Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 05:45:02 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 ... 105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 147954 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2017, 05:05:00 PM
 #1001

I'm trying on Win 7 x86 and Win 10 x64
On Linux Rosa using the "git clone" command I get the same result - error 443
Maybe an issue with your permissions on the device? Tried "sudo git clone"?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542433502
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542433502

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542433502
Reply with quote  #2

1542433502
Report to moderator
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2017, 05:12:19 PM
 #1002

Hi there  the gekko science 2pac run on raspberry pi  3 model B+?
Yes, works fine. Just install everything like described in Post #1.
For operating system I would recommend raspbian light.

rv3dpi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 07:37:34 PM
 #1003

Maybe an issue with your permissions on the device? Tried "sudo git clone"?

No, using this command I get the same result Sad
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2017, 08:42:06 PM
 #1004

Is it possible that there are restrictions of your country?
Similar problem here:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/18356502/github-failed-to-connect-to-github-443-windows-failed-to-connect-to-github
Maybe try over a proxy from another country.

rv3dpi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 09:04:38 PM
 #1005

Is it possible that there are restrictions of your country?
Maybe try over a proxy from another country.

YES! It work!
Thanks!!!
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 11:28:41 AM
 #1006

Sorry for asking.

But how do you setup the Mhz on these devices?
What is the parameters you can add to CGMiner?
sloBlocks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 11:30:32 AM
 #1007

Sorry for asking.

But how do you setup the Mhz on these devices?
What is the parameters you can add to CGMiner?

The first page has the answer.
tarrantula
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 11:05:30 PM
 #1008

Hey guys,

is there any reason my 2pac isn't running great hashrates on my MacBook. Cant seem to get above 500Mh/s with the stick directly inserted on CGminer. I have a USB 3.0 hub but my computer doesn't want to recognize that either. Would it run better through the hub if I can get it to detect it and could the slow hashing speeds have to do with internet connection.

I tried searching the support threads and forums and google but was hoping for a better answer here or at least some direction. Thanks.

Tarrantula
DKirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 02:15:53 AM
 #1009

Hello everyone

Decided recently I would try to mine bitcoin more as a hobby than anything. Got a Raspberry Pi, a USB Hub, and two 2pacs. Just got everything put together using the instructions on page one and many hours on here+youtube.

I have only been able to run one stick consistently at any one time, at first there were times none would run, or both would then one would go zombie. Tried disconnecting/connecting both multiple times and rebooting the Pi then just dialed one down to 125 and it seems to be holding. My guess is I have a power issue since I can hear my USB fan dial down when I turn both on. I am determined to get both those damn sticks working since I paid good money for 'em.

If it makes any difference, when I run cgminer I type-
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:443 -u 1D35tdany3akgpDKBN7WPVCuAgpbsohziQ -p x --suggest-diff 32 --gekko-2pac-freq 125

Any feedback/help would be welcome. In a way I feel like getting this far from knowing zero one week ago isn't too bad.

Thanks
ricknamer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 127
Merit: 1


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 07:10:40 AM
 #1010

Hello everyone

Decided recently I would try to mine bitcoin more as a hobby than anything. Got a Raspberry Pi, a USB Hub, and two 2pacs. Just got everything put together using the instructions on page one and many hours on here+youtube.

I have only been able to run one stick consistently at any one time, at first there were times none would run, or both would then one would go zombie. Tried disconnecting/connecting both multiple times and rebooting the Pi then just dialed one down to 125 and it seems to be holding. My guess is I have a power issue since I can hear my USB fan dial down when I turn both on. I am determined to get both those damn sticks working since I paid good money for 'em.

If it makes any difference, when I run cgminer I type-
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:443 -u 1D35tdany3akgpDKBN7WPVCuAgpbsohziQ -p x --suggest-diff 32 --gekko-2pac-freq 125

Any feedback/help would be welcome. In a way I feel like getting this far from knowing zero one week ago isn't too bad.

Thanks


Which USB hub are you using?  Please link us.  Does it provide enough power?  Sounds very much like it could be a power issue.
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 11, 2017, 10:19:31 AM
 #1011

@tarrantula + DKirk:
I think both of your prolems may be an issue with the USB Power.

@DKirk:
The standard frequency is 100MHz. Try that with both Sticks. Or maybe test it with 50MHz.

For two sticks on higher frequencies I would reccomend an USB hub with a 30W supply. I got one and it works fine with 200MHz. And I´m just at 25W input power. And not to forget the cooling with frequencies higher than 100MHz.

@tarrantula:
I think the network traffic is not thath high, that it would matter. But I didn´t measure that yet.

DKirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 01:30:11 PM
 #1012

@tarrantula + DKirk:
I think both of your prolems may be an issue with the USB Power.

@DKirk:
The standard frequency is 100MHz. Try that with both Sticks. Or maybe test it with 50MHz.

For two sticks on higher frequencies I would reccomend an USB hub with a 30W supply. I got one and it works fine with 200MHz. And I´m just at 25W input power. And not to forget the cooling with frequencies higher than 100MHz.

@tarrantula:
I think the network traffic is not thath high, that it would matter. But I didn´t measure that yet.

At least it looks like I'm going down the right track. I have a fan so that is taken care of but now it looks like I need a new hub as suspected. I know Eyeboot hubs seem to be the gold standard around here, but at this point with 2 sticks and a fan it seems kind of stupid to spend $200ish on getting one set up. Just to make sure, is this more like what I should have-

https://www.amazon.com/Anker-14-Port-Aluminum-Transfer-Charging/dp/B00GSLMTQ8/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1510406687&sr=1-10&keywords=Anker+USB+hub
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 11, 2017, 04:16:06 PM
 #1013

Yes, I think that should do it for up to four sticks. I calculate 15W per stick. Or at least it was written in the article description on ebay for maximum power consumption.
My fan is this one:
https://smile.amazon.de/ARCTIC-Breeze-Mobile-USB-Ventilator/dp/B003XN24GY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1510416862&sr=8-2&keywords=arctic+breeze
It has 5V 0,2A. So it´s not that relevant. And the heat sinks are not even hot.

DKirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 05:08:01 PM
 #1014

Yes, I think that should do it for up to four sticks. I calculate 15W per stick. Or at least it was written in the article description on ebay for maximum power consumption.
My fan is this one:
https://smile.amazon.de/ARCTIC-Breeze-Mobile-USB-Ventilator/dp/B003XN24GY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1510416862&sr=8-2&keywords=arctic+breeze
It has 5V 0,2A. So it´s not that relevant. And the heat sinks are not even hot.

Cool, thanks for the help. That's the same fan I got seems to be popular and can't beat the price.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1079


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 06:09:44 PM
 #1015

@tarrantula + DKirk:
I think both of your prolems may be an issue with the USB Power.

@DKirk:
The standard frequency is 100MHz. Try that with both Sticks. Or maybe test it with 50MHz.

For two sticks on higher frequencies I would reccomend an USB hub with a 30W supply. I got one and it works fine with 200MHz. And I´m just at 25W input power. And not to forget the cooling with frequencies higher than 100MHz.

@tarrantula:
I think the network traffic is not thath high, that it would matter. But I didn´t measure that yet.

At least it looks like I'm going down the right track. I have a fan so that is taken care of but now it looks like I need a new hub as suspected. I know Eyeboot hubs seem to be the gold standard around here, but at this point with 2 sticks and a fan it seems kind of stupid to spend $200ish on getting one set up. Just to make sure, is this more like what I should have-

https://www.amazon.com/Anker-14-Port-Aluminum-Transfer-Charging/dp/B00GSLMTQ8/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1510406687&sr=1-10&keywords=Anker+USB+hub


Anker does not work with Rasp pi, plus too many ports for just 60W.

the following does work on pi:
https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1510423460&sr=8-3

this one is the best (works on everything, including pi), but currently listed as unavailable:
https://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8
DKirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 08:38:13 PM
 #1016

@tarrantula + DKirk:
I think both of your prolems may be an issue with the USB Power.

@DKirk:
The standard frequency is 100MHz. Try that with both Sticks. Or maybe test it with 50MHz.

For two sticks on higher frequencies I would reccomend an USB hub with a 30W supply. I got one and it works fine with 200MHz. And I´m just at 25W input power. And not to forget the cooling with frequencies higher than 100MHz.

@tarrantula:
I think the network traffic is not thath high, that it would matter. But I didn´t measure that yet.

At least it looks like I'm going down the right track. I have a fan so that is taken care of but now it looks like I need a new hub as suspected. I know Eyeboot hubs seem to be the gold standard around here, but at this point with 2 sticks and a fan it seems kind of stupid to spend $200ish on getting one set up. Just to make sure, is this more like what I should have-

https://www.amazon.com/Anker-14-Port-Aluminum-Transfer-Charging/dp/B00GSLMTQ8/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1510406687&sr=1-10&keywords=Anker+USB+hub


Anker does not work with Rasp pi, plus too many ports for just 60W.

the following does work on pi:
https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1510423460&sr=8-3

this one is the best (works on everything, including pi), but currently listed as unavailable:
https://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

Thank you for the clarification. I will probably order the Plugable then instead of waiting around for the other one. It sucks only having one stick run at 11 GH/s while the other sits idle. I'm still not 100% sure how to calculate how many sticks can go to any given hub, but I'm guessing either one of those should have no problem with 2 or 3 running at 100 or slightly more.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1079


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 09:37:56 PM
 #1017

@tarrantula + DKirk:
I think both of your prolems may be an issue with the USB Power.

@DKirk:
The standard frequency is 100MHz. Try that with both Sticks. Or maybe test it with 50MHz.

For two sticks on higher frequencies I would reccomend an USB hub with a 30W supply. I got one and it works fine with 200MHz. And I´m just at 25W input power. And not to forget the cooling with frequencies higher than 100MHz.

@tarrantula:
I think the network traffic is not thath high, that it would matter. But I didn´t measure that yet.

At least it looks like I'm going down the right track. I have a fan so that is taken care of but now it looks like I need a new hub as suspected. I know Eyeboot hubs seem to be the gold standard around here, but at this point with 2 sticks and a fan it seems kind of stupid to spend $200ish on getting one set up. Just to make sure, is this more like what I should have-

https://www.amazon.com/Anker-14-Port-Aluminum-Transfer-Charging/dp/B00GSLMTQ8/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1510406687&sr=1-10&keywords=Anker+USB+hub


Anker does not work with Rasp pi, plus too many ports for just 60W.

the following does work on pi:
https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1510423460&sr=8-3

this one is the best (works on everything, including pi), but currently listed as unavailable:
https://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

Thank you for the clarification. I will probably order the Plugable then instead of waiting around for the other one. It sucks only having one stick run at 11 GH/s while the other sits idle. I'm still not 100% sure how to calculate how many sticks can go to any given hub, but I'm guessing either one of those should have no problem with 2 or 3 running at 100 or slightly more.

three for sure; if you want to seriously overclock, i suggest to get some Y-cables.
DKirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 09:50:08 PM
 #1018

@tarrantula + DKirk:
I think both of your prolems may be an issue with the USB Power.

@DKirk:
The standard frequency is 100MHz. Try that with both Sticks. Or maybe test it with 50MHz.

For two sticks on higher frequencies I would reccomend an USB hub with a 30W supply. I got one and it works fine with 200MHz. And I´m just at 25W input power. And not to forget the cooling with frequencies higher than 100MHz.

@tarrantula:
I think the network traffic is not thath high, that it would matter. But I didn´t measure that yet.

At least it looks like I'm going down the right track. I have a fan so that is taken care of but now it looks like I need a new hub as suspected. I know Eyeboot hubs seem to be the gold standard around here, but at this point with 2 sticks and a fan it seems kind of stupid to spend $200ish on getting one set up. Just to make sure, is this more like what I should have-

https://www.amazon.com/Anker-14-Port-Aluminum-Transfer-Charging/dp/B00GSLMTQ8/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1510406687&sr=1-10&keywords=Anker+USB+hub


Anker does not work with Rasp pi, plus too many ports for just 60W.

the following does work on pi:
https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1510423460&sr=8-3

this one is the best (works on everything, including pi), but currently listed as unavailable:
https://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

Thank you for the clarification. I will probably order the Plugable then instead of waiting around for the other one. It sucks only having one stick run at 11 GH/s while the other sits idle. I'm still not 100% sure how to calculate how many sticks can go to any given hub, but I'm guessing either one of those should have no problem with 2 or 3 running at 100 or slightly more.

three for sure; if you want to seriously overclock, i suggest to get some Y-cables.

How would I setup the Y cables with my two hubs should I wish to overclock? I know it's a stupid question, but for some reason I'm not quite picturing how it goes together in my head.
ZedZedNova
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 259

Ooh La La, C'est Zoom!


View Profile
November 12, 2017, 02:44:51 AM
 #1019

Hey guys,

is there any reason my 2pac isn't running great hashrates on my MacBook. Cant seem to get above 500Mh/s with the stick directly inserted on CGminer. I have a USB 3.0 hub but my computer doesn't want to recognize that either. Would it run better through the hub if I can get it to detect it and could the slow hashing speeds have to do with internet connection.

I tried searching the support threads and forums and google but was hoping for a better answer here or at least some direction. Thanks.

Tarrantula

For the first part, 2pac not running, as others have stated, it's likely a power issue with the USB port on the MacBook. I use an older (mid 2011) Mac mini to run cgminer, but the actual miner is plugged into a powered USB 2 hub. For reference:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1173963.msg17225686#msg17225686

this setup with the Compac is still chugging along. It has plenty of mojo left to run a 2pac if I wanted to add one.

As for the USB 3.0 hub not being recognized, I don't know. Maybe it's a bad cable? Maybe the USB port on the MacBook is only a USB 2 port?

ethOS GPU mining rig Stats || L3+ mining and WTT Tokens @ Giga-Watt
-=O=-
Digital Ocean is where my Masternodes run Digital Ocean Referral Link
KILLInUrSQUAD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 12, 2017, 04:08:55 AM
 #1020

ok. so got my first 2pac stick. using a sabrent 4 port 3.0 hub with power supply .
i had the miner working  and it was never at the hash rate of 15gh/s always below and very sparatic like 40mh/s to 3-9gh/s only hit 9 gh/s a few times. my computer had done an update over night while it was mining... well long story short it quit working... did i do some thing on my end? is my hub not strong enough or maybe its over powered? now cgminer displays gsd 0: found 7:3
gsd 0: tx:4 00 00 11
gsd 0: rx bytes(0):
device serial gs- 10016325 not responding
any helpful tips or did i break it lol
Oh just for the record.... on slushpool mining with the single 2pac i found 161k shares... have not seen anyone above or near that... what you think? lol
windows 7 ck built cgminer
no idea how to write code
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 ... 105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!