Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:33:03 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What miner backend do you use with GUIMiner?
OpenCL (poclbm) - 1390 (46.9%)
Phoenix - 339 (11.4%)
ufasoft CPU miner - 172 (5.8%)
puddinpop RPC Miner - 43 (1.5%)
Other - 173 (5.8%)
Don't know - 844 (28.5%)
Total Voters: 2959

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GUI mining - updated Dec 3 with 7970 bugfix, also supports Stratum!  (Read 2971101 times)
Septemvri
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 02:47:44 PM
 #821

CD should work too. Just make sure the bat file is executed on C:
Because CD changes the directory, but doesn't change the drive. Try inserting a "c:" as a middle line in yours.
1481430783
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430783

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430783
Reply with quote  #2

1481430783
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481430783
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430783

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430783
Reply with quote  #2

1481430783
Report to moderator
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 01:05:50 AM
 #822

Feature Request: in addition to affinity, how about setting process priority? I like to have my miners running at low cpu priority, that way they can they can chug at their fastest speed with -f 1, but I can still use my computer. Currently I have to manually adjust process priority whenever I start a miner, it would be great if guiminer could just set it when it creates the process.

This can be done via batch:

Use cmd's start command. See start /? for details.

START ["title"] [/Dpath] [/I] [/MIN] [/MAX] [/SEPARATE | /SHARED]
[/LOW | /NORMAL | /HIGH | /REALTIME | /ABOVENORMAL | /BELOWNORMAL]
[/WAIT] [/B] [command/program]
[parameters]

Kiv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 12:07:44 PM
 #823

Just a FYI to everyone, I have today off work since it's Canada Day which means I'm working for you guys Smiley

There'll be a major release sometime today including:

- Latest versions of Phoenix and poclbm (including the latest and most pimped out poclbm kernel)
- Fallback pool support through poclbm
- Several more pools
- Miscellaneous bugfixes

GUIMiner - get started easily mining Bitcoins on your GPU or CPU
Donate to support work on GUIMiner: 1MDDh2h4cAZDafgc94mr9q95dhRYcJbNQo
or YouTipIt
hawks5999
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2011, 03:55:01 PM
 #824

Just a FYI to everyone, I have today off work since it's Canada Day which means I'm working for you guys Smiley

There'll be a major release sometime today including:

- Latest versions of Phoenix and poclbm (including the latest and most pimped out poclbm kernel)
- Fallback pool support through poclbm
- Several more pools
- Miscellaneous bugfixes

Happy Canada Day! Thanks for your dedication.

■ ▄▄▄
■ ███
■ ■  ■               
LEDGER  WALLET    ████
■■■ ORDER NOW! ■■■
              LEDGER WALLET
Smartcard security for your BTCitcoins
■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■
Decentralized. Open. Secure.
Kiv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 04:31:01 PM
 #825

Happy Canada Day everyone! A new version of the miner is available; I've updated the download link on the first post, or you can get it here:

    guiminer-20110701.exe (self-extracting archive)


Changes:

- Updated poclbm (OpenCL miner) backend to the latest version which has built-in fallback support and slightly improved performance using a modified phatk kernel. Big thanks to m0mchil and all who submitted code for this. This version should be a few percent faster on most graphics cards.
- Update Phoenix backend to version 1.50.
- Add many more pools to the server list, including separate servers for BTC Guild.
- Default CPU affinity changed to be CPU 0 only instead of all CPUs.
- Display of GHash shows more decimal places (requested by hawks5999).
- When you save miner settings it remembers the GUI size and position for future runs (requested by goozman96).
- Removed weird characters in console log of Phoenix miner.
- Error handling: If settings file could not be read, recover gracefully instead of raising a JSON error.
- Error handling: If no OpenCL devices exist, recover gracefully instead of raising AssertionError.

Fallback support in poclbm/OpenCL miner:

In the flags, specify the --backup argument with the info of the backup pool. For example if I want to fallback to my account on slush's pool, I would write:

--backup=Kiv.GPU:mypass@api.bitcoin.cz:8332

That's all you need for basic fallback support. You can tweak it with these options:

--failback=N   attempt to fail back to the primary pool every n getworks, default 2
--tolerance=N   use fallback pool only after N consecutive connection errors, default 2

In the future this might be more tightly integrated into the GUI but I don't want to make the GUI too complicated for things that a lot of users don't need.

GUIMiner - get started easily mining Bitcoins on your GPU or CPU
Donate to support work on GUIMiner: 1MDDh2h4cAZDafgc94mr9q95dhRYcJbNQo
or YouTipIt
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 04:57:02 PM
 #826

Great work implementing the 3%speed tweek! Loving it on my 6990!
Works great! Guys tip him if you can!

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
hawks5999
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2011, 07:06:32 PM
 #827

Great work implementing the 3%speed tweek! Loving it on my 6990!
Works great! Guys tip him if you can!

Agree on the tipping. I think 1.867 would make a great tip in honor of the year that Canada was formed (1867). These enhancements are great and Guiminer makes my operation loads easier. Thanks for implementing my request, Kiv.

■ ▄▄▄
■ ███
■ ■  ■               
LEDGER  WALLET    ████
■■■ ORDER NOW! ■■■
              LEDGER WALLET
Smartcard security for your BTCitcoins
■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■
Decentralized. Open. Secure.
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 08:17:39 PM
 #828

I got an antivirus autoprotect warning about a bitcoin-miner.exe file...

Should I be worried about that?
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 08:18:46 PM
 #829

SAme warning .... it s in the ufasoft miner ...

deleted ...i'm not using this miner aniway
Yatta99
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


I need an new box...


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 08:26:18 PM
 #830

Very nice and appreciated, but weird. I made the changes to the old miner (20110614) when they were announced but never saw any increase  Sad After putting in the new miner and changing nothing else I went from 196 Mhash/s to 209 Mhash/sec (roughly 6.6% improvement). Not sure how or why this works and the other didn't, but I'll take it  Grin

Tips for new box to: 16s14wcsNo5TcdsGLttL7B1XWiCv8E4L6A
Kiv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 09:46:00 PM
 #831

No, it's a false positive so you don't need to worry. But if you're not using that EXE (it's the CPU miner) then it's fine to delete it.

I got an antivirus autoprotect warning about a bitcoin-miner.exe file...

Should I be worried about that?

GUIMiner - get started easily mining Bitcoins on your GPU or CPU
Donate to support work on GUIMiner: 1MDDh2h4cAZDafgc94mr9q95dhRYcJbNQo
or YouTipIt
murfshake
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 10:07:08 PM
 #832

I love this program, thank you so much!  Only thing I would like added would be if it saved the size of the actual GUIMiner window.  I have 7 tabs of pools in my GUIMiner list, and have to re-size the program each time I open it. 

Thank's again!
Kiv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 11:43:04 PM
 #833

Maybe you knew this already, but if you have the summary tab open you can just click the miner name in there to go to that miner. I actually use that most of the time instead of clicking the tabs.

GUIMiner - get started easily mining Bitcoins on your GPU or CPU
Donate to support work on GUIMiner: 1MDDh2h4cAZDafgc94mr9q95dhRYcJbNQo
or YouTipIt
erek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 12:43:10 AM
 #834

what's the advantage of having a default affinity for cpu 0?

 *Image Removed*
fascistmuffin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
July 02, 2011, 12:45:25 AM
 #835

Great performance increase with this new version.

If I could make a suggestion though, maybe the extra flags textbox should be on a line of it's own. The fallback flags really fill that space up.
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 01:59:21 AM
 #836

I seem to fail at using a pool with different port as backup for an "other" pool. It appends the port specified in the field, and leaving that blank makes poclbm refuse to start so it doesn't help adding the port for the main pool in the address field.

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 02:04:28 AM
 #837

what's the advantage of having a default affinity for cpu 0?

Mining multiple GPUs mostly causes a lot of CPU use, so forcing all miners to the use same core keeps the total CPU load down.

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
Kiv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162



View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:12:18 AM
 #838

I'm not sure I follow what you're trying to do. I'll try to paraphrase:

Your primary pool is an "other" pool with some port specified in the Port text box (let's say 8333).
Your backup pool has a different port than 8333, let's say 8332.

For me, I am able to put it in the extra flags like this and have it work:

--backup=Kiv.GPU:mypass@api.bitcoin.cz:8332

The port for the backup pool is supplied by me after the colon, while the port for the primary will come from the Port text box. Let me know if this helps at all, maybe I misunderstand or you're having a different issue Smiley

I seem to fail at using a pool with different port as backup for an "other" pool. It appends the port specified in the field, and leaving that blank makes poclbm refuse to start so it doesn't help adding the port for the main pool in the address field.

GUIMiner - get started easily mining Bitcoins on your GPU or CPU
Donate to support work on GUIMiner: 1MDDh2h4cAZDafgc94mr9q95dhRYcJbNQo
or YouTipIt
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 06:55:44 AM
 #839

I was trying to set up a backup for an Eligius miner, which I have to define manually with port 8337, and when it tries to connect to the backup it tries to reach backup-pool.com:8332:8337.

Scratch that. It works now. Probably left something I shouldn't when I shortened the address after using cut and paste from the console to look it up after starting a miner configured for the backup pool...

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:07:42 AM
 #840

nice work! i love this software Smiley
one request though:
it would be extremely useful if i can just clone an existing tab-worker (right clicking the tab) than create a new one.
since in my rigs i have always more than 2 workers Wink
thanks

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!