Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2018, 12:54:15 PM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 [816] 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5750011 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 11:09:50 PM
 #16301

I use M's moniter..but when I updated cgminer in my s3 to 4.9.2..  M's will not pull the info from my s3.. anyone know whats up?

Update the monitor.

Edit: ah OK - you meant it was getting "no information", not that some of the information was missing.
Yeah as you said elsewhere, the api-allow was the problem.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
1516625655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516625655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516625655
Reply with quote  #2

1516625655
Report to moderator
1516625655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516625655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516625655
Reply with quote  #2

1516625655
Report to moderator
1516625655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516625655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516625655
Reply with quote  #2

1516625655
Report to moderator
"In a nutshell, the network works like a distributed timestamp server, stamping the first transaction to spend a coin. It takes advantage of the nature of information being easy to spread but hard to stifle." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516625655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516625655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516625655
Reply with quote  #2

1516625655
Report to moderator
Stormwalker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
September 04, 2015, 02:45:58 PM
 #16302

I also posted this in the general mining software forum...  Anyone have information to share?

Cgminer ( ver 4.9.0 ) never says accepted, it only tells me the block height changes.  If I turn on verbose, I get lots of "share above target" notifications and an occasional Hashrate report ( same information that is in the header ).  I am hashing at about 50 GH/s with an Antminer U3 so I am sure it needs to be optimized, however, I  have seen it peak around 65 when I was mining in a pool.

My question is this:  Is this reporting normal?  I have tried to find a post about what solo reporting looks like online, but have not been able to find anything.  I am okay with it not providing the information, as long as it is mining.

Cgminer is happy with the set-up ( no reported errors ) but not very informative..

Thanks,

Storm
bmoscato
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
September 04, 2015, 02:48:46 PM
 #16303

I also posted this in the general mining software forum...  Anyone have information to share?

Cgminer ( ver 4.9.0 ) never says accepted, it only tells me the block height changes.  If I turn on verbose, I get lots of "share above target" notifications and an occasional Hashrate report ( same information that is in the header ).  I am hashing at about 50 GH/s with an Antminer U3 so I am sure it needs to be optimized, however, I  have seen it peak around 65 when I was mining in a pool.

My question is this:  Is this reporting normal?  I have tried to find a post about what solo reporting looks like online, but have not been able to find anything.  I am okay with it not providing the information, as long as it is mining.

Cgminer is happy with the set-up ( no reported errors ) but not very informative..

Thanks,

Storm

I'm using 4.9.2 and by default it says when shares are accepted.
Stormwalker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
September 04, 2015, 02:56:17 PM
 #16304

would you post your start mining batch file?  I have the bitcoin.conf set up, and it seems happy with that part of the process.  maybe I should upgrade to 4.9.2.  I tried 4.9.1, but it didn't seem to act correctly.

Thanks,

Storm
CustomDesigned
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 04, 2015, 02:59:49 PM
 #16305

Solo mining is like buying a lottery ticket.  Getting a block accepted is very rare - but if/when you do, WHOO HOO!  25BTC + fees !!

So yes, you would (almost) never have a block accepted.

Everyone should have solo mining configured as a backup, and test it occasionally.  This makes the bitcoin network resilient against the loss of one or more pools. 

Now, you are ahead of me.  I still haven't got solo mining configured.  I have some questions too.

Why does solo mining need a bitcoind?  What does it use the api for?
Does the bitcoind have to use the same wallet as the BTC address configured for solo mining?
Can bitcoin-qt also provide the API?
What if bitcoind is down?  Does cgminer disable solo mining?  (Just as for a pool that is down)
If cgminer is talking to bitcoind, can we assume it is working?  It would be a shame to find a block, and then lose it because cgminer wasn't actually configured correctly. 
Does finding a block modify the wallet in any way?  Or is bitcoind only used to talk to the bitcoin network?  Could I run a bitcoind with an arbitrary empty wallet?
Stormwalker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
September 04, 2015, 03:03:19 PM
 #16306

That makes perfect sense about it reporting " accepted" I guess I was thinking along the lines of pool mining.  Which essentially was my question, is what I am seeing normal.

I used this guide to get set-up

https://www.bcoinnews.com/tutorials/solo-bitcoin-mine-cgminer/

Just have to start the bitcoin wallet with the -server option.

Storm
bmoscato
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
September 04, 2015, 03:04:24 PM
 #16307

would you post your start mining batch file?  I have the bitcoin.conf set up, and it seems happy with that part of the process.  maybe I should upgrade to 4.9.2.  I tried 4.9.1, but it didn't seem to act correctly.

Thanks,

Storm

This is a simple batch file:

cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333 -u 14LxDWtRRdQAbnJdd4Ew5jwag8Bx9UfNRd -p x --au3-volt 830 --au3-freq 225 --hotplug 600 --api-listen --api-allow w:10.0.0/24

pause
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile
September 04, 2015, 04:44:33 PM
 #16308

maybe I should upgrade to 4.9.2. 

Fixed quote for you.

No reason not to use the latest release.
btcluki
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
September 04, 2015, 04:56:52 PM
 #16309

hello to everyone I'm new here and I'm having trouble installing the Zeusminer litecoin Miner28MH in Mandriva could you direct me to a tutorial or even commands
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile
September 04, 2015, 04:58:42 PM
 #16310

hello to everyone I'm new here and I'm having trouble installing the Zeusminer litecoin Miner28MH in Mandriva could you direct me to a tutorial or even commands

Try the altcoin forums, you won't get support in this thread.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2015, 09:56:49 PM
 #16311

I also posted this in the general mining software forum...  Anyone have information to share?

Cgminer ( ver 4.9.0 ) never says accepted, it only tells me the block height changes.  If I turn on verbose, I get lots of "share above target" notifications and an occasional Hashrate report ( same information that is in the header ).  I am hashing at about 50 GH/s with an Antminer U3 so I am sure it needs to be optimized, however, I  have seen it peak around 65 when I was mining in a pool.

My question is this:  Is this reporting normal?  I have tried to find a post about what solo reporting looks like online, but have not been able to find anything.  I am okay with it not providing the information, as long as it is mining.

Cgminer is happy with the set-up ( no reported errors ) but not very informative..
"Shares" are a "share of the reward" when you're pooled mining. When you're solo mining you either have found a block or you've found nothing. So you will get nothing but information about when the block changes except in the ludicrously rare situation when you find a block. Try cgminer 4.9.2 for a better hashrate.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rylord
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 01:28:34 AM
 #16312

Hey guys,

Anyone know how I can get a BTC Garden AM-V1 4 Blade working with BFGminer or a newer version of CGminer. The cgminer they have compiled with the support is way old. I know there is a way to have the newer versions see it just unsure how to go about doing it. Here is some info that might help....

Started cgminer 4.3.3
 [2015-09-08 01:25:44] Core clock: 310MHz
 [2015-09-08 01:25:44] SPI clock: 3000KHz
 [2015-09-08 01:25:44] Work time window: 345ms ~ 518ms
 [2015-09-08 01:25:44] SPI '/dev/spidev0.0': mode=0, bits=8, speed=3000000
 [2015-09-08 01:25:44] spidev0.0, CS delay 0us
 [2015-09-08 01:25:44] UART baud rate: 115200
 [2015-09-08 01:25:44] Chip selection delay: 80us
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] All chips hard reset period: 5 min
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] Number of chips 64
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] Enabled chips:
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] Probing for an alive pool
 [2015-09-08 01:25:45] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 512.0
 [2015-09-08 01:25:46] Network diff set to 57G
 [2015-09-08 01:25:46] Going to hard reset all chips


Newer versions of cgminer I can't get to work or find anyone who has info on it... should I just junk these??? when its working it's pretty fast but I'm getting a boat load of errors and the support for this hardware, well, unless u know hieroglyphics Huh language ... good luck... any help would be appreciated.. =)

Thanks

Agamenon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
September 09, 2015, 01:23:29 PM
 #16313

Hi, I always try to restart CGMINER with the command "restart" from api and client CRASH... any experience or solution with it? I use API for PHP, JAVA and Python, and always the same crash.. thanks
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 731


DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize


View Profile
September 09, 2015, 07:35:04 PM
 #16314

Hi, I always try to restart CGMINER with the command "restart" from api and client CRASH... any experience or solution with it? I use API for PHP, JAVA and Python, and always the same crash.. thanks
Depending on the operating system there is a very easy way to fix this. Start cgminer from a script in an infinite loop. Don't restart, quit. The script will start cgminer again and everything will be peachy.

          ▄▄
        ▄█▀▀█▄
      ▄█▀ ▄▄ ▀█▄
      ▀ ▄████▄ ▀
   ▄▀ ▄ ▀████▀ ▄ ▀▄
 ▄▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▄
█  ███████  ███████  █
 ▀▄ ▀███▀ ▄▄ ▀███▀ ▄▀

   ▀▄ ▀ ▄████▄ ▀ ▄▀
      ▄ ▀████▀ ▄
      ▀█▄ ▀▀ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▄█▀
          ▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀▀▀████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀███████
██████            ▀████████     ████     █████    █████     ███████
██████     ▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██████     █████    ████      ████    ████████
██████     ██████▄    █████     █████    ▀██▀  ▄▄  ▀██▀    ████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████     █   ██   █     █████████
██████     █████▀    ██████     ███████       ████       ██████████
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████            ▄████████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.DIWtoken.com.
▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
......SECURITY DECENTRALIZED...
CustomDesigned
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 09, 2015, 08:26:33 PM
 #16315

When I try to use the api, the pogoplug running cgminer crashes.  I'm wondering if it has to do with running off a USB stick and cgminer using libusb.  I've been using since 3.8.  No console on pogoplug (without soldering a special USB cable - which I tried and failed).  cgminer does not run as root, so it really shouldn't be able to crash the system - unless it is one of those infinite thread/fork bugs.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 09, 2015, 09:58:51 PM
 #16316

When I try to use the api, the pogoplug running cgminer crashes.  I'm wondering if it has to do with running off a USB stick and cgminer using libusb.  I've been using since 3.8.  No console on pogoplug (without soldering a special USB cable - which I tried and failed).  cgminer does not run as root, so it really shouldn't be able to crash the system - unless it is one of those infinite thread/fork bugs.
You'll have to find someone in one of the pogoplug threads and ask them what's wrong with how they build it.

Also note that we have a modified libusb in cgminer and don't use the system libusb since libusb has a bug on many systems that makes timeouts fail and mining thus doesn't work properly.
If there's something special about making libusb work on a pogoplug then someone who uses one will need to submit changes to cgminer.

FYI there are no such problems on RPi.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
WBF1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381


View Profile
September 10, 2015, 03:44:27 AM
 #16317

Any plan to merge novak's compac driver back into master?

Anonymous, no-registration, no-frills BCH Mining - http://luckypool.co - Get Lucky Today!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2015, 03:46:12 AM
 #16318

Any plan to merge novak's compac driver back into master?
Unfortunately we don't "suck code" from others, they "push code" and we accept it after making suggestions, so no.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
WBF1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381


View Profile
September 10, 2015, 03:47:32 AM
 #16319

Any plan to merge novak's compac driver back into master?
Unfortunately we don't "suck code" from others, they "push code" and we accept it after making suggestions, so no.

Got it. So once it's mature he'd push back this way then possibly you merge it if it looks acceptable?

Anonymous, no-registration, no-frills BCH Mining - http://luckypool.co - Get Lucky Today!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2015, 03:48:16 AM
 #16320

Any plan to merge novak's compac driver back into master?
Unfortunately we don't "suck code" from others, they "push code" and we accept it after making suggestions, so no.

Got it. So once it's mature he'd push back this way then possibly you merge it if it looks acceptable?
Yep.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 [816] 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!