Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 02:33:50 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 [821] 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5766344 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2015, 07:58:30 PM
 #16401

got a quick question.. is there a way you can incorporate the voting process into cgminer so that each mining machine can vote individually vs the pool wallet submitting the vote? What some people would like to do is stay on the pool of there liking and still vote with there mining hash regardless of the pool operators views;).  By allowing only the pool operators control, that centralizes this rather drastically!  Sorry if this was asked or is a stupid question:)
I assume by "vote" you mean what transactions are included and what goes into the coinbase, in which case the answer is realistically no. By design pooled mining gives that control to the pool. While it is possible to redesign the protocol so the miners design their own work and send it to a pool, the ability to make the pools and mining majority change to such a system is quite beyond the level of improbability. The bulk of the hashrate you see on the network is not personal miners as they only account for maybe 5% of the network now and swaying those will have zero net effect and only make mining more difficult for them. If you're talking about political debates of BIP101 versus mainline bitcoin, that's even more unlikely as the choice of protocol is done and verified at the pool mining node, and pools consciously choose what software to run on their bitcoin node. When you are pooled mining, you are all mining to that pool's bitcoin node so you can't change its protocol from the mining end in any meaningful way.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1542465230
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542465230

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542465230
Reply with quote  #2

1542465230
Report to moderator
1542465230
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542465230

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542465230
Reply with quote  #2

1542465230
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542465230
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542465230

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542465230
Reply with quote  #2

1542465230
Report to moderator
Lorker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2015, 04:14:27 PM
 #16402

ty for the good software
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2015, 06:12:51 PM
 #16403

ty for the good software

...and thank you for the long term, continuous, constant and consistant support throughout the Bitcoin ages Cheesy
durandal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 11, 2015, 11:46:36 AM
 #16404

I'm not sure where the best place to put this is, so I'll leave it here to save someone else a couple of hours of tinkering.

I'm running an Antminer U3, and was struggling to get decent speeds on a linux host, and the bitmain branch kept going "errr, no". The windows binary was spot on, but the windows machine sounds like a jet engine so for the sake of marital harmony and my leccy bill, it was going to have to be the linux netbook. I'll fiddle with MinePeon at some point to make it really small, but this is a good way to start.

The steps I followed are:

Clone the 4.9.2 git tree into a directory.
git clone [latest tree]
./autogen.sh
./configure --enable-icarus
make (and when you're happy it works, sudo make install)

To start, I've made a little script. So nano (or vim, or emacs, or edlin if you're hardcore) cgm

Code:
#/bin/bash
sudo cgminer --au3-freq 250 --au3-volt 810

chmod +x cgm

And away you go. The frequency/voltage settings are at the higher end of the chart, but heatsinks are only warm to the touch and CGMiner is reporting 63Gh/s, which is well within expectations. No excessive rejections either, so it seems like the right trade-off between speed and longevity.


Edited to correct a typo
altcointalk14
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 603
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 11, 2015, 02:27:03 PM
 #16405

Hello,

I am not sure I have really found 3 blocks in 8 days.   Looking for advice on how to really check if this is a lucky machine or NOT.
(side note- I am really tempted to solo on CKSolo, but the ckproxy setup has troubled me)

This machine cgminer is still running, before it reboots and I loose the data, is there anyway to grab the logs/shares info from this miner?  Bitmain S4.

The 10.70.130.10:8885 is my stratum proxy server I gather all my mining power then point to antpool.

I did switch all my hashrate over to nicehash for about 8-10 hours about 5 of 6 days ago and maybe that is where the found blocks came from, but I have 50+ machines and none show any blocks except this one. 

Here is where I am confused:
79102380900   btc diff
273901451   S4 page below best share
1449843295860  stratum proxy server gui best share


altcointalk14
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 603
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 11, 2015, 03:07:41 PM
 #16406

OK, I found this in the cgminer readme, so probably no history on the machine?? 

Anyway to add this option to the existing bitmain system cgminer start command?  (S4 says 3.2GB free, but S7 says only 115MB free)

from cgminer readme:

If you start cgminer with the --sharelog option, you can get detailed
information for each share found. The argument to the option may be "-" for
standard output (not advisable with the ncurses UI), any valid positive number
for that file descriptor, or a filename.

To log share data to a file named "share.log", you can use either:
./cgminer --sharelog 50 -o xxx -u yyy -p zzz 50>share.log
./cgminer --sharelog share.log -o xxx -u yyy -p zzz

For every share found, data will be logged in a CSV (Comma Separated Value)
format

Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 11, 2015, 06:59:03 PM
 #16407


I am not sure I have really found 3 blocks in 8 days.
Been answered many, many times.  You either rent out your hash somewhere that someone mines alt coins with, or you mine on a pool that mines alt coins.  You did not solve a bitcoin block if your best share is less than 79G.
BartSimpsn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 11, 2015, 11:15:13 PM
 #16408

Hi guys! CGminer works like a charm! Just one thing, i'am unable to compile it with --enable-bitfury command. I'am trying to run it on newest MAC OS X, 1000 issues with compiling... is there a way to download version with compiled driver for bitfury?

Have a nice day!
Best
Bart
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 11, 2015, 11:50:12 PM
 #16409

Hi guys! CGminer works like a charm! Just one thing, i'am unable to compile it with --enable-bitfury command. I'am trying to run it on newest MAC OS X, 1000 issues with compiling... is there a way to download version with compiled driver for bitfury?

Sure, look in the top post of this thread.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
lama-hunter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
December 12, 2015, 12:48:24 AM
 #16410

Hi there Guys Smiley

Wanted to ask if you got experiences using cgminer with the Antmineru3 and also using higher votlage like this:

cgminer.exe --bmsc-options 115200:0.54 -o stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u DavieT.1337 -p x --bmsc-voltage 0830 --bmsc-freq 0982

Would be great to hear of any experiences. I also have an cfg which claims the miner to 70gh/s via unit. I think this is quit nice Wink
If anybody is interested in this config just pm me Wink

regards
lama-hunter
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2015, 01:33:13 AM
 #16411

Hi there Guys Smiley

Wanted to ask if you got experiences using cgminer with the Antmineru3 and also using higher votlage like this:

cgminer.exe --bmsc-options 115200:0.54 -o stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u DavieT.1337 -p x --bmsc-voltage 0830 --bmsc-freq 0982

Would be great to hear of any experiences. I also have an cfg which claims the miner to 70gh/s via unit. I think this is quit nice Wink
If anybody is interested in this config just pm me Wink

regards
lama-hunter
Those commands don't exist in the official cgminer which this is the thread for. If you wish to discuss voltages with the official cgminer please use the correct command line options. If you wish to discuss bitmain's fork, use the bitmain fork thread for support.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BartSimpsn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 12, 2015, 07:47:54 AM
 #16412

Hi guys! CGminer works like a charm! Just one thing, i'am unable to compile it with --enable-bitfury command. I'am trying to run it on newest MAC OS X, 1000 issues with compiling... is there a way to download version with compiled driver for bitfury?

Sure, look in the top post of this thread.

Thanks, i've ready it carefully but i still can't find solution for this. My bad if i missed something, is there a way to get cgminer with preloded driver for Bitfury?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 12, 2015, 09:45:46 PM
 #16413

Hi guys! CGminer works like a charm! Just one thing, i'am unable to compile it with --enable-bitfury command. I'am trying to run it on newest MAC OS X, 1000 issues with compiling... is there a way to download version with compiled driver for bitfury?

Sure, look in the top post of this thread.

Thanks, i've ready it carefully but i still can't find solution for this. My bad if i missed something, is there a way to get cgminer with preloded driver for Bitfury?

You didn't see the OSX download link from Karin at spaceman.ca?

Unofficial OSX binaries:
http://spaceman.ca/cgminer/

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
btcxyzzz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 885
Merit: 1000

Monero - secure, private and untraceable currency.


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2015, 09:56:22 PM
 #16414

Anyone managed to execute / compile / install cgminer on FreeBSD 10.2?

Token Bubbles – Transforming the ICO Rating and Analysis Space.
tkalfaoglu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 04, 2016, 10:06:09 AM
 #16415

Hi there. I have 3 identical devices, all hooked up to a usb hub, and that hub connects to a port on the Fedora 22 computer running cgminer  4.9.2.

When it first started, the cgminer was seeing all the devices, but now, without changing any configuration,  it says that one of them is inactive.

Bus 2 Device 6 ID: 10c4:ea60 Silicon Labs CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller Active
Bus 2 Device 5 ID: 10c4:ea60 Silicon Labs CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller Active
Bus 2 Device 4 ID: 10c4:ea60 Silicon Labs CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller inactive

and therefore, it only sees 2 devices running and the mining has slowed down by 1/3.
I tried USB  Enable,  Whitelist, etc, nothing helped.. Power off/on was tried many times as well.

The 3 devices look OK physically. Power supply LED's lit, device LED's lit, fans running.

What else should I check?
Thanks! -t


kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 04, 2016, 10:14:04 AM
 #16416

The OS saying there's something wrong, means you have to look into why the OS says that, nothing to do with cgminer.

My guess would be one of: the hub, the cables or the available power was borderline
(and now with one not working, there's more than enough power for the other 2)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
January 29, 2016, 01:57:24 PM
 #16417

hello,

What is the difference between the official cgminer 4.9.2 and this one:
https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer

it seems it is specifically designed for antminer devices, but is there more details ?

Thank you

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 30, 2016, 12:05:56 AM
 #16418

hello,

What is the difference between the official cgminer 4.9.2 and this one:
https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer

it seems it is specifically designed for antminer devices, but is there more details ?

Thank you
There's has lots of bugs - that are not in my antminer version - and have been fixed for years - but they're too stupid to realise they should work off my master cgminer version.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
rkinnin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 11, 2016, 01:30:43 PM
 #16419

i just picked up an s5. 

The cgminer version is v4.8.0. 

What is the best cgminer version for this box that I should be running?
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 11, 2016, 06:24:30 PM
 #16420

Not sure if this is correct, but here's a link to 4.9.0 for S5: http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/

There's a more thorough update for the S1 and S3, but I can't find a similar link for S5, so hopefully someone who knows more can chime in about the link I posted above.
Pages: « 1 ... 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 [821] 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!