Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2019, 12:58:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 [156] 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 ... 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 520954 times)
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
January 05, 2014, 09:21:27 PM
 #3101

interesting.  didn't know printers had a hard drive that could store a privkey.  always thought this problem was isolated to the printing drum.

Just the large office-copier type ones.  I remember a story where a police station sold their copier and the news station that bought it
downloaded tons of personal criminal information off the hard drive.

I'm sure it can be recovered from your local printer spool too.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
1575680330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575680330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575680330
Reply with quote  #2

1575680330
Report to moderator
1575680330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575680330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575680330
Reply with quote  #2

1575680330
Report to moderator
"If you don't want people to know you're a scumbag then don't be a scumbag." -- margaritahuyan
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1575680330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575680330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575680330
Reply with quote  #2

1575680330
Report to moderator
1575680330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575680330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575680330
Reply with quote  #2

1575680330
Report to moderator
HeliKopterBen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 06, 2014, 02:57:23 AM
 #3102

interesting.  didn't know printers had a hard drive that could store a privkey.  always thought this problem was isolated to the printing drum.

Just the large office-copier type ones.  I remember a story where a police station sold their copier and the news station that bought it
downloaded tons of personal criminal information off the hard drive.

I'm sure it can be recovered from your local printer spool too.

Because of user demand, spooled data on newer models is often erased or scrammbled, but I wouldn't trust it with a private key.  The best bet, especially if you are storing a lot of wealth, is to get a cheap dedicated USB inkjet printer and only connect it when you are printing paper wallets... or use the secure print feature.

Counterfeit:  made in imitation of something else with intent to deceive:  merriam-webster
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
January 06, 2014, 04:28:54 AM
 #3103

any plans to get BIP 38?
arcke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 05:38:03 PM
 #3104

I couldnt find this one on git: http://pastebin.com/p2eHL6qU

Just happened to me after armory has been running for 2-3 days.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1005


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2014, 09:59:45 PM
 #3105

I couldnt find this one on git: http://pastebin.com/p2eHL6qU

Just happened to me after armory has been running for 2-3 days.

Do you have a lot of addresses in Armory?  This frequently occurs when Armory hits the 10-20 sec timeout during an operation... it happens most frequently when there is network burp, or you have 10k+ addresses and it's trying to update all of them after a new block comes in.  If it's an address problem, we'll have a fix for it soon ... the 0.91-dev branch already has updates that make Armory operate much better with 50k+ addresses, though there's still more work to do.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 12:10:55 AM
 #3106

Hey etotheipi, i tried running 2 instances of Armory (both with it's own wallet folder aka separate "--datadir" arguments, but same "--satoshidir" argument) and it doesn't work. How hard is it to implement multiple instances? If easy will you do it?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
arcke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 12:35:15 AM
 #3107

I couldnt find this one on git: http://pastebin.com/p2eHL6qU

Just happened to me after armory has been running for 2-3 days.

Do you have a lot of addresses in Armory?  This frequently occurs when Armory hits the 10-20 sec timeout during an operation... it happens most frequently when there is network burp, or you have 10k+ addresses and it's trying to update all of them after a new block comes in.  If it's an address problem, we'll have a fix for it soon ... the 0.91-dev branch already has updates that make Armory operate much better with 50k+ addresses, though there's still more work to do.

I have 3 addresses right now. I don't think this is a problem. Might it be that it happened when I accidentally pulled my network cable out.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 07, 2014, 02:03:30 AM
 #3108

I couldnt find this one on git: http://pastebin.com/p2eHL6qU

Just happened to me after armory has been running for 2-3 days.

Do you have a lot of addresses in Armory?  This frequently occurs when Armory hits the 10-20 sec timeout during an operation... it happens most frequently when there is network burp, or you have 10k+ addresses and it's trying to update all of them after a new block comes in.  If it's an address problem, we'll have a fix for it soon ... the 0.91-dev branch already has updates that make Armory operate much better with 50k+ addresses, though there's still more work to do.

I have 3 addresses right now. I don't think this is a problem. Might it be that it happened when I accidentally pulled my network cable out.

Sherlock Holmes

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
arcke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 03:52:46 AM
 #3109

I couldnt find this one on git: http://pastebin.com/p2eHL6qU

Just happened to me after armory has been running for 2-3 days.

Do you have a lot of addresses in Armory?  This frequently occurs when Armory hits the 10-20 sec timeout during an operation... it happens most frequently when there is network burp, or you have 10k+ addresses and it's trying to update all of them after a new block comes in.  If it's an address problem, we'll have a fix for it soon ... the 0.91-dev branch already has updates that make Armory operate much better with 50k+ addresses, though there's still more work to do.

I have 3 addresses right now. I don't think this is a problem. Might it be that it happened when I accidentally pulled my network cable out.

Sherlock Holmes

Watson
RAJSALLIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 665
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:33:41 AM
 #3110

any plans to get BIP 38?

This.
Think it's important that bip38 infrastructure is increased since it's one of the safest ways to store paper wallets.

  A revolutionary decentralized digital economy 
`Join us:██`Twitter  ◽  Facebook  ◽  Telegram  ◽  Youtube  ◽  Github`
.ATHERO
.Internet 3.0 solution
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:13:03 AM
 #3111

any plans to get BIP 38?

This.
Think it's important that bip38 infrastructure is increased since it's one of the safest ways to store paper wallets.

This sounds like the same thing:

what do you mean by "both are needed"?  what's the use of printing anything out if you're going to handwrite out the chain code and seed anyways?

The SecurePrint code is substantially smaller than the rest of the data that was printed.  I struggled with this a bit, because I needed the code to be long enough to be secure, but not so long that the user might as well just copy the rootkey & chaincode by hand anyway. 

So I struggled with this balance and settled for 8 bytes with super key-stretching.  So that's 64 bits, plus approximately 20 bits of stretching (since the stretching will slow down guessing by about a factor of 1,000,000.  Additionally, it requires 16 MB of RAM so it should be difficult for GPUs to parallelize it.  It's not as strong as I'd prefer, but it's infeasible for any system to brute force right now.  If you are ultra ultra-paranoid, you can just just copy everything by hand.  Just make sure to use the backup tester before you store it.



It isn't, by chance, BIP38 or compatible?

Ente
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 11:43:05 PM
 #3112

Help maxconnections and armory https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=405940.0

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1005


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
January 09, 2014, 12:54:43 AM
 #3113

Armory already achieves the same security properties of BIP 38, just with a different algorithm.  If BIP 38 becomes a real standard, I'll be happy to implement, though I don't see any deficiencies in my current algorithm except for interoperability with other apps.  If everyone else is committed to BIP 38, I can be too.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
freewil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 10



View Profile
January 09, 2014, 11:49:49 PM
 #3114

I'd like to imitate `listsinceblock <blockhash>` from bitcoind in armoryd which is similar to `listtransactions` except it only shows new transactions since the given blockhash. Any help/advice on how I might be able to get started with this?
freewil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 10



View Profile
January 10, 2014, 08:11:40 PM
 #3115

Updates to 0.91-dev branch: (just pushed)

  • armoryd.py updates -- a bunch of functions that broke in the update to 0.90 have been fixed.  Most importantly, "listtransactions" and "getledger" now work.  CircusPeanut is working on building a better test environment for it to improve the reliability.

the two parameters for listtransactions don't seem to have any effect on the output of the command - it outputs the same thing regardless.

UPDATE: submitted a pull request to fix this: https://github.com/etotheipi/BitcoinArmory/pull/160
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1005


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
January 10, 2014, 11:41:26 PM
 #3116


UPDATE: submitted a pull request to fix this: https://github.com/etotheipi/BitcoinArmory/pull/160

The change was simple enough I just updated it in my working branch.  It will appear in the next push of 0.91. 

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
ncs0ne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


software developer


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 12:00:57 PM
 #3117

Don't know if it has been mentioned before. Sorry if so.

Armory 0.90-beta on linux

Click on 'send Bitcoins'
Enter address, amount and description
Put into the description one or more foreign characters like é, ö, ..

Click on 'Send!' and nothing happens.
No message, hint or error is displayed - you just wonder why it has no effect.

Log shows
Code:
(ERROR) Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/armory/qtdialogs.py", line 5244, in createTxAndBroadcast
    txdp = self.validateInputsGetTxDP()
  File "/usr/lib/armory/qtdialogs.py", line 5395, in validateInputsGetTxDP
    self.comments.append(str(self.widgetTable[i][COLS.Comm].text()))
UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode character u'\xe4' in position 5: ordinal not in range(128)

Seems like the issue is a missing transfromation toUTF-8, only.
When I change line 5395 in file '/usr/lib/armory/qtdialogs.py' from:
Code:
self.comments.append(str(self.widgetTable[i][COLS.Comm].text()))
to
Code:
self.comments.append(str(self.widgetTable[i][COLS.Comm].text().toUtf8()))

I can enter those foreign characters and get my confirmation popup, but no clue whether sending really works, not tested.



Further I saw this line when starting via bash:
Code:
sni-qt/769" WARN  12:26:19.849 void StatusNotifierItemFactory::connectToSnw() Invalid interface to SNW_SERVICE

And when closing:
Code:
-INFO  - 1389440887: (BlockUtils.cpp:4000) Saving wallet history for next load
(ERROR) armoryengine.py:13216 - Resetting BDM and all wallets
(WARNING) armoryengine.py:661 - Killing process pid=1881

On restart some seconds later:
Code:
(ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:4592 - Error in checkSatoshiVersion
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/armory/ArmoryQt.py", line 4555, in checkSatoshiVersion
    self.checkForLatestVersion()
  File "/usr/lib/armory/ArmoryQt.py", line 1220, in checkForLatestVersion
    versionLines = urllib2.urlopen(HTTP_VERSION_FILE, timeout=CLI_OPTIONS.nettimeout)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 127, in urlopen
    return _opener.open(url, data, timeout)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 404, in open
    response = self._open(req, data)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 422, in _open
    '_open', req)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 382, in _call_chain
    result = func(*args)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 1214, in http_open
    return self.do_open(httplib.HTTPConnection, req)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 1187, in do_open
    r = h.getresponse(buffering=True)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 1045, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 409, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 365, in _read_status
    line = self.fp.readline(_MAXLINE + 1)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/socket.py", line 476, in readline
    data = self._sock.recv(self._rbufsize)
timeout: timed out
Armory was starting up quite fast, seems like the error in 'checkSatoshiVersion' it's not critical at all, nevertheless it would be nice if you could take a look onto it. Maybe simple try/catch ?

Thanks for listening and your awesome work!

Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 11, 2014, 03:45:15 PM
 #3118

[..]
Put into the description one or more foreign characters like é, ö, ..
[..]

Confirmed, I think Alan commented on this a long time ago already..
I can't change the description afterwards to something with foreign characters neither.

Ente
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 2113



View Profile
January 11, 2014, 09:14:57 PM
 #3119

[..]
Put into the description one or more foreign characters like é, ö, ..
[..]

Confirmed, I think Alan commented on this a long time ago already..
I can't change the description afterwards to something with foreign characters neither.

Ente

Also confirmed to be fixed in the release version of 0.91 (full Unicode character set)

Vires in numeris
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1133

Armory Developer


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 01:05:42 AM
 #3120

We dont currently support unicode characters in the wallet files (where the comments on txn are saved) so these are currently turned off. We plan on having full unicode support for the new wallet format.

As for the other errors:

The BDM closing thing is not an error, it simply is broadcasted through LOGERROR() which starts the line with an (ERROR) tag.

The other errors relate to old code that kinda go left alone and now needs some fixing, but is in no way fatal.

Pages: « 1 ... 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 [156] 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 ... 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!