Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:34:01 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 [819] 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823489 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2015, 10:57:22 PM
 #16361

-ck,
Did you know that Firefox is now blocking your web pages?
No I did not  Angry

Some fucking moron has confused legit mining software with trojans packing ancient versions of cgminer as the innocent bystander. Unfortunately getting someone ONTO this list is easy and getting off it is annoying. FFS...
Trying to resolve this is almost futile... Talking to "google" is like SETI. If I get a response it will be a fucking miracle when everything is done on such a grand scale without any human involvement. If this keeps up my only choice will be to drop windows support entirely. The worst part of this by far is that google is now actively blocking the only official download site: http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer from its searches so they're unintentionally leading people to sites that might actually contain malicious versions of cgminer instead. This is a disaster. I've removed all windows .zip versions from the site now, leaving only the .7z versions since by default windows wouldn't be able to extract those versions unless you also install 7zip in a desperate attempt to get the malicious warning removed.

Here is the discussion trying to get someone to help resolve the issue but instead I only got the usual level of "well bad luck" type response:
https://productforums.google.com/forum/?utm_medium=email&utm_source=footer#!msg/webmasters/TjHFe7gjBS8/Qu1xw1LQcR4J

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481229241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229241
Reply with quote  #2

1481229241
Report to moderator
1481229241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229241
Reply with quote  #2

1481229241
Report to moderator
1481229241
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229241

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229241
Reply with quote  #2

1481229241
Report to moderator
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
October 15, 2015, 11:10:26 PM
 #16362

That's strange, I can access your site no problem with Waterfox - which is a 64bit version of Firefox, & my AV (Comodo) has never flagged cgminer.....

Google being evil again  Angry
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2015, 11:13:09 PM
 #16363

That's strange, I can access your site no problem with Waterfox - which is a 64bit version of Firefox, & my AV (Comodo) has never flagged cgminer.....

Google being evil again  Angry
Yeah I'm not sure which versions of firefox are affected. On one PC it's fine but on another here (newer version) it comes up with the malicious warning. Try searching for cgminer in google as well and see if the site even shows up now.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
October 15, 2015, 11:39:55 PM
 #16364

That's strange, I can access your site no problem with Waterfox - which is a 64bit version of Firefox, & my AV (Comodo) has never flagged cgminer.....

Google being evil again  Angry
Yeah I'm not sure which versions of firefox are affected. On one PC it's fine but on another here (newer version) it comes up with the malicious warning. Try searching for cgminer in google as well and see if the site even shows up now.

Your github page shows up top on all my search engines, but not your website http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/

And you're right, google are showing numerous dodgy sites for your software - unbelievable!

Edit: Apparently, these guys handle suspected malware sites for google & a few other search engines:

https://www.stopbadware.org/request-review

Give them a go  Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2015, 11:44:54 PM
 #16365

Edit: Apparently, these guys handle suspected malware sites for google & a few other search engines:

https://www.stopbadware.org/request-review

Give them a go  Smiley
I've bashed their request page repeatedly and had the same kind of ignoring from them.

EDIT: The basic problem is there is no way to appeal against files that are flagged as malware. All the official channels for review have no scope for you to argue that case.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
October 15, 2015, 11:56:59 PM
 #16366

The basic problem is there is no way to appeal against files that are flagged as malware. All the official channels for review have no scope for you to argue that case.

Yup, Google are a law unto themselves. But it's strange that it's not a blanket ban, which is usually the case. I get the feeling there's more to this than meets the eye.......

I don't know what to suggest - apart from a mass of email complaints from all cgminer users......now that would be something  Wink
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
October 16, 2015, 06:36:04 AM
 #16367

Yeah I'm not sure which versions of firefox are affected. On one PC it's fine but on another here (newer version) it comes up with the malicious warning. Try searching for cgminer in google as well and see if the site even shows up now.

I can access http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/ on my XP machine running firefox 41.0.2, but like others have mentioned a google search for "cgminer" only shows the github page, and "cgminer download" shows a bunch of garbage.  How frustrating.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2015, 09:02:50 AM
 #16368

So deleting the zip versions of the cgminer archives was enough to appease the stupid google system into not seeing the files that it was complaining were malware. Only .7z archives for windows binaries are now available for download. Now the firefox warning should have gone away, though the google search is yet to show the correct cgminer site.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 16, 2015, 09:25:50 AM
 #16369

So deleting the zip versions of the cgminer archives was enough to appease the stupid google system into not seeing the files that it was complaining were malware. Only .7z archives for windows binaries are now available for download. Now the firefox warning should have gone away, though the google search is yet to show the correct cgminer site.

Yep, Firefox 41.0.1 for Windoze is happy, for now.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
October 16, 2015, 05:16:18 PM
 #16370

though the google search is yet to show the correct cgminer site.

It appears to be fixed now (Windows 7, Firefox 41.0.1), probably just took some time to re-propagate out across the interwebs:

cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 01:12:18 AM
 #16371

I have a simple question regarding cgminer that I failed to find an answer to in README and other sources.

I'm experimenting with my hobby project with the following setup of 7 ASICs:

- ASICMINER Block Erupter (x4);
- Avalon Nano3 (x1);
- Antminer U3 (x2).

All these devices are supported by the same driver (icarus). However, I would like to use different driver options (like timing) for each specific vendor. Do I have to run three different instances of cgminer (manually restricting each of them with --usb option), or it is possible to specify separate set of options for each group of devices within one instance?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 01:29:49 AM
 #16372

I have a simple question regarding cgminer that I failed to find an answer to in README and other sources.

I'm experimenting with my hobby project with the following setup of 7 ASICs:

- ASICMINER Block Erupter (x4);
- Avalon Nano3 (x1);
- Antminer U3 (x2).

All these devices are supported by the same driver (icarus). However, I would like to use different driver options (like timing) for each specific vendor. Do I have to run three different instances of cgminer (manually restricting each of them with --usb option), or it is possible to specify separate set of options for each group of devices within one instance?

--icarus-timing <arg> Set how the Icarus timing is calculated - one setting/value for all or comma separated

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2015, 01:32:12 AM
 #16373

I have a simple question regarding cgminer that I failed to find an answer to in README and other sources.

I'm experimenting with my hobby project with the following setup of 7 ASICs:

- ASICMINER Block Erupter (x4);
- Avalon Nano3 (x1);
- Antminer U3 (x2).

All these devices are supported by the same driver (icarus). However, I would like to use different driver options (like timing) for each specific vendor. Do I have to run three different instances of cgminer (manually restricting each of them with --usb option), or it is possible to specify separate set of options for each group of devices within one instance?
Whatever reason you want to use timing is wrong. You almost certainly do not want to adjust timing. Any options you are likely to really want to adjust for different devices are device specific anyway (like --au3-freq). Trust me, whatever reason you think you want to use for timing is misguided.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 09:19:07 PM
 #16374

Quote
Whatever reason you want to use timing is wrong. You almost certainly do not want to adjust timing. Any options you are likely to really want to adjust for different devices are device specific anyway (like --au3-freq). Trust me, whatever reason you think you want to use for timing is misguided.

For instance, --icarus-timing 0.22 seems to be required for Avalon Nano 3 (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon_nano ). Otherwise, cgminer shows ~500 KH/s rate instead of ~3.6 GH/s, and the device is idling most of the time according to its status LED and temperature. However, this timing is clearly inappropriate for ASICMiner Block Erupter that I'm trying to use at the same time.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2015, 09:26:15 PM
 #16375

For instance, --icarus-timing 0.22 seems to be required for Avalon Nano 3 (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon_nano ). Otherwise, cgminer shows ~500 KH/s rate instead of ~3.6 GH/s, and the device is idling most of the time according to its status LED and temperature. However, this timing is clearly inappropriate for ASICMiner Block Erupter that I'm trying to use at the same time.
Does avalon nano actually work? I've never heard of anyone getting the driver working before... I apologise in that case. Then you'll need to confine them with separate cgminer instances. The easiest way would be to find which ports belong to different usb buses and then put the nano on one usb bus and confine that cgminer version with the --usb command.

EG: If you find which ports belong to usb bus 1 and usb bus 2, then start one cgminer instance with all the other devices plugged into bus 1 with --usb 1:* and put the avalon nano on bus 2 ports and start cgminer with --usb 2:*

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 09:56:02 PM
 #16376

Quote
Does avalon nano actually work?

Actually it works just fine with --icarus-options 115200:1:1 and --icarus-timing 0.22 settings, maybe with HW error rate on a relatively higher side (~7%).

Quote
The easiest way would be to find which ports belong to different usb buses and then put the nano on one usb bus and confine that cgminer version with the --usb command.

I understand that, it's just not very convenient in my configuration (Raspbnerry Pi 2 + 12-port USB hub), where all the ports in the hub belong to the same USB bus. I need separate USB hub for each device family, etc. That's why I asked my question. But if there is no way to run all devices from just one cgminer instance, then I will have to rearrange hardware somehow. Thanks for your answer.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2015, 09:59:23 PM
 #16377

Quote
Does avalon nano actually work?

Actually it works just fine with --icarus-options 115200:1:1 and --icarus-timing 0.22 settings, maybe with HW error rate on a relatively higher side (~7%).

Quote
The easiest way would be to find which ports belong to different usb buses and then put the nano on one usb bus and confine that cgminer version with the --usb command.

I understand that, it's just not very convenient in my configuration (Raspbnerry Pi 2 + 12-port USB hub), where all the ports in the hub belong to the same USB bus. I need separate USB hub for each device family, etc. That's why I asked my question. But if there is no way to run all devices from just one cgminer instance, then I will have to rearrange hardware somehow. Thanks for your answer.
No there isn't because too many devices use the same damn usb communication chip without any added identifier for cgminer to tell them apart and blindly use the 1st fpga/asic driver from cgminer (icarus) in different ways. The icarus commands were never designed with different devices in mind but new devices+drivers continue to come out that use that driver as though it's the only device connected.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 11:20:00 PM
 #16378

Quote
No there isn't because too many devices use the same damn usb communication chip without any added identifier for cgminer to tell them apart and blindly use the 1st fpga/asic driver from cgminer (icarus) in different ways. The icarus commands were never designed with different devices in mind but new devices+drivers continue to come out that use that driver as though it's the only device connected.

My devices have different USB chips and vendor IDs:

$ cgminer --ndevs
 [2015-10-17 23:18:08.516] USB all: found 11 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 253 Device 3 ID: 1fc9:0083
  Manufacturer: 'NXP'
  Product: 'VCOM Port'
.USB dev 1: Bus 250 Device 5 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'                   
 [2015-10-17 23:18:08.518] 2 known USB devices

But I understand that it's not always the case.

Maybe it's reasonable to add some optional modifiers to icarus (or any other) settings that will allow to specify device bus ID/ID/vendor ID which these settings belong to?

BTW, I just found out that RPi 2 only has just one USB bus (and all it's four USB port sit on it), so --usb 1:* approach doesn't work for me. It seems that I have to write some script now, which analyzes lsusb/cgminer --ndevs output, sorts devices by their vendor ID into groups, and then runs different cgminer instances with specific options for each group. It would be nice to have all this out-of-box, of course)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2015, 11:43:30 PM
 #16379

BTW, I just found out that RPi 2 only has just one USB bus (and all it's four USB port sit on it), so --usb 1:* approach doesn't work for me. It seems that I have to write some script now, which analyzes lsusb/cgminer --ndevs output, sorts devices by their vendor ID into groups, and then runs different cgminer instances with specific options for each group. It would be nice to have all this out-of-box, of course)
There's a good chance that that device doesn't keep changing usb positions (unlike the U3). In which case you can just specify exactly the usb position it's at with the nano cgminer instance. --usb 1:3 etc.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
October 18, 2015, 02:01:31 AM
 #16380

Here is my script. Maybe someone will find it useful to run cgminer in multiple-vendor environment.

Code:
#!/bin/bash

url="stratum+tcp://eu.stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333"
username="cameloid"
password="x"
api_base_port="4028"
log_path="/home/pi/cgminer/";

device_id[1]="1fc9:0083" # Avalon Nano
device_id[2]="10c4:ea60" # ASICMiner Block Erupter

options[1]="--icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 0.22"
options[2]=""

for ((i=1; i <= ${#device_id[@]} ; i++))
do
        usb_options="$(cgminer --ndevs | grep ${device_id[i]} | awk '{ print $5":"$7}' | xargs | sed 's/ /,/g')"
        if [ -z "${usb_options}" ]; then
                echo "No devices with ID ${device_id[i]} found"
        else
                echo "Running worker #$i, device ID: ${device_id[i]}..."
                $(cgminer ${options[i]} -o $url -u $username.worker$i -p $password --api-listen --api-port $((api_base_port+i-1)) -T --usb $usb_options >> ($log_path)cgminer.worker($i).log &)
        fi
        usb_options=""
done
Pages: « 1 ... 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 [819] 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!