Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 11:09:32 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 [845] 846 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5754680 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 12, 2018, 09:26:15 PM
 #16881

Hi;

New at this, but I got as far as securing 2 S9's and plugging them in.  They are hashing for a pool, while I try to figure out how to solo mine with them.

I want to be able to play with a candidate block.  It's academic in a sense - I want to see the mechanics in play, from constructing a custom transaction, to watching a miner take it and attempt to assemble a valid block.

I understand that by joining a pool, we give up that part of the Bitcoin blockchain process.

Are my assumptions wrong?
Is there any hope of mining solo with an S9, (with Core attached) ?



Thanks for any advice.

Cheers!
The S9 doesn't contain the official cgminer so you're asking for support in the wrong place. Nonetheless the S9 isn't capable of solo mining by itself; you'll need to run pool software such as ckpool or if you want the level of customisation you're talking about you're going to have to write software yourself.


Thanks for the response. 

Is there more appropriate hardware that you might recommend? 
You are asking to do multiple things here. Mining solo is as easy as setting up bitcoind, ckpool and then pointing your S9 at it. However "playing with a candidate block" is seriously high level shit that should only be done by people who understand code and bitcoin at a high level. There is no "better" hardware to use, as the only thing that makes it possible to mine a block is hashrate, and the more hardware you throw at it the more chance you have at finding a block. An S9 is likely to solve a block on average once every 5 YEARS. It is likely the hardware will burn out before you actually achieve anything at all (let alone make a profit.) Hope this helps put it into perspective.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1524611372
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524611372

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524611372
Reply with quote  #2

1524611372
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524611372
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524611372

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524611372
Reply with quote  #2

1524611372
Report to moderator
1524611372
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524611372

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524611372
Reply with quote  #2

1524611372
Report to moderator
1524611372
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524611372

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524611372
Reply with quote  #2

1524611372
Report to moderator
daycoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 07:49:04 PM
 #16882

Hi
I tried to download cgminer 3.7.2 for windows from sourceforge but chrome alarmed its dangerous and blocked so I tried with firefox this time windows alarmed as threats.
Next time I tried your source: http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer but both firefox and chrome alarmed as "Reported Unwanted Software Page" and "The site ahead contains harmful programs"
Whats wrong?
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 14, 2018, 08:00:20 PM
 #16883

Hi
I tried to download cgminer 3.7.2 for windows from sourceforge but chrome alarmed its dangerous and blocked so I tried with firefox this time windows alarmed as threats.
Next time I tried your source: http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer but both firefox and chrome alarmed as "Reported Unwanted Software Page" and "The site ahead contains harmful programs"
Whats wrong?

Reading problems: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg27936663#msg27936663
Smiley

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
daycoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 08:20:54 PM
 #16884

I think its possible to remove alert:
https://sucuri.net/guides/how-to-remove-google-blacklist-warning
Fobo1979
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 10:07:12 PM
 #16885

Please, I'm a beginner, please help me!

Try to get my Red Fury working for a few days now but do not understand what I'm doing wrong

I make the .bat file as it has been everywhere, tested several different settings but no Sad

Im using cgminer and when they start flashing, Cg says just

 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:33.436] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

Please help a beginner
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 14, 2018, 10:31:23 PM
 #16886

Please, I'm a beginner, please help me!

Try to get my Red Fury working for a few days now but do not understand what I'm doing wrong

I make the .bat file as it has been everywhere, tested several different settings but no Sad

Im using cgminer and when they start flashing, Cg says just

 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:33.436] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

Please help a beginner
The answer is right there: "Need to specify at least one pool server."

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
Fobo1979
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 11:02:01 PM
 #16887

Please, I'm a beginner, please help me!

Try to get my Red Fury working for a few days now but do not understand what I'm doing wrong

I make the .bat file as it has been everywhere, tested several different settings but no Sad

Im using cgminer and when they start flashing, Cg says just

 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:33.436] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

Please help a beginner
The answer is right there: "Need to specify at least one pool server."

I've done it in the .bat file

cgminer.exe -o miningpoolhub.com:17246 -u asic -p x
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 14, 2018, 11:08:25 PM
 #16888

Please, I'm a beginner, please help me!

Try to get my Red Fury working for a few days now but do not understand what I'm doing wrong

I make the .bat file as it has been everywhere, tested several different settings but no Sad

Im using cgminer and when they start flashing, Cg says just

 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:33.436] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

Please help a beginner
The answer is right there: "Need to specify at least one pool server."

I've done it in the .bat file

cgminer.exe -o miningpoolhub.com:17246 -u asic -p x

You're missing the protocol: cgminer.exe -o http://miningpoolhub.com:17246 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=472510.msg5215113#msg5215113

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 01:20:56 AM
 #16889

I tried to download cgminer 3.7.2

Why are you trying to download such an old version of CGMiner?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 15, 2018, 11:04:10 AM
 #16890

I tried to download cgminer 3.7.2

Why are you trying to download such an old version of CGMiner?

Perhaps an acute nostalgia for the good old days? :p

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
daycoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 11:34:59 AM
 #16891

I tried to download cgminer 3.7.2

Why are you trying to download such an old version of CGMiner?
Dogecoin mining have problem with new versions.
Fobo1979
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 11:50:12 AM
 #16892

Please, I'm a beginner, please help me!

Try to get my Red Fury working for a few days now but do not understand what I'm doing wrong

I make the .bat file as it has been everywhere, tested several different settings but no Sad

Im using cgminer and when they start flashing, Cg says just

 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:33.436] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

Please help a beginner
The answer is right there: "Need to specify at least one pool server."

I've done it in the .bat file

cgminer.exe -o miningpoolhub.com:17246 -u asic -p x

You're missing the protocol: cgminer.exe -o http://miningpoolhub.com:17246 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=472510.msg5215113#msg5215113

Hi Jay_Pal i'm testing but it still does not work, have you time to help my please!

A beginner
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 15, 2018, 12:12:47 PM
 #16893

Please, I'm a beginner, please help me!

Try to get my Red Fury working for a few days now but do not understand what I'm doing wrong

I make the .bat file as it has been everywhere, tested several different settings but no Sad

Im using cgminer and when they start flashing, Cg says just

 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:33.436] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

Please help a beginner
The answer is right there: "Need to specify at least one pool server."

I've done it in the .bat file

cgminer.exe -o miningpoolhub.com:17246 -u asic -p x

You're missing the protocol: cgminer.exe -o http://miningpoolhub.com:17246 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=472510.msg5215113#msg5215113

Hi Jay_Pa i'm testing but it still does not work, have you time to help my please!

A beginner

The only way anybody could help is if you detailed your posts.
Don't expect to post "help" and hope everybody finds you a solution.

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 03:14:16 PM
 #16894

I tried to download cgminer 3.7.2

Why are you trying to download such an old version of CGMiner?
Dogecoin mining have problem with new versions.

CGMiner is a Bitcoin miner not an altcoin miner.  There have been forks of CGMiner that mine altcoins.  Check in the altcoin section for those forks.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 03:16:29 PM
 #16895

I tried to download cgminer 3.7.2

Why are you trying to download such an old version of CGMiner?

Perhaps an acute nostalgia for the good old days? :p

I fire up an Jalapeno or USB Block Erupter once in a while to watch the CGMiner screen roll by.  Ah the good ole days Smiley

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 15, 2018, 03:31:39 PM
 #16896

I tried to download cgminer 3.7.2

Why are you trying to download such an old version of CGMiner?

Perhaps an acute nostalgia for the good old days? :p

I fire up an Jalapeno or USB Block Erupter once in a while to watch the CGMiner screen roll by.  Ah the good ole days Smiley

I can't fire my Jala since the AC adapter burned...
And I don't plug the BE's cause the 4 I never sold would burn my hubs and be no useful!
But since I've never bought any great hardware, I still have 3 RedFury and 7 Antminer U1 hashing away... Would it be considered "nostalgia" since I've never unpluged them? :p

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
Fobo1979
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 03:47:20 PM
 #16897

Please, I'm a beginner, please help me!

Try to get my Red Fury working for a few days now but do not understand what I'm doing wrong

I make the .bat file as it has been everywhere, tested several different settings but no Sad

Im using cgminer and when they start flashing, Cg says just

 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:22.661] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-01-14 22:13:33.436] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

Please help a beginner
The answer is right there: "Need to specify at least one pool server."

I've done it in the .bat file

cgminer.exe -o miningpoolhub.com:17246 -u asic -p x

You're missing the protocol: cgminer.exe -o http://miningpoolhub.com:17246 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=472510.msg5215113#msg5215113

Hi Jay_Pa i'm testing but it still does not work, have you time to help my please!

A beginner

The only way anybody could help is if you detailed your posts.
Don't expect to post "help" and hope everybody finds you a solution.

What do you want for details Jay_Pal? I'm sorry I'm new to this and trying to learn
I have tried to write about the bat. file at least 50 times as I read one should do but it does not work Sad

der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2018, 04:10:05 PM
 #16898

What do you want for details Jay_Pal? I'm sorry I'm new to this and trying to learn
I have tried to write about the bat. file at least 50 times as I read one should do but it does not work Sad
Try starting cgminer without the batch file right from command line with this:
Code:
cgminer.exe -o http://miningpoolhub.com:17246 -u asic -p x
What happens then? If there´s still the specify pool message, there is something wrong with the pool address.

Fobo1979
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 04:19:15 PM
 #16899

What do you want for details Jay_Pal? I'm sorry I'm new to this and trying to learn
I have tried to write about the bat. file at least 50 times as I read one should do but it does not work Sad
Try starting cgminer without the batch file right from command line with this:
Code:
cgminer.exe -o http://miningpoolhub.com:17246 -u asic -p x
What happens then? If there´s still the specify pool message, there is something wrong with the pool address.

Yes, it says the same thing again Sad

I've tried wht http://hub.miningpoolhub.com before and the same thing then
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2018, 04:20:54 PM
 #16900

Then you need to check your pool url.

Pages: « 1 ... 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 [845] 846 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!