Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2021, 10:49:07 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 [164] 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 ... 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 521355 times)
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 03:16:02 AM
 #3261

Thanks for the answer.
1610966947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610966947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610966947
Reply with quote  #2

1610966947
Report to moderator
1610966947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610966947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610966947
Reply with quote  #2

1610966947
Report to moderator
1610966947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610966947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610966947
Reply with quote  #2

1610966947
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1610966947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610966947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610966947
Reply with quote  #2

1610966947
Report to moderator
lyth0s
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000


World Class Cryptonaire


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 03:37:50 AM
 #3262

etothepie could you help me fix my armory?  my armory is stuck at Synchronizing with Network 99% 0 blocks and in the bottom right hand corner it says offline. I've ran Bitcoin-QT and the entire blockchain is downloaded and is up to date.

Monero - Truly Anonymous Digital Cash. Bitcoin Reading List 2017
WiiD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 795
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 02, 2014, 10:28:02 AM
 #3263

Is it normal that my online wallet has to do "Scanning Transaction History" for about 2 hours every time i start Armory??? So when Bitcoin crashes i need over 2 hours to get my BTC out of Armory Wallet??

Kind of.  There's a bug in 0.90-beta, that forces it to rescan way more often than it needs to.  This is dramatically improved in the new testing version (0.91).  It won't rescan unless you just import addresses or wallets. 

Unfortunately, if you leave Armory off for a couple weeks, it has to catch up with the latest blockchain history, which can be kind of slow (though it should only be a few minutes).  But there's not much we can do about it.

Okay thank you very much. When 0.91 will be released? Can i just install it over the old Armory and it will keep my wallets, Private Keys etc. ?
simonvrouwe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 11:24:38 AM
 #3264

Don't know if this the right place to ask, but "Does Armory not support multisig addresses to send BTC to?"

When I try to send BTC this address (which is a multisig address): 39wbuEjp3mfFAB3bTjmkFB69XAmKYRMq5i ,then I get error "You have entered one invalid address..." and after that "Address1 is for the wrong network..."
Armory is version 0.90-beta on 64bit Kubuntu12.04
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 2425



View Profile
March 02, 2014, 03:22:39 PM
 #3265

Don't know if this the right place to ask, but "Does Armory not support multisig addresses to send BTC to?"

When I try to send BTC this address (which is a multisig address): 39wbuEjp3mfFAB3bTjmkFB69XAmKYRMq5i ,then I get error "You have entered one invalid address..." and after that "Address1 is for the wrong network..."
Armory is version 0.90-beta on 64bit Kubuntu12.04

This should work with 0.91. Key feature is "enabling P2SH addresses".

Vires in numeris
lyth0s
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000


World Class Cryptonaire


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 01:34:06 AM
 #3266

etothepie could you help me fix my armory?  my armory is stuck at Synchronizing with Network 99% 0 blocks and in the bottom right hand corner it says offline. I've ran Bitcoin-QT and the entire blockchain is downloaded and is up to date.

Fixed my problem, explained it here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=495487.new#new

Monero - Truly Anonymous Digital Cash. Bitcoin Reading List 2017
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1006


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 09:13:40 PM
 #3267

How hard would it be to make it support multiple instances?

It can be done, but it's made intentionally difficult, because running two instances of Armory using the same wallets is guaranteed to corrupt your wallets.  And of course, all the extra data... most of the time the user simply double-clicked to open it again, not realizing it's already open.

If you really want to do it for whatever reason, then you can open the second Armory instance using

Code:
--datadir=/path/to/second/armory --interport=7890

Interport can be any unused port, and is only for detecting multiple instances (which is why you must change it to run multiple).  You must change both datadir and interport at the same time if you don't want to corrupt your existing wallets.



Thank you. Nice and "user easy" way of detecting multiple instances Smiley

randomguy7
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 528
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 10:03:59 PM
 #3268

If I create a transaction (on armory version >= 0.91) to spend coins to a P2SH address, will an offline v0.90 armory installation be able to sign it?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2014, 10:10:11 PM
 #3269

If I create a transaction (on armory version >= 0.91) to spend coins to a P2SH address, will an offline v0.90 armory installation be able to sign it?

Good question, I haven't tried it!  My guess is:  yes, but the interface may not be all that useful, probably "[Non-standard address]" instead of the address string you're expecting.  That's something I'll have to investigate... (feel free to try it and tell me what happens)

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
uhoh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


Circle gets the Square


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 11:39:02 PM
 #3270

Fantastic work on 0.90... Not had a single problem with it, it's been brilliant. Wouldn't trust BTC to anything else anymore.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 02:54:09 AM
 #3271

Fantastic work on 0.90... Not had a single problem with it, it's been brilliant. Wouldn't trust BTC to anything else anymore.

Hey, are you talking about the testing version posted 2 weeks ago (0.90.99)?   Or the 0.90-beta on the website?  Either way, glad to hear some positive feedback, just wanted to get clarity on it.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
uhoh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


Circle gets the Square


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 01:38:59 PM
 #3272

Fantastic work on 0.90... Not had a single problem with it, it's been brilliant. Wouldn't trust BTC to anything else anymore.

Hey, are you talking about the testing version posted 2 weeks ago (0.90.99)?   Or the 0.90-beta on the website?  Either way, glad to hear some positive feedback, just wanted to get clarity on it.

Currently using 0.90-beta. I will most likely stay with this version for the foreseeable as it does literally everything I need it to do.

Will be tipping you some point soon!

Thanks again.
Ilan1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 02:53:28 PM
 #3273

Hi, I made a transaction for 2 BTC this morning and it has still not confirmed, the blockchain says "Estimated Confirmation Time Within 6 Blocks (Medium Priority) and then there is a Confirmation Warning message to say "The Transaction Fee is Less than Recommended"

I did not set the transaction fee 0.0001 BTC it was automatically set when I broadcasted the transaction via Armory.

1) How long will I have to wait for the confirmations to show?
2) Can I manually change the transaction fee for future payments through the Armory client?

Thanks

LTCgear.com Review http://ltcgear.co.ukhttp://ltcgear.com/?apage=120 - 160mh/s for $850 use coupon code "anniversary1yr" - Active Multi Algorithm cloud mining in Scrypt, X11 and Scrypt-N - ROI in 5 Weeks
SimonBelmond
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 03:29:49 PM
 #3274

Hi, I made a transaction for 2 BTC this morning and it has still not confirmed, the blockchain says "Estimated Confirmation Time Within 6 Blocks (Medium Priority) and then there is a Confirmation Warning message to say "The Transaction Fee is Less than Recommended"

I did not set the transaction fee 0.0001 BTC it was automatically set when I broadcasted the transaction via Armory.

1) How long will I have to wait for the confirmations to show?
2) Can I manually change the transaction fee for future payments through the Armory client?

Thanks

Yes you can change it. Somewhere under settings or tools. You may have to go to expert mode.
e4xit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 04:14:00 PM
 #3275

Hi,

Im using Armory 0.9 Beta on OSX, it seems to sync up with the network and stuff OK, but in the bottom right where it either says "disconnected" or "Connected (288888 blocks)" it flashes very quickly between these two messages, like a couple of times per second.

Sometimes it is predominantly 'disconnected' but I can see it flashing, and sometimes it is 'Connected (288888 blocks)' and it flashes...

Anyone else experience this/able to help me troubleshoot this?

Thanks.

Not your keys, not your coins.
CoinJoin, always.
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 2425



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 05:48:17 PM
 #3276

Hi,

Im using Armory 0.9 Beta on OSX, it seems to sync up with the network and stuff OK, but in the bottom right where it either says "disconnected" or "Connected (288888 blocks)" it flashes very quickly between these two messages, like a couple of times per second.

Sometimes it is predominantly 'disconnected' but I can see it flashing, and sometimes it is 'Connected (288888 blocks)' and it flashes...

Anyone else experience this/able to help me troubleshoot this?

Thanks.

This sounds like your bitcoin Qt has reached -maxconnections and won't allow Armory to become max+1. Maybe try launching Armory the instant that Bitcoin client is launched, as it could be that your router is limiting p2p network connections (this will give Armory the best opportunity to be allocated with one of the p2p connection slots)

Even if that's not it, it would be useful to have some mechanism whereby Armory can take priority over other connections, as I've had this problem myself (solved by changing the network environment to allow more p2p connections to bitcoind). Possibly a point for core development, though.

Vires in numeris
Ilan1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 10:16:06 PM
 #3277

Hi,

After doing further research I have discovered that my transaction size was too large for the 0.0001 transaction fee paid. This was a standard transaction fee set by Armory (My bit coin Client) my Transaction size is 9615 (bytes) so that's nearly 10 Kilobytes which means my Fee should have been 10 x the amount I paid.

I am really annoyed that I wasn't automatically prompted to pay this amount when I did the transaction, and now my money is just stuck in the network trying hard to find some miner (or mining pool) that is generous enough to include my cheap transaction instead of other transactions that pay a higher fee per kilobyte.

As such is there anyway to cancel this transaction so that the Bit Coins are returned to my Wallet? I want to be able to re-send this again without double spending, but this time with a higher transaction fee so it will confirm through the network more quickly.

I have been told that it may still confirm but I could be waiting upto 10 days, the merchant cant wait that long to receive his money.
If I had know I would have increased the fee to 0.001 without hesitation... this is really frustrating.

I have been told that there may be a way to remove the transaction from the wallet and the block chain, or Eventually (usually within 2 to 4 days) if the transaction isn't confirmed, it will be dropped from the memory pool of the peers and the coins returned?

LTCgear.com Review http://ltcgear.co.ukhttp://ltcgear.com/?apage=120 - 160mh/s for $850 use coupon code "anniversary1yr" - Active Multi Algorithm cloud mining in Scrypt, X11 and Scrypt-N - ROI in 5 Weeks
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1003


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 10:37:51 PM
 #3278

Hello @etotheipi,

Any plans for BIP38 in Armory anytime soon ?


etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 10:51:08 PM
 #3279

Hi,

After doing further research I have discovered that my transaction size was too large for the 0.0001 transaction fee paid. This was a standard transaction fee set by Armory (My bit coin Client) my Transaction size is 9615 (bytes) so that's nearly 10 Kilobytes which means my Fee should have been 10 x the amount I paid.

I am really annoyed that I wasn't automatically prompted to pay this amount when I did the transaction, and now my money is just stuck in the network trying hard to find some miner (or mining pool) that is generous enough to include my cheap transaction instead of other transactions that pay a higher fee per kilobyte.

As such is there anyway to cancel this transaction so that the Bit Coins are returned to my Wallet? I want to be able to re-send this again without double spending, but this time with a higher transaction fee so it will confirm through the network more quickly.

I have been told that it may still confirm but I could be waiting upto 10 days, the merchant cant wait that long to receive his money.
If I had know I would have increased the fee to 0.001 without hesitation... this is really frustrating.

I have been told that there may be a way to remove the transaction from the wallet and the block chain, or Eventually (usually within 2 to 4 days) if the transaction isn't confirmed, it will be dropped from the memory pool of the peers and the coins returned?


Okay, so you fell into a dead spot in the fee logic.  We recently discovered a bug that causes Armory to under-calculate the fee for certain kinds of transactions.  This was already discovered and fixed for 0.91-beta (will be releasing a proper testing version of it soon).    This affects a very small number of transactions, but it appears you fell into that crack...

As for resolving it... you could consider using Help->Clear All Unconfirmed, then restart Armory (and Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind, if running it manually).  Then try re-sending the tx.  If it was an offline tx, you will be able to simply rebroadcast (don't need to recreate and re-sign it).  The success of this operation depends on how many peers you are connected to that still remember it. Once there is a critical mass that have forgotten it (maybe 10-20%), your transaction will go through

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 10:53:28 PM
 #3280

Hello @etotheipi,

Any plans for BIP38 in Armory anytime soon ?


What is the status of BIP38?  I haven't been following the discussion. 

However, the new wallet files will have a much more flexible design that will make it easy to add new encryption and key-stretching methods, etc (including all the other goodies, like multisig, P2SH, compressed keys, etc).  If BIP38 becomes well-supported, I'll happily add it to the list of supported key-encodings in the new wallet files (or can be added even after the wallet files are done)

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Pages: « 1 ... 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 [164] 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 ... 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!