Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:48:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 [812] 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815085 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
tkalfaoglu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 28, 2015, 09:27:24 PM
 #16221

Thank you -- today I downloaded the master, and compiled it. So it is the most recent version.
1480765732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480765732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480765732
Reply with quote  #2

1480765732
Report to moderator
1480765732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480765732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480765732
Reply with quote  #2

1480765732
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 12:05:12 AM
 #16222

Thank you -- today I downloaded the master, and compiled it. So it is the most recent version.

./cgminer -h | head will show what you are running.
./cgminer -n will list the USB devices.
./cgminer -D --verbose (followed by your other options) will show debug of it running.
... and lastly ... the README says how to setup access to USB devices if you are not using root.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 865



View Profile
July 29, 2015, 01:51:25 AM
 #16223

Um...I thought 4.9.2 was the most recent? Looks like he compiled 4.3.3?
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 02:13:29 AM
 #16224

Network diff of 1.2M look.
tkalfaoglu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 09:29:53 AM
 #16225

SOLVED! I just had to add:
    --usb 2:5,2:4
at the end of the command line..



Thank you -- today I downloaded the master, and compiled it. So it is the most recent version.

./cgminer -h | head will show what you are running.
./cgminer -n will list the USB devices.
./cgminer -D --verbose (followed by your other options) will show debug of it running.
... and lastly ... the README says how to setup access to USB devices if you are not using root.

Many thanks.. It seems cgminer finds a third device that it keeps trying to use..

# cgminer -h|head
cgminer 4.9.2
Built with icarus mining support.

# cgminer -n
 [2015-07-29 12:25:41.967] USB all: found 12 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 2 Device 5 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 1: Bus 2 Device 4 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 2: Bus 8 Device 3 ID: 0403:6001
  Manufacturer: '** err:(-1) LIBUSB_ERROR_IO'
  Product: '** err:(-1) LIBUSB_ERROR_IO'                    
 [2015-07-29 12:25:41.967] 3 known USB devices  

http://www.kalfaoglu.net/tmp/screenshot.png
I guess I need to somehow specify which devices to use.
Many thanks, -turgut
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


My Solo Block: 401934


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 12:15:55 PM
 #16226

Um...I thought 4.9.2 was the most recent? Looks like he compiled 4.3.3?


Hello and thanks for your answer, but with the 4.9.2 is the same, i have read for the Bitfurys are the 4.3.3 the most recent!?

About the difficult, i mine with the Bitfurys only the "eMark"...

regards


                ,╓▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄╓                 
            ╓▄█████████████████▄╖           
         ╓▄█████▀▀'▒,,,,,╠'▀▀█████▄,         
       ,▓███▀╜,▄▄███████████▄▄,╙▀████╖       
      ▄███▀ ▄█████▀▀"``╙"▀▀█████▄ ▀███▄     
     ▓███╜╓████▀ ,▄▄█████▄▄, ▀████,╙███▌     
    ▓███`╔███▀ ╓▓███▀▀▀▀▀████╖ ▀███@"███▌   
   ]███▌┌███▌ ▐███         ███▄ ▐███ ▐███,   
   ▐███ ▐███ .███           ███  ███▌ ███▌   
   ▐███ ▐███ '███           ███  ███▌ ███▌   
   ]███@╙███@ ▀██▌        ,▄██▌ ▐███ ▐███`   
    ▓███ ▐███▄ ╙██▀╩     9███╜ ╔███▀,███▌   
     ████,╙███▌               ▓███╜,████     
      ▀███▄ ▀╜                 ▀▀ ▄███▌     
       ╙████▄,                 ╓▄████╜       
         ╙█████▄▄╓,       ,╓▄▄█████▀         
            ▀▀█████████████████▀▀           
                '▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀'

CloakCoin |  Trustless Anonymous Cryptocurrency |  PoSA3
Forum | Bitcointalk | Twitter | Slack |  Facebook |  VK |  Reddit |  CloakTV |  Instagram |  IRC-Chat |  Faucet
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 12:43:18 PM
 #16227

SOLVED! I just had to add:
    --usb 2:5,2:4
at the end of the command line..


...
Use: --usb 2:*
If they zombie and revive (or if you pull one out and hotplug it back in) they'll be on the same Bus number (2) but get a new Device number.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2015, 12:55:13 PM
 #16228

Um...I thought 4.9.2 was the most recent? Looks like he compiled 4.3.3?


Hello and thanks for your answer, but with the 4.9.2 is the same, i have read for the Bitfurys are the 4.3.3 the most recent!?

About the difficult, i mine with the Bitfurys only the "eMark"...

regards
Always use the most recent. There is no way 4.3.3 is "the most recent".

You probably just have a failing device. These things have a life expectancy.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tkalfaoglu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 07:01:02 PM
 #16229

--usb 2:*
at the end of the command line..[/b]
...

Great tip; many thanks!
-t
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2015, 10:20:22 PM
 #16230

I was working on another project and came across this API Style guide, re implementaion of the cgminer API -  pertinently Collection Resources

Just a thought ....

kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 31, 2015, 09:28:29 AM
 #16231

I was working on another project and came across this API Style guide, re implementaion of the cgminer API -  pertinently Collection Resources

Just a thought ....
It's not an HTTP server and never will be.

It's designed the way it is on purpose.
A miner's MOST important feature is it's performance when mining.

The API socket is low level and as simple as possible yet contains the information required without burdening the computer by wasting resources that may be scarce and wasting it's time matching up to the other 10 million other random formats that each person prefers.

Tacking on other crap like proxy servers and web based interfaces are design flaws that clearly certain other people have no idea about design and performance ... (not referring to you)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2015, 10:20:48 AM
 #16232

I was working on another project and came across this API Style guide, re implementaion of the cgminer API -  pertinently Collection Resources

Just a thought ....
It's not an HTTP server and never will be.

It's designed the way it is on purpose.
A miner's MOST important feature is it's performance when mining.

The API socket is low level and as simple as possible yet contains the information required without burdening the computer by wasting resources that may be scarce and wasting it's time matching up to the other 10 million other random formats that each person prefers.

Tacking on other crap like proxy servers and web based interfaces are design flaws that clearly certain other people have no idea about design and performance ... (not referring to you)

I was actually thinking more of the styling of the API commands than turning it into an http server ... but as usual you clearly had that covered. Its becoming clearer to me, though, why manufacturers that ship cgminer on their rigs more often than not do not ship the "out of the box" API, despite it having all the required information.

kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 31, 2015, 11:13:55 AM
 #16233

...
I was actually thinking more of the styling of the API commands than turning it into an http server ... but as usual you clearly had that covered. Its becoming clearer to me, though, why manufacturers that ship cgminer on their rigs more often than not do not ship the "out of the box" API, despite it having all the required information.
They do ship it as is (mostly), only they have stupid ideas about changing the names of fields and changing the format of fields unnecessarily and breaking compatibility between the different versions.
Bitmain even did that to their own versions on the S1.

It's nothing to do with API interface design changes.

That's the issue with the Bitmain version, they didn't change how the API works or the data format, instead they messed with fields making it no longer backward compatible, rather than simply editing the display scripts to display the raw data differently.
They already do edit the display scripts, but instead of e.g. editing a script to divide by 1000, they modified the cgminer API to do the division by 1000 and renamed the field to something else and deleted the old field name. Clearly they had no idea about design and keeping compatibility when they did that.

I guess the main problem was the fact that Bitmain copied the miner OpenWRT code DIRECTLY from Xiangfu at Avalon and then clearly had little idea what they were doing with that code initially.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2015, 12:16:04 PM
 #16234

....

Just a thought ....

All good .... banish the thought.

Hegemon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile
July 31, 2015, 03:12:09 PM
 #16235

Hello,

Got an U3, trying to make it work but no success yet (windows 7/64) with cgminer 4.9.2

message:
Quote
--bmsc-options: unrecognized option

same with bmsc-freq and --bmsc-voltage

here is my .bat:
Quote
cgminer.exe --bmsc-options 115200:0.5 -o stratum.*** -u *** -p *** --bmsc-freq 0B82 --bmsc-voltage 0800

pause

CP210x_VCP_Windows,Zadig installed

Any idea please ?

with another cgminer, device not found


kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 31, 2015, 03:37:10 PM
 #16236

There are no --bmsc-* options in cgminer.

Current cgminer is 4.9.2 so ./cgminer.exe -h will tell you that at the start of the output

As I've said above on this page:
./cgminer.exe -n will tell you what's connected

Also, cgminer doesn't require any settings for the miner for normal running.

Simply try: cgminer.exe -o stratum.*** -u *** -p ***

If you want to change options then read the README for the U3 options:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/README#L338


If want to use some other miner, not master cgminer from us, then you'll need to find who made that fork and ask them.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Hegemon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile
July 31, 2015, 03:41:59 PM
 #16237

A bit better but:
No device detected even after Zadig.
NathanB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 31, 2015, 03:59:38 PM
 #16238

a question  Huh

why does when a miner go zombie does cgminer not always drop the connection to it and search (hotplug)
a new (another) miner.
it will keep the connection to the miner (usb) and just set there doing nothing.

just wondering...
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 31, 2015, 10:33:18 PM
 #16239

a question  Huh

why does when a miner go zombie does cgminer not always drop the connection to it and search (hotplug)
a new (another) miner.
it will keep the connection to the miner (usb) and just set there doing nothing.

just wondering...

It already resets some devices ... something that you'll find non-USB mining software doesn't do.

But it can't physically pull the miner out and plug it back in.
Physically unplugging it acts like a hardware reset coz the miner itself is not very well designed or made on the cheap.

An example of one that works with zombies is the hashfast hardware ... oh well.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
NathanB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
August 01, 2015, 12:08:21 PM
 #16240

a question  Huh

why does when a miner go zombie does cgminer not always drop the connection to it and search (hotplug)
a new (another) miner.
it will keep the connection to the miner (usb) and just set there doing nothing.

just wondering...

It already resets some devices ... something that you'll find non-USB mining software doesn't do.

But it can't physically pull the miner out and plug it back in.
Physically unplugging it acts like a hardware reset coz the miner itself is not very well designed or made on the cheap.

An example of one that works with zombies is the hashfast hardware ... oh well.

thanks
just couldn't figure out why sometimes (12 U3s) cgminer hotplug one that had gone zombie giving it a new number  and other times it would just let it set there in zombie state needing to have the usb cable unplugged and plugged back in.


Pages: « 1 ... 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 [812] 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!