Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 12:44:24 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] sph-sgminer: multi-coin multi-algorithm GPU miner | added MaruCoin  (Read 512823 times)
DJstone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 04:34:20 PM
 #681

I'm a total noob Smiley

I did not toch anything, and did not know how to check that.
I can only say that on my web-ui, engine and memclock remain stable before and after the drop.
I did not know what the overdrive is (and how to check that under Linux Bamt).

And it is happening to the darkcoin kernel only?

DRK: Xs55P4YP5nbfxv9hV2FEdyBYjcadmj1FBz
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513341864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513341864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513341864
Reply with quote  #2

1513341864
Report to moderator
1513341864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513341864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513341864
Reply with quote  #2

1513341864
Report to moderator
boubou
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 04:57:13 PM
 #682

Yes, Darkcoin only (hum, I did not use the SpH miner to mine scrypt, but with other miners, no problem), R9 290 only.

BEHNZiP6UZunp41vurNaQi4r2hvgG57yzi : BdG
DJstone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 05:08:50 PM
 #683

Yes, Darkcoin only (hum, I did not use the SpH miner to mine scrypt, but with other miners, no problem), R9 290 only.

Since darkcoin is no scrypt, whats the matter?
Or do you mean: you are only mining darkcoin with sph-sgminer?


Would be nice to test scrypt with sgminer.
Kernels should be the same, pls give it a try!

DRK: Xs55P4YP5nbfxv9hV2FEdyBYjcadmj1FBz
whocares
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 05:46:41 PM
 #684

Yes, Darkcoin only (hum, I did not use the SpH miner to mine scrypt, but with other miners, no problem), R9 290 only.

Since darkcoin is no scrypt, whats the matter?
Or do you mean: you are only mining darkcoin with sph-sgminer?


Would be nice to test scrypt with sgminer.
Kernels should be the same, pls give it a try!

I'd confirm that sgminer scrypt algo works as intended, no ten percent drop over time or another unusual glitch.

If someone could check the X11 algos with another miner to look if the issue is sph-related or driver related, would be very helpful.
DJstone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 07:07:47 PM
 #685

Yes, Darkcoin only (hum, I did not use the SpH miner to mine scrypt, but with other miners, no problem), R9 290 only.

Since darkcoin is no scrypt, whats the matter?
Or do you mean: you are only mining darkcoin with sph-sgminer?


Would be nice to test scrypt with sgminer.
Kernels should be the same, pls give it a try!

I'd confirm that sgminer scrypt algo works as intended, no ten percent drop over time or another unusual glitch.

If someone could check the X11 algos with another miner to look if the issue is sph-related or driver related, would be very helpful.

which one?

DRK: Xs55P4YP5nbfxv9hV2FEdyBYjcadmj1FBz
whocares
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 08:27:54 PM
 #686


which one?

https://github.com/evan82/darkcoin-sgminer

If the issue is present and not sgminer related, we still check how to disable ULPS in BAMT.

For windows users - disable ULPS and report back if the issue is still here /R9 290s/.

gg234
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 08:53:29 PM
 #687

I am having 3 asus 280x and how to configure sgminer for X11 algo can some one share their settings including config file and how to create batch file

Thanks for your help

CryptoGretzky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
March 28, 2014, 09:20:16 PM
 #688


which one?

https://github.com/evan82/darkcoin-sgminer

If the issue is present and not sgminer related, we still check how to disable ULPS in BAMT.

For windows users - disable ULPS and report back if the issue is still here /R9 290s/.



So... how do you turn off ULPS in BAMT?

whocares
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 09:46:06 PM
 #689


So... how do you turn off ULPS in BAMT?

I'm trying to find the same...
CryptoGretzky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
March 28, 2014, 10:04:22 PM
 #690


which one?

https://github.com/evan82/darkcoin-sgminer

If the issue is present and not sgminer related, we still check how to disable ULPS in BAMT.

For windows users - disable ULPS and report back if the issue is still here /R9 290s/.



I tried this version also and still have the same drop issue.

fra55
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 11:19:57 PM
 #691

Just to be sure....I get an hashrate of about 880-890 khash/sec and my work utility is at about 0.015/m. According to the FAQ found on Github for Darkcoin, the WU is 1 per 71.6 mhash, so it should be correct (more or less), is it?

Here's my .bat settings:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx_ DISPLAY 0
sgminer -k darkcoin -s 1 -o stratum+tcp://drkpool.com:3333 -u user.1 -p xxxx -xIintensity 192 -g 2 -w 256 --threadconcurrency 6144

Is there something I could improve?


Thanks in advance
CryptoGretzky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
March 28, 2014, 11:43:36 PM
 #692

I'm a total noob Smiley

I did not toch anything, and did not know how to check that.
I can only say that on my web-ui, engine and memclock remain stable before and after the drop.
I did not know what the overdrive is (and how to check that under Linux Bamt).

And it is happening to the darkcoin kernel only?

Another interesting note about this issue is that I could mine VTC using badman's version at 500kh each for hours and then when I switch to mine Hiro without rebooting, it will still start off at 2.65 Mh per card for the first few mins and then it will drop down to 2.41 Mh.   I won't be able to get 2.65 Mh again until I reboot the machine. 

Something triggered the card to go into a certain state that make it drop for the rest of the current boot cycle.   Is there something in the Darkcoin kernel code that put it into that state or... ?   

phm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 12:11:44 AM
 #693

Yes, Darkcoin only (hum, I did not use the SpH miner to mine scrypt, but with other miners, no problem), R9 290 only.
Does it make any difference if you set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100?

My hobby: mining CPU-only coins with GPU
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1305


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 01:27:15 AM
 #694

For people having 290(X) troubles - there is a new/updated 6-meg "amdcleanuputility" on the AMD site that seems to have worked wonders for me (for one day only).  <-- Edit, sigh.

I have a Gigabyte Windforce 290X that had become unusable except as a basic featureless VGA card. I couldn't mine or game or watch YT or - anything much - without getting BSODs (black or blue), random crashes, artifacts, throttling, lines on startup screens - you name it - for the last couple of weeks. There are posts all over the Net from people having these kinds of issues, and all sorts of opinions about causes. Elpida memory is often cited, but not everyone agrees. I tried many suggestions, some seemed to work for a while, but not convincingly. It felt like drivers were getting corrupted, but it could have been so many things - power supply, badly seated card, defective card, overheating, bad memory - on and on.

Anyway - tada - I've been mining Dark for 23 hours while running all sorts of other stuff and so far everything runs perfectly since I used the AMD cleanup utility.

My batch file (not optimized yet) is very sparse:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx DISPLAY 0
cd C:/sgminer_Mar_22_2014/sgminer/
sgminer.exe --kernel darkcoin -o poolstuff1 -u userstuff1 -p pw1 -o poolstuff2 -u userstuff2 -p pw2 -I 16 --no-submit-stale

Note the low intensity. The card is running relatively cool at 82C, with the fan only turning 1525 RPM and hashing reported at a steady 2.5+ Mh/s all day long. GPU-Z reports VRM temperature 1 at 84C, but apparently that is normal for these cards. This is on a Win7 64 machine with the card's BIOS switch set to uber.

I just went back to the AMD site to get a link for you and I couldn't find it easily! It isn't mentioned in the main blurbs about removing Catalyst. I don't know why it's off in a relatively obscure corner of their site:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMD-Clean-Uninstall-Utility.aspx

Also, if you Google "amd cleanup utility" you'll see several (older) stories about people who claim the utility made their problems WORSE. As far as I can tell, none of these refers to the March 17 version that I used, but BE CAREFUL and back up what you can before you start mucking with it. I was desperate when I tried it, as everything else had failed and I didn't have much to lose.

I hope this helps someone, and good luck!

Edit: Update - about one hour after this post (24 hours of mining at 2.5Mh/s) the card suddenly throttled for no apparent reason when I entered a routine (non-graphic) link in a Firefox tab. Things seemed fine again after a reboot, but my 290X saga obviously isn't over yet. The issues of prevention and recovery may or may not be separate - the cleanup utility may recover effectively but something else may reintroduce instability after some trigger event. If so, the trigger does not seem to be one of the things people usually talk about - temperature, memory, lack of power, and so forth - murky stuff still, but the cleanup utility is was still the best thing I've found so far. ymmv, of course.

Edit: Update - a day later. All the original problems are back. Card frequently throttles at startup. Wavy lines and artifacts. BSODs. The AMD clean install utility now does not resolve anything. Neither does the 12.6.2.0 DDU uninstaller. I can run the 290X perfectly as a VGA card with generic VGA drivers, but nothing beyond that is reliable. No mining or gaming. My big discovery has fizzled, although for reasons unknown it worked superbly for a day or so. Back to trial and error testing.

Edit: Update - another day later. All problems are gone now (he says, tempting fate again). This time the fix was just getting back to basics by removing the various utilities that had accumulated on the machine, utilities that had the potential to set graphics settings and/or interfere with each other. I removed or disabled CCC, Gigabyte OC Guru II, Asus AI Suite II, possibly more that I can't remember, and left only MSI Afterburner (v. 3.0.0.2354 beta). In it I disabled ULPS, which seems to have resolved all the wavy lines and artifacts. Sph-sgminer ran well again at 2.5+ Mh/s but shut down after a couple of hours so I set power limit to +50 in AB and everything has been stable ever since. If problems appear again I may tweak the core voltage setting in AB also.
 



 
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2014, 03:22:15 AM
 #695

Where were you looking ? lol

The clean up utility can easily be found here. Smiley

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/downloads.aspx

Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2014, 04:57:01 AM
 #696

Could this driver conflict be responsible for some of the issues people are experiencing ?






CryptoGretzky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
March 29, 2014, 07:06:30 AM
 #697

Could this driver conflict be responsible for some of the issues people are experiencing ?







Not for the rate dropping issue after a few minutes because I was using BAMT which has nothing to do with Windows drivers.

boubou
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 08:16:45 AM
 #698

Yes, Darkcoin only (hum, I did not use the SpH miner to mine scrypt, but with other miners, no problem), R9 290 only.
Does it make any difference if you set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100?
Can I put that in a command line?

BEHNZiP6UZunp41vurNaQi4r2hvgG57yzi : BdG
flipme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 11:02:29 AM
 #699

I have the drop also on 290s TRI-X.

Just an idea:
Could it be the slow I/O speed of the USB thumbdrive?
How does it work? How long is each algo running?
Maybe the process swaps resources and waits for slow disk I/O

A peaceful place, or so it looks from space.
A closer look reveals the human race.
-John Barlow
DJstone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 11:22:39 AM
 #700

Yes, Darkcoin only (hum, I did not use the SpH miner to mine scrypt, but with other miners, no problem), R9 290 only.
Does it make any difference if you set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100?
Can I put that in a command line?

Since you are on bampt (e.g. Linux) you could do this:

 nano /etc/profile

    Add the following to the bottom of the file:

export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1

Save file, reboot.

should do the work.

DRK: Xs55P4YP5nbfxv9hV2FEdyBYjcadmj1FBz
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!