Bitcoin Forum
June 16, 2024, 12:34:28 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 [802] 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805300 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2015, 03:18:46 PM
 #16021

Ooops-a-daisy! Do tell ..... why's that as I use it very often?
2 reasons:
1) a restart wont get new settings, it just restarts with the settings it was first started with.
2) restart isn't 100% reliable - processes can lock up while trying to do that under rare circumstances.
quit works fine Smiley
I use it in the knowledge it won't get new settings (can set those before if I wanted though) and reliability has not (touch wood) been an issue for me thus far .... (big sigh!)

Will post about the other 2 issues later (though you seem to have quashed the restart one). Just noticed with the API that the type has changed to AS3 ... so that may be the issue (though have not looked at the returned data from the poll just yet)

I'll leave you get your kip ...

Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2015, 07:14:52 PM
 #16022

I've put an AntS3 update archive in my binaries git hub of latest 4.9.2 cgminer.
For details and installing: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

This has been tested and run on both an old AntS3 and one of the later AntS3

I don't have an AntS3+ but I suspect it should work fine there also.

The menu frequency settings in the "Miner Configuration" "Advanced Settings" web interface includes default settings for both S3 and S3+

I've, of course, tested it on my pool https://kano.is/

It should also be OK on p2pool since it's the same code related to p2pool as in my AntS1 and AntS2 releases

Please give it a try and let me know if anyone has any trouble with it on AntS3 or AntS3+

Most excellent, will update my S3+ tonight!
studysession
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 02, 2015, 08:12:54 PM
 #16023

Just left it alone over night and seemed to corrected itself. All 3 seem to be mining fine now thank you.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 03, 2015, 12:56:59 AM
 #16024

Please give it a try and let me know if anyone has any trouble with it on AntS3 or AntS3+
[/quote]

AntS3+ working good on my miners. Running 30 mins with no problems.
Thank You

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 03, 2015, 03:28:15 AM
 #16025

Quote
However, wget on the AntS3 won't allow https by default so I've copied it
to my link specified in the wget above

Am I understanding this correctly, that by following the basic update instructions, cgminer-monitor is updated as well; there are no additional step like there is for the S1?  Thanks.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4522
Merit: 1844


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 03, 2015, 03:42:34 AM
 #16026

Quote
However, wget on the AntS3 won't allow https by default so I've copied it
to my link specified in the wget above

Am I understanding this correctly, that by following the basic update instructions, cgminer-monitor is updated as well; there are no additional step like there is for the S1?  Thanks.
Yes just the steps shown at the top to do it - the tar extract and the cgset do everything
The rest below just explains what's going on.
Of course you should check your settings as it suggests.

... have you ever tried the U3 on cgminer? (latest 4.9.2)
We use proper USB access to devices, not 30 year old filtered serial access that hides important information
(and cgminer has since I first changed it to use USB long ago)
Direct USB has many advantages over the filtered serial access.
... though of course the U3 itself is pretty shoddy Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2015, 10:57:21 AM
Last edit: July 03, 2015, 11:37:58 AM by pekatete
 #16027

I am hoping this is the right thread to ask about the changes in the API on the latest cgminer for S3.
From where do you pick up / compute the GH/S(paid) and GH/S(avg) values? (With the last API, there was the MHS 5s and MHS av).
Also, could you throw some light on extra fill_*** and read_*** variables returned by a stats request from the API?

EDIT: Found the GH/S(avg) in the summary response ...... not the paid though! More light on the fill_*** and read_*** in the stats response Huh

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4522
Merit: 1844


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 03, 2015, 11:59:49 AM
Last edit: July 03, 2015, 12:26:11 PM by kano
 #16028

I am hoping this is the right thread to ask about the changes in the API on the latest cgminer for S3.
From where do you pick up / compute the GH/S(paid) and GH/S(avg) values? (With the last API, there was the MHS 5s and MHS av).
Also, could you throw some light on extra fill_*** and read_*** variables returned by a stats request from the API?

EDIT: Found the GH/S(avg) in the summary response ...... not the paid though! More light on the fill_*** and read_*** in the stats response Huh
Paid = Difficulty Accepted * 2^32 / Elapsed
... which should sorta be obvious ... Smiley

That's also what I do here:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/miner.php#L327

The new stats I added to sort out the bitmain stupidity and tune the code Tongue
Edit: Their code checks for sending work nonces something like 100,000 times a second ... so yeah that's pretty pointless.
My default does about 1000 times a second so uses a lot less CPU with hardly any extra latency added - certainly not enough to ever care about.

You'd have to read my code to work out all the fill/read stats Smiley
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/driver-bitmain.c#L3007

Also I've got all the settings (at the top below 'Min', and opt_* at the bottom) in stats so you can see the settings it's running.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2015, 12:22:16 PM
 #16029

I am hoping this is the right thread to ask about the changes in the API on the latest cgminer for S3.
From where do you pick up / compute the GH/S(paid) and GH/S(avg) values? (With the last API, there was the MHS 5s and MHS av).
Also, could you throw some light on extra fill_*** and read_*** variables returned by a stats request from the API?

EDIT: Found the GH/S(avg) in the summary response ...... not the paid though! More light on the fill_*** and read_*** in the stats response Huh
Paid = Difficulty Accepted * 2^32 / Elapsed
... which should sorta be obvious ... Smiley

That's also what I do here:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/miner.php#L327

The new stats I added to sort out the bitmain stupidity and tune the code Tongue
Their code checks for nonces something like 100,000 times a second ... so yeah that's pretty pointless.
My default does about 1000 times a second so uses a lot less CPU with hardly any extra latency added - certainly not enough to ever care about.

You'd have to read my code to work out all the fill/read stats Smiley
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/driver-bitmain.c#L3007

Also I've got all the settings (at the top below 'Min', and opt_* at the bottom) in stats so you can see the settings it's running.

Thanks ..... I'll try and read the code to get a bit of a grasp on the read/fill stats. With regard to the paid ..... yep, obvious to I suppose but I was on the assumption you had the computed value somewhere in a response to the API (no worries, will do the maths on my end ... or even just go with the 5s metric as it still resides in the summary response).

Not sure whether this has to do with how bitmain muddled things up in the first place, but the last S3 API response from a stats command contained the hash speeds too (and so do the few other non S3 rigs running older cgminer versions that I have). Would it be a big ask to request to re-include those metrics in the status command so as to have consistency in the API across versions? I know someone mentioned in another thread that it has broken M's monitor too ..... I am sure other monitors will also have to revisit their code to accomodate the new S3 cgminer API.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4522
Merit: 1844


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 03, 2015, 12:28:12 PM
 #16030

Use summary+estats

No idea why they copied information from one reply to another.
So yet another stupid thing they did Tongue

It has never done that in master cgminer.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2015, 12:44:33 PM
 #16031

Use summary+estats

No idea why they copied information from one reply to another.
So yet another stupid thing they did Tongue

It has never done that in master cgminer.

yep, had recoded / resorted to summary+stats to get around that ..... it just crossed my mind that for the currently un-maintained monitors, users are going to be left scratching their heads, though I agree, thats no reason to break your end to accomodate bitmain's lapses.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4522
Merit: 1844


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 03, 2015, 12:52:30 PM
 #16032

Use summary+estats

No idea why they copied information from one reply to another.
So yet another stupid thing they did Tongue

It has never done that in master cgminer.

yep, had recoded / resorted to summary+stats to get around that ..... it just crossed my mind that for the currently un-maintained monitors, users are going to be left scratching their heads, though I agree, thats no reason to break your end to accomodate bitmain's lapses.
Well if someone has coded into a monitor to look for the hash rate in stats, that wont work for most miners.
Probably only Bitmain ... and not even all Bitmain either, I'm pretty sure the original S1 didn't do that.

I'd guess you don't realise, 'summary+estats' is better to use than 'summary+stats' for what you are doing.
estats excludes the special pool low level stats list and (though not relevant for Bitmain Sn) ignores zombies - neither of which you'd want.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2015, 01:01:08 PM
 #16033

Use summary+estats

No idea why they copied information from one reply to another.
So yet another stupid thing they did Tongue

It has never done that in master cgminer.

yep, had recoded / resorted to summary+stats to get around that ..... it just crossed my mind that for the currently un-maintained monitors, users are going to be left scratching their heads, though I agree, thats no reason to break your end to accomodate bitmain's lapses.
Well if someone has coded into a monitor to look for the hash rate in stats, that wont work for most miners.
Probably only Bitmain ... and not even all Bitmain either, I'm pretty sure the original S1 didn't do that.

I'd guess you don't realise, 'summary+estats' is better to use than 'summary+stats' for what you are doing.
estats excludes the special pool low level stats list and (though not relevant for Bitmain Sn) ignores zombies - neither of which you'd want.

For S1 its always worked with stats+devs and for the S3 (before cgminer 4.9.2 & API 3.6) just stats worked OK. For most of the rest non bitmain, devs had it all. But you are right, estats is more compact so may resort to that (though stats has the few objects I want pulled too)

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4522
Merit: 1844


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 03, 2015, 01:12:10 PM
 #16034

Yes you can use devs or summary on a Bitmain Sn miner.
That's coz there's only one dev so they have the same values without having to add up the devs
If you do that on any mining device that internally has more then one dev, you need to add up all the devs to get the summary amount.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2015, 01:22:17 PM
Last edit: July 03, 2015, 01:37:33 PM by pekatete
 #16035

If you do that on any mining device that internally has more then one dev, you need to add up all the devs to get the summary amount.

My custom monitor is on windows and linq makes it trivial to pull the non null/empty values from the API response and average them out (though I just tend to list the values for each).
Saying that, with the new S3 API, it throws up a wierd character on chain_acs11 (also seen it on chain_acs10). It keeps changing though ... here's a screenshot of it in putty (my monitor is currently in debug mode but will post how it manifests on the form when I am up and running again).



EDIT: Here's the gremlin in my monitor!


kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4522
Merit: 1844


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 03, 2015, 01:57:23 PM
 #16036

If you do that on any mining device that internally has more then one dev, you need to add up all the devs to get the summary amount.

My custom monitor is on windows and linq makes it trivial to pull the non null/empty values from the API response and average them out (though I just tend to list the values for each).
Saying that, with the new S3 API, it throws up a wierd character on chain_acs11 (also seen it on chain_acs10). It keeps changing though ... here's a screenshot of it in putty (my monitor is currently in debug mode but will post how it manifests on the form when I am up and running again).

http://s11.postimg.org/n67k0lqjn/S3_Gremlin.png

EDIT: Here's the gremlin in my monitor!

http://s2.postimg.org/87zo87th5/S3_Gremlin1.png
I'll look into it (I don't see it at all on mine - so it may be a bug on your end)

But you already know not to display it:
   [miner_count] => 2
for tempX, chain_acnX and chain_acsX
i.e. 2 means 0 and 1 for X

of course same for fan:
   [fan_num] => 2
for fanX

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2015, 02:09:46 PM
Last edit: July 03, 2015, 05:36:36 PM by pekatete
 #16037

If you do that on any mining device that internally has more then one dev, you need to add up all the devs to get the summary amount.

My custom monitor is on windows and linq makes it trivial to pull the non null/empty values from the API response and average them out (though I just tend to list the values for each).
Saying that, with the new S3 API, it throws up a wierd character on chain_acs11 (also seen it on chain_acs10). It keeps changing though ... here's a screenshot of it in putty (my monitor is currently in debug mode but will post how it manifests on the form when I am up and running again).

http://s11.postimg.org/n67k0lqjn/S3_Gremlin.png

EDIT: Here's the gremlin in my monitor!

http://s2.postimg.org/87zo87th5/S3_Gremlin1.png
I'll look into it (I don't see it at all on mine - so it may be a bug on your end)

But you already know not to display it:
   [miner_count] => 2
for tempX, chain_acnX and chain_acsX
i.e. 2 means 0 and 1 for X

of course same for fan:
   [fan_num] => 2
for fanX

It definitely is on my end. I initially thought it was because I was running a pre-release putty 0.65 (to fix the bug that was fixed in windows update that meant putty could not render its window) but then it showed up in my form. And yes, I could (and now have) use the miner count, or even check for length, but thought you may want to know in case there was something more to it.
While on that subject (and I'll make the the last one), I also noticed that initially the response for chains 1 and 2 had double the "chips", with the first set all dashes ..... however this cleared up soon enough and I have not replicated it since I've left the S3 I am testing this on to run (now 24 hrs+). Again, did not mention it ealier as it cleared up quickly .....

EDIT:  Did a restart and here is the initial confusion per my monitor ...



I know I said that was the last one, but the API still returns "broken" JSON when queried with two commands on the same line. Easy enough to fix by adding a comma between any curly braces backing onto each other .....

luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 03, 2015, 08:52:16 PM
 #16038

Some more feedback about S3+. I noticed that HW error droped on most of my miners by .003%. Everything running good here about 20 hours on each miner.  I like the new view on the miner stats simple and straight forward the way I  like it. Great work. Bitmain should hire you (if you would choose to work for a company like that.) I dont get it with all the epic fails on there part dont know why they don't try to pick up a dev that knows what they are doing.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 04, 2015, 06:36:31 AM
 #16039

Yes just the steps shown at the top to do it - the tar extract and the cgset do everything
The rest below just explains what's going on.
Of course you should check your settings as it suggests.

... have you ever tried the U3 on cgminer? (latest 4.9.2)
We use proper USB access to devices, not 30 year old filtered serial access that hides important information
(and cgminer has since I first changed it to use USB long ago)
Direct USB has many advantages over the filtered serial access.
... though of course the U3 itself is pretty shoddy Tongue

Thanks, still haven't gotten around to updating my S3+, will do that soon.

I have not used 4.9.2 on my U3s yet, I have them at another location at the moment and that machine does not grant me necessary permissions to use zadig and modify usb drivers, so I am pursuing other avenues there.  Once summer is over I'll bring them home and run them with cgminer again.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4522
Merit: 1844


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 04, 2015, 10:49:17 AM
 #16040

...
I know I said that was the last one, but the API still returns "broken" JSON when queried with two commands on the same line. Easy enough to fix by adding a comma between any curly braces backing onto each other .....
What command did you send it so I can test it?

If you send json as multiple commands with + between them they become an array of replies

 {"command":"cmd1+cmd2"}
replies with
 {"cmd1":[{ ... reply1 ... }],"cmd2":[{ ... reply2 ... }]}

where { ... reply1 ... } is what you'd get from {"command":"cmd1"}

Edit: reading your comment again - you can't send 2 commands - only one per API access (and then the API socket closes)
You can join them, as I've mentioned above, with a +, to get an array of answers in one command (but they can only be "report" commands)
... as in https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
Pages: « 1 ... 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 [802] 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!