Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:38:51 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 [173] 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481804 times)
njaard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29

Armory Developer


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 06:01:54 PM
 #3441

in addition to what goatpig wrote, can you give us the output of `echo $OPT`
1480927131
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927131

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927131
Reply with quote  #2

1480927131
Report to moderator
1480927131
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927131

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927131
Reply with quote  #2

1480927131
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480927131
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927131

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927131
Reply with quote  #2

1480927131
Report to moderator
1480927131
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927131

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927131
Reply with quote  #2

1480927131
Report to moderator
sipak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
March 22, 2014, 11:22:23 AM
 #3442

I just spent 5 day or so upgrading to Bitcoin Core 0.9 and Armory 0.90.99-4 before succeeding to get on-line again. The major and only problem was that after initially upgrading just to Bitcoin Core 0.9, Armory 0.9 always got stuck while building and rescanning the block data. I had to upgrade also to Armory 0.90.99-4 and do Factory reset before succeeding to come back online.

This is really unsatisfactory state, since the Armory ability to create off-line transaction is totally dependent on its active on-line status. What would I do in case of some emergency during those 5 days. What if I need to transfer coins as soon as possible due to a possible paper backup breach?

I think there is a need for option of creating the unsigned transaction on other platforms while signing it by Armory off-line. If I could create unsigned transaction on Blockchain.info, that would be really great. Or even to have utility in Armory to build the unsigned transaction by collecting the inputs and amounts manually from whatever trusted source - in expert mode of course.

This would really help to make transaction in times when there is any problem with Armory online status.

What do you think?

EDIT: By the way new version with secure download and automatic torrent bootstrap helps a lot and it is actually much faster than ever before: After doing Factory reset I was able to be online in some 10 hours.
sipak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
March 22, 2014, 03:00:45 PM
 #3443

It is possible to delete imported address with private key from encrypted wallet without entering the password. I dont know how this is possible - it shouldnt be that way. The private part of wallet should be encrypted so it should not be possible to mess with it without password.
idoB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
March 22, 2014, 05:48:11 PM
 #3444

I just spent 5 day or so
...
What if I need to transfer coins as soon as possible due to a possible paper backup breach?
...

If you can get to your offline wallet Armory (physically and past its password/s) - you have access to your private keys.
Worst case, urgently needing funds:
In the offline Armory, under 'Backup Wallet' you can get a list of the private and public keys for each address. This enables you to copy one or a few addresses that have sufficient coins to a plaintext file and import it to another client wallet.

To greatly decrease the 'attack surface' of a paper backup breach Armory has Fragmented Backups. You can use M of N scheme where you plant these N backups in different physical locations and need M of them to recreate the wallet.
locksmith9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 22, 2014, 06:04:47 PM
 #3445

I too have been unable to access my wallet for the last 2 months or so. I mine at several multipools, and Armory was okay a while back, but as funds built up the wallet started crashing consistently, so I'm looking forward to 0.91!

Side note: I installed 0.90 Bitcoin Core Qt tonight, ran/synced, then closed Qt. I pull up Armory 0.90 and receive the following error:
Output from bitcoind:
StdErr:

: Corrupted block database detected.
Do you want to rebuild the block database now?


Armory stays in Offline mode.

Congrats!  You get to try the new blockchain download via torrent!   But we think your other problems will be fixed when you are done.

Please install the new version of Armory I just posted.  Use "Help"->"Factory Reset" and choose to destroy everything, including redownloading the blockchain.

If it goes right, you should get to redownload via torrent.  The new version should work out of the box.  (no more --test-announce is needed)

0.90.99.40-test did the trick. I can now open my wallet with many multipool inputs and it does not crash. I did not do a factory reset - just installed the testing version over 0.90. I did have to manually point Armory to Bitcoin Core 0.90, I'm guessing because I installed the 64-bit version.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
March 22, 2014, 06:29:24 PM
 #3446

It is possible to delete imported address with private key from encrypted wallet without entering the password. I dont know how this is possible - it shouldnt be that way. The private part of wallet should be encrypted so it should not be possible to mess with it without password.

It will not hurt the wallet's consistency to delete an entry in full, whether it is encrypted or not. However I'm not sure this can be done from our UI. If it can be done, then it is a mistake on our part and we'll get to fixing it right away.

0.90.99.40-test did the trick. I can now open my wallet with many multipool inputs and it does not crash. I did not do a factory reset - just installed the testing version over 0.90. I did have to manually point Armory to Bitcoin Core 0.90, I'm guessing because I installed the 64-bit version.

First of all, 0.90.99.4 (essentially it 0.91-beta RC3)  uses different LevelDB system parameters, so we highly recommend you wipe your current DB and rebuild it. As for finding x64 version of 0.9.0 bitcoin core, it should find it on its own. Empty the path input line in the settings file, restart Armory and it should find it on its own. Let me know if it doesn't (it does work just fine on my end).

btcarmory.com
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 22, 2014, 08:49:10 PM
 #3447

It is possible to delete imported address with private key from encrypted wallet without entering the password. I dont know how this is possible - it shouldnt be that way. The private part of wallet should be encrypted so it should not be possible to mess with it without password.

To be clear, this is just like deleting an encrypted file on your hard-drive.  You can still see the filename and know where the file is while it's encrypted, and you don't need to decrypt it to simply delete it or overwrite it with new data.

Arguably though, certain operations like that maybe should soft-require a password to prevent legitimate users from doing it accidentally.  But it's really only a soft-barrier:  there's nothing stopping you, an attacker, or malware from opening the wallet file and deleting that entry.


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
jyyst
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 12:03:15 PM
 #3448

can you pastebin ./Makefile and ./cppForSwig/Makefile please
Please: http://pastebin.com/mTAQmT6Q . I can give a ssh access on non-root user or VNC if this can help.
Delivereath
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 12:51:29 PM
 #3449

I'm trying to create a cold storage wallet with armory but each time I try to send coins using offline transactions I get the following message on my offline armory :
"This transactions appears to have no relationship to any of the wallets stored on this computer. Did you load the correct transaction ?"

I use armory 0.90 on both online and offline setups and I'm using a watch-only wallet on the online setup.

What am I doing wrong ?
idoB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 01:02:03 PM
 #3450

I'm trying to create a cold storage wallet with armory but each time I try to send coins using offline transactions I get the following message on my offline armory :
"This transactions appears to have no relationship to any of the wallets stored on this computer. Did you load the correct transaction ?"

I use armory 0.90 on both online and offline setups and I'm using a watch-only wallet on the online setup.

What am I doing wrong ?
It sounds a lot like there's no connection between the installations of the offline and online.

Did you go through the export procedure of your wallet from the offline to a Watch Only online wallet?

Did you create more than one wallet on the online computer? If so, are you sure you're using the same wallet in the online and offline?

If this is a new installation, go over this page slowly, making sure you haven't missed any step.
https://bitcoinarmory.com/about/using-our-wallet/
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 01:58:28 PM
 #3451

Are there any plans to add support for Litecoins to Armory?

Unfortunately, that's not something that I can really support with my current set of critical priorities.  But, Litecoin is at least close enough to Bitcoin, that you might only have to change a few constants, and maybe re-write a few functions to make it work.  Bitcoin-Qt (Litecoin-Qt?) is still doing the majority of the work, so Armory probably doesn't need to change too much except to point to the right port.

If someone tries it out, they're welcome to ask questions when they hit snags, but I can't see myself supporting an official version in the near future (it's enough trouble to do regular Bitcoin releases).


Been a year since this was noted, any changes to this plan or anyone have any success that can be vetted by etotheipi ?

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
March 23, 2014, 02:48:53 PM
 #3452

I'm trying to create a cold storage wallet with armory but each time I try to send coins using offline transactions I get the following message on my offline armory :
"This transactions appears to have no relationship to any of the wallets stored on this computer. Did you load the correct transaction ?"

I use armory 0.90 on both online and offline setups and I'm using a watch-only wallet on the online setup.

What am I doing wrong ?


i've had that happen before.

from the main window, double click on subject wallet.  toward the top of the opened window there's a field called "addresses used".  there's a blue link # in that field which will open up another window called "Extend Address Pool".  try computing an extra 1000 addresses.

what's happened is while Armory is supposed to automatically "extend" it's offline address pool to match that of the online WO wallet, it doesn't.  there is a ceiling where it stops.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 10:00:40 PM
 #3453

i've had that happen before.

from the main window, double click on subject wallet.  toward the top of the opened window there's a field called "addresses used".  there's a blue link # in that field which will open up another window called "Extend Address Pool".  try computing an extra 1000 addresses.

what's happened is while Armory is supposed to automatically "extend" it's offline address pool to match that of the online WO wallet, it doesn't.  there is a ceiling where it stops.

That happens if you use hundreds of addresses and then restore from paper backup.  Of if you use hundreds of receiving addresses but do no spending in that time.  But absent those conditions, you shouldn't ever have to manually extend the address pool.  If those conditions do match yours, that advice will work.  But very few people run into that, so it's not my normal first round of advice.

It sounds like this situation is a freshly-made wallet.  Have you used it for any other transactions?   Are you sure that the wallet IDs are the same?  Rather, are you sure you're creating the transaction with the same wallet as you have on the offline computer?

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 11:55:37 AM
 #3454

I think I found a little bug:

2 Addresses from same Wallet + 1 Address of another Wallet.

When you make a multidestination Transaction there happens a bug in the Ledger output (at least in armoryd, did not look at QT - had no chance to do it at the moment).

The following situation:

-  n2tjdEsWKVNU66wWZZHrwu9x1kQWnoPwZQ Sender Address and specified as Changer Recip via code.
1. Recip Address /1.00    BTC: n3j9TNxRGbHaS5G71doxmaVeyWEfABzP6r (This Address is in the same wallet as the Sender address)
2. Recip address /0.06 BTC: mzWQrn4wAtNRZ1fycxHEFJ3wpMb4NbAa34  (This address is in another Wallet)

Its all fine except the Ledger entry
If you look at ChangerRecip address on JSON it says: n3j9TNxRGbHaS5G71doxmaVeyWEfABzP6r

But the change doesnt went to this address, the recip of change addr was the sender as specified by code - and the inputs of change went to Sender address.
I think it have to be something with the reverse sort to determine the changerecip (too optimistic??)


Code:
{
  "comment": "",
  "direction": "send",
  "blockhash": "000000000000a0f0fc88708eba37a59dc5ea45b81340b40cb97eec008bbb8921",
  "txtime": 1395655177,
  "txsize": 291,
  "firstrecip": "mzWQrn4wAtNRZ1fycxHEFJ3wpMb4NbAa34",
  "confirmations": 18,
  "netdiff": -0.06,
  "senderme": [
    {
      "amount": 33.0,
      "address": "n2tjdEsWKVNU66wWZZHrwu9x1kQWnoPwZQ"
    }
  ],
  "fee": 0.0,
  "recipme": [
    {
      "amount": 1.0,
      "address": "n3j9TNxRGbHaS5G71doxmaVeyWEfABzP6r"
    },
    {
      "amount": 31.94,
      "address": "n2tjdEsWKVNU66wWZZHrwu9x1kQWnoPwZQ"
    }
  ],
  "blocktime": 1395655177,
  "txid": "3ebc9d1020a72f84ac624d45958ec1411836a60d5b4faefda1c8949cb404390d",
  "wallet": "2BV255t4N",
  "amount": 0.06,
  "recipother": [
    {
      "amount": 0.06,
      "address": "mzWQrn4wAtNRZ1fycxHEFJ3wpMb4NbAa34"
    }
  ],
  "changerecip": "n3j9TNxRGbHaS5G71doxmaVeyWEfABzP6r",
  "senderother": [],
  "ledger_i": 9
}

best regards!
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 03:31:04 PM
 #3455

Determining change outputs in a vacuum is challenging.  There's only so much you can do to take a given transaction, and figure out which output is the change, which is is the destination.  When you start messing with custom change addresses, etc, the existing algorithm certainly will get it wrong.  We're aware of that.

But there isn't much more we can do about that, unless we explicitly add an extra data store just to store those details when the transaction is made.  But even if we did that, it wouldn't help in situations where you have multiple nodes all watching a wallet, unless you explicitly try to synchronize that data between them.  I'm not sure there's really a robust & reliable way that doesn't involve a ton of extra complexity. 

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Lavender
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 12:19:28 AM
 #3456

Same here ... btw, do I need to update something now, when qt 0.9 is out?

No you don't. It's preferable that you do but 0.90 is compatible with bitcoin core 0.9.0

Just one tiny thing: Armory doesn't seem to find the daemon after installing core 0.9.0. Had to manually point it at Bitcoin\daemon.

We're aware of this and this has been fixed in 0.91. As far the communication protocol goes, 0.90 is compatible with core 0.9.0 regardless

For my fellow n00bs. If you have installed Bitcoin Core 0.9.0 64-bit onto your Windows computer and you are running Armory 0.90, here is what you need to do to get it all working.

-- Click "Change Settings" next to the description "Open Armory settings window to change Bitcoin software management"
-- Change the "Bitcoin Install Dir:" and "Bitcoin Home Dir:" to the values shown in the below embedded image

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 07:48:24 AM
 #3457

You're pointing to the wrong Bitcoin Home Dir: You have it pointed at Armory's datadir, it should be pointed to where your BitcoinQt is expecting to find the blockchain

btcarmory.com
Lavender
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 10:51:43 PM
 #3458

You're pointing to the wrong Bitcoin Home Dir: You have it pointed at Armory's datadir, it should be pointed to where your BitcoinQt is expecting to find the blockchain
Thank you! I've updated my post with a new image to reflect your recommendation.
spin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 08:22:33 AM
 #3459

You're pointing to the wrong Bitcoin Home Dir: You have it pointed at Armory's datadir, it should be pointed to where your BitcoinQt is expecting to find the blockchain
Thank you! I've updated my post with a new image to reflect your recommendation.

Also if you haven't moved the bitcoin data (home) directory you can leave that field blank as it still finds the home directory.  It doesn't find the executable (install directory).

If you liked this post buy me a beer.  Beers are quite cheap where I live!
17mWd6DtWkcvuN3MyJtFx4jCo9BQkYwmej
jyyst
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 09:09:02 AM
 #3460

can you pastebin ./Makefile and ./cppForSwig/Makefile please
Please: http://pastebin.com/mTAQmT6Q . I can give a ssh access on non-root user or VNC if this can help.
I fix this error by add
Code:
PYTHON_INCLUDES=$(shell python2.7-config --includes )
to make file but still i have got:
Code:
ImportError: /home/piotrek/Apps/BitcoinArmory/_CppBlockUtils.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6snappy21GetUncompressedLengthEPKcmPm

Pages: « 1 ... 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 [173] 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!