a little more acceptable. Smiley
Beta-coiner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 12:35:25 AM
 #970

I do, they are called - Top, Middle, and Bottom...  anyways, if I reboot I only lose about 5% per card avg. which is a little more acceptable. Smiley
Could be the 100 % Cpu bug as well.For the card connected to your Monitor try to use -f40 or higher number and lower numbers for the cards not connected.

If you believe this post has helped,please donate-

1JfwAiV8WbT9HtmQVvnkJ6KwUy9gLjzxdK
murfshake
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 03:04:22 PM
 #971

Still the best of the best!
OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 10:49:46 AM
 #972

any chance that we will get that improved phatk kernel build in? ive tryed to use it manualy, but i think it didnt worked for me.
OgNasty
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016


Powered by NastyFans


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2011, 04:33:50 PM
 #973

any chance that we will get that improved phatk kernel build in? ive tryed to use it manualy, but i think it didnt worked for me.

+1  I didn't want to try it myself because it seemed like it required changes to the miner that I didn't think would be compatible with this GUI.

BITSLER                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
critical
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 04:28:16 PM
 #974

bro time to update to 1.61 phoenix!
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
August 14, 2011, 05:58:14 PM
 #975

bro time to update to 1.61 phoenix!
+1 please do. ppl need to start donating damnit

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 10:13:24 PM
 #976

just by replacing the correct files for the new kernel of your choice will result in getting almost all the speed
others are getting with newer software. now i did not attempt to stick in the new phoenix yet but phatk 2.2 is
in and i am seeing good results compared to others while taking the clock speed factor into account.

perhaps the new pheonix has features i just do not use though.. hm.
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 18, 2011, 07:10:29 PM
 #977

Alright, I'm going to start off a Bounty drive for Kiv to update GUIMiner with the latest and greatest miners/kernels that are out there.

I'll throw in 1 BTC towards it.  Anyone else?
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
August 18, 2011, 07:21:52 PM
 #978

im down for .5

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
Beta-coiner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 07:41:13 PM
 #979

I'll throw in another .5 if it becomes more optimized for the 69xx architecture.

If you believe this post has helped,please donate-

1JfwAiV8WbT9HtmQVvnkJ6KwUy9gLjzxdK
Bananington
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366


Twinkle twinkle motherfucker, twinkle twinkle.


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 03:49:46 AM
 #980

The GUIMiner doesn't have the latest version of Ufasoft CPU miner. It took me several hours to figure out. Please add this to the download.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!