Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 02:15:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 [129] 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 ... 376 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 833080 times)
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
March 03, 2013, 10:25:12 AM
 #2561

CloudFlare is dead in the water. Unfortunately we use them for DNS, so you can't look up any bitminter.com hostnames right now.

Some miners are still at the pool mining. You can use 176.9.104.178 instead of mint.bitminter.com and keep mining. But remember to change it back once things are in order again, otherwise things won't work the next time the mining server moves.

I hope CloudFlare will get their systems up shortly.

Apologies for the inconvenience.

10X Doc

Fast and accurate as always!

Best

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
1513520105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513520105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513520105
Reply with quote  #2

1513520105
Report to moderator
1513520105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513520105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513520105
Reply with quote  #2

1513520105
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513520105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513520105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513520105
Reply with quote  #2

1513520105
Report to moderator
1513520105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513520105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513520105
Reply with quote  #2

1513520105
Report to moderator
1513520105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513520105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513520105
Reply with quote  #2

1513520105
Report to moderator
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2013, 10:28:30 AM
 #2562

CloudFlare is dead in the water. Unfortunately we use them for DNS, so you can't look up any bitminter.com hostnames right now.

Some miners are still at the pool mining. You can use 176.9.104.178 instead of mint.bitminter.com and keep mining. But remember to change it back once things are in order again, otherwise things won't work the next time the mining server moves.

I hope CloudFlare will get their systems up shortly.

Apologies for the inconvenience.


Just changed the address. Seems to work.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2013, 11:02:41 AM
 #2563

Phew. We (and half the internet) are back. I hope this is a rare occurrence with CloudFlare.

Edit: That's a lot of websites that went offline:
http://techcrunch.com/2013/03/03/cloudflare-is-down-due-to-dns-outage-taking-down-785000-websites-including-4chan-wikileaks-metallica-com/

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
March 03, 2013, 01:11:59 PM
 #2564

Phew. We (and half the internet) are back. I hope this is a rare occurrence with CloudFlare.

Edit: That's a lot of websites that went offline:
http://techcrunch.com/2013/03/03/cloudflare-is-down-due-to-dns-outage-taking-down-785000-websites-including-4chan-wikileaks-metallica-com/



 I slept through it all! I was lucky my hash dropped from 6Gh to 4Gh now back to 6Gh. I did not have to do a thing!

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2013, 03:37:13 PM
 #2565

If anyone wants to know exactly what happened, here's the post mortem report from CloudFlare about the outage:

http://blog.cloudflare.com/todays-outage-post-mortem-82515

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2013, 04:00:40 PM
 #2566

Sorry for the spam today. Just wanted to let you know a small website update just went out.

The luck and rewards pages are now much more responsive.

I also added Bitcoin Stats for iOS (iphone, ipad) to the third party apps list. Thanks for supporting BitMinter! It's becoming a nice list of available apps now. Smiley

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


I have some bitcoins. Somewhere.


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2013, 04:18:04 PM
 #2567

okay i am like you in that i sell my coins as they come it. mentally the idea of holding on to them is something I was  not able to do.

 you mention  an offline usb stick for storage  how would i do this?  tia phil
Just buy some cheap USB flash drive, stick it in a USB slot, set data directory to that drive via datadir=F:\bitcoin (or whatever) in bitcoin.conf, download blockchain, then take it out...  

or, better yet, just make a wallet.dat on this flash drive with some address, and then send all your bitcoins to one of those addresses when you get some.  then you never even have to put the USB stick (and thus the wallet w/ all the coins) in your computer until needed (though in such a case I'd put it on at least 3 sticks if it had a decent chunk of coins on it)

you can usually find some decent ones on slickdeals for $5 or less.

like:

http://slickdeals.net/f/5874998-Kingston-Technology-DataTraveler-Special-Edition-USB-Flashdrive-16GB-7-99-8GB-4-99-Best-Buy

http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/90442/meritline-usb-2.0-sd-sdhc-mmc-mini-sdmsm2-all-in-one-memory-readerwriter

http://slickdeals.net/f/5882760-TDK-16-GB-USB-2-0-Mobile-USB-Flash-Drive-7-99-or-5-99-with-orders-totaling-10-or-more-Limit-1-per-customer


(all dead now, but i'm sure there'll be another good one within a couple days)

or if you still have a 1.44 floppy drive or something.

Dacentec Dedicated Servers (Lenoir, NC, USA) from $25/mo & Time4VPS Storage VPS' (Vilnius, Lithuania) from €18/qtr & Hetzner's serverbidding, from ~€20/mo -- had bitcoin nodes & p2pool (dacentec, hetzner) for several years on these.  Only two are affiliate links too, kek! -------  Feel free to join my G2A Goldmine Pyramid Scheme Team, or possibly even buy a Steam game from there.  Maybe.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile
March 03, 2013, 10:43:14 PM
 #2568

okay i am like you in that i sell my coins as they come it. mentally the idea of holding on to them is something I was  not able to do.

 you mention  an offline usb stick for storage  how would i do this?  tia phil
Just buy some cheap USB flash drive, stick it in a USB slot, set data directory to that drive via datadir=F:\bitcoin (or whatever) in bitcoin.conf, download blockchain, then take it out...  

or, better yet, just make a wallet.dat on this flash drive with some address, and then send all your bitcoins to one of those addresses when you get some.  then you never even have to put the USB stick (and thus the wallet w/ all the coins) in your computer until needed (though in such a case I'd put it on at least 3 sticks if it had a decent chunk of coins on it)

you can usually find some decent ones on slickdeals for $5 or less.

like:

http://slickdeals.net/f/5874998-Kingston-Technology-DataTraveler-Special-Edition-USB-Flashdrive-16GB-7-99-8GB-4-99-Best-Buy

http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/90442/meritline-usb-2.0-sd-sdhc-mmc-mini-sdmsm2-all-in-one-memory-readerwriter

http://slickdeals.net/f/5882760-TDK-16-GB-USB-2-0-Mobile-USB-Flash-Drive-7-99-or-5-99-with-orders-totaling-10-or-more-Limit-1-per-customer


(all dead now, but i'm sure there'll be another good one within a couple days)

or if you still have a 1.44 floppy drive or something.

whoa, I wouldn't trust a floppy drive!!!

USB keys, multiple copies.  If really paranoid, encrypt your wallet and encrypt the key with truecrypt first.

M

Check out Helium!  Referral for Cryptopia.
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 354


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 01:56:24 AM
 #2569

whoa, I wouldn't trust a floppy drive!!!
Yeah, the last few batches of name brand floppy disks I bought had the majority defective out of the box.  Many that were good at purchase ended up unreadable a year later.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 12:34:58 PM
 #2570

okay i am like you in that i sell my coins as they come it. mentally the idea of holding on to them is something I was  not able to do.

 you mention  an offline usb stick for storage  how would i do this?  tia phil
Just buy some cheap USB flash drive, stick it in a USB slot, set data directory to that drive via datadir=F:\bitcoin (or whatever) in bitcoin.conf, download blockchain, then take it out...  

or, better yet, just make a wallet.dat on this flash drive with some address, and then send all your bitcoins to one of those addresses when you get some.  then you never even have to put the USB stick (and thus the wallet w/ all the coins) in your computer until needed (though in such a case I'd put it on at least 3 sticks if it had a decent chunk of coins on it)

you can usually find some decent ones on slickdeals for $5 or less.

like:

http://slickdeals.net/f/5874998-Kingston-Technology-DataTraveler-Special-Edition-USB-Flashdrive-16GB-7-99-8GB-4-99-Best-Buy

http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/90442/meritline-usb-2.0-sd-sdhc-mmc-mini-sdmsm2-all-in-one-memory-readerwriter

http://slickdeals.net/f/5882760-TDK-16-GB-USB-2-0-Mobile-USB-Flash-Drive-7-99-or-5-99-with-orders-totaling-10-or-more-Limit-1-per-customer


(all dead now, but i'm sure there'll be another good one within a couple days)

or if you still have a 1.44 floppy drive or something.
  THANKS I will play with it.  I would not mind holding 25  or 50 coins in a safe place.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 03:34:48 PM
 #2571

Doc,

Are there any recent changes to the pool - mining part?

Cgminer 2.11.0 refuses to connect too pool with stratum unless url is explicitly configured as:

stratum+tcp://eu1.bitminter.com:3333

Otherwise it uses GBT

It happened about an hour ago or so
10X
PS: now all is fine strange http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 works again

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 04:38:57 PM
 #2572

Are there any recent changes to the pool - mining part?

Cgminer 2.11.0 refuses to connect too pool with stratum unless url is explicitly configured as:

stratum+tcp://eu1.bitminter.com:3333

Otherwise it uses GBT

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe it will switch from GBT to Stratum and try that, but if it has the slightest problem it will switch back to GBT until next restart of cgminer?

It may be a better idea to use a stratum+tcp URL if Stratum is what you want to use.

Looked like a botnet was bombarding the pool with getwork requests, the load was insanely high. So the server was responding a bit slowly for a while. Maybe that has something to do with the problem you were having.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 06:55:03 PM
 #2573

Thank you Doc!
It makes sense.By the way as far as i think cgminer developers prefer stratum instead of GBT and probably cgminer GBT support is not so well developed as stratum is. What are you suggesting to be better with bitminter GBT or Stratum? GBT is using more ram in general which can hurt embedded platforms. Anyway i am all ears:)

 

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 08:43:06 PM
 #2574

Thank you Doc!
It makes sense.By the way as far as i think cgminer developers prefer stratum instead of GBT and probably cgminer GBT support is not so well developed as stratum is. What are you suggesting to be better with bitminter GBT or Stratum? GBT is using more ram in general which can hurt embedded platforms. Anyway i am all ears:)

That depends on your definition of "better". GBT and Stratum have very different goals.

Stratum's goal is to make mining more efficient. You will see much lower bandwidth usage and somewhat lower ratio of rejected work, compared to GBT or getwork.

GBT's goal is giving back control to the miner with transparency and things like the ability to filter out transactions you don't like or even add your own. It can also better detect an evil pool op trying to abuse your hash power to do a double spend and take the coins with him to some southern island. With palm trees. And drinks with little umbrellas in them. Right now I think no mining clients or pools support the advanced features of GBT, just the basics. Without those features GBT has no advantage over Stratum yet. But you may want to lobby miner authors and pools to implement more advanced GBT if you care about those issues.

getwork with rollntime should be good enough for ASICs and compatible with all existing mining software. It uses more bandwidth than Stratum, though.

At BitMinter I decided to support all three protocols. The choice, my friend, is up to you.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 08:59:03 PM
 #2575

Thank you Doc!
It makes sense.By the way as far as i think cgminer developers prefer stratum instead of GBT and probably cgminer GBT support is not so well developed as stratum is. What are you suggesting to be better with bitminter GBT or Stratum? GBT is using more ram in general which can hurt embedded platforms. Anyway i am all ears:)
...
getwork with rollntime should be good enough for ASICs and compatible with all existing mining software. It uses more bandwidth than Stratum, though.
...
Though you missed the fact that using getwork+roll-n-time with a greater then 1TH/s device increases the risk that normal, valid blocks will be rejected by the network.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 09:31:34 PM
 #2576

Though you missed the fact that using getwork+roll-n-time with a greater then 1TH/s device increases the risk that normal, valid blocks will be rejected by the network.

With a naive implementation of rollntime this could be a problem, yes. I don't know if it is worth the effort to improve any existing rollntime miners that don't deal with this properly. Energy is probably better spent elsewhere.

The important part is Stratum vs. GBT.

When it comes to getwork its only advantage over Stratum is that it is easier to run through an HTTP proxy, if that's your only internet access. I don't think getwork is going to last, long term. Even if you are behind a web proxy that doesn't allow the CONNECT method (or only allows it to port 443 destinations) so you can't tunnel Stratum, you could use GBT.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 09:45:55 PM
 #2577

The only way to use stratum across a proxy is with a socks proxy, which cgminer supports but I'm not aware of anyone using it yet.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 09:59:24 PM
 #2578

The only way to use stratum across a proxy is with a socks proxy, which cgminer supports but I'm not aware of anyone using it yet.

It may also be possible through a web proxy using the CONNECT method. But the pool may have to accept Stratum connections on port 443. Without really knowing what I'm talking about I bet most web proxies only allow tunneling raw TCP connections to destination port 443, for SSL. But I don't think any miners support this, nor do I know of any pools with Stratum on port 443.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 10:27:02 PM
 #2579

The only way to use stratum across a proxy is with a socks proxy, which cgminer supports but I'm not aware of anyone using it yet.

It may also be possible through a web proxy using the CONNECT method. But the pool may have to accept Stratum connections on port 443. Without really knowing what I'm talking about I bet most web proxies only allow tunneling raw TCP connections to destination port 443, for SSL. But I don't think any miners support this, nor do I know of any pools with Stratum on port 443.

Theoretically it should work with cgminer as well, but you'd have to have a very permissive http proxy to allow this and there's a catch 22 there in that there's a good chance you're behind a proxy because your network is restrictive.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ManOfKnight
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 04:58:16 PM
 #2580

When my ASIC arrives will this just work?  I have it set to use new connected devices and start them.
Pages: « 1 ... 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 [129] 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 ... 376 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!