Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:30:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 [150] 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481680 times)
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


^ will code for bitcoins


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 07:03:31 AM
 #2981

I would like to create a new public address and send some coins to someone and have them appear to come from this newly created address.  When I go to coin control this new address of course doesn't show up as the coins are in a different address in my wallet.  Is there anyway to do this?

Send the coins to this new address first? Coins are tied to the public/private keypair, since this new key doesn't have any inputs it can't have any outputs.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480869019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869019
Reply with quote  #2

1480869019
Report to moderator
1480869019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869019
Reply with quote  #2

1480869019
Report to moderator
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 501


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 09:39:45 AM
 #2982

Hey,

this has been asked before, but I had troubles finding a recent answer: can I use Armory and the standard bitcoind wallet in parallel? I still  use bitcoind via rpc for some scripts, and even though I would use Armory for my personal wallet, I would need to keep the script functionality. I imagine that the two wallets do not clash at all, ie, are completely separate?
area
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 09:40:42 AM
 #2983

Any progress on getting a build working properly on Mavericks? The build I currently have (0.89.99.9-beta) sort-of works, but crashes if I have it open for too long. This makes creating transactions much more stressful than it should be!

Mine the best coin, all the time, using Cryptoswitcher
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 10:25:45 AM
 #2984

Hey,

this has been asked before, but I had troubles finding a recent answer: can I use Armory and the standard bitcoind wallet in parallel? I still  use bitcoind via rpc for some scripts, and even though I would use Armory for my personal wallet, I would need to keep the script functionality. I imagine that the two wallets do not clash at all, ie, are completely separate?
yes you can, bitcoin{d,-qt} is only needed to communicate with the network and get/validate the blockchain.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 501


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 11:40:54 AM
 #2985

yes you can, bitcoin{d,-qt} is only needed to communicate with the network and get/validate the blockchain.

Awesome, thanks.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 03:51:56 PM
 #2986

Any progress on getting a build working properly on Mavericks? The build I currently have (0.89.99.9-beta) sort-of works, but crashes if I have it open for too long. This makes creating transactions much more stressful than it should be!

Alan is working on it as we speak, hang in there =)

btcarmory.com
flipperfish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312


Dolphie Selfie


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 05:47:15 PM
 #2987

I don't know if this has been mentioned yet, but I have some minor improvements/fixes/things-to-do for the windows-version:

  • Embed Armory-Icon in ArmoryQt.exe. The shortcut that will be created in the startmenu has the ugly default-icon otherwise.
  • Sign the Installer with an Authenticode-Certificate (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms537359%28vs.85%29.aspx). This way, the UAC-Popup will get a blue bar (instead of a yellow one). This indicates, that windows checked the integrity of the file. The user doesn't have to use GPG in this case. I know, that earlier versions of the Armory-Installer did have an Authenticode-Signature from Alan. I hope this "service" will be kept up and was just forgotten in the 0.90 release.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 06:15:38 PM
 #2988

I don't know if this has been mentioned yet, but I have some minor improvements/fixes/things-to-do for the windows-version:

  • Embed Armory-Icon in ArmoryQt.exe. The shortcut that will be created in the startmenu has the ugly default-icon otherwise.
  • Sign the Installer with an Authenticode-Certificate (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms537359%28vs.85%29.aspx). This way, the UAC-Popup will get a blue bar (instead of a yellow one). This indicates, that windows checked the integrity of the file. The user doesn't have to use GPG in this case. I know, that earlier versions of the Armory-Installer did have an Authenticode-Signature from Alan. I hope this "service" will be kept up and was just forgotten in the 0.90 release.

The first issue is on our list of bug fixes for the immediate future.

The second one is more complicated.  We switched from using MSI files to use NSIS .exe files for the installers.  This has proven to be more difficult in terms of signing.  I can sign the .exe, and the user can right-click the properties of the .exe and see it, but I believe it then unpacks the proper installer and runs that, which isn't signed.  As such, I haven't been able to figure out how to make this work with our new NSIS installer system.

Perhaps I'll add it as a task in our SW tracking system.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Flanagan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 06:17:39 PM
 #2989

I did a test yesterday of recovering a wallet from the paper backup.
I was surprized to see that it accepted as valid the whole set of 9 cols of 4 letters each and two lines when I changed one of the last letters in the whole sequence. Is this normal?


Learn to listen, listen to learn.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 06:19:12 PM
 #2990

Hey,

this has been asked before, but I had troubles finding a recent answer: can I use Armory and the standard bitcoind wallet in parallel? I still  use bitcoind via rpc for some scripts, and even though I would use Armory for my personal wallet, I would need to keep the script functionality. I imagine that the two wallets do not clash at all, ie, are completely separate?
yes you can, bitcoin{d,-qt} is only needed to communicate with the network and get/validate the blockchain.

More specifically, you can go into the settings for Armory, and disable "Let Armory manage Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind in the background".  Then Armory will expect you to run Bitcoin-Qt or bitcoind manually, and that it will be open and synchronized when you start Armory.

This will give you greater flexibility for managing both apps.

By the way, we will have a mostly-complete armoryd.py soon.  You might consider looking at that (in a week or two), as it should have most of the same functionality as bitcoind, but with Armory wallets (including watching-only wallets, etc).  Also we recently added a page about Python Scripting with Armory

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 06:20:21 PM
 #2991

I did a test yesterday of recovering a wallet from the paper backup.
I was surprized to see that it accepted as valid the whole set of 9 cols of 4 letters each and two lines when I changed one of the last letters in the whole sequence. Is this normal?

The restore dialog has automatic error correction.  If it can't correct the error, it will notify you that you typed it wrong.  Usually it notifies you that it fixed an error, but it may not do it if it's in the last couple letters.  If you change a letter in the middle of a line, it may tell you.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 06:21:06 PM
 #2992

I had to downgrade to 0.88 last night because the UI had become slow and unresponse to the point at which I could create a transaction and click "send" and nothing would happen.
CircusPeanut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123

Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 06:21:17 PM
 #2993

Quote
I was surprized to see that it accepted as valid the whole set of 9 cols of 4 letters each and two lines when I changed one of the last letters in the whole sequence. Is this normal?

Redundancy is built into the wallet restoration codes. You should be able to make one mistake per line and the wallet will still be recovered.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 06:23:56 PM
 #2994

I had to downgrade to 0.88 last night because the UI had become slow and unresponse to the point at which I could create a transaction and click "send" and nothing would happen.

Log file?  

Also, did you recently add a lot of addresses, wallets, etc?  There's a known problem if you have tons of addresses, it can be slow when new blocks are coming in.  That's going to be fixed in 0.91.

Also, try "Help"-> "Rebuild and Rescan Databases"

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 06:43:29 PM
 #2995

Log file?
I think it got clobbered in the downgrade. Was in a hurry and didn't think to save it.

Also, did you recently add a lot of addresses, wallets, etc?  There's a known problem if you have tons of addresses, it can be slow when new blocks are coming in.  That's going to be fixed in 0.91.
The only wallet I've added recently was the one you guys were handing out in Vegas...

Also, try "Help"-> "Rebuild and Rescan Databases"
That's something else - even when I think I did a clean shutdown of Armory it still ends up doing the full blockchain scan at least half the time.
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 07:03:02 PM
 #2996

Hey,

this has been asked before, but I had troubles finding a recent answer: can I use Armory and the standard bitcoind wallet in parallel? I still  use bitcoind via rpc for some scripts, and even though I would use Armory for my personal wallet, I would need to keep the script functionality. I imagine that the two wallets do not clash at all, ie, are completely separate?

Bitcoind is in a completely separate directory.  Armory just starts it without the GUI.

If you close Armory, you can start bitcoind, and it will work as normal.  The two sets of wallets are completely separate (except that Armory assumes blocks that have been verified by bitcoind are valid).

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 07:53:28 PM
 #2997

I would like to create a new public address and send some coins to someone and have them appear to come from this newly created address.  When I go to coin control this new address of course doesn't show up as the coins are in a different address in my wallet.  Is there anyway to do this?

You have to send the coins to that address first, you can't spend coins that aren't there.  A wallet is just a collection of addresses that each have their own balances, and the wallet's balance is just the sum of those individual balances.  It's not like your wallet balance is somehow shared amongst all the addresses in your wallet.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 10:09:36 PM
 #2998

In QT, the client will tell how far out of sync the client is (like "4 days behind"). Could that be added to Armory? I occasionally make mistakes because I look at Armory's "connected" hover text, it reads "last block received 32 seconds ago," and I interpret that as meaning "the last block broadcast to the network was 32 seconds ago," thinking the client's sync'd when it isn't.

Not sure what you mean.  If Qt is out of sync, the bottom-right corner hover text will say "4 days ago".  Is this not the case?
That is the case with QT. That doesn't appear to be the case on Armory while it's handling bitcoind. I'll cut off its bandwidth overnight, then unthrottle it in the morning to confirm.
Oops. Forgot about this.

bitcoind's been throttled to .5kB/s since I last posted. Hovering over "Connected (275122 blocks)" shows "Last block received is 19 hours ago." Upon unthrottling bitcoind, Armory ran fine for a while (no updates to block count), then froze up for a few minutes. the next update is "Connected (275179 blocks)" and hover text shows "Last block received is 12 seconds ago." As of this post, current block is 275307. Unlike QT, Armory isn't telling me how far behind bitcoind is. Armory also kept occasionally freezing up for ~10-20 seconds while sync'ing. Emailed you the log just in case the freezing's an unknown issue and there's anything helpful in there.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 10:42:09 PM
 #2999

I installed the latest beta and this client still seems to be a resource hungry monster for some reason. After hours and hours of syncing with the blockchain I was able to finally see my wallet. I run all my bitcoin associated programs in a VM, so I can't allocate so many resources just for one program. Once I start and run Armory the VM slows to a crawl and I get a lot of "not responding" windows and have to wait for the program to catch up. Is this normal the latest beta? I thought that's what was going to be fixed in the new release?

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 10:52:55 PM
 #3000

I installed the latest beta and this client still seems to be a resource hungry monster for some reason. After hours and hours of syncing with the blockchain I was able to finally see my wallet. I run all my bitcoin associated programs in a VM, so I can't allocate so many resources just for one program. Once I start and run Armory the VM slows to a crawl and I get a lot of "not responding" windows and have to wait for the program to catch up. Is this normal the latest beta? I thought that's what was going to be fixed in the new release?

The first-time startup uses about 1 GB of RAM while building the databases, and might take a 1-3 hours after bitcoin-qt finishes synchronizing.  After that process is done, it will all be much smoother.  Starting up should only require Bitcoin-Qt sync'ing, but it will load all the histories from the DB to avoid rescanning (unless you unclean-shutdown).  I also plan to make that 1 GB configurable in the future.

Feel free to send us a log file, to support@bitcoinarmory.com.


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Pages: « 1 ... 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 [150] 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!