Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 12:53:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 [133] 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 ... 376 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 776115 times)
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2013, 01:47:58 PM
 #2641

43 blocks since the "fork" not bad.  the asic + the fork changed the luck. 

It also heated up namecoins   they quadrupled in price since the fork.  NMC were .00088 now they are .00377

 So the fork has really helped this pool.
I'd like to see the evidence that leads you to believe these things are somehow related. This is just about as hilarious as claiming my choise of breakfast affects the days weather.

I think it was meant to be humourous.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
1481374396
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374396

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374396
Reply with quote  #2

1481374396
Report to moderator
1481374396
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374396

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374396
Reply with quote  #2

1481374396
Report to moderator
1481374396
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374396

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374396
Reply with quote  #2

1481374396
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349



View Profile
March 16, 2013, 06:43:52 PM
 #2642

43 blocks since the "fork" not bad.  the asic + the fork changed the luck.  

It also heated up namecoins   they quadrupled in price since the fork.  NMC were .00088 now they are .00377

 So the fork has really helped this pool.
I'd like to see the evidence that leads you to believe these things are somehow related. This is just about as hilarious as claiming my choise of breakfast affects the days weather.

I think it was meant to be humourous.
I was also surprised that somebody took it seriously.
mybadomen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 06:14:27 AM
 #2643


 Hey guys i think i know whats happening but not totally sure so i wanted to ask . Today i had to shut down one of my Rigs.The slower one with 2 6970's so i could redo the water cooling loop. (New Tubing etc) Anyway before i shut that one PC down i was getting .13% share. Now with everything back up and running and a couple blocks passed for some reason it says i am at .6% share.

 I am only guessing but it says something about 10 shifts. Does this mean i get a penalty every time i reboot or shut a PC down for 10 shifts or blocks?

 I am just a little curious what that actually means? It does show both workers on the site at the right speed.

 I usually maintain or shut at least 1 build down a day thats why i am asking. Is this killing me?


Thanks Guys

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 06:37:10 AM
 #2644

Hey guys i think i know whats happening but not totally sure so i wanted to ask . Today i had to shut down one of my Rigs.The slower one with 2 6970's so i could redo the water cooling loop. (New Tubing etc) Anyway before i shut that one PC down i was getting .13% share. Now with everything back up and running and a couple blocks passed for some reason it says i am at .6% share.

 I am only guessing but it says something about 10 shifts. Does this mean i get a penalty every time i reboot or shut a PC down for 10 shifts or blocks?

 I am just a little curious what that actually means? It does show both workers on the site at the right speed.

 I usually maintain or shut at least 1 build down a day thats why i am asking. Is this killing me?

If you work less then you get paid less. That's not a penalty. When we create a block you get paid for the amount of work you have in the last 10 completed shifts. That will start to drop as shifts are completed without you, after you have shut down. After you start up again it will rise as new shifts are completed with your work in them.

Simple way to see it: every proof of work you deliver is recorded in a shift. After that shift is completed this proof of work will be paid for any block found until 10 more shifts are completed, pushing the proof of work out of the 10 latest ones.

If your computers work 23 hours out of every 24 hours, then they get paid 95.8% of their potential because they have 4.2% downtime.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
mybadomen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 02:36:58 PM
 #2645

Hey guys i think i know whats happening but not totally sure so i wanted to ask . Today i had to shut down one of my Rigs.The slower one with 2 6970's so i could redo the water cooling loop. (New Tubing etc) Anyway before i shut that one PC down i was getting .13% share. Now with everything back up and running and a couple blocks passed for some reason it says i am at .6% share.

 I am only guessing but it says something about 10 shifts. Does this mean i get a penalty every time i reboot or shut a PC down for 10 shifts or blocks?

 I am just a little curious what that actually means? It does show both workers on the site at the right speed.

 I usually maintain or shut at least 1 build down a day thats why i am asking. Is this killing me?

If you work less then you get paid less. That's not a penalty. When we create a block you get paid for the amount of work you have in the last 10 completed shifts. That will start to drop as shifts are completed without you, after you have shut down. After you start up again it will rise as new shifts are completed with your work in them.

Simple way to see it: every proof of work you deliver is recorded in a shift. After that shift is completed this proof of work will be paid for any block found until 10 more shifts are completed, pushing the proof of work out of the 10 latest ones.

If your computers work 23 hours out of every 24 hours, then they get paid 95.8% of their potential because they have 4.2% downtime.



 Ah i understand now. I was thinking it might be the Pool hopping security thing. i did read something about 10 shifts so i knew i was on the right track just didn't completely understand it.

 So really its not that big of a deal if i have to shut one of them down for a few hours. Its already at .11% so i understand now.

 Thanks for explaining as id always rather ask and know for sure then just guess.

Take Care
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 03:09:06 PM
 #2646

Ah i understand now. I was thinking it might be the Pool hopping security thing. i did read something about 10 shifts so i knew i was on the right track just didn't completely understand it.

We don't have a weird anti pool hopping feature that punishes you randomly like some pools. Every proof of work is treated the same. It doesn't matter if your hash rate bounces up and down or if you stop mining for a while. All work is treated fairly and equally.

The PPLNS reward system was analyzed and recommended by Meni Rosenfeld. You can read more about it in his paper here: https://bitcoil.co.il/pool_analysis.pdf

I came up with the shifts as a way to reduce server load and make it easier for users to see what's going on and verify that everything is correct.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 01:15:25 AM
 #2647

43 blocks since the "fork" not bad.  the asic + the fork changed the luck. 

It also heated up namecoins   they quadrupled in price since the fork.  NMC were .00088 now they are .00377

 So the fork has really helped this pool.
I'd like to see the evidence that leads you to believe these things are somehow related. This is just about as hilarious as claiming my choise of breakfast affects the days weather.

I think it was meant to be humourous.



 jokes can be tough to get on  the net short typing etc. second, third, fourth languages in some cases.  But It was a joke.

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2013, 03:12:33 AM
 #2648

If I get my Avalon miner, what CGminer parameters will I need to use when to start mining in this pool?


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2013, 06:34:43 AM
 #2649

If I get my Avalon miner, what CGminer parameters will I need to use when to start mining in this pool?

Connect it to stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 (Stratum) or http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 (GBT or getwork). As user name put your BitMinter user name, an underscore, then a worker name, e.g. DrHaribo_FastWorker. In case you have firewall issues, port 5050 (Stratum) and 80 (GBT/getwork) are also available.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 01:40:06 PM
 #2650

If possible, why not just remove the password requirement from workers? I see many new users have problems authenticating their workers, and the password for workers is really useless anyway. You could even reuse the password that clients still have to submit for compatibility's sake. For example, Bitparking allows users to set a custom difficulty by using a pass like this: d=32. Users (including me Smiley) have requested a setting for minimum difficulty, this would be one way to implement it, and also help new users at the same time. Just authenticate the miner and use default difficulty settings if the password field doesn't contain a difficulty request.

EDIT: Also, don't use the password for custom difficulty if a user hasn't reset his password after being made aware of the feature!
mybadomen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 09:28:31 PM
 #2651

 
 Well just dumped another $427.00 on another 7970.Since i don't see a way to buy an ASIC yet. So that's 3 7970's and 2 6970's so far. Hope i didnt make a mistake as i plan on buying 1 more 7970 also if this one pays for itself.

 Well wish me luck and love the pool its been very good to us lately.

Puppet
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 09:34:26 PM
 #2652

If possible, why not just remove the password requirement from workers? I see many new users have problems authenticating their workers, and the password for workers is really useless anyway. You could even reuse the password that clients still have to submit for compatibility's sake. For example, Bitparking allows users to set a custom difficulty by using a pass like this: d=32. Users (including me Smiley) have requested a setting for minimum difficulty, this would be one way to implement it, and also help new users at the same time. Just authenticate the miner and use default difficulty settings if the password field doesn't contain a difficulty request.

+1

  Well just dumped another $427.00 on another 7970.Since i don't see a way to buy an ASIC yet. So that's 3 7970's and 2 6970's so far. Hope i didnt make a mistake as i plan on buying 1 more 7970 also if this one pays for itself.

 Well wish me luck and love the pool its been very good to us lately.

Oh dear. Good luck, you will need it. Buying GPUs now is suicidal IMO.
http://bitcoin.sipa.be/speed-lin.png
And it hasnt even really begun yet, BFL is yet to begin shipping.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2013, 03:07:25 AM
 #2653

If I get my Avalon miner, what CGminer parameters will I need to use when to start mining in this pool?

Connect it to stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 (Stratum) or http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 (GBT or getwork). As user name put your BitMinter user name, an underscore, then a worker name, e.g. DrHaribo_FastWorker. In case you have firewall issues, port 5050 (Stratum) and 80 (GBT/getwork) are also available.


Thanks very much. Just over the last few hours I've gotten very familiar with CGminer and some of it's command line switches. Thanks.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2013, 03:10:26 AM
 #2654


 Well just dumped another $427.00 on another 7970.Since i don't see a way to buy an ASIC yet. So that's 3 7970's and 2 6970's so far. Hope i didnt make a mistake as i plan on buying 1 more 7970 also if this one pays for itself.

 Well wish me luck and love the pool its been very good to us lately.



What is the speed of a 7970? MH/S? 600-650, I found it.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 08:07:16 AM
 #2655

Just a suggestion for all Avalon users
Guy's,
wr703N (at least mine) has not enough memory to work work with GBT. Make sure that you are mining with stratum. Be prepared for hard restart power off/on of your unit at least once a day Wink . There is something wrong with FW or controller or god knows what and occasionally HW error rate increases and no new shares are accepted. I have not played with soft way to recover, but powering off/on always works. I am sure Avalon team will fix it in the near feature.


Best

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
March 20, 2013, 11:16:33 AM
 #2656


 Well just dumped another $427.00 on another 7970.Since i don't see a way to buy an ASIC yet. So that's 3 7970's and 2 6970's so far. Hope i didnt make a mistake as i plan on buying 1 more 7970 also if this one pays for itself.

 Well wish me luck and love the pool its been very good to us lately.



yeah, this bizarre behavior going on

i was going to buy a card for gaming, but i guess i'll have to wait another month or so.

if you think bitcoin price is going to go up, then you should buy bitcoins, not gpus

i wouldnt touch either, but then, i suppose i said the same thing at $35

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 03:24:25 PM
 #2657

I'm using my Google account to log in, and my browser keeps that account logged in until I clear the cookies. However, BitMinter requires me to log in for each browser session, which just quickly takes me through the Google page (which sees that I'm already logged in) after the first session. I'd prefer to stay logged in on BitMinter as long as I'm logged in to my Google account, but is that possible?
mybadomen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
March 21, 2013, 12:03:55 AM
 #2658


 Had a Question Please,


  I have 2 workers going right now and they don't show even close to what the Bitminter website does.

This is what i mean:

Worker 1:

2 x 6970's 950mhz Core
Client says: 840mhps
Bitminter site says: 943.072 mhps

Worker 2: (My best one)

2 x 7970's 1120mhz core
Client says:1302mhps
Bitminter site says:715.768mhps

 As you can see there is no way possible Worker 1 is close to as powerful as worker 2 so thats wrong. i can see them being a little low mabye do to network or something but they bot seem way off from my clients.

 Also my internet speed is roughly 70mbs I have very fast internet so cant be a problem there.

 Is something wrong here? Like i said i can see them being a little off but worker 2 is close to twice the speed as worker 1 yet shows slower on the website.

 Appreciate the help as i just ordered that new GPU and want everything right by the time it gets her.

Thanks guys


 EDIT: Never mind guys Worker 2 just jumped up to 1,548.895 which seems about right, maybe it just bounces around or something. but on my client its steady.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 03:29:56 AM
 #2659

...
 EDIT: Never mind guys Worker 2 just jumped up to 1,548.895 which seems about right, maybe it just bounces around or something. but on my client its steady.
Bitcion mining speed converges over time.
The pools calculation is random (share finding is random)
Expecting those 2 numbers to be the same means you misunderstood the 2 numbers.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
mybadomen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
March 21, 2013, 03:24:10 PM
 #2660

 Where did Bitminter go? Just realized all workers offline and no Bitminter page?
Pages: « 1 ... 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 [133] 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 ... 376 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!