Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2018, 05:29:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 [835] 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756930 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 09:19:26 PM
 #16681

Dear ck,

when compiling from the git master (and also the standalone 4.10.0) for the target AntMiner S3,
then the following warnings happen (IMHO it seems that a define in driver-bitmain.h is possibly set wrong):

driver-bitmain.c: In function 'bitmain_api_stats':
driver-bitmain.c:2952:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_int(root, "chain_acn10", &(info->chain_asic_num[9]), false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2953:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_int(root, "chain_acn11", &(info->chain_asic_num[10]), false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2954:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_int(root, "chain_acn12", &(info->chain_asic_num[11]), false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2955:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_int(root, "chain_acn13", &(info->chain_asic_num[12]), false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2956:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_int(root, "chain_acn14", &(info->chain_asic_num[13]), false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2957:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_int(root, "chain_acn15", &(info->chain_asic_num[14]), false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2958:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_int(root, "chain_acn16", &(info->chain_asic_num[15]), false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2971:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_string(root, "chain_acs10", info->chain_asic_status_t[9], false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2972:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_string(root, "chain_acs11", info->chain_asic_status_t[10], false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2973:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_string(root, "chain_acs12", info->chain_asic_status_t[11], false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2974:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_string(root, "chain_acs13", info->chain_asic_status_t[12], false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2975:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_string(root, "chain_acs14", info->chain_asic_status_t[13], false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2976:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_string(root, "chain_acs15", info->chain_asic_status_t[14], false);
       ^
driver-bitmain.c:2977:7: warning: array subscript is above array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
  root = api_add_string(root, "chain_acs16", info->chain_asic_status_t[15], false);
       ^


And a 2nd issue is this: instead of using the unit Giga it uses the unit Tera, with such gigantic results

 cgminer version 4.10.0 - Started: [2017-07-21 20:57:24.298]
 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  (30s):432.7T (1m):423.2T (5m):387.7T (15m):256.9T (avg):406.4Th/s
  A:0  R:0  HW:5  WU:5681473.1/m
  Connected to (null) diff 805G without LP as user xxx
  Block: b205ee53...  Diff:805G  Started: [21:12:29.503]  Best share: 7.93K
 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  USB management Pool management Settings Display options Quit
  0: AS3 0       : 34/ 37C 0900R           | 426.2T / 406.6Th/s WU:5680506.0/m
 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(testing solo-mining against a local bitcoind)

And when quitting it repeats the gigantic numbers/units:

 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.364] Shutdown signal received.
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.457]
Summary of runtime statistics:

 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.457] Started at [2017-07-21 20:57:24.298]
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.457] Pool: http://37.139.71.2:8332
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.457] Runtime: 0 hrs : 15 mins : 24 secs
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.457] Average hashrate: 406601478.9 Mhash/s
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Solved blocks: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Best share difficulty: 7.93K
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Share submissions: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Accepted shares: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Rejected shares: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Accepted difficulty shares: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Rejected difficulty shares: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Hardware errors: 5
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Utility (accepted shares / min): 0.00/min
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Work Utility (diff1 shares solved / min): 5681222.25/min

 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.458] Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.459] Unable to get work from server occasions: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.459] Work items generated locally: 74893
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.459] Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.459] New blocks detected on network: 5

 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.459] Summary of per device statistics:

 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.459] AS3 0 (30s):425.2T (avg):406.6Th/s | A:0 R:0 HW:5 WU:5681222.3/m
 [2017-07-21 21:12:48.459]


A 3rd issue is that it wrongly says "Connected to (null)", cf. above.

Thx


1532021369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532021369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532021369
Reply with quote  #2

1532021369
Report to moderator
1532021369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532021369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532021369
Reply with quote  #2

1532021369
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cameloid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2017, 07:47:16 AM
 #16682

Hi mutluit,

you may try to use my cgminer 4.10 build for S3: https://yadi.sk/d/CVhgXxmN3K2SBw

It works flawlessly.
mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2017, 10:13:08 AM
 #16683

Hi mutluit,

you may try to use my cgminer 4.10 build for S3: https://yadi.sk/d/CVhgXxmN3K2SBw

It works flawlessly.

Hi, thank you.
But here this too prints some gigantic/unrealistic WU rates, and hash rates in the TH/s range, see below.
If we assume that the TH/s means GH/s then I observed that the hash rate after a few hours sinks down from 450 to about 200 GH/s. Does this not happen with your S3?
BTW, I think your binary has all drivers included as the size of the binary is about twice the size compared to mine that has only the code for S3 enabled.


^C [2017-07-24 09:58:30.888] Shutdown signal received.                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.979]
Summary of runtime statistics:
                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.979] Started at [2017-07-24 09:56:36.980]                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.979] Pool: http://37.139.71.2:8332                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.979] Runtime: 0 hrs : 1 mins : 53 secs                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.979] Average hashrate: 416358026.8 Mhash/s                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.979] Solved blocks: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Best share difficulty: 1.36K                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Share submissions: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Accepted shares: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Rejected shares: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Accepted difficulty shares: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Rejected difficulty shares: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Hardware errors: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Utility (accepted shares / min): 0.00/min                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Work Utility (diff1 shares solved / min): 5816454.46/min
                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.980] Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.981] Unable to get work from server occasions: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.981] Work items generated locally: 9290                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.981] Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.981] New blocks detected on network: 2
                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.981] Summary of per device statistics:
                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.981] AS3 0 (10s):422.0T (avg):416.4Th/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:5816454.5/m                    
 [2017-07-24 09:58:30.981]                      


'''''''''''''''''''''''''''
UPDATE:
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''
It seems that since version 4.7.0 some of the bitmain parameters have changed.
So, after renaming the config file /etc/config/cgminer, and using the following params
now version 4.10.0 seems to work fine in the console:

     --bitmain-voltage 0725 \
     --bitmain-freq    16:250:0982 \
     --bitmain-options 115200:32:32:16:250:0982 \
     --bitmain-fan     20-100 \
     --bitmain-auto \
     --bitmain-notempoverctrl --bitmain-nobeeper --bitmain-checkn2diff --bitmain-hwerror \
     ...

So, then this case can be closed :-)


But I think the above given compiler warnings need to be fixed in the code. I had made the following modification in driver-bitmain.h to eliminate the warnings:

// #define BITMAIN_MAX_CHAIN_NUM      8
#define BITMAIN_MAX_CHAIN_NUM      16


mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 25, 2017, 04:27:02 PM
 #16684

Hmm. maybe discovered a new problem with 4.10.0:

in previous versions for each found nonce it had printed such lines (with --debug option enabled)
Proof: %s
Target: %s
TrgVal?...

But in this version I don't see any such lines printed ever, eventhough work units get counted in the stats.

FYI: a submit_work for a new block happens only after the above things, ie. if the former isn't called ever then a submit can never happen... :-)

Can anybody confirm this?


UPDATE:
The ASIC's usually return a nonce if at least the first 32 bits of the found hash are 0 (I think this is called a Work Unit).
But something doesn't fit with 4.10.0 as it finds only a few nonces (ie. the "Proof" lines printed).
I'm testing this on AntMiner S3. Or is the definition of such a WU differrent under AntMiner S3?

Dear author, can you please comment on this important issue as it could be a big bug affecting many people, thx.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2017, 08:47:46 PM
 #16685

UPDATE:
The ASIC's usually return a nonce if at least the first 32 bits of the found hash are 0 (I think this is called a Work Unit).
But something doesn't fit with 4.10.0 as it finds only a few nonces (ie. the "Proof" lines printed).
I'm testing this on AntMiner S3. Or is the definition of such a WU differrent under AntMiner S3?

Dear author, can you please comment on this important issue as it could be a big bug affecting many people, thx.


The S3 code in master cgminer filters out low diff nonces.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 07:33:34 AM
 #16686

UPDATE:
The ASIC's usually return a nonce if at least the first 32 bits of the found hash are 0 (I think this is called a Work Unit).
But something doesn't fit with 4.10.0 as it finds only a few nonces (ie. the "Proof" lines printed).
I'm testing this on AntMiner S3. Or is the definition of such a WU differrent under AntMiner S3?

Dear author, can you please comment on this important issue as it could be a big bug affecting many people, thx.


The S3 code in master cgminer filters out low diff nonces.

Ah, good to know about that filtering.
What rule gets used in the filtering? Where in the code is it done?
Thx


UPDATE:
ok, I think I found the location in driver-bitmain.c:

                diffbits = (int)floor(log2(DATAW(witem)->work->sdiff));
                if (diffbits < 0)
                        diffbits = 0;
                // Limit to 4096 so solo mining has reasonable mining stats
                if (diffbits > 12)
                        diffbits = 12;

Replacing this block of code with just "diffbits = 0;" seems to revert it to the default behavior.
But this of course leads to eating up much CPU cycles and the hash rate of the device falls significantly.
Yes, the filtering makes much sense; I'll need to modify my test-code to adapt to the original filtering...

vickz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 09:53:52 AM
 #16687

Hello -CK may we ask if I'll start to this one do i need a miner(Hardware I mean) or just my computer/laptop?

That's a noob question kindly answer..

Thanks,
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 10:05:15 AM
 #16688

Hello -CK may we ask if I'll start to this one do i need a miner(Hardware I mean) or just my computer/laptop?

That's a noob question kindly answer..

Thanks,

From the Top Post

This is the official thread for support and development of cgminer, the ASIC bitcoin miner ... There is NO SUPPORT for CPU, GPU or altcoin mining in this thread, nor older versions with that functionality, nor any support for unofficial forks of this code.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 03:06:17 PM
 #16689

Hello -CK may we ask if I'll start to this one do i need a miner(Hardware I mean) or just my computer/laptop?

That's a noob question kindly answer..

Thanks,
As os2sam wrote, CPU and GPU mining have become "obsolete" in profitable bitcoin mining. Nowadays one needs fast ASIC mining device(s) to have a chance in finding a block, or to participate in pool mining.
Current state of the art miner seems to be the AntMiner S9 or T9 or something.
Check also ebay for used miners. If you can afford then get one with more than 1 TH/s hashing speed, better would be > 4 TH/s, or the above mentioned one with about 14 TH/s.
You have to pay the electricity these devices consume (for example my S3 consumes about 0.36 kW/h, and the electricity cost for running it a month is 30 * 24 * 0.36 * $0.12 = $31.10 )
Before investing I would suggest to consult an online calculator for cryptocoin mining to get an idea about the profitability or lack of it...
The more hashing power your device(s) have and the cheaper your electricity is, the better...
But beware: these bigger devices are very loud (caused by their hi-speed/hi-power fans to cool the ASICs)  :-)

As said, you should ask non-cgminer related questions in the other discussion threads here.

mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 05:53:14 PM
 #16690

Hi ck,
there is an unimportant, but nasty :-), warning when doing make:

   --define-variable argument does not have a value for the variable

I think this has to be fixed in configure.ac somewhere in or around these lines:

PKG_PROG_PKG_CONFIG()

if test "x$have_cgminer_sdk" = "xtrue"; then
        if test "x$have_x86_64" = xtrue; then
                ARCH_DIR=x86_64
        else
                ARCH_DIR=x86
        fi
        PKG_CONFIG="${PKG_CONFIG:-pkg-config} --define-variable=arch=$ARCH_DIR --define-variable=target=$target --define-variable=cgminersdkdir=$CGMINER_SDK"
        PKG_CONFIG_PATH="$CGMINER_SDK/lib/pkgconfig${PKG_CONFIG_PATH:+:$PKG_CONFIG_PATH}"
fi


or maybe in one of the *.in files?
Or should one set an environment variable CGMINER_SDK ?
vayvanne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100

GPG ID 48298AFC


View Profile
July 26, 2017, 11:12:57 PM
 #16691

Is it only me or others also constantly getting messages about testing pool on solo mining?
One more issue to mention, 4.10.0 does not write config file and does not load working in v.4.9.2 (and pretty trivial one) config file.
mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 27, 2017, 12:39:14 PM
 #16692

Is it only me or others also constantly getting messages about testing pool on solo mining?
One more issue to mention, 4.10.0 does not write config file and does not load working in v.4.9.2 (and pretty trivial one) config file.

Don't know if related, but the parameter --fix-protocol seems to prevent switching from gbt to stratum if the http server offers both.

Regarding the other issues: don't know, haven't tried yet; I'm passing all parameters via commandline (actually in a batch script file).

mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 27, 2017, 02:14:18 PM
 #16693

Hi ck, please take a look at this:

driver-bitmain.c, line# ~ 2753:

                        sendret = bitmain_send_data(sendbuf, sendlen, bitmain);
                        if (unlikely(sendret == BTM_SEND_ERROR)) {
                                applog(LOG_ERR, "%s%d: send status comms error",
                                                bitmain->drv->name, bitmain->device_id);
                                //dev_error(bitmain, REASON_DEV_COMMS_ERROR);
                                info->reset = true;
                                info->errorcount++;
                                senderror = 1;
                                if (info->errorcount > 1000) {
                                        info->errorcount = 0;
                                        applog(LOG_ERR, "%s%d: Device disappeared,"
                                                        " shutting down thread",
                                                        bitmain->drv->name, bitmain->device_id);
                                        bitmain->shutdown = true;
                                }
                        } else {
                                info->errorcount = 0;
                                if (info->fifo_space <= 0) {
                                        senderror = 1;
                                }
                        }

In this code block bitmain_send_data() succeeds and it goes into the else branch.
But there "senderror = 1" will be executed if fifo_space <= 0.
And if senderror is set to 1 then in later part of the code a penalty pausing of 50ms is done.
I don't understand why senderror gets set if the bitmain_send_data() already succeeded.
I think in the success case the testing for fifo_space shouldn't be done, IMO. Isn't it?

vayvanne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100

GPG ID 48298AFC


View Profile
July 27, 2017, 06:52:44 PM
 #16694

Is it only me or others also constantly getting messages about testing pool on solo mining?
One more issue to mention, 4.10.0 does not write config file and does not load working in v.4.9.2 (and pretty trivial one) config file.

Don't know if related, but the parameter --fix-protocol seems to prevent switching from gbt to stratum if the http server offers both.

Regarding the other issues: don't know, haven't tried yet; I'm passing all parameters via commandline (actually in a batch script file).

Thanks for the reply. Do I need to upgrade the miner to 4.10.0 at all to mine a segwit blocks? The backend is bitcoin core 0.14.2.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2017, 08:27:47 AM
 #16695

Is it only me or others also constantly getting messages about testing pool on solo mining?
One more issue to mention, 4.10.0 does not write config file and does not load working in v.4.9.2 (and pretty trivial one) config file.

Don't know if related, but the parameter --fix-protocol seems to prevent switching from gbt to stratum if the http server offers both.

Regarding the other issues: don't know, haven't tried yet; I'm passing all parameters via commandline (actually in a batch script file).

Thanks for the reply. Do I need to upgrade the miner to 4.10.0 at all to mine a segwit blocks? The backend is bitcoin core 0.14.2.
No. Current cgminer is segwit compatible.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
vayvanne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100

GPG ID 48298AFC


View Profile
July 29, 2017, 06:17:24 PM
 #16696

Is it only me or others also constantly getting messages about testing pool on solo mining?
One more issue to mention, 4.10.0 does not write config file and does not load working in v.4.9.2 (and pretty trivial one) config file.

Don't know if related, but the parameter --fix-protocol seems to prevent switching from gbt to stratum if the http server offers both.

Regarding the other issues: don't know, haven't tried yet; I'm passing all parameters via commandline (actually in a batch script file).

Thanks for the reply. Do I need to upgrade the miner to 4.10.0 at all to mine a segwit blocks? The backend is bitcoin core 0.14.2.
No. Current cgminer is segwit compatible.
Hi -ck,
I see the release notes for 4.10.0 regarding the segwit support, but it has memory leak in windows build in solo mode and I would prefer 4.9.2 to continue to use.
Theoretically, segwit could be implemented totally in bitcoin core, under the RPC calls so that the miner software would not need any changes to support it. My question (and my setup in general) is for learning purposes mainly.
So do I get correctly, that cgminer 4.9.2 does not have (requiring) segwit support and blocks found would be discarded now?
Many thanks.
o_solo_miner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1001


-> morgen, ist heute, schon gestern <-


View Profile
July 29, 2017, 06:48:05 PM
 #16697

I am not ck but the answer to that question is:
you can use older cgminer Versions, but not an old core version.
So you need as minimum core version 14.0.0 (Segwit support)
AND
you have to add a patch to it so you are not building up on wrong blocks!


http://ckpool.org "THE Pool" from the creator of CGMiner & CKPool / Payout System:SPLNS / ZERO FEE!
------------------------------------------- join now -----------------------------------------------
http://solo.ckpool.org for Solominers with the best block notify system
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2017, 04:58:19 PM
 #16698

Hey, it's been a while but I'm going to finally update the compiled version of cgminer for mac I distribute and update MacMiner with it (the link you provide for Mac versions only goes up to 4.3.3 btw, I distribute mine at http://macminer.fabulouspanda.com/commandline/cgminer/ )

Since it's been so long, could you please let me know which devices I can --enable for maximum support without causing any conflicts?
Sorry to be an idiot, found the readme suggesting
--enable-avalon
--enable-avalon2
--enable-avalon4
--enable-bflsc
--enable-bitfury
--enable-cointerra
--enable-drillbit
--enable-hashfast
--enable-hashratio
--enable-icarus
--enable-klondike

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
nkamitaki
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 01, 2017, 02:34:50 AM
 #16699

Is it only me or others also constantly getting messages about testing pool on solo mining?
One more issue to mention, 4.10.0 does not write config file and does not load working in v.4.9.2 (and pretty trivial one) config file.

Dear CK,

I am experiencing a Segmentation Fault (core dumped) error when trying to write config file in version 4.10.0.   (I do not have this error with version 4.9.2).  

(it seems to write over cgminer.conf with an empty file, then crash)

I am running on R-PI, ARCH.    

Any advice?

Thanks!

This didn't seem to get any kind of acknowledgement. I'm following it up here to see if anyone can help??

Just registered to chime in as I happened to be running into this myself and had thought it might be a quirk from compiling/running with MacOSX.  I haven't done much digging into it, and when I get a chance I'll try the debug backtrace mentioned already.  I can also confirm that on my system the problem arises between 4.9.2 and 4.10.0 releases.

In case it might be useful to those more familiar with the code, a few crude tests by way of re-building seem to isolate the problem to setting '--enable-icarus' during configuration.   That is, including all of the non-standalone drivers minus icarus seems to have a functioning write_config on my system.  So do not think this is something to do with all parsing/writing for settings, but may be specific to one or more introduced with icarus support.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2017, 02:38:52 AM
 #16700

Just registered to chime in as I happened to be running into this myself and had thought it might be a quirk from compiling/running with MacOSX.  I haven't done much digging into it, and when I get a chance I'll try the debug backtrace mentioned already.  I can also confirm that on my system the problem arises between 4.9.2 and 4.10.0 releases.

In case it might be useful to those more familiar with the code, a few crude tests by way of re-building seem to isolate the problem to setting '--enable-icarus' during configuration.   That is, including all of the non-standalone drivers minus icarus seems to have a functioning write_config on my system.  So do not think this is something to do with all parsing/writing for settings, but may be specific to one or more introduced with icarus support.


Sounds feasible. It's likely to be missing save for the options added to icarus post 4.9.2

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 [835] 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!