Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:39:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481809 times)
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 501


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 10:54:29 PM
 #3001

Hey,

this has been asked before, but I had troubles finding a recent answer: can I use Armory and the standard bitcoind wallet in parallel? I still  use bitcoind via rpc for some scripts, and even though I would use Armory for my personal wallet, I would need to keep the script functionality. I imagine that the two wallets do not clash at all, ie, are completely separate?
yes you can, bitcoin{d,-qt} is only needed to communicate with the network and get/validate the blockchain.

More specifically, you can go into the settings for Armory, and disable "Let Armory manage Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind in the background".  Then Armory will expect you to run Bitcoin-Qt or bitcoind manually, and that it will be open and synchronized when you start Armory.

Thanks. I found the setting, and while it worked fine on my desktop it didn't work on my laptop. Adding listen=1 to bitcoind solved also that issue.

Looking forward to armoryd!
1480927144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927144
Reply with quote  #2

1480927144
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480927144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927144
Reply with quote  #2

1480927144
Report to moderator
arousedrhino
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 01:55:41 AM
 #3002

I can't seem to send from Armory anymore. The transaction just keeps failing to make it into the block chain. I've had this happen before but not repeatedly. Any ideas? The transaction is for .104 BTC. I have tried fees of .0009 and .001 and it always fails. I'd rather not post the logs publicly.

It just keeps saying: "The transaction that you just executed, does not appear to have been accepted by the Bitcoin network. This can happen for a variety of reasons, but it is usually due to a bug in the Armory software.

On some occasions the transaction actually did succeed and this message is the bug itself! To confirm whether the the transaction actually succeeded, you can try this direct link to blockchain.info:

http://blockchain.info/search/xxxxx....

If you do not see the transaction on that webpage within one minute, it failed and you should attempt to re-send it. If it does show up, then you do not need to do anything else -- it will show up in Armory as soon as it receives 1 confirmation.

If the transaction did fail, please consider reporting this error the the Armory developers. From the main window, go to "File"-->"Export Log File" to make a copy of your log file to send via email to alan.reiner@gmail.com. "

Im on a mac osx 10.8 running 0.88.1-beta with bitcoind 0.8.3 running.
chrisrico
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 03:42:47 AM
 #3003

If the transaction did fail, please consider reporting this error the the Armory developers. From the main window, go to "File"-->"Export Log File" to make a copy of your log file to send via email to alan.reiner@gmail.com. "

Did you do that?

I bet the transaction has a lot of small outputs, which means you'd need to pay a larger fee. The fee is 0.0001 BTC per kilobyte, not per transaction.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
December 18, 2013, 03:59:17 PM
 #3004

On an unrelated note, please try the new OSX build!

https://s3.amazonaws.com/bitcoinarmory-releases/Armory_0.90-beta_OSX_test1.tar.gz

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
arousedrhino
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 03:55:21 AM
 #3005

If the transaction did fail, please consider reporting this error the the Armory developers. From the main window, go to "File"-->"Export Log File" to make a copy of your log file to send via email to alan.reiner@gmail.com. "

Did you do that?

I bet the transaction has a lot of small outputs, which means you'd need to pay a larger fee. The fee is 0.0001 BTC per kilobyte, not per transaction.

I actually did and he helpfully linked me to the .90 post. I was using a fee of .0009 so I doubt that was the issue. I actually think the issue was with my routers DNS settings. It lost its VPN connection and then the DNS could not resolve which I think they caused the transaction to fail. I got my DNS and VPN back and all setup and its working now on .88.

Thanks for the help. I'm updating to .90 today.
e4xit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298



View Profile
December 20, 2013, 09:46:38 AM
 #3006


I have had a few "not responding" errors which required force closing so far :/ Not imported or created a wallet yet either which is not terribly confidence-inspiring...

How do I run this .app with debug flags (I knew how to do that on Ubuntu from terminal but this app on OSX I am not sure how to set those flags as I run it) then I can perhaps upload some logs... I think it is somethign to do with applescripts, but Im pretty new to OSX.

It did sync overnight no problem (not sure how long it took though).

If you don't have the private key for "your" bitcoins then you have no bitcoins.
There are a million bits in a bitcoin: 1 ฿ = 1,000,000 ƀ
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
December 20, 2013, 06:35:58 PM
 #3007


I have had a few "not responding" errors which required force closing so far :/ Not imported or created a wallet yet either which is not terribly confidence-inspiring...

How do I run this .app with debug flags (I knew how to do that on Ubuntu from terminal but this app on OSX I am not sure how to set those flags as I run it) then I can perhaps upload some logs... I think it is somethign to do with applescripts, but Im pretty new to OSX.

It did sync overnight no problem (not sure how long it took though).

It should automatically put the logfile in your armory directory.  There is also a menu item to export the logfile in the armory app itself.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2013, 06:37:41 PM
 #3008


I have had a few "not responding" errors which required force closing so far :/ Not imported or created a wallet yet either which is not terribly confidence-inspiring...

How do I run this .app with debug flags (I knew how to do that on Ubuntu from terminal but this app on OSX I am not sure how to set those flags as I run it) then I can perhaps upload some logs... I think it is somethign to do with applescripts, but Im pretty new to OSX.

It did sync overnight no problem (not sure how long it took though).

Flags don't work on OSX, it is a python problem or something.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2013, 06:40:18 PM
 #3009


I have had a few "not responding" errors which required force closing so far :/ Not imported or created a wallet yet either which is not terribly confidence-inspiring...

How do I run this .app with debug flags (I knew how to do that on Ubuntu from terminal but this app on OSX I am not sure how to set those flags as I run it) then I can perhaps upload some logs... I think it is somethign to do with applescripts, but Im pretty new to OSX.

It did sync overnight no problem (not sure how long it took though).

Flags don't work on OSX, it is a python problem or something.

Yeah, unfortunately, we're still not quite sure how to do the CLI thing... may have to add an armory.conf, which should probably be added anyway.  Doesn't help with changing --datadir, but helps with everything else. 

This build is really more for testing... we will clean up those rough edges when we determine that it's usable.  So far, it seems the jury is still out on that one...


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
omegaflare
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335


View Profile
December 22, 2013, 04:06:35 AM
 #3010

Guys,

I am using Armory as my main bitcoin wallet. However, I keep seeing [[change received]] with this associated bitcoin address. Do I use this address to receive bitcoin, still? This is why it's confusing. It's irrelevant to show "[[change received]]" in my wallet, just my bitcoin address. I hope you can fix this on the next version. Thanks!

SimonBelmond
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177



View Profile
December 22, 2013, 09:05:42 AM
 #3011

Guys,

I am using Armory as my main bitcoin wallet. However, I keep seeing [[change received]] with this associated bitcoin address. Do I use this address to receive bitcoin, still? This is why it's confusing. It's irrelevant to show "[[change received]]" in my wallet, just my bitcoin address. I hope you can fix this on the next version. Thanks!


I guess its a feature not a bug. You receive change to other addresses then the input addresses. This is good. I have not looked fully into this but receiving change onto another address then the input addresses somehow protects your privacy plus you would even be safe if quantum computer would exist as you could easily never use the same address twice. I am not sure if you can configure if armory receives change to the same address or to a new address which will be labeled [[change received]]. What you can do, however, is use coin control in expert mode so you can set everything manually. Please make sure you don't end up being the guy who pays 200 BTC transaction fees because of a number entered in the wrong field.
omegaflare
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335


View Profile
December 22, 2013, 09:09:27 AM
 #3012

Guys,

I am using Armory as my main bitcoin wallet. However, I keep seeing [[change received]] with this associated bitcoin address. Do I use this address to receive bitcoin, still? This is why it's confusing. It's irrelevant to show "[[change received]]" in my wallet, just my bitcoin address. I hope you can fix this on the next version. Thanks!


I guess its a feature not a bug. You receive change to other addresses then the input addresses. This is good. I have not looked fully into this but receiving change onto another address then the input addresses somehow protects your privacy plus you would even be safe if quantum computer would exist as you could easily never use the same address twice. I am not sure if you can configure if armory receives change to the same address or to a new address which will be labeled [[change received]]. What you can do, however, is use coin control in expert mode so you can set everything manually. Please make sure you don't end up being the guy who pays 200 BTC transaction fees because of a number entered in the wrong field.

For real? Did someone pay 200 BTC in transaction fee?! LOL! SO FUNNY! Anyways, that's besides the point. The question is: can I still receive money with [[change received]] address? I just want to make sure.

Another thing you can do: check "hide change" and that will hide all of the associated bitcoin address with [[change received]] address. It's a nice feature to have, so perhaps I overlooked this feature. You're right, it's not a bug; thanks for clearing this up. Kudos.

coraz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
December 22, 2013, 09:23:18 AM
 #3013

The question is: can I still receive money with [[change received]] address? I just want to make sure.

Yes. "[[change received]]" is just a label. Internally, this address is no different from your other addresses.


Have been using this for a couple of days with a watch-only wallet. Works pretty well. Only had an error once (iirc it was after clicking the "copy to clipboard" button in the "receive bitcoins" window)
Code:
./Downloads/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory: line 16:  3551 Segmentation fault: 11  $DIRNAME/Python $ARMORYDIR/ArmoryQt.py
omegaflare
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335


View Profile
December 22, 2013, 09:56:25 AM
 #3014

The question is: can I still receive money with [[change received]] address? I just want to make sure.

Yes. "[[change received]]" is just a label. Internally, this address is no different from your other addresses.


Have been using this for a couple of days with a watch-only wallet. Works pretty well. Only had an error once (iirc it was after clicking the "copy to clipboard" button in the "receive bitcoins" window)
Code:
./Downloads/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory: line 16:  3551 Segmentation fault: 11  $DIRNAME/Python $ARMORYDIR/ArmoryQt.py

Thanks!

matt608
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile
December 22, 2013, 04:40:31 PM
 #3015



matt608: make sure you're running ubuntu 10.04 or 12.04, then grab our offline package off our site and follow the instructions. They're quite simple and you shouldnt have too much trouble setting it up. If you have issues, let us know at support@bitcoinarmory.com


Thanks but how do I install anything on the offline computer if I can't connect it to the internet and if when I plug my external HD into it (having downloaded the armoury software onto it) nothing happens?  I also don't know how to change the operating system from Linux to Ubuntu. 

Earlier in this thread someone reccomended this computer to use as an offline wallet, they said it comes with the right operating system, linux:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001IBHVCA/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

So I bought it.  But apparently there are different types of linux and so it doesn't work...

Do I download ubuntu from here?
http://releases.ubuntu.com/lucid/

If so, which download do I want?

And then, how to I install it onto the offline computer?

Thank you.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2013, 04:50:35 PM
 #3016

Type the source code like the pgp olden days

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
LvM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
December 22, 2013, 08:42:42 PM
 #3017


"...you'd need to pay a larger fee. The fee is 0.0001 BTC per kilobyte, not per transaction."


How do you know that?
Where is the legal source and base for your statement?

Unilaterally enforced transaction fees are illegal.
The miners are payed by selling the coins they created.

So, who gets these ARBITRARILY enforced tx fees?
Oha, the "community"?
Who/what is that? NAMES please!

How much fees will this ghost enforce tomorrow?
Looks like it becomes criminal.

LvM

BTC violates GAAP, result a MESS  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=211835.0
Anforderungen an eine PROFESSIONELLE BTC-Anwendung https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=189669
BANKGEHEIMNIS mit BTC gleich NULL!? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=188383 Antwort: Ja, wenn man nicht höllisch aufpaßt.
LvM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
December 22, 2013, 08:44:46 PM
 #3018

My Armory 0.88.1 tries to ENFORCE for a transfer of 0.0001 a fee of 0.0005

5x the transaction value.

If we accept this arbitrariness of the club hidden behind the BTC-ghost "community"
next it will swallow all our bitcoins.   Cry Cry
Just as it likes.  Grin

LvM

BTC violates GAAP, result a MESS  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=211835.0
Anforderungen an eine PROFESSIONELLE BTC-Anwendung https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=189669
BANKGEHEIMNIS mit BTC gleich NULL!? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=188383 Antwort: Ja, wenn man nicht höllisch aufpaßt.
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2013, 08:48:04 PM
 #3019

My Armory 0.88.1 tries to ENFORCE for a transfer of 0.0001 a fee of 0.0005

5x the transaction value.

If we accept this arbitrariness of the club hidden behind the BTC-ghost "community"
next it will swallow all our bitcoins.   Cry Cry
Just as it likes.  Grin

LvM

Transaction value is hardcoded, you need to upgrade. Blame the core devs because are dragging their feet on free market fee market.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 04:57:57 AM
 #3020

Thanks but how do I install anything on the offline computer if I can't connect it to the internet and if when I plug my external HD into it (having downloaded the armoury software onto it) nothing happens?  I also don't know how to change the operating system from Linux to Ubuntu. 

Earlier in this thread someone reccomended this computer to use as an offline wallet, they said it comes with the right operating system, linux:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001IBHVCA/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

So I bought it.  But apparently there are different types of linux and so it doesn't work...

Do I download ubuntu from here?
http://releases.ubuntu.com/lucid/

If so, which download do I want?

And then, how to I install it onto the offline computer?

Thank you.

The offline bundles support Ubuntu 10.04, 12.04 and 13.10. The offline bundles come with the necessary packages to run Armory on a pristine Ubuntu install for these version. There are quite a lot of Linux distributions on the market, so just saying "comes with Linux installed" isn't enough to identify the specifics of the operating system your hardware is running.

As for the installation steps: Grab the version of Ubuntu you want (I'd suggest 13.10, the link you posted is for 10.04, which is fine), burn the ISO to a DVD and install away. Then grab Armory's offline package, extract it, browse to that folder and run: sudo dpkg -i ./*

This will get Armory and all its required packages installed. As for moving the offline bundle to your offline computer, either use a usb key or burn it on the DVD into another session, you should have enough room left.


LvM: The fees enforced in 0.88.1 were hardcoded based on the calculation mechanics used by the Bitcoin network at the time it was released. Those mechanics were updated since then, and newer versions of Armory comply to those. You can either update your version, or modify the code in your older version.

As for how the fees are decided, this discussion does not belong to the Armory sub forum, nor does the Armory team have power over such matters. If you have complaints, take them up to the core team.

btcarmory.com
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!