Bitcoin Forum
May 26, 2017, 12:07:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 [802] 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5139219 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
May 03, 2015, 09:27:08 PM
 #16021


I really appreciate the easy to follow instructions.  They are perfect for someone like me who barely knows what each line is doing, thank you.

Installed the new binary on one of my underclocked ants and now the discard rate is much higher.  Averages around 6% now.  With the previous binary (4.3.2)

it was around  .2%.  Is this normal?  

Exact setting I am using:  [196.88  69 5f06] with latest firmware.

Thanks!

On my now updated to 4.9.1a overclocked (393 freq) S1 I see 0 rejects (used to be around 0.3%), error rate is about the same ~1%.  Hash rate is up a little, too, but we'll see how that levels out.  I had to do the fix for LST time, but no big deal.  I updated the monitor script, too.

Question, I verified the cgminer version via API, but is there a way to see the version from the web GUI, too?  Just curious.

Looking very much forward to updated cgminer for my S3+, keep up the solid work, ck & Kano!
1495757244
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495757244

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495757244
Reply with quote  #2

1495757244
Report to moderator
Some PGP public keys you should import: theymos, BadBear, Sirius, Stefan, Wladimir, Gavin, Gregory, Jeff, Pieter
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2100


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 03, 2015, 10:49:02 PM
 #16022

Installed the new binary on one of my underclocked ants and now the discard rate is much higher.  Averages around 6% now.  With the previous binary (4.3.2)

it was around  .2%.  Is this normal?  

Exact setting I am using:  [196.88  69 5f06] with latest firmware.

Thanks!
Discards do not matter.

Did you mean Rejects?
If so post the full set of relevant numbers:
Elasped, DiffA, DiffR

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
helipotte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591


My miners have lost their smoke.


View Profile
May 03, 2015, 11:26:43 PM
 #16023

Installed the new binary on one of my underclocked ants and now the discard rate is much higher.  Averages around 6% now.  With the previous binary (4.3.2)

it was around  .2%.  Is this normal?  

Exact setting I am using:  [196.88  69 5f06] with latest firmware.

Thanks!
Discards do not matter.

Did you mean Rejects?
If so post the full set of relevant numbers:
Elasped, DiffA, DiffR

Rejects are actually very low.  Just curious about the discards.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2100


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 03, 2015, 11:36:27 PM
 #16024

Installed the new binary on one of my underclocked ants and now the discard rate is much higher.  Averages around 6% now.  With the previous binary (4.3.2)

it was around  .2%.  Is this normal?  

Exact setting I am using:  [196.88  69 5f06] with latest firmware.

Thanks!
Discards do not matter.

Did you mean Rejects?
If so post the full set of relevant numbers:
Elasped, DiffA, DiffR

Rejects are actually very low.  Just curious about the discards.
Discards are unused work - so they mean nothing in terms of shares or hash rate.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2100


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 04, 2015, 09:58:04 AM
 #16025


I really appreciate the easy to follow instructions.  They are perfect for someone like me who barely knows what each line is doing, thank you.

Installed the new binary on one of my underclocked ants and now the discard rate is much higher.  Averages around 6% now.  With the previous binary (4.3.2)

it was around  .2%.  Is this normal?  

Exact setting I am using:  [196.88  69 5f06] with latest firmware.

Thanks!

On my now updated to 4.9.1a overclocked (393 freq) S1 I see 0 rejects (used to be around 0.3%), error rate is about the same ~1%.  Hash rate is up a little, too, but we'll see how that levels out.  I had to do the fix for LST time, but no big deal.  I updated the monitor script, too.

Question, I verified the cgminer version via API, but is there a way to see the version from the web GUI, too?  Just curious.
No, the web interface shows the package version, which of course doesn't change when you replace the cgminer binary.

Quote
Looking very much forward to updated cgminer for my S3+, keep up the solid work, ck & Kano!
S2 is in the works now, the S3 is after that and will be more effort than the S1 and S2 combined Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
May 04, 2015, 04:06:33 PM
 #16026


No, the web interface shows the package version, which of course doesn't change when you replace the cgminer binary.

Quote
Looking very much forward to updated cgminer for my S3+, keep up the solid work, ck & Kano!
S2 is in the works now, the S3 is after that and will be more effort than the S1 and S2 combined Smiley

That's what I figured, but wanted to double check.  Thanks for including the API version check instructions, makes me feel better to verify that I did it correctly.

Good luck with S2 and S3, sorry to hear S3 is going to be so much work, hopefully it's worth it!
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2100


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 05, 2015, 09:37:36 AM
 #16027

I had an issue raised on git regarding the S1 API.
Seems it may have been a user typing error?
Anyone else seen any problem like this that they can reproduce?
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/issues/9
The API IPv6 changes by someone else were initially problematic but later fixed.
So, I wasn't 100% certain if there were still any more IPv4 problems from the changes for the IPv6 code.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
May 05, 2015, 06:11:26 PM
 #16028

I had an issue raised on git regarding the S1 API.
Seems it may have been a user typing error?
Anyone else seen any problem like this that they can reproduce?
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/issues/9
The API IPv6 changes by someone else were initially problematic but later fixed.
So, I wasn't 100% certain if there were still any more IPv4 problems from the changes for the IPv6 code.

I have no IPv4 problems with my S1 API running 4.9.1a.

Here's cryptoGlance reporting my S1 via API:
WBF1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372


View Profile
May 13, 2015, 01:08:26 PM
 #16029

I cloned and built cgminer from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer yesterday and it wouldn't work with my ASICMiner Tubes connected via USB.

I decided to try the version here: https://github.com/blockerupter/cgminer and it worked, but it's six months old.

Is this a known issue? Or should I start digging to see what broke it?
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1348



View Profile
May 13, 2015, 04:32:23 PM
 #16030

I cloned and built cgminer from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer yesterday and it wouldn't work with my ASICMiner Tubes connected via USB.

I decided to try the version here: https://github.com/blockerupter/cgminer and it worked, but it's six months old.

Is this a known issue? Or should I start digging to see what broke it?

If the version you last compiled is working, what features would you need from the new version?
Why not stick to that one?

Free Coins - 🍒🍉🌼 Free Game🌼🍉🍒
BEST FAUCET EVER!!! - Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
WBF1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372


View Profile
May 13, 2015, 05:10:38 PM
 #16031

I cloned and built cgminer from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer yesterday and it wouldn't work with my ASICMiner Tubes connected via USB.

I decided to try the version here: https://github.com/blockerupter/cgminer and it worked, but it's six months old.

Is this a known issue? Or should I start digging to see what broke it?

If the version you last compiled is working, what features would you need from the new version?
Why not stick to that one?

Regressions are usually worth looking into.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2015, 11:14:19 PM
 #16032

I cloned and built cgminer from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer yesterday and it wouldn't work with my ASICMiner Tubes connected via USB.

I decided to try the version here: https://github.com/blockerupter/cgminer and it worked, but it's six months old.

Is this a known issue? Or should I start digging to see what broke it?

If the version you last compiled is working, what features would you need from the new version?
Why not stick to that one?

Regressions are usually worth looking into.
You're comparing it to a different codebase. As far as I'm aware, the blockerupter code that was contributed by them to mainline cgminer NEVER worked. None of the main devs ever got any hardware from them to get it working and they never contributed fixes to make sure it was working. I don't go chasing code from other people's branches to get mainline cgminer working with hardware from manufacturers that never really engaged the software community they depend on but I'm very happy to receive fixes from outside sources if they're willing to maintain it. The avalon nano and the blockerupter drivers both fall into the "submitted but broken code" category I'm afraid.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
WBF1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372


View Profile
May 14, 2015, 01:44:19 AM
 #16033

I cloned and built cgminer from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer yesterday and it wouldn't work with my ASICMiner Tubes connected via USB.

I decided to try the version here: https://github.com/blockerupter/cgminer and it worked, but it's six months old.

Is this a known issue? Or should I start digging to see what broke it?

If the version you last compiled is working, what features would you need from the new version?
Why not stick to that one?

Regressions are usually worth looking into.
You're comparing it to a different codebase. As far as I'm aware, the blockerupter code that was contributed by them to mainline cgminer NEVER worked. None of the main devs ever got any hardware from them to get it working and they never contributed fixes to make sure it was working. I don't go chasing code from other people's branches to get mainline cgminer working with hardware from manufacturers that never really engaged the software community they depend on but I'm very happy to receive fixes from outside sources if they're willing to maintain it. The avalon nano and the blockerupter drivers both fall into the "submitted but broken code" category I'm afraid.

Thanks for the reply. I was under the impression that it worked at some point. I'll just use the working version from the blockerupter repo.
Alien77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 15, 2015, 06:51:38 AM
 #16034

Hi all.
Using Raspberry, OS Raspbian, Cgminer 4.8.0 (from https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer) and Antminer U3.
At working, Cgminer show 10-15Gh, but in Bitmain specifications U3 hash rate 63Gh±5%.
Maybe worked 1 of 4 chip in AU3? Any way solve this problem?
Thanks.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2015, 07:20:41 AM
 #16035

Hi all.
Using Raspberry, OS Raspbian, Cgminer 4.8.0 (from https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer) and Antminer U3.
At working, Cgminer show 10-15Gh, but in Bitmain specifications U3 hash rate 63Gh±5%.
Maybe worked 1 of 4 chip in AU3? Any way solve this problem?
Thanks.

You're using the cgminer from bitmain instead of the official cgminer which this forum thread is about. Try cgminer 4.9.0 (best for U3) from the official sources (links in top post).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Alien77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 15, 2015, 09:11:56 AM
 #16036

Hi all.
Using Raspberry, OS Raspbian, Cgminer 4.8.0 (from https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer) and Antminer U3.
At working, Cgminer show 10-15Gh, but in Bitmain specifications U3 hash rate 63Gh±5%.
Maybe worked 1 of 4 chip in AU3? Any way solve this problem?
Thanks.

You're using the cgminer from bitmain instead of the official cgminer which this forum thread is about. Try cgminer 4.9.0 (best for U3) from the official sources (links in top post).

Install cgminer-4.9.0 no effect. Still low hash rate(
NathanB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 15, 2015, 10:05:32 AM
 #16037

--au3-freq 250 --au3-volt 800

try options
Alien77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 15, 2015, 11:35:06 AM
 #16038

--au3-freq 250 --au3-volt 800

try options

Tried, nothing has changed. I may be incorrectly configured cgminer?   ./configure --enable-icarus
NathanB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 15, 2015, 12:05:25 PM
 #16039

--au3-freq 250 --au3-volt 800

try options

Tried, nothing has changed. I may be incorrectly configured cgminer?   ./configure --enable-icarus

i do, always worked for me

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev

wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/4.9/cgminer-4.9.0.tar.bz2

tar xvf cgminer-4.9.0.tar.bz2

cd cgminer-4.9.0

./configure --enable-icarus

make

cd cgminer-4.9.0

./cgminer -o pool:port -u userid -p password --au3-freq 250 --au3-volt 800
Alien77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 15, 2015, 12:12:47 PM
 #16040

--au3-freq 250 --au3-volt 800

try options

Tried, nothing has changed. I may be incorrectly configured cgminer?   ./configure --enable-icarus

i do, always worked for me

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev

wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/4.9/cgminer-4.9.0.tar.bz2

tar xvf cgminer-4.9.0.tar.bz2

cd cgminer-4.9.0

./configure --enable-icarus

make

cd cgminer-4.9.0

./cgminer -o pool:port -u userid -p password --au3-freq 250 --au3-volt 800

I erased the cgminer.conf and now u3 is work correctly. Thank you very much.
Pages: « 1 ... 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 [802] 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!