Bitcoin Forum
August 23, 2017, 12:16:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 [798] 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5387820 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2015, 10:19:53 PM
 #15941

Slush only merge mines namecoin and that sort of merged mining wouldn't show any different diff to bitcoin. Cgminer never discards shares even if they're stale unless you enable the --no-submit-stale feature. On the other hand, bitmain's forked version of cgminer with their antminer driver throws out stale shares whether you ask it or not, so that's probably what happened. Being a fork, it could also be they screwed up the code too and it reports false positives.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503490573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503490573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503490573
Reply with quote  #2

1503490573
Report to moderator
bitvinda
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
March 15, 2015, 01:54:43 PM
 #15942

Sorry if this has been covered before, but I can't seem to find anything and I am at my wit's end. I'm trying to set up 2 Antminer U2s on Windows 7. When I run cgminer with proper settings, I get one green light flashing on the device and no feedback in the command prompt other than that it couldn't find any devices. Sometimes, if I unplug and plug back in, I'll get the miners mining and it's really lucky for me to unplug the two and have both working when I plug back in. When I do 'List all devices' I get:

[timestamp] USB init, open device failed, err -3 you don't have privileges to access - AMU device 2:4
[timestamp] See README file included for help
[timestamp] Icarus detect <2:4> failed to initialise <incorrect device?>

Those 3 messages refresh every few seconds. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
NathanB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
March 17, 2015, 01:09:08 AM
 #15943

Sorry if this has been covered before, but I can't seem to find anything and I am at my wit's end. I'm trying to set up 2 Antminer U2s on Windows 7. When I run cgminer with proper settings, I get one green light flashing on the device and no feedback in the command prompt other than that it couldn't find any devices. Sometimes, if I unplug and plug back in, I'll get the miners mining and it's really lucky for me to unplug the two and have both working when I plug back in. When I do 'List all devices' I get:

[timestamp] USB init, open device failed, err -3 you don't have privileges to access - AMU device 2:4
[timestamp] See README file included for help
[timestamp] Icarus detect <2:4> failed to initialise <incorrect device?>

Those 3 messages refresh every few seconds. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


How to install an ASIC miner (USB)

Plug in your device. After a failed automatic installation go to:

http://zadig.akeo.ie/


1. download the program
2. run the program
3. select your device (list all devices), choose your ASIC and install the driver (WINUSB)
4. you can check your device manager if the ASIC is listed under USB
5. check with commandline cgminer  -n in standalone
6. run a short cgminer test if you can see a hashrate
7. if point 6 doesnt work try another USB ports
8. run cgminer 4.7.1

edit:

9. use a powered usb hub you will pull more power that your usb port on the computer can supply....
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2015, 02:48:35 AM
 #15944

Yeah most of that is in the README ... that's why the message says to read it Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
LeviWalker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
March 19, 2015, 11:38:02 PM
 #15945

Cross compiling is not for the inexperienced. I suggest you take the top off the cointerror, pull out the usb cables from the beaglebone controller and plug them into any pc running linux. The device works fine from any controller running cgminer.

I have two of these myself and was just thinking the same thing. Mine actually run fine (good actually) so I dont know if there would be anything to gain other than experience by doing this. I am running your CKPool in the same rack as the miners so what do you think about running these with cgminer on the server? Its a virtual environment so I can easily add another server for mining only if that would be better.

Being willing is not enough; we must do.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2015, 09:12:17 AM
 #15946

Cross compiling is not for the inexperienced. I suggest you take the top off the cointerror, pull out the usb cables from the beaglebone controller and plug them into any pc running linux. The device works fine from any controller running cgminer.

I have two of these myself and was just thinking the same thing. Mine actually run fine (good actually) so I dont know if there would be anything to gain other than experience by doing this. I am running your CKPool in the same rack as the miners so what do you think about running these with cgminer on the server? Its a virtual environment so I can easily add another server for mining only if that would be better.
Up until my cointerra turned into a blast furnace and tried to weld itself to my shelf, I ran it off a PC instead of the BBB built in and found the USB communications much more reliable where errors were virtually non existent and latency was lower, so I definitely think there's an advantage (provided you have ridiculously cheap electricity, otherwise these make great boat anchors).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
LeviWalker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
March 20, 2015, 11:09:55 AM
 #15947

Up until my cointerra turned into a blast furnace and tried to weld itself to my shelf, I ran it off a PC instead of the BBB built in and found the USB communications much more reliable where errors were virtually non existent and latency was lower, so I definitely think there's an advantage (provided you have ridiculously cheap electricity, otherwise these make great boat anchors).

Thanks I think I will give that a shot today.

Being willing is not enough; we must do.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2015, 07:39:04 PM
 #15948

My antminer S5's aren't shutting down when they hit 80C or above. Could this be a cgminer issue? The temps start runaway when you already have been mining and get disconnected from the pool/network. Even if the miner isn't hashing the fan will slow down and the temps will start to run away. Soon as I saw 90c I think it was I powered mine off right away. Now, if you turn on the miner from the start with no connection to a pool it will be fine. This only happens while you were hashing then get disconnected. What's really weird is my Dad also has an S5 and the same thing happened to him. He was hashing on the Guild and he heard the beeping, walked over to his miners and the fan was not spinning. Then he felt the heat coming off the top and smelled that metal heat type smell and quickly powered off both miners. If we both weren't home and this happened we'd be in trouble, possibly a fire? I also posted this on the Official S5 page, hopefully there will be some kind of fix. I tried using M's monitor program but that only gives you an alert if the temp goes over a certain amount. It doesn't power it off.

Was told this issue is probably in the bitmaintech driver code and they need to resolve it.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2015, 10:12:31 PM
 #15949

My antminer S5's aren't shutting down when they hit 80C or above.

Was told this issue is probably in the bitmaintech driver code and they need to resolve it.
This.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2015, 10:19:35 PM
 #15950

10-4

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2015, 11:18:54 PM
 #15951

What does this mean? I'm grabbing it from the output of cgminer. I only have two pools setup and the third one is a blank. Is that what it is trying to test, the third one that has nothing in it?



 [2015-03-20 23:16:33] (5s):1.426T (1m):669.1G (5m):482.2G (15m):230.1G (avg):1.132Th/s
[2015-03-20 23:16:34] Testing pool
 [2015-03-20 23:16:34] HTTP request failed: <url> malformed
 [2015-03-20 23:16:34] Failed to getaddrinfo for stratum+tcp://:(null)
[2015-03-20 23:16:36] Submitting share 00000000 to pool 0
 [2015-03-20 23:16:36] Accepted 000000e0 Diff 0/1024 BTM 0 pool 0
 [2015-03-20 23:16:38] (5s):1.399T (1m):656.7G (5m):480.3G (15m):229.8G (avg):1.129Th/s

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
March 20, 2015, 11:27:44 PM
 #15952

My antminer S5's aren't shutting down when they hit 80C or above.

Was told this issue is probably in the bitmaintech driver code and they need to resolve it.
This.

Isn't that a safety feature?  Aren't they supposed to shut down around 80*C?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 21, 2015, 07:14:05 PM
 #15953

I've just received to BFL Monarch's.  They identify themselves to Windoze as BitFORCE SHA256 SC and CGMiner 4.9.1 identifies them as a BAS.  Then I get a steady stream of errors saying "RequestQueJobStatus failed <err=0 amt=20>.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2015, 09:54:13 PM
 #15954

They identify themselves to Windoze as BitFORCE SHA256 SC and CGMiner 4.9.1 identifies them as a BAS. 
What a pain. That's the identifier for their 65nm hardware. No idea why they put it on mofarchs as well

65nm so far showed up as:
"BitFORCE SHA256 SC"

while 28nm as:
"BitFORCE SC-28nm"

The old FPGA showed up as:
"BitFORCE SHA256"
and then 28nm started showing up as this too.

Now they're mixing the 65nm identifiers with their "new"er hardware. If BFL didn't have bigger problems, I'd say they were doing it deliberately, but this is probably just plain screwup on their part I guess.

What does the iManufacturer field list?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 21, 2015, 10:38:48 PM
 #15955

They identify themselves to Windoze as BitFORCE SHA256 SC and CGMiner 4.9.1 identifies them as a BAS.  
What does the iManufacturer field list?

Is this what your asking for?

Code:
C:\cgm491>CGMINER -D -T
 [2015-03-21 17:30:07] Started cgminer 4.9.1

snip

[2015-03-21 17:30:08] USB scan devices: checking for BAS devices
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BAS 0403:6014 but found 8086:27ca instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27ca instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27ca instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BAS 0403:6014 but found 8086:27c9 instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27c9 instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27c9 instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BAS 0403:6014 but found 8086:27cb instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27cb instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27cb instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BAS 0403:6014 but found 8086:27c8 instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27c8 instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27c8 instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BAS 0403:6014 but found 8086:27cc instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27cc instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 8086:27cc instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for and found BAS 0403:6014
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] USB lock BitForceSC 5-1
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] RES: BitForceSC (5:1) lock=1
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] USB res lock BitForceSC 5-1
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] RES: BitForceSC (5:1) lock ok=1
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] USB init - BAS device 5:1 usbver=0200 prod='BitFORCE SHA256 SC' manuf='BUTTERFLY LABS' serial='FTYM9T5M'
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS0: reset got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS: cgid 0 SetLatency got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS0: setdata got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS0: setbaud got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS0: setflowctrl got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS0: setmodemctrl got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS0: purgetx got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS0: purgerx got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BitForceSC detect (5:1) Warning unknown firmware ' 1.4.30x00' using Ver2
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS: cgid 0 SetLatency got err 0
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BitForceSC (5:1) identified as: 'BAS'
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BAS 0403:6014 but found 058f:6377 instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 058f:6377 instead
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] BAS looking for BMA 0403:6014 but found 058f:6377 instead

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2015, 10:43:48 PM
 #15956

Is this what you're asking for?

Code:
C:\cgm491>CGMINER -D -T
 [2015-03-21 17:30:07] Started cgminer 4.9.1
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] USB init - BAS device 5:1 usbver=0200 prod='BitFORCE SHA256 SC' manuf='BUTTERFLY LABS' serial='FTYM9T5M'

Yes that's it.

Try this:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 21, 2015, 10:55:07 PM
 #15957

Is this what you're asking for?

Code:
C:\cgm491>CGMINER -D -T
 [2015-03-21 17:30:07] Started cgminer 4.9.1
[2015-03-21 17:30:08] USB init - BAS device 5:1 usbver=0200 prod='BitFORCE SHA256 SC' manuf='BUTTERFLY LABS' serial='FTYM9T5M'

Yes that's it.

Try this:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

That did it, it's hashing.
Thanks,
Sam

Edit: So do think this is a fix or a preliminary test?  Also what is the driver instance name for the --usb options?
Thanks a bunch, again.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2015, 11:18:07 PM
 #15958

Edit: So do think this is a fix or a preliminary test?  Also what is the driver instance name for the --usb options?
Thanks a bunch, again.
This code should just become part of the next release. It's still all under the same device name for all bflsc driver devices so BAS. The code was never rewritten to account for variants detected after the fact and black/whitelist them (it would be a massive rewrite and manufacturers have all but made this venture worthless).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
March 22, 2015, 10:32:58 PM
 #15959

I am having a bit of difficulty getting solo mining to work.  I run a full node (PIX >8.5), I can mine to pools no problem, so the problem is internal somewhere.

My bitcoin.conf file looks like
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=(name)
rpcpassword=(password)
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=8332

I start cgminer 4.9.0 with
Code:
cgminer.exe -o 127.0.0.1:8332 -u (name) -p (password) --btc-address (address)

and I end up with

and never seem to "connect" and the program closes.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 23, 2015, 12:26:17 AM
 #15960

I am having a bit of difficulty getting solo mining to work.  I run a full node (PIX >8.5), I can mine to pools no problem, so the problem is internal somewhere.

My bitcoin.conf file looks like
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=(name)
rpcpassword=(password)
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=8332

I start cgminer 4.9.0 with
Code:
cgminer.exe -o 127.0.0.1:8332 -u (name) -p (password) --btc-address (address)

and I end up with

and never seem to "connect" and the program closes.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Try http:// before the IP address.

cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u (name) -p (password) --btc-address (address)

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 [798] 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!