Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2022, 08:13:33 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 ... 371 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 836755 times)
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 01:56:24 AM
 #2521

whoa, I wouldn't trust a floppy drive!!!
Yeah, the last few batches of name brand floppy disks I bought had the majority defective out of the box.  Many that were good at purchase ended up unreadable a year later.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1642882413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642882413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642882413
Reply with quote  #2

1642882413
Report to moderator
1642882413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642882413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642882413
Reply with quote  #2

1642882413
Report to moderator
1642882413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642882413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642882413
Reply with quote  #2

1642882413
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3276
Merit: 4101



View Profile
March 04, 2013, 12:34:58 PM
 #2522

okay i am like you in that i sell my coins as they come it. mentally the idea of holding on to them is something I was  not able to do.

 you mention  an offline usb stick for storage  how would i do this?  tia phil
Just buy some cheap USB flash drive, stick it in a USB slot, set data directory to that drive via datadir=F:\bitcoin (or whatever) in bitcoin.conf, download blockchain, then take it out...  

or, better yet, just make a wallet.dat on this flash drive with some address, and then send all your bitcoins to one of those addresses when you get some.  then you never even have to put the USB stick (and thus the wallet w/ all the coins) in your computer until needed (though in such a case I'd put it on at least 3 sticks if it had a decent chunk of coins on it)

you can usually find some decent ones on slickdeals for $5 or less.

like:

http://slickdeals.net/f/5874998-Kingston-Technology-DataTraveler-Special-Edition-USB-Flashdrive-16GB-7-99-8GB-4-99-Best-Buy

http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/90442/meritline-usb-2.0-sd-sdhc-mmc-mini-sdmsm2-all-in-one-memory-readerwriter

http://slickdeals.net/f/5882760-TDK-16-GB-USB-2-0-Mobile-USB-Flash-Drive-7-99-or-5-99-with-orders-totaling-10-or-more-Limit-1-per-customer


(all dead now, but i'm sure there'll be another good one within a couple days)

or if you still have a 1.44 floppy drive or something.
  THANKS I will play with it.  I would not mind holding 25  or 50 coins in a safe place.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 03:34:48 PM
Last edit: March 06, 2013, 03:49:28 PM by loshia
 #2523

Doc,

Are there any recent changes to the pool - mining part?

Cgminer 2.11.0 refuses to connect too pool with stratum unless url is explicitly configured as:

stratum+tcp://eu1.bitminter.com:3333

Otherwise it uses GBT

It happened about an hour ago or so
10X
PS: now all is fine strange http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 works again

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 04:38:57 PM
 #2524

Are there any recent changes to the pool - mining part?

Cgminer 2.11.0 refuses to connect too pool with stratum unless url is explicitly configured as:

stratum+tcp://eu1.bitminter.com:3333

Otherwise it uses GBT

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe it will switch from GBT to Stratum and try that, but if it has the slightest problem it will switch back to GBT until next restart of cgminer?

It may be a better idea to use a stratum+tcp URL if Stratum is what you want to use.

Looked like a botnet was bombarding the pool with getwork requests, the load was insanely high. So the server was responding a bit slowly for a while. Maybe that has something to do with the problem you were having.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 06:55:03 PM
Last edit: March 06, 2013, 07:47:42 PM by loshia
 #2525

Thank you Doc!
It makes sense.By the way as far as i think cgminer developers prefer stratum instead of GBT and probably cgminer GBT support is not so well developed as stratum is. What are you suggesting to be better with bitminter GBT or Stratum? GBT is using more ram in general which can hurt embedded platforms. Anyway i am all ears:)

 

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 08:43:06 PM
 #2526

Thank you Doc!
It makes sense.By the way as far as i think cgminer developers prefer stratum instead of GBT and probably cgminer GBT support is not so well developed as stratum is. What are you suggesting to be better with bitminter GBT or Stratum? GBT is using more ram in general which can hurt embedded platforms. Anyway i am all ears:)

That depends on your definition of "better". GBT and Stratum have very different goals.

Stratum's goal is to make mining more efficient. You will see much lower bandwidth usage and somewhat lower ratio of rejected work, compared to GBT or getwork.

GBT's goal is giving back control to the miner with transparency and things like the ability to filter out transactions you don't like or even add your own. It can also better detect an evil pool op trying to abuse your hash power to do a double spend and take the coins with him to some southern island. With palm trees. And drinks with little umbrellas in them. Right now I think no mining clients or pools support the advanced features of GBT, just the basics. Without those features GBT has no advantage over Stratum yet. But you may want to lobby miner authors and pools to implement more advanced GBT if you care about those issues.

getwork with rollntime should be good enough for ASICs and compatible with all existing mining software. It uses more bandwidth than Stratum, though.

At BitMinter I decided to support all three protocols. The choice, my friend, is up to you.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3724
Merit: 1581


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 08:59:03 PM
 #2527

Thank you Doc!
It makes sense.By the way as far as i think cgminer developers prefer stratum instead of GBT and probably cgminer GBT support is not so well developed as stratum is. What are you suggesting to be better with bitminter GBT or Stratum? GBT is using more ram in general which can hurt embedded platforms. Anyway i am all ears:)
...
getwork with rollntime should be good enough for ASICs and compatible with all existing mining software. It uses more bandwidth than Stratum, though.
...
Though you missed the fact that using getwork+roll-n-time with a greater then 1TH/s device increases the risk that normal, valid blocks will be rejected by the network.

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 09:31:34 PM
 #2528

Though you missed the fact that using getwork+roll-n-time with a greater then 1TH/s device increases the risk that normal, valid blocks will be rejected by the network.

With a naive implementation of rollntime this could be a problem, yes. I don't know if it is worth the effort to improve any existing rollntime miners that don't deal with this properly. Energy is probably better spent elsewhere.

The important part is Stratum vs. GBT.

When it comes to getwork its only advantage over Stratum is that it is easier to run through an HTTP proxy, if that's your only internet access. I don't think getwork is going to last, long term. Even if you are behind a web proxy that doesn't allow the CONNECT method (or only allows it to port 443 destinations) so you can't tunnel Stratum, you could use GBT.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3472
Merit: 1368


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 09:45:55 PM
 #2529

The only way to use stratum across a proxy is with a socks proxy, which cgminer supports but I'm not aware of anyone using it yet.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 09:59:24 PM
 #2530

The only way to use stratum across a proxy is with a socks proxy, which cgminer supports but I'm not aware of anyone using it yet.

It may also be possible through a web proxy using the CONNECT method. But the pool may have to accept Stratum connections on port 443. Without really knowing what I'm talking about I bet most web proxies only allow tunneling raw TCP connections to destination port 443, for SSL. But I don't think any miners support this, nor do I know of any pools with Stratum on port 443.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3472
Merit: 1368


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 10:27:02 PM
 #2531

The only way to use stratum across a proxy is with a socks proxy, which cgminer supports but I'm not aware of anyone using it yet.

It may also be possible through a web proxy using the CONNECT method. But the pool may have to accept Stratum connections on port 443. Without really knowing what I'm talking about I bet most web proxies only allow tunneling raw TCP connections to destination port 443, for SSL. But I don't think any miners support this, nor do I know of any pools with Stratum on port 443.

Theoretically it should work with cgminer as well, but you'd have to have a very permissive http proxy to allow this and there's a catch 22 there in that there's a good chance you're behind a proxy because your network is restrictive.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ManOfKnight
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 243
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 04:58:16 PM
 #2532

When my ASIC arrives will this just work?  I have it set to use new connected devices and start them.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2013, 06:30:15 PM
 #2533

When my ASIC arrives will this just work?  I have it set to use new connected devices and start them.

There will be a new version to support BFL ASICs. You'll need to restart the miner to upgrade it after the new version is out.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1064


Bitcoin is antisemitic


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 08:33:54 PM
 #2534

Are we having bad luck from a couple of days or is just time that I repurpose my vgas to mine terracoins?

BTW: the site seems down
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2013, 09:09:25 PM
 #2535

Are we having bad luck from a couple of days or is just time that I repurpose my vgas to mine terracoins?

BTW: the site seems down

Yeah, several days of bad luck. Hope it turns around soon.

The website is up. I'm accessing it through CloudFlare right now. But it seems CloudFlare at the same time tells some users that the site is down. I'm not liking it.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Puppet
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1018


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 09:54:43 PM
 #2536

Sorry if this has been asked and answered before, its a long thread; Doc, whats your policy regarding block size limit and satoshidice transactions?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3276
Merit: 4101



View Profile
March 07, 2013, 11:36:31 PM
 #2537

yeah really bad luck it has become annoying.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mybadomen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 08, 2013, 04:00:35 AM
 #2538


 Just wanted to Thank you DrHaribo for having such a great pool and Great easy to use Mining tool.If it wasn't for Bitminter i would have gave up even trying to mine as the other miners were complicated to me.

  Your site is crystal clear and explains everything from a wallet to running a miner and even gives access to exchanges and great forums.

 I am just a small miner with 2 overclocked 6970's and 2 overclocked 7970's but i really enjoy being a part of bitcoin even if it is only a small part. (Considering a few small ASIC's)

 Real bummer i have a brand new pair of 680's also sitting with new blocks on them and reading i find they are useless for mining.


 Just wanted to write a post thanking you for basically getting me interested in bitcoins and making it all easy to learn as well as running a stable platform and i dont know there is just so much great things to say about your Pool. So much info on everything there is to know.


 Take Care DrHaribo ,The Bitminter Moderators and other fellow miners that make it such a great pool.  (And yes its been an unlucky a couple days but that's part of the game so i couldn't ask for more from a pool)

MybadOmen
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 08, 2013, 04:22:02 AM
 #2539

Agreed...This pool is awesome.  I've never mined anywhere else except as a backup when this pool was down.

We all hate the bad luck when it comes around, but that's obviously no reason to jump ship.  Pay-Per-Share is an option elsewhere, but you really do make less in the long run.
Luuzer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 08, 2013, 04:45:50 AM
 #2540

Are we having bad luck from a couple of days or is just time that I repurpose my vgas to mine terracoins?

BTW: the site seems down

Yeah, several days of bad luck. Hope it turns around soon.

The website is up. I'm accessing it through CloudFlare right now. But it seems CloudFlare at the same time tells some users that the site is down. I'm not liking it.


yeah, last couple of days I've been getting several times website down errors Sad


 Just wanted to Thank you DrHaribo for having such a great pool and Great easy to use Mining tool.If it wasn't for Bitminter i would have gave up even trying to mine as the other miners were complicated to me.

  Your site is crystal clear and explains everything from a wallet to running a miner and even gives access to exchanges and great forums.

 I am just a small miner with 2 overclocked 6970's and 2 overclocked 7970's but i really enjoy being a part of bitcoin even if it is only a small part. (Considering a few small ASIC's)

 Real bummer i have a brand new pair of 680's also sitting with new blocks on them and reading i find they are useless for mining.


 Just wanted to write a post thanking you for basically getting me interested in bitcoins and making it all easy to learn as well as running a stable platform and i dont know there is just so much great things to say about your Pool. So much info on everything there is to know.


 Take Care DrHaribo ,The Bitminter Moderators and other fellow miners that make it such a great pool.  (And yes its been an unlucky a couple days but that's part of the game so i couldn't ask for more from a pool)

MybadOmen

true that. VERY GOOD and GREAT work.


When my ASIC arrives will this just work?  I have it set to use new connected devices and start them.

There will be a new version to support BFL ASICs. You'll need to restart the miner to upgrade it after the new version is out.


I've asked this in PM before, but any chance litecoin support will come? Or another miner for litecoin? Cause when asics hit, then I need to put my GPU-s for another use, and litecoin seems to be the best bet. Would love a simple miner like this for litecoin Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 ... 371 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!