Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2018, 10:05:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 [836] 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756937 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
nkamitaki
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 01, 2017, 03:03:44 AM
 #16701

Just registered to chime in as I happened to be running into this myself and had thought it might be a quirk from compiling/running with MacOSX.  I haven't done much digging into it, and when I get a chance I'll try the debug backtrace mentioned already.  I can also confirm that on my system the problem arises between 4.9.2 and 4.10.0 releases.

In case it might be useful to those more familiar with the code, a few crude tests by way of re-building seem to isolate the problem to setting '--enable-icarus' during configuration.   That is, including all of the non-standalone drivers minus icarus seems to have a functioning write_config on my system.  So do not think this is something to do with all parsing/writing for settings, but may be specific to one or more introduced with icarus support.


Sounds feasible. It's likely to be missing save for the options added to icarus post 4.9.2

Hmm, I think I found it after that suggestion - it looks like a line is needed in the write_config of cgminer.c for the newly introduced 'set_float_100_500', such as at L5459:

if (opt->type & OPT_HASARG &&
             ((void *)opt->cb_arg == (void *)set_float_125_to_500 ||
             (void *)opt->cb_arg == (void *)set_float_100_to_500 ||
              (void *)opt->cb_arg == (void *)set_float_100_to_250)) {
            fprintf(fcfg, ",\n\"%s\" : \"%.1f\"", p+2, *(float *)opt->u.arg);
            continue;
         }

This was necessitated upon expanding the Compac GekkoScience frequency range here: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/702b37007caa9605d3adabf646f8df47fe86e83c

Making that change now has config writing when setting '--enable-icarus' during configuation for me.
1532037913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532037913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532037913
Reply with quote  #2

1532037913
Report to moderator
1532037913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532037913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532037913
Reply with quote  #2

1532037913
Report to moderator
1532037913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532037913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532037913
Reply with quote  #2

1532037913
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532037913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532037913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532037913
Reply with quote  #2

1532037913
Report to moderator
1532037913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532037913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532037913
Reply with quote  #2

1532037913
Report to moderator
1532037913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532037913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532037913
Reply with quote  #2

1532037913
Report to moderator
vayvanne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100

GPG ID 48298AFC


View Profile
August 01, 2017, 04:04:47 AM
 #16702

I am not ck but the answer to that question is:
you can use older cgminer Versions, but not an old core version.
So you need as minimum core version 14.0.0 (Segwit support)
AND
you have to add a patch to it so you are not building up on wrong blocks!

Can -ck confirm this please?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2017, 04:06:49 AM
 #16703

I am not ck but the answer to that question is:
you can use older cgminer Versions, but not an old core version.
So you need as minimum core version 14.0.0 (Segwit support)
AND
you have to add a patch to it so you are not building up on wrong blocks!

Can -ck confirm this please?
You need minimum bitcoin core 0.14.0, correct. Older versions of cgminer that don't explicitly have segwit support but have solo mining support will still be able to mine valid blocks but they will only mine classic transactions without the segwit commitment or any segwit transactions so realistically you should be using the latest cgminer as well.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2017, 01:00:38 PM
 #16704

isdupnonce() tests whether a found nonce was already found.
I wonder under what circumstances such a dupe nonce ever can happen at all.
Can it ever happen with solo mining?

mutluit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 05, 2017, 06:12:59 PM
 #16705

Every 2 minutes or so the device reports a nonce error.
What is the definition of such a nonce error? Why does it happen?

DrakonX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 72
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 08, 2017, 06:47:23 PM
 #16706

Does every USB port have an ID that can be optained via cgminer in order to see which of your ASIC miners is broken?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2017, 08:54:34 PM
 #16707

Does every USB port have an ID that can be optained via cgminer in order to see which of your ASIC miners is broken?
No,they're assigned randomly by the operating system.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 13, 2017, 03:03:53 AM
 #16708

I'm not sure if someone is going senile or what,

BUT a reminder about cgminer:

NEVER set "no-submit-stale" : true,

like this guy did here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1876330.msg20829032#msg20829032

Set it to: false
(or don't set it at all)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
DrakonX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 72
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 09:30:37 AM
 #16709

And why not? Don't know what "no-submit-stale" means.
Moddak2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 01:01:21 PM
 #16710

I try start CGminer with mining some coins,and command line dont show my hashrate,I dont know why,I have radeon r4 graphics.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2017, 01:02:20 PM
 #16711

I try start CGminer with mining some coins,and command line dont show my hashrate,I dont know why,I have radeon r4 graphics.
Because cgminer hasn't been a GPU miner in many years. It only controls bitcoin mining ASICs.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
taufik0911
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 100


Need money


View Profile WWW
August 20, 2017, 02:36:34 PM
 #16712

someone please tell me the best os for mining  Sad

M O S   ║    Decentralized Stock Market Lottery Platform    ║   M O S
────────  Telegram    Whitepaper  ────────
Lottery for the Blockchain Era   Register to Join MOS Token Sale
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 20, 2017, 10:43:26 PM
 #16713

someone please tell me the best os for mining  Sad
Linux, though it doesn't matter these days since most miners come with or expect images on controllers like the Rpi (all running linux.)

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
taufik0911
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 100


Need money


View Profile WWW
August 21, 2017, 12:50:50 AM
 #16714

someone please tell me the best os for mining  Sad
Linux, though it doesn't matter these days since most miners come with or expect images on controllers like the Rpi (all running linux.)
Raspberry Pi? sorry i'm newbie

M O S   ║    Decentralized Stock Market Lottery Platform    ║   M O S
────────  Telegram    Whitepaper  ────────
Lottery for the Blockchain Era   Register to Join MOS Token Sale
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 21, 2017, 12:51:33 AM
 #16715

someone please tell me the best os for mining  Sad
Linux, though it doesn't matter these days since most miners come with or expect images on controllers like the Rpi (all running linux.)
Raspberry Pi? sorry i'm newbie
Yes.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
finnich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2017, 02:47:09 AM
 #16716

Hey thank for the great info....any updates coming Huh Smiley Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2017, 09:07:26 PM
 #16717

Hey thank for the great info....any updates coming Huh Smiley Smiley
There's virtually nothing left to do in the mining client space, only improved drivers for existing hardware and drivers for new hardware. As the vast majority of drivers are now maintained by the hardware manufacturers themselves now, and the biggest manufacturer (Bitmain) don't contribute code back to the master cgminer code, that means there really is nothing to do for them.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Moddak2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 01:12:25 PM
 #16718

I will setup cgminer and try again mine some coins for windows.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 12:48:26 AM
 #16719

I will setup cgminer and try again mine some coins for windows.

I don't think windows needs any coins.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 110


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 07:34:30 PM
 #16720

Sorry if these are dumb questions:

In looking at my cgminer for my lottery ticket miner, i can see:

Code:
Accepted 54d53ab5 Diff 773/90 GSD 0 pool 0


I get that share is proof my miner is working on finding a block, but I have a couple of noob questions:

1) Is "54d53ab5" the nonce the miner submitted, or is part of the hash?
2) Does the diff 773 refer to the hash produced by the submission above or something else?

Thanks, just trying to understand this a little more
Pages: « 1 ... 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 [836] 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!