Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:09:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 [810] 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4816168 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 10, 2015, 04:38:47 AM
 #16181

I've put yet another updated AntS3 update archive in my binaries git hub of latest 4.9.2 cgminer.
For details and installing: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

It's another (minor) update to the previous AntS3 release I did:

Code:
2015-Jul-10 Update cgminer-ants3-4.9.2-94e04f6-3.tgz
----------------------------------------------------
Add a table of miner hardware settings to the bottom of the Miner Status page

Tested and running on my pool of course Smiley

If you are already running the 2015-Jul-7 version (the previous update)
Code:
If you update from the 2015-Jul-7 version to the 2015-Jul-10 version,
instead of 'sync' and 'reboot' at the end of the update,
you can instead run this command on your AntS3:
 rm /tmp/luci-modulecache/*
Then the update is complete and nothing else needs to be done.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1480831752
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831752

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831752
Reply with quote  #2

1480831752
Report to moderator
1480831752
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831752

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831752
Reply with quote  #2

1480831752
Report to moderator
1480831752
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831752

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831752
Reply with quote  #2

1480831752
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
July 10, 2015, 06:20:54 AM
 #16182

I've put yet another updated AntS3 update archive in my binaries git hub of latest 4.9.2 cgminer.
For details and installing: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

It's another (minor) update to the previous AntS3 release I did:

Code:
2015-Jul-10 Update cgminer-ants3-4.9.2-94e04f6-3.tgz
----------------------------------------------------
Add a table of miner hardware settings to the bottom of the Miner Status page

Tested and running on my pool of course Smiley

If you are already running the 2015-Jul-7 version (the previous update)
Code:
If you update from the 2015-Jul-7 version to the 2015-Jul-10 version,
instead of 'sync' and 'reboot' at the end of the update,
you can instead run this command on your AntS3:
 rm /tmp/luci-modulecache/*
Then the update is complete and nothing else needs to be done.

Very cool, no reboot necessary is nice.

Is there somewhere I can read what each new field is?  Some are obvious, but I'm curious about a couple.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 10, 2015, 07:05:26 AM
 #16183

...

Very cool, no reboot necessary is nice.

Is there somewhere I can read what each new field is?  Some are obvious, but I'm curious about a couple.
They are on the Miner Configuration page and the Advanced Settings page (for most)

Voltage is ... voltage Smiley
Timeout/Frequency/RegData are the values you choose for the Frequency drop down on the Advanced page.
 See /usr/lib/lua/luci/model/cbi/cgminer/cgminer.lua

WorkDelay is the new option I added to fix the massive waste of CPU by their driver ...

MinerCount and AsicCount match the hardware so you don't change them.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

FUN > ROI


View Profile
July 10, 2015, 10:43:06 PM
 #16184

Fairly minor bug report - local impact is negligible (only cosmetic), API impact would depend on what polling software does with the information.  I suspect the scheduling feature isn't used very much.

summary: Devices declared as SICK -> DEAD outside of scheduled on time
platform: Windows 8x64
software: cgminer 4.9.2
reliability: always
description:
When using --sched-start, if the scheduled start time is long enough into the future from launching, devices are declared sick (60s), and ultimately dead (10m).
When using --sched-start in combination with --sched-stop, then after the scheduled stop time, devices are declared sick (60s), and ultimately dead (10m).

luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
July 11, 2015, 12:44:01 AM
 #16185

I've put yet another updated AntS3 update archive in my binaries git hub of latest 4.9.2 cgminer.
For details and installing: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

It's another (minor) update to the previous AntS3 release I did:

Code:
2015-Jul-10 Update cgminer-ants3-4.9.2-94e04f6-3.tgz
----------------------------------------------------
Add a table of miner hardware settings to the bottom of the Miner Status page

Tested and running on my pool of course Smiley

If you are already running the 2015-Jul-7 version (the previous update)
Code:
If you update from the 2015-Jul-7 version to the 2015-Jul-10 version,
instead of 'sync' and 'reboot' at the end of the update,
you can instead run this command on your AntS3:
 rm /tmp/luci-modulecache/*
Then the update is complete and nothing else needs to be done.

Hey I got to say thanks for that july 10 update love the table at the bottom I can actually see if my settings go through instead of rely on faith. I knew something wasn't setting right with my miner and now i actually see my hashrate at the point it is suppose to be with the overclocking.
This exceeded my expectations and was worth the wait!
Simple things make me so happy.
Wow BITMAIN definitely fails to do there job after seeing what could be possible and yet so simple.

Question though if i do a hard rest will it load your firmware I notice i get better performance after hard resets on some miners.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 11, 2015, 01:00:24 AM
 #16186

...
Hey I got to say thanks for that july 10 update love the table at the bottom I can actually see if my settings go through instead of rely on faith. I knew something wasn't setting right with my miner and now i actually see my hashrate at the point it is suppose to be with the overclocking.
This exceeded my expectations and was worth the wait!
Simple things make me so happy.
Wow BITMAIN definitely fails to do there job after seeing what could be possible and yet so simple.

Question though if i do a hard rest will it load your firmware I notice i get better performance after hard resets on some miners.
A power cycle doesn't lose the changes.

A Factory reset or a bitmain firmware update will put it back to the bitmain firmware, then you need to run the update again.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
July 11, 2015, 02:31:47 AM
 #16187


WorkDelay is the new option I added to fix the massive waste of CPU by their driver ...

MinerCount and AsicCount match the hardware so you don't change them.

Thank you, I could figure out the first ones you listed, but these were some I was wondering about.

I figured the two counter were tied to hardware, but what do they mean?
Should WorkDelay ever read anything beside 1; is it a 0/1 toggle?
What is an example of BadWork?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 11, 2015, 02:41:22 AM
 #16188


WorkDelay is the new option I added to fix the massive waste of CPU by their driver ...

MinerCount and AsicCount match the hardware so you don't change them.

Thank you, I could figure out the first ones you listed, but these were some I was wondering about.

I figured the two counter were tied to hardware, but what do they mean?
Should WorkDelay ever read anything beside 1; is it a 0/1 toggle?
What is an example of BadWork?
Work delay is only settable by editing /etc/init.d/cgminer - but for the S3, 1 is optimal and it's the default inside cgminer.
I spent days/weeks adjusting it from 1 to 3 and ended up deciding 1 was best
1ms delay means it checks to send work about 1000 times a second (instead of about 60,000 times - wasting much CPU)

The two counters - well - ask bitmain they put them in the --bitmain-options Cheesy
The first one is how many sets of data are returned ... so that's why the table above it has 2 rows.
It's somewhat like saying it has two cards (as the S3 does)

BadWork is a new cgminer API value - it counts work from the pool that has very few transactions - i.e. bad for bitcoin.
Some pools send one of them every network block change ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
indigopsy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
July 11, 2015, 10:22:22 AM
 #16189

can somebody please explain to me why when I install cgminer fork from bitmaintech
Code:
https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer

i have only 10 HW errors per day

and when i install

Code:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer

i have 10 HW per minute Huh??

does HW destroy my antminers Huh?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 11, 2015, 11:07:33 AM
 #16190

Since I have no idea which versions you are talking about and which AntMiner you have ... I'll take a guess.

The S3 update in https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/AntS3/

Once you have updated it, it is wise (as it says there) to check the settings and see that they are what you had before.
The easiest way to do that is to look at the "Miner Status" page at the bottom when cgminer is running.
If you've got the Frequency set a lot higher than standard then you can expect to get more HW errors.

--

Now, whatever AntMiner you do have, please enlighten us with exactly where you got the firmware, how you built the cgminer or where you got the cgminer, what AntMiner you have and the actual numbers shown on the web page before and after, including how long it ran and what the settings were before and after.
Thanks Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
July 11, 2015, 06:47:43 PM
 #16191

can somebody please explain to me why when I install cgminer fork from bitmaintech
Code:
https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer

i have only 10 HW errors per day

and when i install

Code:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer

i have 10 HW per minute Huh??

does HW destroy my antminers Huh?

Please provide a screenshot because my  miners HW% went down minimally but seem to start jumping around now but still at good levels what is the percentage of hw screen shot would give us a good overall of what is going on.
indigopsy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
July 11, 2015, 06:53:47 PM
 #16192

hello again

2 mins ago my Antminer U3 start to biping.
Lol
First time hear that

Before today I used bitmaintech fork of cgminer
install with this
Code:
su
cd /opt
git clone https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer.git
cd cgminer
./autogen.sh
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-bmsc
make install

everything works perfect. I used freq 250MHz and 0.8V (I know that I overclocked it)
With that overclocked stats my cgminer shows max 10-15 HW per day, and I have 5 U3's

Today I decided to install ckoliva's fork of cgminer 4.9.2

Since I posted my last post (12h ago) cgminer show around 1300 HW errors

That's 100 times more. Why Huh
studysession
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
July 11, 2015, 09:02:46 PM
 #16193

With the USB devices being plug-n-play does that mean for removal as well?

I started down this path for some self learning and now long as I keep finding these little USB Asic miners for cheap on eBay I keep buying them. Smiley Even though I keep adding them I also want to remove as I want for testing another RasPi box.

When I remove one does software keep working like normal? I want to add and remove freely.

Thanks -
Keith
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 11, 2015, 09:04:55 PM
 #16194

When I remove one does software keep working like normal? I want to add and remove freely.

It does with my Block Erupters.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
studysession
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
July 11, 2015, 09:19:28 PM
 #16195



It does with my Block Erupters.

Thanks
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
July 12, 2015, 01:59:26 AM
 #16196

Hi ck and kano

I have been testing sidehack's

new usb sticks in this thread.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1086011.0


I used the 4.9.2 build from the first page of this thread.

and the sticks work great up to  freq 250

is it possible you can add support from  freq 250 to  freq 300

that would be :

 256.25
 262.50
 268.75
 275.00
 281.25
 287.50
 293.75
 300.00

 Side hack's sticks use your cgminer software and base it on your U-3 part of the build.

Basically I am really poor on the software end of the game. and cgminer is too hard for me to add these freq's

I use window's 7 to run my gear.

thanks phil

maybe in the 4.9.3 build.

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
July 13, 2015, 03:17:03 PM
 #16197

@Kano, any chance of  updating the S1 cgminer with the power-reboot fix you applied to the S3 cgminer?

Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
July 13, 2015, 06:10:03 PM
 #16198

hello again

2 mins ago my Antminer U3 start to biping.
Lol
First time hear that

Before today I used bitmaintech fork of cgminer
install with this
Code:
su
cd /opt
git clone https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer.git
cd cgminer
./autogen.sh
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-bmsc
make install

everything works perfect. I used freq 250MHz and 0.8V (I know that I overclocked it)
With that overclocked stats my cgminer shows max 10-15 HW per day, and I have 5 U3's

Today I decided to install ckoliva's fork of cgminer 4.9.2

Since I posted my last post (12h ago) cgminer show around 1300 HW errors

That's 100 times more. Why Huh

Probably because Bitmain's fork was showing HW incorrectly.

Or the U3 finally burned something out running overclocked all the time.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 14, 2015, 12:25:24 AM
 #16199

@Kano, any chance of  updating the S1 cgminer with the power-reboot fix you applied to the S3 cgminer?
There is already an updated cgminer-monitor script in my AntS1 binaries git, but I guess you also mean the change to try to force the time correct in the script that starts cgminer?

Next time I update the AntS1 version I'll probably do an archive like I did for S3 that does away with the API hack and uses a similar Status screen as the S3 one I did - just that's way down on the todo list at the moment since it's only a visual change - my AntS1 binary already (since I first did it) has the Bitmain problems removed and the cgminer version is almost current, behind by less one version.

Unless I get some Bitmain go-ahead on S5 stuff, for now (since I put out the last S3 update) priority is the pool and pool code (and it's tax time also)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
rkinnin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
July 14, 2015, 04:42:12 AM
 #16200

I upgraded my s3's as was suggested.

I checked one of them tonight and now it says it found 6 blocks. 

How can I really verify the validity of the 6?
Pages: « 1 ... 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 [810] 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!