Bitcoin Forum
September 18, 2019, 07:06:41 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 [78] 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 ... 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 300668 times)
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 470
Merit: 250

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
November 23, 2014, 04:34:46 PM
 #1541

Something wierd going on with my s4. Im mining on nicehash, and every few hours I log into the console, it says speed: 0ghz, then I go to the led display and its got some random slow speed like 650ghs. I shut it down and reboot and it instantly returns to 2Ths...for an hour or two, then I have to keep shutting it down, not even a software reboot through console will fix it...any ideas? I also have the latest firmware: Thu Oct 16. Cgminer 4.6.1 .

Thanks in advance

Vegas

Its not your miners, its NiceHash - they are switching coins on you.  That causes your Diff to go very low (at least for an S4), the S4 resyncs than cranks up again.  The 650 is the average while your diff crawls up.

At least I've been seeing something very similar when I use the normal ports over on multicoinpool.org...

Try switching to antpool, just as a test, and see if things stabilize.

Cassey

Cassey
1568833601
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568833601

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568833601
Reply with quote  #2

1568833601
Report to moderator
1568833601
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568833601

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568833601
Reply with quote  #2

1568833601
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568833601
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568833601

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568833601
Reply with quote  #2

1568833601
Report to moderator
1568833601
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568833601

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568833601
Reply with quote  #2

1568833601
Report to moderator
vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1003


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
November 23, 2014, 10:03:22 PM
 #1542

Well... Im mining on Diamond Multipool that uses nicehash. Is there anything I can do to force the difficulty? I remember there use to be a setting I could add after my wallet id to force a higher diff on my S2 , but cant remember what it was...it was +.01 something.

Vegas

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 470
Merit: 250

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
November 23, 2014, 10:20:20 PM
 #1543

Well... Im mining on Diamond Multipool that uses nicehash. Is there anything I can do to force the difficulty? I remember there use to be a setting I could add after my wallet id to force a higher diff on my S2 , but cant remember what it was...it was +.01 something.

Vegas

Sorry, no clue.  Just switch to a mono-pool, like antpool or eligus to see if the problem goes away.

Cassey
bittalc1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 12:14:07 AM
 #1544

Hi guys, one noob question Smiley
I ordered 5 s4 and they are on their way, i was reading allot , but im little confused on which pool to connect when my antminers arrive. What pools do u guys use? I'm beginner in this mining and the whole bitcoin world, any suggestions are appreciated.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1082


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 12:48:03 AM
 #1545

Hi guys, one noob question Smiley
I ordered 5 s4 and they are on their way, i was reading allot , but im little confused on which pool to connect when my antminers arrive. What pools do u guys use? I'm beginner in this mining and the whole bitcoin world, any suggestions are appreciated.

Hi bittalc1,

If you read the posts just above the one you posted, you will notice the S4's are not good for most pools who mine multiple crypto coins.  I recommend you pointing your rigs at a pool and stay their a while.  At least a month.  All miners have their preferences.  I've mined at several.  

I really like these four [in no order for any particular reason at all] that are good for your S4:  

Eligius           Pool sight:     http://eligius.st/~wizkid057/newstats/
                    Pool Forum:   https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=441465.0

Slush            Pool sight:     https://beta.mining.bitcoin.cz/home/
                    Pool Forum:   https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1976.0

BTCGuild       Pool sight:     https://www.btcguild.com
                    Pool Forum:   https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=49417.0

CKPool          Pool sight:     http://www.kano.is
                    Pool Forum:   https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=789369.0

The payouts are approximately the same across all of them.  It can vary between them from month to month BASED OFF OF LUCK!  One pool is liable to me more lucky than the other each and every day.  The problem is: we don't know which one will be more lucky than the other from day to day.

Which ever one you choose to go to first, stay there for at least a month before going to another and then another.  After you've mined them all, you be the one to decide which one you prefer over another.

Happy Mining!  Once you get your S4's...

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
bittalc1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 01:13:17 AM
 #1546

thanks dmwardjr! i cant wait to start this journey Smiley
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1082


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 01:16:13 AM
 #1547

thanks dmwardjr! i cant wait to start this journey Smiley

No problem!

Have any questions; come to the forums and enter in the search engine what you want to find out.  If you still have a problem finding it, just ask someone in what you deem is the appropriate forum.

Good Luck to you!

Regards,

David

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2014, 02:03:50 AM
 #1548

Hi guys, one noob question Smiley
I ordered 5 s4 and they are on their way, i was reading allot , but im little confused on which pool to connect when my antminers arrive. What pools do u guys use? I'm beginner in this mining and the whole bitcoin world, any suggestions are appreciated.

Here are the biggest pools:

Antpool Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.antpool.com:3333
User    : username.worker or username_worker - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
Bitminter Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://us1.ghash.io:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
Eligius Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334
User    : payoutbitcoinaddress
Password: anypassword
Discus Fish Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.f2pool.com:3333
User    : username or username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
PolMine Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://api.polmine.pl:4012
User    : worker
Password: password
Slush Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333
User    : username.worker
Password: password

sEpuLchEr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248
Merit: 250


Are we there yet?


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 03:06:33 AM
 #1549

I've tried a few and my favourite now is slush, especially with their new interface.

ghash - stable but small payments, but can be very confusing for beginners. Log in is through cex.io and then you have to find your way to ghash from there...
ckpool - good simple pool, but currently, due to low hashing power, not very profitable. I believe it will be a good pool once they get enough miners.
eligius - don't understand their payout system, super confusing (for me)
slush - Easy, and as of now, I feel the payout is fair (even though it's very complicated and with a rather high pool fee), but funny thing is, I seem to get more from slush than any other.
antpool - hashrate update is SLOW. Only realised I have some btc balance there after a few days...

This is just my opinion. Nothing else.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
November 24, 2014, 03:25:01 AM
 #1550

Okay I may grab one or two  of these.  I am interested in under clocked results.   

so is anyone running freq 187.5  with 0.685 volts?       if so what do you  get for hash rate watts/ power numbers and fan speeds?


better yet has anyone done freq 175 with 0.670 volts?  if so what do you get for hashrate watts used and fan speed?

TIA

philipma1957

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 470
Merit: 250

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 01:43:08 PM
 #1551

Okay I may grab one or two  of these.  I am interested in under clocked results.   

so is anyone running freq 187.5  with 0.685 volts?       if so what do you  get for hash rate watts/ power numbers and fan speeds?


better yet has anyone done freq 175 with 0.670 volts?  if so what do you get for hashrate watts used and fan speed?

TIA

philipma1957

Ask and yea shall receive (at least sometimes!):  http://puu.sh/d3BqI/ad9aaf7d23.png - 187.5 at 0.685V.

Cassey
audiotopix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 650
Merit: 512

www.neutroncoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2014, 07:46:35 PM
 #1552



For Dogie, regarding my issue,

I have power cycled, rebooted, checked connections, reset to defaults, reloaded firmware,, and still cant seem to get these chips to pop up,,



out of the 11 that we have this is the only issue.

we have 9 more on the way, should get them today!


Also I noticed people talking about pools,, we use miningrigrentals to rent our gear but when it isnt rented,, My favorite pool to use is Bitcoin Affiliate Network,

They have ports specifically for difficulty *2048* so if you choose the proper port for your miners you dont have to worry about the share Diff as it is locked in.

They also pay per share so your not waiting on the pool to find a block to get paid,, they pay every 2 hrs per share,, and they are paying 10% OVER as a bonus.

[]
.████WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK    TWITTER   DISCORD   TELEGRAM  REDDIT  INSTAGRAM  GITHUB████
MASTERNODESSINCE
2015
.PROOF OF STAKE  ANY AMOUNT
  OF NTRN
EARN    PIGGY
  BANK
[
]
Kexkey
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237
Merit: 100

Smile while thinking.


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 08:38:39 PM
 #1553



...
They also pay per share so your not waiting on the pool to find a block to get paid,, they pay every 2 hrs per share,, and they are paying 10% OVER as a bonus.

Curious... How can they pay 10% over?  Where do they get the extra 10% bitcoins?

Thanks for the info!

This digital signature is not a digital signature.
Cyper_BLC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488
Merit: 270


Reverse Engineer


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 09:17:27 PM
 #1554

Okay I may grab one or two  of these.  I am interested in under clocked results.  

so is anyone running freq 187.5  with 0.685 volts?       if so what do you  get for hash rate watts/ power numbers and fan speeds?


better yet has anyone done freq 175 with 0.670 volts?  if so what do you get for hashrate watts used and fan speed?

TIA

philipma1957

Ask and yea shall receive (at least sometimes!):  http://puu.sh/d3BqI/ad9aaf7d23.png - 187.5 at 0.685V.

This is my best config, you can leave 2 front Fans. machine temperature not higher 50 celcius. fan speeds around 3000rpm.
you can find my J7 problem with this way.
if your chain 1 (J7connector is chain1) has higher temperature, you must to check voltage and J7 cable. probably chain1 feeding higher voltage, not our setted voltage. This problem is my nightmare. i am working on it.

For donations : 1CYPERv5yZ4c9FRzPyCz5u8vhttyKmVkto
Emeğe Saygı Göstermeyenler, BECERIKSIZ kişilerdir.
audiotopix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 650
Merit: 512

www.neutroncoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2014, 10:21:13 PM
 #1555



...
They also pay per share so your not waiting on the pool to find a block to get paid,, they pay every 2 hrs per share,, and they are paying 10% OVER as a bonus.

Curious... How can they pay 10% over?  Where do they get the extra 10% bitcoins?

Thanks for the info!



Honestly,, I dont know but they do,, Ive been mining there for a month, and its been great.

[]
.████WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK    TWITTER   DISCORD   TELEGRAM  REDDIT  INSTAGRAM  GITHUB████
MASTERNODESSINCE
2015
.PROOF OF STAKE  ANY AMOUNT
  OF NTRN
EARN    PIGGY
  BANK
[
]
MrGreenHat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 10:25:43 PM
 #1556

My miner perfect work at a frequency of 268.75 - 275, and outputs the 2500-2700 ghesh
Seriously?

EDIT: I noticed you are using 2 PSU's instead of the PSU that comes with the S4, in that case, that makes more sense, as they can deliver a hell of a lot more power than a 1200W PSU. For those using the PSU that comes with the S4, do not expect such results, but then again if you have some spare PSU's this seems like a really really good idea, in fact I just might have to give it a shot at some point.
Kexkey
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237
Merit: 100

Smile while thinking.


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 10:29:54 PM
 #1557

My miner perfect work at a frequency of 268.75 - 275, and outputs the 2500-2700 ghesh
Seriously?

I tried it and the S4 kept rebooting.  I was lucky to be able to switch back frequency during the 3 second window, after the web server is up and before the reboot.  I would not recommend it, definitely.

This digital signature is not a digital signature.
MrGreenHat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 10:33:05 PM
 #1558

My miner perfect work at a frequency of 268.75 - 275, and outputs the 2500-2700 ghesh
Seriously?

I tried it and the S4 kept rebooting.  I was lucky to be able to switch back frequency during the 3 second window, after the web server is up and before the reboot.  I would not recommend it, definitely.

Yeah, definitely not going to happen with the stock PSU, but then again, the stock does deliver the advertised speeds, so i have no reason to complain. If anyone wants to try to achieve tfoto's hashrate, try using some PSU's that will deliver plenty of wattage  and see if you can get the same results, and if you do, I would appreciate it if you would let us know Smiley.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1327


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 11:25:11 PM
 #1559

For various reasons I've added a rather nice always online UPS http://www.cyberpowersystems.com/products/ups-systems/smart-app-ups/paragon-series/ol2200rtxl2u.html?selectedTabId=specifications&imageI=#tab-box to my 2nd s4 and found something rather interesting:

My 1st s4 on it's own same UPS reports a very significantly higher power draw. Like 290Watts more.

Both s4 are Batch-2, the first one possibly was made a week earlier earlier than #2 but both arrived within 1 day of each other (direct vs hosted shipping goof).

The UPS's report
  #1 1,480 to 1,490w load
  #2 1,100 to 1,200w load.
Both consistently reporting as 1.950-2.25THs by my pool.

Anywho, in some earlier threads it was mentioned that on some Batch-2, one of the ASIC chains can't/doesn't change Vcore and pretty much runs near max safe voltage. Wonder if that is the case here? Certainly would explain the 290w higher load...

 I take it that during power-up when the Vcore regulators are either set from a pre-stored value in a Dpot or set by the I2C link one chain is not getting the message...  Any way to fix that by Firmware?

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Cyper_BLC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488
Merit: 270


Reverse Engineer


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 12:26:37 AM
Last edit: November 25, 2014, 12:39:29 AM by Cyper_BLC
 #1560

For various reasons I've added a rather nice always online UPS http://www.cyberpowersystems.com/products/ups-systems/smart-app-ups/paragon-series/ol2200rtxl2u.html?selectedTabId=specifications&imageI=#tab-box to my 2nd s4 and found something rather interesting:

My 1st s4 on it's own same UPS reports a very significantly higher power draw. Like 290Watts more.

Both s4 are Batch-2, the first one possibly was made a week earlier earlier than #2 but both arrived within 1 day of each other (direct vs hosted shipping goof).

The UPS's report
  #1 1,480 to 1,490w load
  #2 1,100 to 1,200w load.
Both consistently reporting as 1.950-2.25THs by my pool.

Anywho, in some earlier threads it was mentioned that on some Batch-2, one of the ASIC chains can't/doesn't change Vcore and pretty much runs near max safe voltage. Wonder if that is the case here? Certainly would explain the 290w higher load...

 I take it that during power-up when the Vcore regulators are either set from a pre-stored value in a Dpot or set by the I2C link one chain is not getting the message...  Any way to fix that by Firmware?

if it happens all S4's same asic freq. like 200Mhz .. this is definitely have a problem. i am first founder this and i wrote this problem before and i am working on it. fpga cotroller board sending voltage and hash data on same TX pin then 12F1822 collect voltage data then send i2c commands to Buck controller on the BOOT. (bitmain designed seperatly but never used pclk-pio-pen pins. Direct FPGA to BuckController)
this is J7 situation you are facing.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=796839.msg9608656#msg9608656

For donations : 1CYPERv5yZ4c9FRzPyCz5u8vhttyKmVkto
Emeğe Saygı Göstermeyenler, BECERIKSIZ kişilerdir.
Pages: « 1 ... 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 [78] 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 ... 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!