Bitcoin Forum
April 29, 2017, 09:48:47 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BFGMiner 5.4.2: GBT+Stratum, RPC, Mac/Linux/Win64, Antminer S1-S5, solo stratum  (Read 559873 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
w0mp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
July 19, 2016, 10:35:55 AM
 #961

I feel like I have made progress here.  I have been able to successfully cross-compile BFGMiner 5.4.2 for OpenWRT 14.07, ensuring the "--enable-btmain" option was turned on.  I verified it in the compile logs.  It now detects the S3 with a using "-S bitmain:auto" but crashes and needs to be restarted. Using "-S bitmain:all" yields no devices found.

Code:
root@antMiner:/usr/bin# ./bfgminer -o 192.168.1.102:50542 -u USER -p PASSWORD -S bitmain:auto --set bitmain:model=S3 --set btm:layout=32:8 --set btm:timeout=18 --set btm:clock=225 --set btm:reg_data=0882

 [2016-07-19 18:25:57] Started bfgminer 5.4.2
 [2016-07-19 18:25:57] bitmain_detect_one btm init ok
 [2016-07-19 18:25:57] BitMain RxStatus Token: v(0) chip_status_eft(0) detect_get(1) chip_address(00) reg_address(00) crc(2f8c)
 [2016-07-19 18:25:59] BMS0: InitSet error
 [2016-07-19 18:25:59] bitmain_detect_one stop bitmain_initialize -1

Perhaps my command line needs modification?  Here is the stock S3 cgminer command line:
Code:
--bitmain-options 115200:32:8:18:225:0882

I have cgminer startup disabled via the WebUI, so it should not be interfering with BFGMiner.

What do you take of these errors and is there anything I can do to get you more info about them?  Thanks!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
w0mp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
July 19, 2016, 09:41:44 PM
 #962

Sorry I should have read the README more carefully about providing debug logs.  I used -D -T --verbose and heres what I got:

Code:
root@antMiner:/usr/bin# ./bfgminer -o http://192.168.1.104:50542 -u brkrpc -p pl
easeservevideo -S bitmain:auto --set bitmain:model=S3 --set btm:layout=32:8 --se
t btm:timeout=18 --set btm:clock=225 --set btm:reg_data=0882 -D -T --verbose

 [2016-07-20 05:39:45] setrlimit: Soft fd limit not being changed from 1024 (FD_SETSIZE=1024; hard limit=4096)
 [2016-07-20 05:39:45] Started bfgminer 5.4.2
 [2016-07-20 05:39:45] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:004 (path=(null), vid=4254, pid=4153, manuf=BitMain Technology Inc., prod=Asic Control, serial=(null))
 [2016-07-20 05:39:45] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:001 (path=(null), vid=1d6b, pid=0002, manuf=Linux 3.10.12 ehci_hcd, prod=EHCI Host Controller, serial=ehci-platform)
 [2016-07-20 05:39:45] lowlevel_scan: Found usb device at usb:001:002 (path=(null), vid=0409, pid=005a, manuf=(null), prod=(null), serial=(null))
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM detect dev: /dev/bitmain-asic
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: cgpu_set_defaults: Matched with set default: bitmain:model=S3
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: Applied rule bitmain:model=S3
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: cgpu_set_defaults: Matched with set default: btm:layout=32:8
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: Applied rule btm:layout=32:8
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: cgpu_set_defaults: Matched with set default: btm:timeout=18
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: Applied rule btm:timeout=18
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: cgpu_set_defaults: Matched with set default: btm:clock=225
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: Applied rule btm:clock=225
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: cgpu_set_defaults: Matched with set default: btm:reg_data=0882
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BTM: Applied rule btm:reg_data=0882
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] btm_init cgpu->device_fd=-1
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] Acquired exclusive advisory lock on /dev/bitmain-asic
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] /dev/bitmain-asic: tcgetattr failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] btm_init open device fd = 12
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] bitmain_detect_one btm init ok
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BitMain RxStatus Token: v(0) chip_status_eft(0) detect_get(1) chip_address(00) reg_address(00) crc(2f8c)
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] BitMain: Sent(12): 530008004000000000008c2f
 [2016-07-20 05:39:46] ----bitmain_send_data  stop ret=0 datalen=12
 [2016-07-20 05:39:47] BMS0: InitSet error
 [2016-07-20 05:39:47] bitmain_detect_one stop bitmain_initialize -1
 [2016-07-20 05:39:47] BTM uninit BTM12
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
July 19, 2016, 09:54:21 PM
 #963

Looks like it's simply not getting a response from the kernel driver.
Anyone happen to know which kernel driver code the S3 uses?

w0mp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
July 19, 2016, 10:00:06 PM
 #964

Looks like it's simply not getting a response from the kernel driver.
Anyone happen to know which kernel driver code the S3 uses?

If you are meaning the version, its kernel 3.10.12

Could it be that I am missing the kmod-usb-serial-cp210x and other kmod drivers you list in the README?  I tried to install them but I get an error saying they need kernel 3.10.49.  I can't find how to just update the kernel version.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
July 19, 2016, 10:29:54 PM
 #965

No, antminer S* use an ugly hack of a custom kernel module.
There is nothing USB about them.

toptek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
July 20, 2016, 04:32:07 PM
 #966

A while back i said something about getting this error and one other error i think the S3 hashed for 1 or 2 second then locked  bfg and shut off access to the S3 to the point i had to do a hard ware reset at that point after hours of trying i gave up it got really annoying .


 
Code:
/dev/bitmain-asic: tcgetattr failed:Inappropriate ioctl for device

the other error was

Code:
bitmain_detect_one stop bitmain_initialize -1



mainly this Inappropriate

to check the kerrel drivers with openwrt


Code:
cat /sys/kernel/debug/usb/devices
it may say USB in the check but it does list any all drivers installed or not . Smiley.

source

https://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/bitcoinmining#installing_kernel_drivers


 and that might even be the issue for some reason bfg keeps looking for USB drivers to load like you said  kind of


luke by this

Quote
Looks like it's simply not getting a response from the kernel driver.

and it's finding nothing so it shut downs.  i know it will work on S3's i think i had it running on my C1 which is a S3 over clock and water cooled it dos run on a S5 and works well  but those miners use a bb as the controller you can do all the compiling on that controller and the S1/3 have a completely  different controller with no room to do it like you can on a BB controller but I'm guessing at this point, I'm not really to interested in going back and messing with it for hours till i get annoyed but if some one gets it running I'm willing to give it a shot .
w0mp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 09:22:08 PM
 #967

I ended up just ditching the S3 in favor of an S5.  I have everything working except perhaps you could shed some light on one issue I am having.  My hashrate when mining on a big stratum mining pool is normal and works great, but when I am solo mining with Getwork my hashrate only shows about 600 MH to 1GH.  It wont go past that. This is however, before I have found any blocks, so maybe it is innacurate?  I am not solo mining BTC, its a very low difficulty sha256 alt, but I tested it with bitcoin client for comparison and I get the same low hashrate when solo mining.  Thanks!
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
July 25, 2016, 02:21:08 AM
 #968

getwork doesn't perform very well since it needs to make a new request for every 4 Gh... so with a S5 that's almost 300 requests per second.

w0mp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
July 25, 2016, 06:48:47 AM
 #969

getwork doesn't perform very well since it needs to make a new request for every 4 Gh... so with a S5 that's almost 300 requests per second.

Well its odd, I have it turned down to the lowest frequency (100) and am only running one board.  On a standard stratum pool like zpool.ca, I get about 275 GH.  On a local getwork server I only get about 500 MH.  I have another rig that is a RasPi + Gekkoscience stick.  Its connected to the same local getwork server and I get 10 GH solid.  It seems to find blocks much faster.  I also get no "pool 0 is not providing work fast enough" errors.  Its odd the S5 would hash so low while the Gekko, which is the same chips, hashes normally.

I have tried using both boards as well as completely stock settings and I get the same results.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
July 25, 2016, 02:38:51 PM
 #970

You could try increasing the queue size with the -Q option.

w0mp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
July 25, 2016, 05:36:41 PM
 #971

You could try increasing the queue size with the -Q option.

Have tried all different -Q settngs from 0 to 99, same results.  Is libmicrohttpd dependency required for proper getwork operation?  I just noticed when building on the S5 it says it cannot find it, even though its installed.  I know it has something to do with getwork, just not sure if it mattered.  That is the only difference between the S5 and RasPi builds that I can think of.  RasPi BFGMiner was compiled with all the dependencies.
toptek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
July 26, 2016, 06:31:20 AM
 #972

You could try increasing the queue size with the -Q option.

Have tried all different -Q settngs from 0 to 99, same results.  Is libmicrohttpd dependency required for proper getwork operation?  I just noticed when building on the S5 it says it cannot find it, even though its installed.  I know it has something to do with getwork, just not sure if it mattered.  That is the only difference between the S5 and RasPi builds that I can think of.  RasPi BFGMiner was compiled with all the dependencies.

you can compile it with all  dependencies on the s5 controller what ever they are which i have no idea the exact lines or code.

other then try it should download them all and it should fit .

Code:
apt-get -y install git-core build-essential autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-gnutls-dev libjansson-dev uthash-dev libncursesw5-dev libudev-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libevent-dev libmicrohttpd-dev libncurses5-dev libblkmaker-0.1-dev

this
Code:
apt-get -y install libgcrypt20-dev
might be needed for this
Code:
libmicrohttpd
to work

during the compile/install did it saying something about cli missing you may not have something or be able to use something .

bigs21024
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

please help gofund.me/bigs21024 Family in need


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 10:37:06 PM
 #973

if someone can help please. I have a Zeus thunder x3 and i installed bfg miner for linux not sure if its right first time on linux and my miner does not show up on usb is there a step by step how to download for linux

dord11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
August 04, 2016, 02:12:45 PM
 #974

very good thanks so much
edmund01
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 03:10:51 AM
 #975

very good thanks so much
MSF-Kandel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
September 16, 2016, 08:58:56 AM
 #976

My Method to use Antminer U3 with BFgminer:

Look in Device Manager* (COM&LPT) which COM-Port CP210X has. Than use this to find the U3:

-S antminer:\\.\COM7

Here is it 7, but use the Number, on which your CP210X (U3) is. Sometimes you have to (HOT-) UNPLUG und PLUGIN USB, but it works fine.

You can add other U3 commands too, but this is used by me to find the U3 directly WITHOUT GENERAL SCAN over all ports.

You have to UNZADIG your PC, if you used ZADIG. Dont use ZADIG, only install CP210X.

* Your U3 should be plugged in (USB & Power) und running.

Addition:
With Bfgminer I have with the U3 nearly Zero HWs (often max. 1/h) and Rejected Shares (max. 0.X%).
With Cgminer I had much more HWs and rejected Shares.
atithasos
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
October 11, 2016, 08:25:26 PM
 #977

Hello,
Is there any possibility that BFGMINER will support rx480 cards?

BipCoin Windows GUI wallet v.0.0.0.4 out now: HERE.
BTC: 18Kz4PHHNaRndxUhsCU6wWSpNjkucPuF7S
toptek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
October 11, 2016, 08:48:36 PM
 #978

it might but why ?


there is other mining soft ware more suited for GPU mining then BFG Is now .

but to find out you have to compile BFG with
Code:
--enable-scrypt --enable-opengl
 flags.  or maybe just turn on
Code:
--enable-scrypt
I use BFG with my 156 MH ASIC script miner .

by default both are off according to the main BFG readme so no AMD card will work under BFG till both flags are on and BFG may not support most of the new algorithm anyway, BFG is mainly used for ASIC miners now and works best with them you can use a GPU to mine with BFG but it takes some doing but possible.
 
This is from the

README.GPU in the BFG folder.


EXECUTIVE SUMMARY ON GPU USAGE (SEE ALSO README.scrypt FOR SCRYPT MINING):

By default, BFGMiner will NOT mine on any GPUs unless in scrypt mode. If you
wish to use your GPU to mine SHA256d (generally not a good idea), you can
explicitly enable it with the -S opencl:auto option.


Even says it on the front page of this thread

OpenCL GPUs, such as AMD Radeons (disabled by default, see README.GPU)

cya
toptek
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
October 11, 2016, 11:38:08 PM
 #979

Hello,
Is there any possibility that BFGMINER will support rx480 cards?

No reason I'm aware of that it wouldn't already.

The Dude
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
October 13, 2016, 03:55:33 AM
 #980

Hey quick question. Why does "sudo apt-get install bfgminer" install 5.2?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!