Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 04:23:19 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 [825] 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4821652 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2016, 11:00:38 AM
 #16481

can someone do a tutorial on how to do s7 cgminer update
Unfortunately the S7 has nothing to do with the official cgminer which this thread is about so you'll have to seek help from bitmain or more likely rely on the community of users of bitmain hardware on other threads.
my mistake i was looking for cgminer instructions on the s5 s7 was on my mind too lol
Same goes for S5.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481127799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127799
Reply with quote  #2

1481127799
Report to moderator
1481127799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127799
Reply with quote  #2

1481127799
Report to moderator
1481127799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127799
Reply with quote  #2

1481127799
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481127799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127799
Reply with quote  #2

1481127799
Report to moderator
1481127799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127799
Reply with quote  #2

1481127799
Report to moderator
1481127799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127799
Reply with quote  #2

1481127799
Report to moderator
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
March 07, 2016, 07:51:27 PM
 #16482

Same goes for S5.
When you guys did the cgminer update for the S1 and the S3 I thought I recalled that the anonymous donor had given enough coin to update the S5 as well, did that never end up happening?
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 07, 2016, 09:23:58 PM
 #16483

Same goes for S5.
When you guys did the cgminer update for the S1 and the S3 I thought I recalled that the anonymous donor had given enough coin to update the S5 as well, did that never end up happening?
anonymous? No
I'll probably send back the last BTC someone said was for the S5, one day - I've never done the S5.

It's also got to the point where running an S5 is a total loss so I never have my half dead one on any more.
Bitmain was going to send me another working S5 (mine only has one working board), then they said they'd send me an S7, then neither ever happened.
Now that I have 2 Avalon6s there's nowhere I could even put an S7 - uses too much power and I have 2 A6s taking up the available power without rearranging my place every time I switch something on.
S5s and S7s make WAY too much noise.

Pool takes priority and I certainly haven't had time to spend a day or 2 on anything else for a long time.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
March 07, 2016, 10:46:12 PM
 #16484

I'll probably send back the last BTC someone said was for the S5, one day - I've never done the S5.
Gotcha, thanks for the update/recap.  I will say that those of us that still use S5s are sad you won't have time to redo cgminer for them, but it is completely understandable.  Guess that means I'll have to get an Avalon for my next miner.  Cool
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
March 08, 2016, 09:22:07 AM
 #16485

can someone do a tutorial on how to do s7 cgminer update
Unfortunately the S7 has nothing to do with the official cgminer which this thread is about so you'll have to seek help from bitmain or more likely rely on the community of users of bitmain hardware on other threads.
my mistake i was looking for cgminer instructions on the s5 s7 was on my mind too lol
Same goes for S5.
ok i was just wondering why this link exists then.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/
I totally understand why people wont deal with bitmain
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 08, 2016, 09:27:37 AM
 #16486

can someone do a tutorial on how to do s7 cgminer update
Unfortunately the S7 has nothing to do with the official cgminer which this thread is about so you'll have to seek help from bitmain or more likely rely on the community of users of bitmain hardware on other threads.
my mistake i was looking for cgminer instructions on the s5 s7 was on my mind too lol
Same goes for S5.
ok i was just wondering why this link exists then.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/
That's just a binary which you're welcome to upload to the S5 and better than bitmain's default one, having fixed a few glaring problems, but there's no comprehensive rewrite of the code like there was for S1-S3 by Kano.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
March 08, 2016, 09:30:10 AM
 #16487

can someone do a tutorial on how to do s7 cgminer update
Unfortunately the S7 has nothing to do with the official cgminer which this thread is about so you'll have to seek help from bitmain or more likely rely on the community of users of bitmain hardware on other threads.
my mistake i was looking for cgminer instructions on the s5 s7 was on my mind too lol
Same goes for S5.
ok i was just wondering why this link exists then.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/
That's just a binary which you're welcome to upload to the S5 and better than bitmain's default one, having fixed a few glaring problems, but there's no comprehensive rewrite of the code like there was for S1-S3 by Kano.
I was just looking for instructions on how to do that.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 08, 2016, 09:42:15 AM
 #16488

I was just looking for instructions on how to do that.
I'd have to search the forums myself for that actually since I don't have them written down anywhere and don't have an S5 any more. You can start by searching for posts on this or the p2pool thread based on the date on the S5 binary there I guess.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
March 08, 2016, 10:38:25 AM
 #16489

That's just a binary which you're welcome to upload to the S5 and better than bitmain's default one, having fixed a few glaring problems, but there's no comprehensive rewrite of the code like there was for S1-S3 by Kano.
I was just looking for instructions on how to do that.

use winscp to connect to your S5 (root/admin)
navigate to /usr/bin
rename cgminer to cgminer.480 (always a good idea to keep a backup...)
copy the new cgminer to /usr/bin
set properties to 0755
disconnect

open your S5 web interface
go to miner configuration
clic save and apply (to restart cgminer without changing config)

done

luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
March 08, 2016, 11:26:06 AM
 #16490

I was just looking for instructions on how to do that.
I'd have to search the forums myself for that actually since I don't have them written down anywhere and don't have an S5 any more. You can start by searching for posts on this or the p2pool thread based on the date on the S5 binary there I guess.

thanks ck I wish i could send you some donations but I'm in a bind this year.
can you add a readme

ssh 192.168.1.x -l root
cd /tmp
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/4.9.0-150105/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
mv /usr/bin/cgminer /usr/bin/cgminer.bak
cp cgminer /usr/bin
/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh restart
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
March 08, 2016, 11:35:57 AM
 #16491

I was just looking for instructions on how to do that.
I'd have to search the forums myself for that actually since I don't have them written down anywhere and don't have an S5 any more. You can start by searching for posts on this or the p2pool thread based on the date on the S5 binary there I guess.

thanks ck I wish i could send you some donations but I'm in a bind this year.
can you add a readme

ssh 192.168.1.x -l root
cd /tmp
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/4.9.0-150105/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
mv /usr/bin/cgminer /usr/bin/cgminer.bak
cp cgminer /usr/bin
/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh restart


you can even shorten the sequence :p

Code:
ssh 192.168.1.x -l root
cd /usr/bin
mv cgminer cgminer.bak
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/4.9.0-150105/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh restart

Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
March 09, 2016, 12:26:52 AM
 #16492

Sweet, so that will update cgminer on the S5 to 4.9.0?  Love it, going to do it when I get home, thanks everyone!
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
March 09, 2016, 06:43:53 AM
 #16493

Sweet, so that will update cgminer on the S5 to 4.9.0?  Love it, going to do it when I get home, thanks everyone!

yes, I did it yesterday, I didn't notice any difference yet.

Note that cgminer reverts to 4.8 if it reboots....

edit, there seems to be a 10C difference in temp (lower with 4.9.0), but that's maybe just because it's early morning and very cold in my non insulated attic where the S5 and 2 S3+ are.

zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
March 13, 2016, 07:43:28 PM
 #16494

Hello

It looks like the GIT repo has been disabled ?

The main site works just fine though so it's not a big deal Smiley



Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
March 14, 2016, 03:46:26 AM
 #16495

Note that cgminer reverts to 4.8 if it reboots....

This is unfortunate, is there no simple way to make it permanent?
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
March 14, 2016, 08:37:08 AM
 #16496

Note that cgminer reverts to 4.8 if it reboots....

This is unfortunate, is there no simple way to make it permanent?

I just verified this morning as I had to relocate my S5, and I can confirm it reloads cgminer 4.8.0.

I had to run again the procedure to update it.

I don't know where the bitmain source is located or what is the process that overwrite the binary... Sad

toptek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
March 16, 2016, 06:30:18 PM
 #16497


anonymous? No
I'll probably send back the last BTC someone said was for the S5, one day - I've never done the S5.



Yea thanks i honestly  thought there was another reason , i normally don't say a  thing in you all thread but wanted to say ty as well for the update and agree Avalon stuff is a lot nicer , i hope they keep it that way , and  trump bitmain in every way , i kind  of got screwed over by bitmain but let go and refuse by any thing from S7 and up unless it's like S3s .They quoted me a price I went to buy it then they jack the price up and play hard noise , IVe sense let it go and Avalon came out to late with the A6 im saving now for the new stuff but Ive seen some A6's sells as low as 599 not sure how real the sells are or if it was a scam or not, i think on ebay believe or not . I'm waiting it out now. I use CK pool a lot more then i used to Smiley: .
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
March 16, 2016, 06:55:08 PM
 #16498

you can even shorten the sequence :p

Code:
ssh 192.168.1.x -l root
cd /usr/bin
mv cgminer cgminer.bak
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/4.9.0-150105/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh restart
So when I ssh to the device it asks for the password, which I input and it tells me "Permission denied".  What's up with that?  I know it's the correct password because I log into the gui  with it just fine.  Hmm...
justsomeguyinfl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
March 17, 2016, 01:16:50 AM
 #16499

you can even shorten the sequence :p

Code:
ssh 192.168.1.x -l root
cd /usr/bin
mv cgminer cgminer.bak
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/4.9.0-150105/cgminer
chmod +x cgminer
/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh restart
So when I ssh to the device it asks for the password, which I input and it tells me "Permission denied".  What's up with that?  I know it's the correct password because I log into the gui  with it just fine.  Hmm...


default login is root/root - but default ssh login is root/admin
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
March 17, 2016, 01:32:37 PM
 #16500

default login is root/root - but default ssh login is root/admin


yes, we answered his question in the S5 thread also, so the information is everywhere Smiley

Good stuff !

Pages: « 1 ... 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 [825] 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!