Bitcoin Forum
March 03, 2021, 12:26:10 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 [137] 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 ... 372 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 836619 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2013, 02:43:39 AM
 #2721

We had some minutes of downtime just now. Something not quite stable on this server. It's up again.

Will work on improving this situation tomorrow.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1614731170
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614731170

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614731170
Reply with quote  #2

1614731170
Report to moderator
1614731170
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614731170

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614731170
Reply with quote  #2

1614731170
Report to moderator
1614731170
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614731170

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614731170
Reply with quote  #2

1614731170
Report to moderator
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 10:38:01 AM
 #2722

You know, it'd be really nice if I could manually bump up the difficulty for my workers.  Yes they are only GPUs, but they are quite capable of handling diff 2 or 3, which would reduce my (and your) network through put.

M

Or instead of being able to control it, lower the threshhold so someone with 3+ 7970s (~1.8gh) gets difficulty 2.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
farfie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 05:12:26 PM
 #2723

Sorry for downtime. We are back up.

bitcoind 0.8.1 seems to have a memory leak, it sometimes expands to several gigabytes of memory usage.

I'll see what I can do to prevent this in the future.

And yeah, backup pool support is at the top of the list, right after ASIC support for the miner.


This isn't really related to the pool, but since you mentioned bugs, my friend and I have noticed another bug about 0.8.1 (or perhaps an extension of the one you already mentioned) that it also causes massive lag when running. It introduces jitter and cuts my speeds down by about 50% give or take it seems, and we verified it many times by letting it run, and turning it off to instantly watch our internet become 100% better instantly.

We were wondering if anyone else has noticed this, or could try it and see? It actually took awhile for us to notice what was causing it, but we were pretty sure something was up (before we knew it was the bitcoin client). The problem was that it's not really a stable lag, and looking back I have no idea how often it would be. Definitely enough to make us angry very often.

We both run Windows 7. Thanks for any input.

Farfie
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 06:05:36 PM
 #2724

Sorry for downtime. We are back up.

bitcoind 0.8.1 seems to have a memory leak, it sometimes expands to several gigabytes of memory usage.

I'll see what I can do to prevent this in the future.

And yeah, backup pool support is at the top of the list, right after ASIC support for the miner.


This isn't really related to the pool, but since you mentioned bugs, my friend and I have noticed another bug about 0.8.1 (or perhaps an extension of the one you already mentioned) that it also causes massive lag when running. It introduces jitter and cuts my speeds down by about 50% give or take it seems, and we verified it many times by letting it run, and turning it off to instantly watch our internet become 100% better instantly.

We were wondering if anyone else has noticed this, or could try it and see? It actually took awhile for us to notice what was causing it, but we were pretty sure something was up (before we knew it was the bitcoin client). The problem was that it's not really a stable lag, and looking back I have no idea how often it would be. Definitely enough to make us angry very often.

We both run Windows 7. Thanks for any input.

Farfie

I don't know if this is related to what you're talking about, but figured I'd chime in.  For a few weeks now, my Internet connection has had horrible latency (up to 500ms) on and off when mining with two mini-rigs.  This does not occur if I stop mining.  I restart my network equipment and it's fixed for a while, but the issue comes back in short order.
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 06:24:07 PM
 #2725



I don't know if this is related to what you're talking about, but figured I'd chime in.  For a few weeks now, my Internet connection has had horrible latency (up to 500ms) on and off when mining with two mini-rigs.  This does not occur if I stop mining.  I restart my network equipment and it's fixed for a while, but the issue comes back in short order.

Thats weird.  Can you send the rigs to me and I'll see if it happens here?  Its probably the best way to isolate the problem Tongue
farfie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 07:38:46 PM
 #2726

Sorry for downtime. We are back up.

bitcoind 0.8.1 seems to have a memory leak, it sometimes expands to several gigabytes of memory usage.

I'll see what I can do to prevent this in the future.

And yeah, backup pool support is at the top of the list, right after ASIC support for the miner.


This isn't really related to the pool, but since you mentioned bugs, my friend and I have noticed another bug about 0.8.1 (or perhaps an extension of the one you already mentioned) that it also causes massive lag when running. It introduces jitter and cuts my speeds down by about 50% give or take it seems, and we verified it many times by letting it run, and turning it off to instantly watch our internet become 100% better instantly.

We were wondering if anyone else has noticed this, or could try it and see? It actually took awhile for us to notice what was causing it, but we were pretty sure something was up (before we knew it was the bitcoin client). The problem was that it's not really a stable lag, and looking back I have no idea how often it would be. Definitely enough to make us angry very often.

We both run Windows 7. Thanks for any input.

Farfie

I don't know if this is related to what you're talking about, but figured I'd chime in.  For a few weeks now, my Internet connection has had horrible latency (up to 500ms) on and off when mining with two mini-rigs.  This does not occur if I stop mining.  I restart my network equipment and it's fixed for a while, but the issue comes back in short order.

Right, this seems pretty dead on. Try turning off your bitcoind (if you're on 0.8.1 anyway, which by your post I'm assuming that's your problem) when the lag seems pretty bad to see if it goes away like we did. We also realized that this started happening about the same time we upgraded to 0.8.1. Only thing is that your lag stops when you stop mining? I also have two mini-rigs, but my lag goes away if I simply turn off bitcoind. My buddy also only has a few singles, and had lag just as bad as mine, which was fixed by also turning his bitcoind off. Try it out.
lumberjack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 11:07:41 PM
 #2727

What I've noticed about 0.8.1 (and 0.8) when analyzing traffic with jnettop (was the quickest thing I had handy) is that a peer can ask for blocks and bitcoind will happily send them as fast as it possibly can. If that peer asks for a large range (500 at a time) bitcoind will happily saturate your entire uplink to deliver those block requests.

I've seen single peers pulling 250KB/sec through my DSL uplink, absolutely destroying anything else I'm trying to do. Restarting bitcoind disconnects that peer and they move onto another peer, which is why it seems stable again for a while after restarting. Eventually you get another greedy peer and the cycle repeats.

There is no built in throttling. You'll have to manually figure out a way to do QoS/throttling so it doesn't kill your link.

Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 922
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 11:20:32 PM
 #2728

What I've noticed about 0.8.1 (and 0.Cool when analyzing traffic with jnettop (was the quickest thing I had handy) is that a peer can ask for blocks and bitcoind will happily send them as fast as it possibly can. If that peer asks for a large range (500 at a time) bitcoind will happily saturate your entire uplink to deliver those block requests.

I've seen single peers pulling 250KB/sec through my DSL uplink, absolutely destroying anything else I'm trying to do. Restarting bitcoind disconnects that peer and they move onto another peer, which is why it seems stable again for a while after restarting. Eventually you get another greedy peer and the cycle repeats.

There is no built in throttling. You'll have to manually figure out a way to do QoS/throttling so it doesn't kill your link.
This behavior was in 0.7.x as well. See my post here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=141802.0.

My observations are consistent with yours, which is why I tend NOT to run the client  unless I need to move coins. Too often it ends up connecting to a peer that saturates my upload bandwidth and brings internet access to a standstill.

If you have a decent router, it should be possible to configure its QOS to limit bitcoind bandwidth. I have no need to run the client full-time, so I haven't bothered to take this step.
archangel95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:24:33 AM
 #2729

What I've noticed about 0.8.1 (and 0.Cool when analyzing traffic with jnettop (was the quickest thing I had handy) is that a peer can ask for blocks and bitcoind will happily send them as fast as it possibly can. If that peer asks for a large range (500 at a time) bitcoind will happily saturate your entire uplink to deliver those block requests.

I've seen single peers pulling 250KB/sec through my DSL uplink, absolutely destroying anything else I'm trying to do. Restarting bitcoind disconnects that peer and they move onto another peer, which is why it seems stable again for a while after restarting. Eventually you get another greedy peer and the cycle repeats.

There is no built in throttling. You'll have to manually figure out a way to do QoS/throttling so it doesn't kill your link.



Nice Catch.  I figured out what my problems were last night thanks to you.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:05:22 PM
 #2730

I got the stratum proxy up and running, and have all my miners running through it.  That got me up to 2 difficulty, sometimes switching to 4. 

Then I realized the proxy just acts as passthru, since I have to have all the miners use the same credentials.  That means I could probably take the proxy out of the middle and just have all my miners use the same credentials.  Any downside to that, aside from not seeing individual miner stats?

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 02:19:31 PM
 #2731

Then I realized the proxy just acts as passthru, since I have to have all the miners use the same credentials.  That means I could probably take the proxy out of the middle and just have all my miners use the same credentials.  Any downside to that, aside from not seeing individual miner stats?

The proxy is a little more efficient as it runs only 1 Stratum connection to the server instead of multiple ones. At least I think so, I haven't tested it myself yet.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2013, 08:45:05 PM
 #2732

New Android app that got BitMinter support: Miner Status

It's been added to the "tools" -> "third party apps" menu on the website.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2013, 09:21:50 PM
Last edit: April 15, 2013, 05:10:56 PM by DrHaribo
 #2733

Lately some users tried to use RPCminer. This is an old miner that doesn't work with modern pools and is no longer maintained so we can't expect bugs to be fixed. Some details about the problem here: https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy/issues/9

If you must use this old miner then connect through Slush's stratum mining proxy: https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy/

It will "trick" RPCminer into working.

Edit: from what I understand you need to use the --old-target option with the stratum mining proxy to make this work.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Humanxlemming
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 15, 2013, 02:29:11 AM
 #2734

I already give 2% would that mean my fee is now 3%?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2954
Merit: 3087



View Profile
April 15, 2013, 03:32:32 AM
 #2735

I already give 2% would that mean my fee is now 3%?
  no

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2013, 05:45:37 AM
 #2736

I already give 2% would that mean my fee is now 3%?

There's a few days left until 2013-04-20, so nothing has changed yet. If you have prepay on and 2% donation then your donation will be reduced to 1.5%. Fee + donation will then be 2.5%.

You can of course change the donation any time you want, the automatic reduction is because the prepay perk is being made cheaper. There are other pools paying orphans at 3% and I would like BitMinter to still be cheaper. Wink

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Humanxlemming
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 15, 2013, 06:00:19 AM
 #2737

I wanted to help out one of my favorite pools so I made mine 5% my tiny 1.2Gh/s should still do a little good to help keep this pool up and running.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2013, 06:15:01 AM
 #2738

I wanted to help out one of my favorite pools so I made mine 5% my tiny 1.2Gh/s should still do a little good to help keep this pool up and running.

Thanks, that is much appreciated!

We have a few users donating a lot and many users donating zero. That's why we're moving to a 1% fee. That will be more fair and you won't have to carry the users who don't donate.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 06:43:41 AM
Last edit: April 15, 2013, 07:33:37 AM by loshia
 #2739

I wanted to help out one of my favorite pools so I made mine 5% my tiny 1.2Gh/s should still do a little good to help keep this pool up and running.

Thanks, that is much appreciated!

We have a few users donating a lot and many users donating zero. That's why we're moving to a 1% fee. That will be more fair and you won't have to carry the users who don't donate.


Doc,

I do not want  mess up with your decision about donations and fees. My feeling is the everyone shall donate. As you know there is no free lunch. And you work too much to make us happy.  A starting minimum donation of 0.5% for everyone shall be fare. Who does not like it is free to go. You deserve more than that but it will be small portion at least. And it will be paid of from NMC income. Guys with 0.5% donation will still earn about 1.5% on top from NMC income


Best

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
clicksmoney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 03:02:34 PM
 #2740

I was on 2.5% BTC /50% NMC donation but have reduced that to get ready for the new fee structure. I hope all members take the time to go in to the member section and change their rates if they have not been there at all. If the fee have to be charged it certainlt indicates I haven't done enough and many other need to help to keep Bitminter at the top of pool choices.

Pages: « 1 ... 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 [137] 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 ... 372 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!