Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2021, 02:27:49 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 [157] 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 ... 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 521355 times)
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1006



View Profile
January 13, 2014, 07:16:38 PM
 #3121

Is connecting to a non-local bitcoind something that's coming soon?

Not any time soon, but possibly
Note that what I really want to do is run Armory with btcd instead of bitcoind.

Doesn't work now though because they use a different blockchain database format.

If you made Armory without direct file access to the blockchain then I presume it would no longer care whether or not the peer it's talking to is the reference implementation or not, but if it would be easier to make Armory understand btcd's "entire-blockchain-in-leveldb" format that would be great too.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1610850469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610850469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610850469
Reply with quote  #2

1610850469
Report to moderator
1610850469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610850469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610850469
Reply with quote  #2

1610850469
Report to moderator
1610850469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610850469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610850469
Reply with quote  #2

1610850469
Report to moderator
plethora
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 10



View Profile
January 14, 2014, 09:07:30 PM
 #3122

I had Armory running today and got tons of error messages about clicking a "bitcoin: link" when stopping the screensaver. I didn't touch the keyboard or mouse for hours so I haven't clicked any links. I also had Firefox open on bitcoinwisdom.com, code.google.com and a couple of other pages. Not sure what this is about but no coins are missing of course  Cheesy I don't have any NSPlayer installed that I know of. Just wanted to let you know and be aware about it.

Logs:
Quote
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br> Z     6,   ÿ      :                4æ           (CONNECT_DATA=(COMMAND=version))
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>  ýÎú °    MMS                    ðððð    N S P l a y e r / 9 . 0 . 0 . 2 9 8 0 ;   { 0 0 0 0 A A 0 0 - 0 A 0 0 - 0 0 a 0 - A A 0 A - 0 0 0 0 A 0 A A 0 A A 0 }   àmß_
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>:   /     @  =            /         @                 
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>DmdT           ÿÿ
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>  à     
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>TNMP   TNME  
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>0 ` €
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>default

2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>l          
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>   ¤ÿSMBr    @              @     PC NETWORK PROGRAM 1.0 MICROSOFT NETWORKS 1.03 MICROSOFT NETWORKS 3.0 LANMAN1.0 LM1.2X002 Samba NT LANMAN 1.0 NT LM 0.12
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>  S  O ?G×÷º,îê²`~ó ý‚{¹Õ–Èw›æÄÛ<=Ûoïn  (  
 f   e d c b a `           
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>HELP


2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>            
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>          versionbind   
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>€  (rþ        †  —|                   
2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>OPTIONS / RTSP/1.0




2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>OPTIONS / HTTP/1.0




2014-01-14 16:54 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1577 - It looks like you just clicked a "bitcoin:" link, but that link is malformed.  The raw URI string is:<br><br>GET / HTTP/1.0




goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 09:24:55 PM
 #3123

This is pretty weird, it looks like it is catching non bitcoin: URIs for some reason. Gotta investigate.

omegaflare
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:55:18 AM
 #3124

Every time I tried to send bitcoins, Armory crashes and it's rampant. Seriously, when are you going to fix it?! And every time it crash, it takes 20 minutes for bitcoin to scan transaction history - it's a fuking waste of time.

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 07:00:28 AM
 #3125

Every time I tried to send bitcoins, Armory crashes and it's rampant. Seriously, when are you going to fix it?! And every time it crash, it takes 20 minutes for bitcoin to scan transaction history - it's a fuking waste of time.

Are you using an older version of Armory that you create offline transactions from? The rescan on crash is fixed for 0.91

omegaflare
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 07:06:31 AM
 #3126

0.90. I don't see 0.91 via download page. Sigh...

========================================

Latest version:  0.90-beta:
» Version 0.90-beta for Windows Vista, 7, 8 (Both 32- and 64-bit)
» Version 0.90-beta: Signed hashes of all installers .  Verify against our offline signing key (0×98832223).
[for WindowsXP, use 0.88.1-beta or wait for the 0.91-beta release]
In addition to the first-time Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind synchronization step, Armory will also build its own set of databases the first time.   This will take between 30 min and 3 hours depending on your system.  It is recommended you do not interrupt this step.  After it completes, subsequent loads of Armory will usually be under 30 seconds.

=========================================


0.91 isn't out.. if you have the download link, please do share.

omegaflare
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 07:14:33 AM
 #3127

Every time I tried to send bitcoins, Armory crashes and it's rampant. Seriously, when are you going to fix it?! And every time it crash, it takes 20 minutes for bitcoin to scan transaction history - it's a fuking waste of time.

Are you using an older version of Armory that you create offline transactions from? The rescan on crash is fixed for 0.91

Can you PLEASE provide the download link? Or maybe update the download page via https://bitcoinarmory.com/download/

You need to address your issue with software update.. it's taking too long.

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 08:04:14 AM
 #3128

Can you PLEASE provide the download link? Or maybe update the download page via https://bitcoinarmory.com/download/

You need to address your issue with software update.. it's taking too long.

That's in the 0.91-dev branch on github. Still a few weeks until we release this officially. The team is in the process of fixing the known comon bugs in this branch.

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2014, 08:42:19 AM
 #3129

Every time I tried to send bitcoins, Armory crashes and it's rampant. Seriously, when are you going to fix it?! And every time it crash, it takes 20 minutes for bitcoin to scan transaction history - it's a fuking waste of time.

Are you using an older version of Armory that you create offline transactions from? The rescan on crash is fixed for 0.91

Can you PLEASE provide the download link? Or maybe update the download page via https://bitcoinarmory.com/download/

You need to address your issue with software update.. it's taking too long.

Maybe you should donate

1FfmbHfnpaZjKFvyi1okTjJJu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164
Merit: 100


Im not 1FfmbHfnpaZjKFvyi1okTjJJusN455paPH


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 11:10:32 AM
 #3130

Has anyone successful changed Armory's appdata path on windows?

From https://bitcoinarmory.com/about/armory-and-bitcoin-qt/
"If you do this, then you will need to start Armory with the exact same path in “–satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location“."

"–satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location" : ignores the path and scans the db to default
"-satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location" : error: ArmoryQt.exe: error: no such option: -s



bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2014, 11:25:48 AM
 #3131

Has anyone successful changed Armory's appdata path on windows?

From https://bitcoinarmory.com/about/armory-and-bitcoin-qt/
"If you do this, then you will need to start Armory with the exact same path in “–satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location“."

"–satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location" : ignores the path and scans the db to default
"-satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location" : error: ArmoryQt.exe: error: no such option: -s





 --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --dbdir=F:\Armory

1FfmbHfnpaZjKFvyi1okTjJJu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164
Merit: 100


Im not 1FfmbHfnpaZjKFvyi1okTjJJusN455paPH


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 11:49:45 AM
 #3132

Has anyone successful changed Armory's appdata path on windows?

From https://bitcoinarmory.com/about/armory-and-bitcoin-qt/
"If you do this, then you will need to start Armory with the exact same path in “–satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location“."

"–satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location" : ignores the path and scans the db to default
"-satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location" : error: ArmoryQt.exe: error: no such option: -s





 --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --dbdir=F:\Armory

This worked.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2014, 12:46:50 PM
 #3133

Has anyone successful changed Armory's appdata path on windows?

From https://bitcoinarmory.com/about/armory-and-bitcoin-qt/
"If you do this, then you will need to start Armory with the exact same path in “–satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location“."

"–satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location" : ignores the path and scans the db to default
"-satoshi-datadir=C:\path\to\new\location" : error: ArmoryQt.exe: error: no such option: -s





 --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --dbdir=F:\Armory

This worked.

Thanks, the docs are fucked up. No clue where I even learned that.

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:35:19 PM
 #3134

https://github.com/etotheipi/BitcoinArmory/blob/0.91-dev/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py#L45

You can see all the current active (and unactive) command line args here, with their associated help comments.

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
January 17, 2014, 12:27:07 AM
 #3135

https://github.com/etotheipi/BitcoinArmory/blob/0.91-dev/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py#L45

You can see all the current active (and unactive) command line args here, with their associated help comments.

Perfect

So there's 3 directories to be aware of.
And 3 connections, files, peer and rpc.

QuantumQrack
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 02:16:47 PM
 #3136

So, I know the Armory developers are working on Trezor integration, etc.  But I was wondering if stealth addresses and CoinJoin via the Armory client are in any sort of planning stage?  Rather than doing these things manually, which is a hassle, it would be nice if it was EZ button type of implementation.

Appreciate all the hard work on Armory!
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
January 17, 2014, 02:39:35 PM
 #3137

So, I know the Armory developers are working on Trezor integration, etc.  But I was wondering if stealth addresses and CoinJoin via the Armory client are in any sort of planning stage?  Rather than doing these things manually, which is a hassle, it would be nice if it was EZ button type of implementation.

Appreciate all the hard work on Armory!

Coinjoin requires networking code which they avoid.

Peter Todd
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1052


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 12:41:44 AM
 #3138

So, I know the Armory developers are working on Trezor integration, etc.  But I was wondering if stealth addresses and CoinJoin via the Armory client are in any sort of planning stage?  Rather than doing these things manually, which is a hassle, it would be nice if it was EZ button type of implementation.

Appreciate all the hard work on Armory!

I can't speak for the Armory devs, but one nice thing about implementing stealth addresses in Armory is that it already has the machinery to scan the blockchain; you could easily use stealth at the highest privacy level where any stealth tx that's sent could be going to you. (zero-filtering)

It's something to consider about Armory in general: because it can work so easily with a local full-node you always have excellent privacy with regard to the contents of your wallet. All the queries are local, so info on what coins are in your wallet never leaves your machine. That's much better than SPV clients like Android Wallet where every peer you connect to learns statistical info narrowing down your addresses to within about one in 10,000 or so, or Electrum which currently just tells peers what addresses are in your wallet.

Anyway, as something I myself would use, I'll offer a 1BTC bounty to get stealth address support in Armory. Contact me if you're interested in making it happen and we'll work out the specifics between myself and the Armory devs. (they're eligible too of course)

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
January 18, 2014, 01:00:22 AM
 #3139

So, I know the Armory developers are working on Trezor integration, etc.  But I was wondering if stealth addresses and CoinJoin via the Armory client are in any sort of planning stage?  Rather than doing these things manually, which is a hassle, it would be nice if it was EZ button type of implementation.

Appreciate all the hard work on Armory!

I can't speak for the Armory devs, but one nice thing about implementing stealth addresses in Armory is that it already has the machinery to scan the blockchain; you could easily use stealth at the highest privacy level where any stealth tx that's sent could be going to you. (zero-filtering)

It's something to consider about Armory in general: because it can work so easily with a local full-node you always have excellent privacy with regard to the contents of your wallet. All the queries are local, so info on what coins are in your wallet never leaves your machine. That's much better than SPV clients like Android Wallet where every peer you connect to learns statistical info narrowing down your addresses to within about one in 10,000 or so, or Electrum which currently just tells peers what addresses are in your wallet.

I'm very interested in this feature.  It's just that it still sounds very theoretical at the moment.  I'm also concerned about how much computation it will be to track the addresses ... ECDH calculations aren't cheap.  I guess I'm still in a waiting mode, implementing other things while I wait for this to be ironed out (I don't have much to contribute to the discussion, though I have spent a lot of time thinking about how to get the same benefits without all the ECDH calcs).

Peter:  Btw, I'm working on P2SH support right now.  You will be able to test it on 0.91-dev in the next couple days.  In fact, it seems to be working right now, on the p2shout branch -- you can try it right now, though I wouldn't do anything other than testnet. 

As part of the update, I modified the PyTxDistProposal::createFromTxOutSelection() method to take any arbitrary list of script-value pairs, instead of just hash160 values.  Right now, it will error out if you supply it something other than an P2PubKeyHash or P2SH, but that could be modified locally to create a tx with any arbitrary output scripts.  As long as all the inputs are standard UTXOs, you can create such a tx and sign it no problem (have fun getting it mined, though).

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 11:19:08 AM
 #3140

Hi!

First of all: Amazing work done by Armory Dev's!

I am working with the Daemon (extending it at moment to support Tx Offline Signing, and Broadcasting)

And i got a Little problem at the moment, maybe some of the Devs can point me to the right direction to get it working.

The Broadcast is nearly ready to use in ArmoryD, the problem I got is:
New Transaction Requests  over the same SourceAddress  of the previous Tx  will fail until the BDM gets notified about Confirmations
from BitcoinD.

Its like he want to spent the same TxInputs and then the Tx will fail in Broadcast. I saw  ArmoryQT  maintaining a combinedLedger.
(appending ZeroConf Ledger Entries to the combinedLedger)
But I have not see any relation to the BDM with the combinedLedger (maybe i am missing something, Its the first Project i am touching python.)

Or How ArmoryQT get it working to not fail on next Tx’s when the previous Tx’s isn’t already +1 Confirmation?
It seems to me that ArmoryQt “makes in some way a manual sync” to be able to realize a next TX.

Any point to direct me where I can follow the needs?

Thanks!


Pages: « 1 ... 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 [157] 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 ... 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!