Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2018, 02:52:30 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 ... 121 »
  Print  
Author Topic: PhoenixMiner 3.0c: fastest Ethereum/Ethash miner with lowest devfee (Windows)  (Read 82297 times)
johnalim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 04:07:19 PM
 #481


I would like to know if your miner supports multiple instances. I have 12 cards and would want 2 instances of your miner running simultaneously with 6 cards accessible for each instance. Reason for doing this is to increase probability of getting shares.

Could you comment if this is possible, how to achieve it and if it will yield the benefits I stated?


it already does, just restrict the GPUs on each one with the -gpus option. Im not quite sure how that would increase probability of getting shares, but try it and see

Thank you for your reply. I also have no idea if it would so I had to ask just in case you would happen to know if it does improve getting shares.

My max hashrates are better with your miner than with Claymore's but I noticed that my effective hashrates are not so consistent, thus bringing down my average hashrates. I've been using your miner for just a day and noticed this. Not sure if it's related to that bug of GPU changing voltages during devfee mining. I didn't notice that but I saw someone post about it a few posts earlier.

http://
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
johnalim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 04:22:57 PM
 #482

Hi again,

I would like to understand further the lines of text printed on the console while the miner application is running.
Could you help me understand:

1. How to find out which GPUs are idle (waiting for job) and which GPUs are busy solving an algorithm?
2. How to find out how long it took to finish a share? and are shares solved by 1 GPU only or which GPUs helped to complete the share?
3. How to find out when a solution was submitted?
4. What is difference between "New job found... from " and "ETH share found"?

Let me know if these are details found on console of the app, or such debug strings can be printed by adding a parameter to the script, or such details are unavailable or do not exist.

Reason for asking this is that we could be too caught up with hashrates (processing power) and yet forget that idle GPUs (due to absence of a job or difficulty finding a share) affect performance too. No point overclocking GPUs only to be stuck waiting like a Ferrari stuck in traffic.

Thank you in advance. Smiley
janding
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 05:22:36 PM
 #483

How to use -gt (GPU tuning, what does it do)? I dont seem to find any value that would make a difference.


Using the -gt tuning can make a worthwhile increase in your hash rates.
This is only used for AMD cards.

Here is how I found the best way to tune and use it.

Have your miner up and running.
Using the '+' key increase the tuning parameter to a larger number than you need.
Start out at 100.
Watch your displayed hash rate in the mining window.
Let it display a few updates to see where the speed is currently running.
Decrease the tuning number by 10 using the '-' key.
Watch the hash rate.
Continue decreasing the number by 10 on each test while watching the hash rates.
You should see the hash rate starting to increase as you go down in numbers.
The hash rate will increase and then start to decrease.
When you reach that point you are close.
Now start going up and down by 5 instead of 10 on each test.
You will eventually find the sweet spot where you can't improve it any more.
Set that number in the -gt parameter in your config.txt file.

If you have multiple GPU's in a system you will need to do this for each GPU.
Disable all the GPU's but one. Find the best number for that GPU.
Record that number then disable that GPU and enable the next one.
Repeat until you have all the setting for each GPU.

This can take some time, but it’s worth it.
catmilk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 06:17:43 PM
 #484

my 1060-3 cards recently stopped mining 179 epoch ether classic. Only ethminer is working longer on this coin. I solved all dev recommendations below, but had no success.

Branko
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 177


Join FlipNpik Telegram : t.me/flipnpikico


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 08:19:09 PM
 #485

My result with Phoenix miner on one RX560  (Hynix) and one RX580 (Elpida)


aurus33
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 12:02:17 AM
 #486

Hi,

Thank you for making this miner.

I would like to know if your miner supports multiple instances. I have 12 cards and would want 2 instances of your miner running simultaneously with 6 cards accessible for each instance. Reason for doing this is to increase probability of getting shares.

Could you comment if this is possible, how to achieve it and if it will yield the benefits I stated?

Thank you and more power to you and your team.

John

Run -gpus 123456 on one instance (or other indexes of your preference/need) and -gpus 7,8,9,10,11,12 on another instance.
Still, I agree with ANewMiner, I do not believe it will increase profitability or share increase.

Keep in mind that PhoenixMiner shows which actual difficulty it took to find the share, greater difficulty equals greater payment from the pool. So bigger number of shares does not mean more profit.

Though honestly, that is one test I haven't even thought to try myself. Please report back your findings Smiley

How to use -gt (GPU tuning, what does it do)? I dont seem to find any value that would make a difference.

It does, in my case the difference is very slight for each change, also, the change take some time to kickin, it takes patience to tune the gpu's this way.

Running HWiNFO v5.72 in the background I lose 1-2 mh/s ... it's just me ?

I thought it was me, with your comment plus the previous answer from Phoenix team, it makes sense to me that reading the gpu directly take some processor's time, HWiNFO does this while running the sensors. What I did was to tweak the interface to not only hide the items I want to see (mostly Memoty Errors) but also uncheck "monitoring".
Hope that helps

aurus
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 12:47:10 AM
 #487

if you use awesome miner and don't know yet this now works with awesome miner Smiley .....

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
mxl86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 01:55:36 AM
 #488

Miner works great here minus the bug where it resets my OC settings at every devfee, will wait til its fixed and go back to use it.

Thank you.
MrMaxwell
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 2


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 02:16:55 AM
 #489

Miner works great here minus the bug where it resets my OC settings at every devfee, will wait til its fixed and go back to use it.

Thank you.

Does it reset the OC settings on bothe AMD and Nvidia or just AMD?
Babs797
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 02:23:42 AM
 #490

The -gpus command does not work. I cannot mine with only specific gpus. Any suggestions?
Tranzius
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 04:34:19 AM
 #491

Miner works great here minus the bug where it resets my OC settings at every devfee, will wait til its fixed and go back to use it.

Thank you.

Does it reset the OC settings on bothe AMD and Nvidia or just AMD?

I have both Nvidia and AMD and this problem occurs on AMD rig only.. Strange is also, that it resets only some of cards.
Mostly it resets PCIe 16x primary slot..Then random resets. Sometimes third card...sometimes second card.

This needs to be fixed definitely..

RustPes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 05:40:03 AM
 #492

Hi all!
8 * 580. eth only.
claymore was 227 mh/s and ~ 200 shares / hour
phoenix are 228 -229 mh/s and ~ 204-207 shares / hour
base on logs - really low dev fee
thank author for new interesting product!
MrMaxwell
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 2


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 06:19:16 AM
 #493

Miner works great here minus the bug where it resets my OC settings at every devfee, will wait til its fixed and go back to use it.

Thank you.

Does it reset the OC settings on bothe AMD and Nvidia or just AMD?

I have both Nvidia and AMD and this problem occurs on AMD rig only.. Strange is also, that it resets only some of cards.
Mostly it resets PCIe 16x primary slot..Then random resets. Sometimes third card...sometimes second card.

This needs to be fixed definitely..



Good to know, thanks! I am Nvidia only so with the recent AM update I will start to use this with Awesome Miner ASAP.
mxl86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 08:52:54 AM
 #494

Miner works great here minus the bug where it resets my OC settings at every devfee, will wait til its fixed and go back to use it.

Thank you.

Does it reset the OC settings on bothe AMD and Nvidia or just AMD?

Nvidia here, all 1060s.
PhoenixMiner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 133
Merit: 6


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 03:58:08 PM
 #495

Hi,

Thank you for making this miner.

I would like to know if your miner supports multiple instances. I have 12 cards and would want 2 instances of your miner running simultaneously with 6 cards accessible for each instance. Reason for doing this is to increase probability of getting shares.

Could you comment if this is possible, how to achieve it and if it will yield the benefits I stated?

Thank you and more power to you and your team.

John
   Yes, you can do this and it is quite easy. The first step is to have two copies of the PhoenixMiner folder. Then add the command line option -gpus 123456 to the command line of the first miner (or in the config.txt file if you are using config.txt file instead of directly adding command-line options). This will limit the first instance of PhoenixMiner to the first six cards of your rig. For the second instance of the miner use the option -gpus 7,8,9,10,11,12 and it will use the other six cards.
   If you want to use remote monitoring, you have to add the option -cdmport 3334 on one of the instances (first or second) because they cant both run on the default port 3333 for remote monitoring.
   As for the more probability of getting shares, we don't think that it would make much difference but you can use one half of the rig to mine on one pool and other - on different pool and compare which works best for your. Or you can even mine different coins.

Hello Phoenix, is there any scheduled date when version 2.7. will be released? I had to switch back to Claymore's miner because of that bug when during Devfee session the voltage parameters of cards are reset.

I really like your miner as it has better hashrate performance and lower stale shares on Ethermine.
Also stability is without any problems..mining 2 weeks and no sigle crash.
   We will release an early beta tomorrow or the day after tomorrow (depending on how the internal testing goes). The "seemless" devfee switch is already undergoing testing and works quite stable but the hardware control options are nowhere near completion, so we will probably release a 2.7a versions without them but with all the other new features first.

How to use -gt (GPU tuning, what does it do)? I dont seem to find any value that would make a difference.
   There is quite small difference unless you go to really high gt values (above 30-40). Also, give it at least 30-60 seconds for the hashrate to "settle" after changing the gt value before moving to the next gt value (you can move by 10, for example from 15 to 25, then wait one minute to see what the hashrate looks like when it stabilizes, then repeat and so on).

Running HWiNFO v5.72 in the background I lose 1-2 mh/s ... it's just me ?
   Yes, this is normal, and the same effect can be observed with GPU-Z when looking in the sensor tab. The reason is that the ADL library is not thread-safe and the sensor readings can't be read in parallel, which slows down the driver, especially when all available sensors are read every second or so, which is the normal mode of operation of these programs. If you want to keep them in the background, make sure that the frequency of reading of the sensors is not too high (for example once every 10-30 seconds should be fine but once every few seconds is too often).

The -gpus command does not work. I cannot mine with only specific gpus. Any suggestions?
   Could give us some specifics? How menu cards you have, and what command line you are using? Note that the -gpus option GPU indexes start from 1, not 0 like in the -di option. So, if you want to use only the first three cards, you have to use -gpus 123 or -di 012.

Nvidia here, all 1060s.
   Hmm, this is something new. So far we have seen this only with AMD cards. Would you mind telling us what program you are using for setting the clocks and voltages of your cards?



cmd_whoami
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 04:16:01 PM
 #496

Great Work on the miner. Over all I think your miner is better than Claymore's.

I've been testing this on two rigs for the last 24hrs. One 9 card Zotac 1070 AMP Extreme rig, and one 9 card Zotac 1070 ti AMP Edition rig . I use NVIDIA Inspector 1.9.7.8 to set OC's using a .bat and short cut of .bat in Windows start folder.

I found your miner allows my 1070 AMP Extremes to take a higher and more standard Mem Over Clock across all cards. With Claymore every card had a different Mem OC but with Phoenix miner all but one 1070 likes a standard 850 Mem OC. But for what ever reason there was no change with the 1070 ti rig, it still likes the same OC as Claymore's miner.

The only thing I don't understand is why GPU0 is GPU1. This makes the fan speed and temp readout in the miner not line up with the correct cards.

Fan temp on GPU0 = GPU5 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU0 = GPU1 in Phoenix
Fan temp on GPU1 = GPU1 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU1 = GPU2 in Phoenix
Fan temp on GPU2 = GPU2 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU2 = GPU3 in Phoenix
Fan temp on GPU3 = GPU3 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU3 = GPU4 in Phoenix
Fan temp on GPU4 = GPU4 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU4 = GPU5 in Phoenix
Fan temp on GPU5 = GPU6 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU5 = GPU6 in Phoenix
Fan temp on GPU6 = GPU7 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU6 = GPU7 in Phoenix
Fan temp on GPU7 = GPU8 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU7 = GPU8 in Phoenix
Fan temp on GPU8 = GPU9 in Phoenix             Hashrate of GPU8 = GPU9 in Phoenix


I read though all 25 pages and didn't see anyone else mention this.
Amstellodamois
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 10:44:01 PM
 #497

How to use -gt (GPU tuning, what does it do)? I dont seem to find any value that would make a difference.
Using the -gt tuning can make a worthwhile increase in your hash rates.
This is only used for AMD cards.

Here is how I found the best way to tune and use it.

Have your miner up and running.
Using the '+' key increase the tuning parameter to a larger number than you need.
Start out at 100.
Watch your displayed hash rate in the mining window.
Let it display a few updates to see where the speed is currently running.
Decrease the tuning number by 10 using the '-' key.
Watch the hash rate.
Continue decreasing the number by 10 on each test while watching the hash rates.
You should see the hash rate starting to increase as you go down in numbers.
The hash rate will increase and then start to decrease.
When you reach that point you are close.
Now start going up and down by 5 instead of 10 on each test.
You will eventually find the sweet spot where you can't improve it any more.
Set that number in the -gt parameter in your config.txt file.

If you have multiple GPU's in a system you will need to do this for each GPU.
Disable all the GPU's but one. Find the best number for that GPU.
Record that number then disable that GPU and enable the next one.
Repeat until you have all the setting for each GPU.

This can take some time, but it’s worth it.
Isn't there a way to automate this? Have the miner calculate a moving average while it's changing this parameter, thus finding out the best for each card.

"PhoenixMiner, the miner taylored to your cards" does sound appealing.
dohfish
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 10:48:07 PM
 #498

Running HWiNFO v5.72 in the background I lose 1-2 mh/s ... it's just me ?

For you, and anyone else loosing hashrate for this - Simply disable polling of the watts used by the GPU, this is the culprit - Polling anything else but hiding the watts used by core etc will not cause a drop in hash power.
Teress
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 102


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 10:50:39 PM
 #499

I think the only way how to survive new Claymore version is to implement into Phoenix algos for dual mining, which Claymore DOES NOT HAVE! Then I would love to use Phoenix on all my rigs.
janding
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 13, 2018, 12:03:51 AM
 #500

How to use -gt (GPU tuning, what does it do)? I dont seem to find any value that would make a difference.
Using the -gt tuning can make a worthwhile increase in your hash rates.
This is only used for AMD cards.

Here is how I found the best way to tune and use it.

Have your miner up and running.
Using the '+' key increase the tuning parameter to a larger number than you need.
Start out at 100.
Watch your displayed hash rate in the mining window.
Let it display a few updates to see where the speed is currently running.
Decrease the tuning number by 10 using the '-' key.
Watch the hash rate.
Continue decreasing the number by 10 on each test while watching the hash rates.
You should see the hash rate starting to increase as you go down in numbers.
The hash rate will increase and then start to decrease.
When you reach that point you are close.
Now start going up and down by 5 instead of 10 on each test.
You will eventually find the sweet spot where you can't improve it any more.
Set that number in the -gt parameter in your config.txt file.

If you have multiple GPU's in a system you will need to do this for each GPU.
Disable all the GPU's but one. Find the best number for that GPU.
Record that number then disable that GPU and enable the next one.
Repeat until you have all the setting for each GPU.

This can take some time, but it’s worth it.
Isn't there a way to automate this? Have the miner calculate a moving average while it's changing this parameter, thus finding out the best for each card.

"PhoenixMiner, the miner taylored to your cards" does sound appealing.

I might be in the minority on this but it doesn't appeal to me to have the miner decide those settings. Although it would be
quite interesting to see it do that.
I had much rather do it myself, I trust my settings more than what the miner would do for me.
It's part of the fun for me to tune my rigs to get every hash/second I can get and understand what I'm doing.
If you did decide to change mining software and the other miners doesn't do that, you would need to do it anyway.
I'm sure that the settings on one miner would not be totally accurate on another miner also.
But it might be a selling point for the developers.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 ... 121 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!