Bitcoin Forum
June 17, 2021, 05:47:36 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 [59] 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 ... 457 »
  Print  
Author Topic: PhoenixMiner 5.6d: fastest Ethereum/Ethash miner with lowest devfee (Win/Linux)  (Read 663204 times)
gambera
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 02:23:37 AM
 #1161

Quote

Very possible.
I can lower the stale shares some by reducing the intensity.
I can get it around 2 to 5% if I give up hash rate.
But that negates the extra speed that Phoenix gives me.
My issue is if I get the higher hashes that Phoenix offers the stale shares goes up.

I had about 4 to 8% on Claymore before the 11.4 release.
They claimed they fixed the stale share issue. And man did they. I immediately went
to < 1% without doing any adjusting.

So, I know it can be done.
I want the increased speed that Phoenix offers and the very low stale shares.
If I get the same hash rate on Phoenix and Claymore but Claymore stale rate is <1 % and Phoenix
is 2 to 5% I'm better off going to Claymore. I had rather use Phoenix if they can address this issue.



Interesting. I've been using Phoenix for more than a month now and I get 1-2% stales on miner and 4-5% at ethermine no matter of low or high intensity or -gt.
I've tried 2.6, 2.7a and 2.7c.

I tried Claymore 11.0 with the same % stales at pool. I don't like how I get disconnected from pool when devfee stops, Claymore that is. Haven't tried any other version yet.

My rig gets ~186 Mhs with phoenix and ~182 with Claymore.

It's worth mentioning that 3 of my RX580 have custom vBIOS for mining ETH, the rest are stock.

So, I don't know if it's my setup, two miners or the pool. Average accepted share to pool is 65 ms, which is not that bad.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1623952056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623952056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623952056
Reply with quote  #2

1623952056
Report to moderator
1623952056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623952056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623952056
Reply with quote  #2

1623952056
Report to moderator
1623952056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623952056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623952056
Reply with quote  #2

1623952056
Report to moderator
opeth2112
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 02:30:48 AM
 #1162

Is there a guide somewhere for exactly how the -gt option affects things?  What does it make changes to, and to what degree?

Thanks for the work!
nvidiademon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 04:18:41 AM
 #1163

Just gotta say Phoenix Miner is really impressive.  Made the switch from being a long time Claymore user.  11.5 was great but I have been able to hold solid gains with Phoenix and it is just WAY more stable at higher overclocks.  8 Nvidia 1070 ti's can get hold just below 33 MH/s AVERAGE.  So it dips in the mid 33.5 MH/s-ish at times!  The most I could hold was just below 32 each with claymore not shutting down with a Hang.  Thanks so much to the creator.  I heard positive things from following this thread from afar.  Glad I made the switch.  Keep up the good work!  Cheers
nitrobg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 418
Merit: 17


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 06:14:52 AM
 #1164

Can you implement Claymore's auto tuning for best intensity per card?
timbojames
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 07:17:03 AM
Last edit: March 23, 2018, 09:36:10 AM by timbojames
 #1165

Ive been trying PM 2.7c on a standalone desktop with R9 390 8GB (XFX).  I know this miner is focused on RX cards (which I have many of) but I have a fair number of R9 390s and I'm having a lot of hardware control problems.

I'm getting 'failure to set -tt error -1', but setting a static fan speed works.  However, the fan speed sticks even after I close the miner.  Similarly, my clocks and voltages will set (watching in GPU-Z), but they won't reset when the miner closes.  This is a big problem since when I try to launch a second time, it seems like a negative voltage offset stacks with the first and I get BSOD, driver crash, etc.  Regardless, I pretty much have to reboot to get it to start 'fresh'.  It definitely seems faster when I can get it to run, but I have some machines that need to start and stop on demand.

MSI AB works for all my hardware settings, but I really would like the miner to handle it all and go back to stock settings when it stops.  I have a few standalone desktops with one or two GPUs that I actually use and I like them to mine when idle (scheduled task) and stop when I sit down.  I also have one dedicated rig that I run on a schedule to control heat midday.  I've been running ethminer like this; scheduled task based on idle or time.  I was about to jump to Claymore on my idle use machines simply because of the hardware control features (which ethminer lacks) so I don't have to keep switching MSI AB profiles, and that's when I discovered PhoenixMiner.

I'm just curious if these hardware control issues may be on my end or are a known issue with R9 series cards.  I have tried 3 drivers in the 18 series, but I haven't gone back to 17.  I've tried it with MSI AB reset to defaults, MSI AB completely uninstalled, AMD settings running and AMD settings not-running.  I've lowered mining intensity and slowed DAG generation and all that, but the crashes really seem to be due to ridiculously low voltages on the second run of the miner, like PM is trying to stack a negative offset each time.  Bottom line is PM doesn't release the hardware settings when it closes, at least it doesn't on this GPU and I feel like that's where my problems are coming from.  I can run PM, close it, then run something like FurMark and all my clocks and voltages are still stuck on the PM settings.

I don't mean to sound high maintenance, just want to figure this out.  If it's a known issue, hopefully it's one that will get fixed, but no big deal.  Any input would be appreciated.
murgorx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 13


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 07:20:15 AM
 #1166

Is anyone else also having a really smaller hashrate in comparison with, for example, last week? I've been mining and for the last 48 hours my hashrate at the ethermine pool has been 140mh/s ?! The local miner is showing constantly 30.5mh/s on all 5 cards? Is there a global hashrate drop or is it just the pool?
Iamtutut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 128


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 08:44:37 AM
 #1167

Is anyone else also having a really smaller hashrate in comparison with, for example, last week? I've been mining and for the last 48 hours my hashrate at the ethermine pool has been 140mh/s ?! The local miner is showing constantly 30.5mh/s on all 5 cards? Is there a global hashrate drop or is it just the pool?
For weeks, with the same 3 RX 570 GPUs, I used to have 1-4% (4% was in "bad times") stale share rate with ethermine, recently it was 5-15% with the same settings (core 1150Mhz and mem between 2060 to 2130Mhz), although I've a HTTP internet. The miner was submitting shares with a 5ms average ping.
The last two days, I start mining at anorak tech pool (https://eth.anorak.tech/#/), not a single stale.

I briefly tried claymore 11.5, not any better.
twotwosix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 11:10:23 AM
 #1168

Is anyone else also having a really smaller hashrate in comparison with, for example, last week? I've been mining and for the last 48 hours my hashrate at the ethermine pool has been 140mh/s ?! The local miner is showing constantly 30.5mh/s on all 5 cards? Is there a global hashrate drop or is it just the pool?
For weeks, with the same 3 RX 570 GPUs, I used to have 1-4% (4% was in "bad times") stale share rate with ethermine, recently it was 5-15% with the same settings (core 1150Mhz and mem between 2060 to 2130Mhz), although I've a HTTP internet. The miner was submitting shares with a 5ms average ping.
The last two days, I start mining at anorak tech pool (https://eth.anorak.tech/#/), not a single stale.

I briefly tried claymore 11.5, not any better.


Im testing with 9 rigs, in the pool Page i see 0 estales, but in Phoenix miner 1-4%
Iamtutut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 128


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 11:18:55 AM
 #1169

Phoenix estimates the stale shares ratio, so it's not accurate. As you know, what's accurate is the pool. 1 1/2 day mining at anorak tech, no stale at all.
Mamasita22
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 101



View Profile
March 23, 2018, 11:28:53 AM
 #1170

Stales always will be, at least when block changes, share become stale for new block. But miner may don't send stales to the pool.
murgorx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 13


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 01:10:12 PM
 #1171

Is anyone else also having a really smaller hashrate in comparison with, for example, last week? I've been mining and for the last 48 hours my hashrate at the ethermine pool has been 140mh/s ?! The local miner is showing constantly 30.5mh/s on all 5 cards? Is there a global hashrate drop or is it just the pool?
For weeks, with the same 3 RX 570 GPUs, I used to have 1-4% (4% was in "bad times") stale share rate with ethermine, recently it was 5-15% with the same settings (core 1150Mhz and mem between 2060 to 2130Mhz), although I've a HTTP internet. The miner was submitting shares with a 5ms average ping.
The last two days, I start mining at anorak tech pool (https://eth.anorak.tech/#/), not a single stale.

I briefly tried claymore 11.5, not any better.
Thanks a lot for the information mate. I will setup my rig now in the lunch break to start mining on this pool and I will wait 48 hours to see the results! Ethermine has been a really bad ride for me so far. I have tried mining a lot of coins and never saw a stale/rejected shares, just on ethermine it's  staling like crazy...
aurus33
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 01:47:09 PM
 #1172

Is anyone else also having a really smaller hashrate in comparison with, for example, last week? I've been mining and for the last 48 hours my hashrate at the ethermine pool has been 140mh/s ?! The local miner is showing constantly 30.5mh/s on all 5 cards? Is there a global hashrate drop or is it just the pool?
For weeks, with the same 3 RX 570 GPUs, I used to have 1-4% (4% was in "bad times") stale share rate with ethermine, recently it was 5-15% with the same settings (core 1150Mhz and mem between 2060 to 2130Mhz), although I've a HTTP internet. The miner was submitting shares with a 5ms average ping.
The last two days, I start mining at anorak tech pool (https://eth.anorak.tech/#/), not a single stale.

I briefly tried claymore 11.5, not any better.


Im testing with 9 rigs, in the pool Page i see 0 estales, but in Phoenix miner 1-4%

Interesting, I haven't used anorak, but after reading many many posts about it I started to wonder, is Anirak's pool really reporting stale shares?

In my experience, stales shares WILL happen... eventually, statistically, so having 0 stales, it makes me wonder. Yes, Ethermine shows a varying percentage, in my case from 2 to 5% and I still dont know how to fix it beside improving the ping, which wouldn't happen, ISP's are like that.

Just a friendly poke to all who're using Anorak's pool, review IF they actually report the stales.

--
aurus
BlivAK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 03:46:47 PM
 #1173

Phoenix estimates the stale shares ratio, so it's not accurate. As you know, what's accurate is the pool. 1 1/2 day mining at anorak tech, no stale at all.

I've just had a look at the Anorak pool some interesting facts as shown on their pool page (correct as at 15.46 UTC)

Miners Online : 155
Pool hashrate 36.23GH
Average time to find block: 25 hours
Last block found: 44 hours ago


Is it worth it in relation to text in BOLD?
ANewMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 03:54:38 PM
 #1174

Is anyone else also having a really smaller hashrate in comparison with, for example, last week? I've been mining and for the last 48 hours my hashrate at the ethermine pool has been 140mh/s ?! The local miner is showing constantly 30.5mh/s on all 5 cards? Is there a global hashrate drop or is it just the pool?

Ive had only 0.02 ETH since tuesday night, so yes, it would seem theres a drop, one thing Ive failed to understand is that (as mentioned before, each week ive been getting less and less, with 24/7 running) but how if you end up not mining for a while when you go back you almost seem to try make up for it, you seem to find a ton of shares initially and then it levels back up.  TBH with the cost of ETH going down, right now, I am wondering when I draw the line on is it cost effective.
Spidey999
Copper Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 03:59:48 PM
 #1175

@PhoenixMiner

I really like the stability and the speed, here it comes, but,
The stale share rate is really bad.
I have all AMD cards, on another miner I get <1 % stale shares.
PhoenixMiner gets 5% to 10% stale shares.

This really needs to be looked at. The additional hash rate that I get using Phoenix is eaten up
with stale shares. I'm loosing .35% of 5 to 10% of all the shares submitted.

I know this can be solved, I've seen it solved elsewhere.

thanks



Same here, but better hashrate stability with phoenix for me .. Not sure what to do..
janding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 05:19:42 PM
 #1176

Surprised that very few in this thread have discussed playing with the graphics tuning -gt
In all likelihood the default of 15 is not optimal for most cards, you guys are definitely leaving some hash on the table.

I agree.
I wrote up a procedure for manually tuning the cards for the best -gt values a few pages back.
It's time consuming if you heave lots of cards but well worth the exercise.
The default is not giving users the most hashes.

I hope PhoenixMiner decides to implement the auto tuning like Claymore did.
it takes a process that can take hours down to about 1 minute.

@PhoenxiMiner
Please implement the auto tune feature in a release soon.
It's a big deal.



opeth2112
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 06:42:25 PM
 #1177

Surprised that very few in this thread have discussed playing with the graphics tuning -gt
In all likelihood the default of 15 is not optimal for most cards, you guys are definitely leaving some hash on the table.

I agree.
I wrote up a procedure for manually tuning the cards for the best -gt values a few pages back.
It's time consuming if you heave lots of cards but well worth the exercise.
The default is not giving users the most hashes.

I hope PhoenixMiner decides to implement the auto tuning like Claymore did.
it takes a process that can take hours down to about 1 minute.

@PhoenxiMiner
Please implement the auto tune feature in a release soon.
It's a big deal.





Just read your earlier posts - so the -gt is only relevant for AMD cards?

Thanks!
ANewMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 07:51:48 PM
 #1178

My biggest wish is that the inline tuning for AMD could be implemented for nvidia.. so that it can tune itself without having to restart.
janding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 08:06:39 PM
 #1179

Surprised that very few in this thread have discussed playing with the graphics tuning -gt
In all likelihood the default of 15 is not optimal for most cards, you guys are definitely leaving some hash on the table.

I agree.
I wrote up a procedure for manually tuning the cards for the best -gt values a few pages back.
It's time consuming if you heave lots of cards but well worth the exercise.
The default is not giving users the most hashes.

I hope PhoenixMiner decides to implement the auto tuning like Claymore did.
it takes a process that can take hours down to about 1 minute.

@PhoenxiMiner
Please implement the auto tune feature in a release soon.
It's a big deal.





Just read your earlier posts - so the -gt is only relevant for AMD cards?

Thanks!

I only use AMD Cards.
And yes. It is only good for AMD
janding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2018, 01:30:01 AM
 #1180

Phoenix estimates the stale shares ratio, so it's not accurate. As you know, what's accurate is the pool. 1 1/2 day mining at anorak tech, no stale at all.

I don't believe for a second that pool is reporting stale shares.
If the miner see's a stale share and it isn't reported at the pool, then the pool isn't reporting them
and they're lying to you.

The pool will always report more stale shares than the miner.
So yes, the miner can't see all the stale shares, but it it see's one then there was one.
Pages: « 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 [59] 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 ... 457 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!