Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:39:19 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 [165] 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481816 times)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2014, 03:55:47 PM
 #3281

How hard would it be to make it support multiple instances?

It can be done, but it's made intentionally difficult, because running two instances of Armory using the same wallets is guaranteed to corrupt your wallets.  And of course, all the extra data... most of the time the user simply double-clicked to open it again, not realizing it's already open.

If you really want to do it for whatever reason, then you can open the second Armory instance using

Code:
--datadir=/path/to/second/armory --interport=7890

Interport can be any unused port, and is only for detecting multiple instances (which is why you must change it to run multiple).  You must change both datadir and interport at the same time if you don't want to corrupt your existing wallets.


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
1480927159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927159
Reply with quote  #2

1480927159
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480927159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927159
Reply with quote  #2

1480927159
Report to moderator
1480927159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927159
Reply with quote  #2

1480927159
Report to moderator
WiiD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 12:29:01 AM
 #3282

Is it normal that my online wallet has to do "Scanning Transaction History" for about 2 hours every time i start Armory??? So when Bitcoin crashes i need over 2 hours to get my BTC out of Armory Wallet??
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2014, 12:46:19 AM
 #3283

Is it normal that my online wallet has to do "Scanning Transaction History" for about 2 hours every time i start Armory??? So when Bitcoin crashes i need over 2 hours to get my BTC out of Armory Wallet??

Kind of.  There's a bug in 0.90-beta, that forces it to rescan way more often than it needs to.  This is dramatically improved in the new testing version (0.91).  It won't rescan unless you just import addresses or wallets. 

Unfortunately, if you leave Armory off for a couple weeks, it has to catch up with the latest blockchain history, which can be kind of slow (though it should only be a few minutes).  But there's not much we can do about it.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 03:01:39 AM
 #3284

Ok,

I created a wallet on Armory and I have a paper backup.
My question is:
1- I see web wallets that already implemented bip32 where an address that starts with (3) 3J5emZhKuLWyW292dFgDo1YhFN1MWVyV13 is created. Is it right that I can send bitcoins to this address and for each transaction will be created a new address that start with (1)?
2- When Armory implement bip32, will I need to create a new backup?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2014, 03:08:40 AM
 #3285

Ok,

I created a wallet on Armory and I have a paper backup.
My question is:
1- I see web wallets that already implemented bip32 where an address that starts with (3) 3J5emZhKuLWyW292dFgDo1YhFN1MWVyV13 is created. Is it right that I can send bitcoins to this address and for each transaction will be created a new address that start with (1)?
2- When Armory implement bip32, will I need to create a new backup?

The addresses that start with "3" are P2SH addresses, usually used for multisig.  Armory version 0.90 and previous did not support sending to these addreses, but the new version to be released soon (0.91) will allow it.  It's up to them to deal with their own P2SH addresses, and how to create and spend from them.  But Armory will keep using the ones that start with "1", such as creating change addresses that start with "1".  Armory has no mechanism to spend multisig txOuts, even if it has some of the private keys.

As soon as this next version is out, my number one priority is finishing the new wallet design, which will suppot BIP32, multisig, P2SH, compressed keys, and a variety of other things.  It will also allow you to migrate your existing wallet to the new format, and continue using your existing wallets.  Though you won't get the benefits of the new BIP32 stuff.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 03:16:02 AM
 #3286

Thanks for the answer.
lyth0s
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


World Class Cryptonaire


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 03:37:50 AM
 #3287

etothepie could you help me fix my armory?  my armory is stuck at Synchronizing with Network 99% 0 blocks and in the bottom right hand corner it says offline. I've ran Bitcoin-QT and the entire blockchain is downloaded and is up to date.

Monero - Truly Anonymous Digital Cash.
WiiD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 10:28:02 AM
 #3288

Is it normal that my online wallet has to do "Scanning Transaction History" for about 2 hours every time i start Armory??? So when Bitcoin crashes i need over 2 hours to get my BTC out of Armory Wallet??

Kind of.  There's a bug in 0.90-beta, that forces it to rescan way more often than it needs to.  This is dramatically improved in the new testing version (0.91).  It won't rescan unless you just import addresses or wallets. 

Unfortunately, if you leave Armory off for a couple weeks, it has to catch up with the latest blockchain history, which can be kind of slow (though it should only be a few minutes).  But there's not much we can do about it.

Okay thank you very much. When 0.91 will be released? Can i just install it over the old Armory and it will keep my wallets, Private Keys etc. ?
simonvrouwe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 11:24:38 AM
 #3289

Don't know if this the right place to ask, but "Does Armory not support multisig addresses to send BTC to?"

When I try to send BTC this address (which is a multisig address): 39wbuEjp3mfFAB3bTjmkFB69XAmKYRMq5i ,then I get error "You have entered one invalid address..." and after that "Address1 is for the wrong network..."
Armory is version 0.90-beta on 64bit Kubuntu12.04

Bitrated user: rothbard1979.
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
March 02, 2014, 03:22:39 PM
 #3290

Don't know if this the right place to ask, but "Does Armory not support multisig addresses to send BTC to?"

When I try to send BTC this address (which is a multisig address): 39wbuEjp3mfFAB3bTjmkFB69XAmKYRMq5i ,then I get error "You have entered one invalid address..." and after that "Address1 is for the wrong network..."
Armory is version 0.90-beta on 64bit Kubuntu12.04

This should work with 0.91. Key feature is "enabling P2SH addresses".

Vires in numeris
lyth0s
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


World Class Cryptonaire


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 01:34:06 AM
 #3291

etothepie could you help me fix my armory?  my armory is stuck at Synchronizing with Network 99% 0 blocks and in the bottom right hand corner it says offline. I've ran Bitcoin-QT and the entire blockchain is downloaded and is up to date.

Fixed my problem, explained it here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=495487.new#new

Monero - Truly Anonymous Digital Cash.
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 09:13:40 PM
 #3292

How hard would it be to make it support multiple instances?

It can be done, but it's made intentionally difficult, because running two instances of Armory using the same wallets is guaranteed to corrupt your wallets.  And of course, all the extra data... most of the time the user simply double-clicked to open it again, not realizing it's already open.

If you really want to do it for whatever reason, then you can open the second Armory instance using

Code:
--datadir=/path/to/second/armory --interport=7890

Interport can be any unused port, and is only for detecting multiple instances (which is why you must change it to run multiple).  You must change both datadir and interport at the same time if you don't want to corrupt your existing wallets.



Thank you. Nice and "user easy" way of detecting multiple instances Smiley

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
randomguy7
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 528


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 10:03:59 PM
 #3293

If I create a transaction (on armory version >= 0.91) to spend coins to a P2SH address, will an offline v0.90 armory installation be able to sign it?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2014, 10:10:11 PM
 #3294

If I create a transaction (on armory version >= 0.91) to spend coins to a P2SH address, will an offline v0.90 armory installation be able to sign it?

Good question, I haven't tried it!  My guess is:  yes, but the interface may not be all that useful, probably "[Non-standard address]" instead of the address string you're expecting.  That's something I'll have to investigate... (feel free to try it and tell me what happens)

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
uhoh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Circle gets the Square


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 11:39:02 PM
 #3295

Fantastic work on 0.90... Not had a single problem with it, it's been brilliant. Wouldn't trust BTC to anything else anymore.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 02:54:09 AM
 #3296

Fantastic work on 0.90... Not had a single problem with it, it's been brilliant. Wouldn't trust BTC to anything else anymore.

Hey, are you talking about the testing version posted 2 weeks ago (0.90.99)?   Or the 0.90-beta on the website?  Either way, glad to hear some positive feedback, just wanted to get clarity on it.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
uhoh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Circle gets the Square


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 01:38:59 PM
 #3297

Fantastic work on 0.90... Not had a single problem with it, it's been brilliant. Wouldn't trust BTC to anything else anymore.

Hey, are you talking about the testing version posted 2 weeks ago (0.90.99)?   Or the 0.90-beta on the website?  Either way, glad to hear some positive feedback, just wanted to get clarity on it.

Currently using 0.90-beta. I will most likely stay with this version for the foreseeable as it does literally everything I need it to do.

Will be tipping you some point soon!

Thanks again.
Ilan1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 02:53:28 PM
 #3298

Hi, I made a transaction for 2 BTC this morning and it has still not confirmed, the blockchain says "Estimated Confirmation Time Within 6 Blocks (Medium Priority) and then there is a Confirmation Warning message to say "The Transaction Fee is Less than Recommended"

I did not set the transaction fee 0.0001 BTC it was automatically set when I broadcasted the transaction via Armory.

1) How long will I have to wait for the confirmations to show?
2) Can I manually change the transaction fee for future payments through the Armory client?

Thanks

LTCgear.com Review http://ltcgear.co.ukhttp://ltcgear.com/?apage=120 - 160mh/s for $850 use coupon code "anniversary1yr" - Active Multi Algorithm cloud mining in Scrypt, X11 and Scrypt-N - ROI in 5 Weeks
SimonBelmond
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 03:29:49 PM
 #3299

Hi, I made a transaction for 2 BTC this morning and it has still not confirmed, the blockchain says "Estimated Confirmation Time Within 6 Blocks (Medium Priority) and then there is a Confirmation Warning message to say "The Transaction Fee is Less than Recommended"

I did not set the transaction fee 0.0001 BTC it was automatically set when I broadcasted the transaction via Armory.

1) How long will I have to wait for the confirmations to show?
2) Can I manually change the transaction fee for future payments through the Armory client?

Thanks

Yes you can change it. Somewhere under settings or tools. You may have to go to expert mode.
e4xit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 04:14:00 PM
 #3300

Hi,

Im using Armory 0.9 Beta on OSX, it seems to sync up with the network and stuff OK, but in the bottom right where it either says "disconnected" or "Connected (288888 blocks)" it flashes very quickly between these two messages, like a couple of times per second.

Sometimes it is predominantly 'disconnected' but I can see it flashing, and sometimes it is 'Connected (288888 blocks)' and it flashes...

Anyone else experience this/able to help me troubleshoot this?

Thanks.

If you don't have the private key for "your" bitcoins then you have no bitcoins.
There are a million bits in a bitcoin: 1 ฿ = 1,000,000 ƀ
Pages: « 1 ... 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 [165] 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!