Bitcoin Forum
September 27, 2016, 12:12:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3151 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 3915

Pages: « 1 ... 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 [378] 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 ... 1104 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3854042 times)
digital
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 03:30:05 PM
 #7541

Slush - would it be possible to get the mining_proxy.exe to automatically reconnect when stratum goes down and comes back up?  I had to close and relaunch the executable and missed some good mining opportunities between the time stratum came back up, and when I restarted the .exe

Thank you!

Mine reconnected just fine.  I'm at work with a 700mhash machine at home running bamt through the proxy.  It took a couple minutes, but it started submitting shares on it's own just fine.

If I help you out: 17QatvSdciyv2zsdAbphDEUzST1S6x46c3
References (bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=): 50051.20  50051.100  53668.0  53788.0  53571.0  53571.0  52212.0  50729.0  114804.0  115468  78106  69061  58572  54747
1474935169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474935169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474935169
Reply with quote  #2

1474935169
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1474935169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474935169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474935169
Reply with quote  #2

1474935169
Report to moderator
1474935169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474935169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474935169
Reply with quote  #2

1474935169
Report to moderator
1474935169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474935169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474935169
Reply with quote  #2

1474935169
Report to moderator
nightengale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 03:37:12 PM
 #7542

I know the luck comes and goes, but what is going on? Has it gotten this bad before?
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 04:00:24 PM
 #7543

Really bad but at least while it was not even connecting I figured out how to boost my LTC mining settings.  Couldn't get into forum until now, etc.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 04:02:19 PM
 #7544

Mine reconnected just fine.  I'm at work with a 700mhash machine at home running bamt through the proxy.  It took a couple minutes, but it started submitting shares on it's own just fine.

I didn't touch the one at home also and it started up on its own as well.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
5120-01-518-6126
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


< My mining rig >


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 04:12:20 PM
 #7545

I'm not sure, I'm actually using the latest guiminer, with the dropdown just set to slush's pool.  It doesn't actually say what url it uses for that setting.  But I am still submitting shares, albeit inconsistently...

out-of-the-box guiminer defaults slush's pool to getwork.  To change to stratum, click on the worker's tab and stop the miner.  Draw down the Server list, picking "other" at the bottom.  With that a box labeled Host will show under Server.  Type in stratum.bitcoin.cz and change the Port box to 3333, save the settings, and start the miner.

Wrong.  If that was the case I would have warnings all over my account page, and each miner would have a red no next to it instead of a green yes.

Which means that the current guiminer, out of the box, supports stratum.  That procedure was required on older versions of guiminer, but not any more.

As I've said before, I'm a lifer, and was a beta tester of stratum.  I'm on top of things.

I will defer to your time in service.

Perhaps my guiminer version is older than yours.  The original poclbm.ini created by my version of guiminer when I first installed it had "api2.bitcoin.cz" as the hostname and port 8332 as the port for the miners I created using the "slush's pool" server selection.  I thought those settings pointed to the getwork server (nslookup shows an IP of 176.31.157.134).

After configuring my miners as described above, poclbm.ini shows "stratum.bitcoin.cz" for hostname and 3333 for port.  nslookup for stratum.bitcoin.cz shows slush's Amazon EC2s (54.xxx)
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 04:16:37 PM
 #7546

Mine shows api2.bitcoin.cz but always "diverting to stratum.bitcoin.cz"

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
digital
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 04:21:37 PM
 #7547

I'm not sure, I'm actually using the latest guiminer, with the dropdown just set to slush's pool.  It doesn't actually say what url it uses for that setting.  But I am still submitting shares, albeit inconsistently...

out-of-the-box guiminer defaults slush's pool to getwork.  To change to stratum, click on the worker's tab and stop the miner.  Draw down the Server list, picking "other" at the bottom.  With that a box labeled Host will show under Server.  Type in stratum.bitcoin.cz and change the Port box to 3333, save the settings, and start the miner.

Wrong.  If that was the case I would have warnings all over my account page, and each miner would have a red no next to it instead of a green yes.

Which means that the current guiminer, out of the box, supports stratum.  That procedure was required on older versions of guiminer, but not any more.

As I've said before, I'm a lifer, and was a beta tester of stratum.  I'm on top of things.

I will defer to your time in service.

Perhaps my guiminer version is older than yours.  The original poclbm.ini created by my version of guiminer when I first installed it had "api2.bitcoin.cz" as the hostname and port 8332 as the port for the miners I created using the "slush's pool" server selection.  I thought those settings pointed to the getwork server (nslookup shows an IP of 176.31.157.134).

After configuring my miners as described above, poclbm.ini shows "stratum.bitcoin.cz" for hostname and 3333 for port.  nslookup for stratum.bitcoin.cz shows slush's Amazon EC2s (54.xxx)

The version number is displayed right at the top of the guiminer window.  the most recent one is v2012-12-03...

If I help you out: 17QatvSdciyv2zsdAbphDEUzST1S6x46c3
References (bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=): 50051.20  50051.100  53668.0  53788.0  53571.0  53571.0  52212.0  50729.0  114804.0  115468  78106  69061  58572  54747
gbx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 04:30:09 PM
 #7548

Slush - would it be possible to get the mining_proxy.exe to automatically reconnect when stratum goes down and comes back up?  I had to close and relaunch the executable and missed some good mining opportunities between the time stratum came back up, and when I restarted the .exe

Thank you!

Mine reconnected just fine.  I'm at work with a 700mhash machine at home running bamt through the proxy.  It took a couple minutes, but it started submitting shares on it's own just fine.

Weird.  Mine was just pages of errors.. I closed and reopened and it was fine;

I wonder if it was holding onto an old address in DNS?
5120-01-518-6126
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


< My mining rig >


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 04:36:23 PM
 #7549

I'm not sure, I'm actually using the latest guiminer, with the dropdown just set to slush's pool.  It doesn't actually say what url it uses for that setting.  But I am still submitting shares, albeit inconsistently...

out-of-the-box guiminer defaults slush's pool to getwork.  To change to stratum, click on the worker's tab and stop the miner.  Draw down the Server list, picking "other" at the bottom.  With that a box labeled Host will show under Server.  Type in stratum.bitcoin.cz and change the Port box to 3333, save the settings, and start the miner.

Wrong.  If that was the case I would have warnings all over my account page, and each miner would have a red no next to it instead of a green yes.

Which means that the current guiminer, out of the box, supports stratum.  That procedure was required on older versions of guiminer, but not any more.

As I've said before, I'm a lifer, and was a beta tester of stratum.  I'm on top of things.

I will defer to your time in service.

Perhaps my guiminer version is older than yours.  The original poclbm.ini created by my version of guiminer when I first installed it had "api2.bitcoin.cz" as the hostname and port 8332 as the port for the miners I created using the "slush's pool" server selection.  I thought those settings pointed to the getwork server (nslookup shows an IP of 176.31.157.134).

After configuring my miners as described above, poclbm.ini shows "stratum.bitcoin.cz" for hostname and 3333 for port.  nslookup for stratum.bitcoin.cz shows slush's Amazon EC2s (54.xxx)

The version number is displayed right at the top of the guiminer window.  the most recent one is v2012-12-03...

Same version I have.  Did you look at your poclbm.ini file?  But you said your account was showing a stratum connection, so my guess is that Slush has a proxy on api2.bitcoin.cz:8332.  That would make us both right Smiley
killingtime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 05:35:40 PM
 #7550

api.bitcoin.cz:8332 is indeed a proxy to both getwork and stratum, but if getwork is down, then connecting to this wigs out and you may or may not properly switch over to stratum.  This happened recently.  Probably best to just use stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 Smiley
Mikko8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 03, 2013, 07:42:02 PM
 #7551

I would like to make a recommendation based on my experience.

When I started mining over 2 years ago, the one feature that was missing from slush (bitcoin.cz) was an average earnings per 24hours period metric.

Don't underestimate the power of that one small metric, as a small mining outfit monitoring 6 rigs, it provided me with a the feedback I needed to make mining worthwhile.
As a result, I chose to mine with BTCguild over slush.

I will guess BTCguild's success is largely to do with their UI and the "all powerful" average earnings per 24 hrs feedback.
In the light of there success, they are not following free market principals I have so come to admire about Bitcoin, but are now penalising usurers for there success, so I have swung back to mine with slush.

My biggest disappointment is I don't get any average per 24hrs earnings feedback, I am so disappointed I am considering paying the higher fees on BTCguild just for that little metric.

So as a plea, please add an average per 24hrs earning to the "My account" page.
thanks,


Maybe this can help: https://mining.bitcoin.cz/stats/graphs/

14FfG7TC7yWP86xyRQXCtC1sBmici5avvi
digital
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 07:59:27 PM
 #7552

I would like to make a recommendation based on my experience.

When I started mining over 2 years ago, the one feature that was missing from slush (bitcoin.cz) was an average earnings per 24hours period metric.

Don't underestimate the power of that one small metric, as a small mining outfit monitoring 6 rigs, it provided me with a the feedback I needed to make mining worthwhile.
As a result, I chose to mine with BTCguild over slush.

I will guess BTCguild's success is largely to do with their UI and the "all powerful" average earnings per 24 hrs feedback.
In the light of there success, they are not following free market principals I have so come to admire about Bitcoin, but are now penalising usurers for there success, so I have swung back to mine with slush.

My biggest disappointment is I don't get any average per 24hrs earnings feedback, I am so disappointed I am considering paying the higher fees on BTCguild just for that little metric.

So as a plea, please add an average per 24hrs earning to the "My account" page.
thanks,


Maybe this can help: https://mining.bitcoin.cz/stats/graphs/

Yeah the blue dots are a 7 day moving average.  And it's pretty easy to pull a daily average from those graphs...

If I help you out: 17QatvSdciyv2zsdAbphDEUzST1S6x46c3
References (bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=): 50051.20  50051.100  53668.0  53788.0  53571.0  53571.0  52212.0  50729.0  114804.0  115468  78106  69061  58572  54747
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 08:01:13 PM
 #7553

I'm not sure, I'm actually using the latest guiminer, with the dropdown just set to slush's pool.  It doesn't actually say what url it uses for that setting.  But I am still submitting shares, albeit inconsistently...

out-of-the-box guiminer defaults slush's pool to getwork.  To change to stratum, click on the worker's tab and stop the miner.  Draw down the Server list, picking "other" at the bottom.  With that a box labeled Host will show under Server.  Type in stratum.bitcoin.cz and change the Port box to 3333, save the settings, and start the miner.

Wrong.  If that was the case I would have warnings all over my account page, and each miner would have a red no next to it instead of a green yes.

Which means that the current guiminer, out of the box, supports stratum.  That procedure was required on older versions of guiminer, but not any more.

As I've said before, I'm a lifer, and was a beta tester of stratum.  I'm on top of things.
Indeed.  The latest GUIMiner-20121203 supports Stratum as stated on the heading/title of the GUIMiner forum itself and on Slush's news column on the website.  Interestingly, hashing never waned on my miners through this latest irregularity.  I'm on GUIMiner myself albeit through the Stratum proxy with a total of five miners (one as localhost and the rest pointed to it as clients).  Go figure.
killingtime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 08:04:01 PM
 #7554

I will guess BTCguild's success is largely to do with their UI and the "all powerful" average earnings per 24 hrs feedback.
In the light of there success, they are not following free market principals I have so come to admire about Bitcoin, but are now penalising usurers for there success, so I have swung back to mine with slush.

You obviously have not understood BTC Guild's reasoning and purpose of their fee change.  In point of fact, they are trying to protect the "free" and decentralized nature of bitcoin by try to get people to move to other pools so that their pool is not so singly powerful.  If some of the bigger users would voluntarily switch pools, then the pool would not have to be attempting to make the pool less desirable.  Heck, getting ASICminer to move would be sufficient Smiley
digital
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 08:05:46 PM
 #7555

I will guess BTCguild's success is largely to do with their UI and the "all powerful" average earnings per 24 hrs feedback.
In the light of there success, they are not following free market principals I have so come to admire about Bitcoin, but are now penalising usurers for there success, so I have swung back to mine with slush.

You obviously have not understood BTC Guild's reasoning and purpose of their fee change.  In point of fact, they are trying to protect the "free" and decentralized nature of bitcoin by try to get people to move to other pools so that their pool is not so singly powerful.  If some of the bigger users would voluntarily switch pools, then the pool would not have to be attempting to make the pool less desirable.  Heck, getting ASICminer to move would be sufficient Smiley

Looks like it's working too... lol

If I help you out: 17QatvSdciyv2zsdAbphDEUzST1S6x46c3
References (bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=): 50051.20  50051.100  53668.0  53788.0  53571.0  53571.0  52212.0  50729.0  114804.0  115468  78106  69061  58572  54747
nottm28
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 03, 2013, 08:25:03 PM
 #7556

I will guess BTCguild's success is largely to do with their UI and the "all powerful" average earnings per 24 hrs feedback.
In the light of there success, they are not following free market principals I have so come to admire about Bitcoin, but are now penalising usurers for there success, so I have swung back to mine with slush.

You obviously have not understood BTC Guild's reasoning and purpose of their fee change.  In point of fact, they are trying to protect the "free" and decentralized nature of bitcoin by try to get people to move to other pools so that their pool is not so singly powerful.  If some of the bigger users would voluntarily switch pools, then the pool would not have to be attempting to make the pool less desirable.  Heck, getting ASICminer to move would be sufficient Smiley

Sure they are, and so they should be, but employing top down central planning is not a move in the right direction, I know where that leads. They could do lots of things, even operating as a Guild and giving their members proportional representation and throwing a little might and cash at the Bitcoin foundation would be better than what they are doing.

Well you could use the 'Graphs' section to see your much needed daily average as mentioned by Mikko8 and digital. Or you could use Slush's free api's to calculate your daily average if you know a bit of java or other language that can parse his (free) json deliveries. At 2% you can't really beat this pool with it's free api's.

If BTC Guild end up with too much market share (currently 51% - over 50 is bad for any free market) it's bad for everyone. I am quite surprised that they actually see this as a problem themselves and are doing something about it. Good on them.

donations not accepted
killingtime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 08:37:55 PM
 #7557

I will guess BTCguild's success is largely to do with their UI and the "all powerful" average earnings per 24 hrs feedback.
In the light of there success, they are not following free market principals I have so come to admire about Bitcoin, but are now penalising usurers for there success, so I have swung back to mine with slush.

You obviously have not understood BTC Guild's reasoning and purpose of their fee change.  In point of fact, they are trying to protect the "free" and decentralized nature of bitcoin by try to get people to move to other pools so that their pool is not so singly powerful.  If some of the bigger users would voluntarily switch pools, then the pool would not have to be attempting to make the pool less desirable.  Heck, getting ASICminer to move would be sufficient Smiley

Sure they are, and so they should be, but employing top down central planning is not a move in the right direction, I know where that leads. They could do lots of things, even operating as a Guild and giving their members proportional representation and throwing a little might and cash at the Bitcoin foundation would be better than what they are doing.

Things will most likely correct themselves (if you want to continue the mis-use of the phrase "free market", then use that here) as ASIC becomes more available to more people, and the other pools catch up and/or new pools are created.  There's just an unfortunate phase here were the top 4 users on BTC Guild comprise nearly 50% of their overall hash rate, and comprise nearly 25% of the overall hash network....
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 08:54:28 PM
 #7558

I really hope luck changes soon I've though several times about setting up an account over at BTC.  I'm at about .03 for today average should be close to 0.1 for a day!  One thing about larger pools is the unlucky blocks last less time.  Just imagine solo mining on an unlucky block you would never see it end!

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 08:58:28 PM
 #7559

To all those who pointed out my guiminer problem was because I had all three miners pointed at the same gpu, you were right - I was
smart enough to set the GTX 480's up correctly but forgot to check the same when I cloned 2nd & 3rd gpu from my first 7870 miner.

guiminer connects to stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 ok, and all three are putting out 360+ MH/s.
I'm happy that you're getting 360+ MH/s on your Asus HD7870DC2-2GD5-V2 gpus.  The Fedex dude was just here a couple of hours ago to deliver two of exactly the same cards that you have to replace a couple of mining-challenged Nvidia GPUs on an old gaming rig.  I have come to the conclusion that generally, AMD cards that are moderately OC'd, usually hashes around 26% of the number of stream processors.  So I figured that I would be getting around 265 MH/s (26% of 1024 stream processors) out of each of these cards.  At what clock are you getting 360+ MH/s with and which AMD CCC version are you using, may I ask?

Edit:  Oops!  Never mind.  My old eyes betrayed me.  You got the HD 7870s; I got the HD 7850s.  I got excited over nothing. :-)
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 09:01:47 PM
 #7560

To all those who pointed out my guiminer problem was because I had all three miners pointed at the same gpu, you were right - I was
smart enough to set the GTX 480's up correctly but forgot to check the same when I cloned 2nd & 3rd gpu from my first 7870 miner.

guiminer connects to stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 ok, and all three are putting out 360+ MH/s.
I'm happy that you're getting 360+ MH/s on your Asus HD7870DC2-2GD5-V2 gpus.  The Fedex dude was just here a couple of hours ago to deliver two of exactly the same cards that you have to replace a couple of mining-challenged Nvidia GPUs on an old gaming rig.  I have come to the conclusion that generally, AMD cards that are moderately OC'd, usually hashes around 26% of the number of stream processors.  So I figured that I would be getting around 265 MH/s (26% of 1024 stream processors) out of each of these cards.  At what clock are you getting 360+ MH/s with, may I ask?

7850 - I got about 330MH/s - 1200Mhz
7870 - 430-450MH/s - 1215Mhz
7950 - 540MH/s - 1150Mhz
7950 - 520MH/s - 1100Mhz

That's what I've been getting returned the 7850 now running two 7870, two 7950.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Pages: « 1 ... 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 [378] 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 ... 1104 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!