Bitcoin Forum
November 15, 2018, 05:48:46 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 [829] 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5766304 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Narcisse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2017, 06:11:27 PM
 #16561

Total noob question. How does one update Cgminer in an Antminer S5?
IMs appreciated, Im still learning so dont bash me too bad.
1542304126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542304126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542304126
Reply with quote  #2

1542304126
Report to moderator
1542304126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542304126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542304126
Reply with quote  #2

1542304126
Report to moderator
1542304126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542304126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542304126
Reply with quote  #2

1542304126
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2017, 09:00:10 PM
 #16562

Total noob question. How does one update Cgminer in an Antminer S5?
IMs appreciated, Im still learning so dont bash me too bad.
The cgminer in an antminer S5 is usually precompiled in firmware provided by bitmain and is based on an old forked version of cgminer. It is not supported by the official cgminer version and would be far from trivial to be supported and build a binary for the embedded controller of the S5. In short you cannot build the latest cgminer for S5. I built a temporary binary for the S5 a while ago which you can copy to the S5 here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/
But it does not stay on the device across reboots and is based on 4.9.0 code. If you are not having trouble with your S5 there is little to gain by updating the software anyway, accepting the shortcomings of the forked older version from bitmain. Except in the case of mining on p2pool (which I recommend against with any antminer because of their code problems), most of the issues with their version of cgminer are not showstoppers.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mokahless
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 470
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 20, 2017, 02:37:09 AM
 #16563

I'm currently having an issue with Ubuntu and the latest version of CGminer. I'm attempting to compile it and got the error to install libusb-1.0. So I installed libusb-1.0

Code:
||/ Name           Version      Architecture Description
+++-==============-============-============-=================================
ii  libusb-0.1-4:a 2:0.1.12-28  amd64        userspace USB programming library
ii  libusb-1.0-0:a 2:1.0.20-1   amd64        userspace USB programming library
ii  libusb-1.0-0-d 2:1.0.20-1   amd64        userspace USB programming library
ii  libusb-1.0-0-d 2:1.0.20-1   amd64        userspace USB programming library
ii  libusb-1.0-doc 2:1.0.20-1   all          documentation for userspace USB p
un  libusb-dev     <none>       <none>       (no description available)
un  libusbmuxd-too <none>       <none>       (no description available)
ii  libusbmuxd4:am 1.0.10-2ubun amd64        USB multiplexor daemon for iPhone


So I tried compiling again but got the same error:

Code:
checking for LIBUSB... no
configure: error: Could not find usb library - please install libusb-1.0


Anyone have an idea?

o_solo_miner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 990
Merit: 1005


-> morgen, ist heute, schon gestern <-


View Profile
February 20, 2017, 10:29:28 AM
 #16564

I'm currently having an issue with Ubuntu and the latest version of CGminer. I'm attempting to compile it and got the error to install libusb-1.0. So I installed libusb-1.0

Code:
||/ Name           Version      Architecture Description
+++-==============-============-============-=================================
ii  libusb-0.1-4:a 2:0.1.12-28  amd64        userspace USB programming library
ii  libusb-1.0-0:a 2:1.0.20-1   amd64        userspace USB programming library
ii  libusb-1.0-0-d 2:1.0.20-1   amd64        userspace USB programming library
ii  libusb-1.0-0-d 2:1.0.20-1   amd64        userspace USB programming library
ii  libusb-1.0-doc 2:1.0.20-1   all          documentation for userspace USB p
un  libusb-dev     <none>       <none>       (no description available)
un  libusbmuxd-too <none>       <none>       (no description available)
ii  libusbmuxd4:am 1.0.10-2ubun amd64        USB multiplexor daemon for iPhone


So I tried compiling again but got the same error:

Code:
checking for LIBUSB... no
configure: error: Could not find usb library - please install libusb-1.0


Anyone have an idea?


libudev-dev is missing as far as I can see..

http://ckpool.org "THE Pool" from the creator of CGMiner & CKPool / Payout System:SPLNS / ZERO FEE!
------------------------------------------- join now -----------------------------------------------
http://solo.ckpool.org for Solominers with the best block notify system
sir.humus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 05:10:35 PM
 #16565

Is there a way to use CGMiner on a ZedBoard with Zynq FPGA+ARM?
I have the hardware and really want to start mining.
can you give me a hint where to start?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2017, 08:15:35 PM
 #16566

Is there a way to use CGMiner on a ZedBoard with Zynq FPGA+ARM?
No. You'd have to write your own driver for it.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1027



View Profile
February 28, 2017, 09:17:40 PM
 #16567

Is there a way to use CGMiner on a ZedBoard with Zynq FPGA+ARM?
I have the hardware and really want to start mining.
can you give me a hint where to start?
The introductory project and code is in the official Xilinx marketing materials "Xcell journal" from 3rd quarter of 2013.

http://www.xilinx.com/publications/archives/xcell/Xcell84.pdf

Obviously, this was over 3 years ago, it is now competitively obsolete. But it is a good educational starting point for porting the modern mining code.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=262195.0

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
splat44
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 12, 2017, 08:49:15 PM
 #16568

This is in relation to version 4.9.2

Does version support gridseed 80 chips blades miner?
I see nothing on readme!
That hardware support scrypt

I hope that version support scrypt and that miner hardware!

I need know the following setting in command line:
1) enable scrypt
2) auto detect gridseed 80 chips blades and as well other related settings I need providing
3) Pool information

Will be great receiving code containing the above!

If latest version support the above let  me know as well!
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 12, 2017, 11:04:14 PM
 #16569

CGMiner is for Bitcoin only.  It doesn't support altcoins.  Although some use it to mine sha256 altcoins, it's still not supported.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 02:17:38 AM
 #16570

16.10 Ubuntu only ?  i have it running on a RPI 3 controlling my A6 using Minera as the GUI on ubuntu 16.4.02. Smiley .... and can use it  with any of my PI types that run Ubuntu 16.4 with minera 7.0 not the beta version but can use it with the Minera beta version and have ..sense it came out in Jan Smiley ...CGMINER 4.10.0

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 02:40:21 AM
 #16571

This is in relation to version 4.9.2

Does version support gridseed 80 chips blades miner?
I see nothing on readme!
That hardware support scrypt

I hope that version support scrypt and that miner hardware!

I need know the following setting in command line:
1) enable scrypt
2) auto detect gridseed 80 chips blades and as well other related settings I need providing
3) Pool information

Will be great receiving code containing the above!

If latest version support the above let  me know as well!

like he said CGMINER in it present state only does SHA256 coins with no support offered for ALt coins or any kind of Script coins beyond your version but you can mine SHa256 alt coins with CGMNIER even this version with out issue i do it all the time, but I use it mostly to mine BTC ,,  I'm being nice SO, don't ask for support here for alt coins, you more then likely won't get any support for any kind of alt coins here and told you won't in worse words then mine .  just a heads up before you try to push the Issue ....

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 13, 2017, 05:49:22 PM
 #16572

It appears that with v4.10.0, cgminer no longer runs on WinXP machines, is this correct?  I realize that XP is old and outdated and not supported by most stuff any more, but I just wanted to be sure, thanks.
angkasaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116
Merit: 10



View Profile
March 15, 2017, 12:37:12 PM
 #16573

thanks for the software, its a bit complicated tho for me xD

tuaris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
March 27, 2017, 02:11:49 AM
 #16574

I'm trying to build on BSD but I'm getting the following error:

Code:
cc  -O2 -pipe  -Wall -march=native -fstack-protector -fno-strict-aliasing   -fstack-protector -o cgminer cgminer-cgminer.o cgminer-util.o  cgminer-sha2.o cgminer-api.o  cgminer-logging.o cgminer-klist.o  cgminer-noncedup.o  cgminer-usbutils.o                                   cgminer-driver-bitmain.o     -L/usr/local/lib -lcurl  -ljansson  -lpthread     -lusb     -lm lib/libgnu.a ccan/libccan.a  -lncurses -lpthread
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x468): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_auto'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x4a0): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_overheat'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x4c8): undefined reference to `set_bitmain_fan'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x548): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_hwerror'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x5b8): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_temp'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x5f0): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_workdelay'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x660): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_beeper'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x698): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_checkall'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x6d0): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_checkn2diff'
cgminer-cgminer.o:(.data+0x708): undefined reference to `opt_bitmain_tempoverctrl'

kenesu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 02:33:07 PM
 #16575

hi guys! sorry for being noob for this one, Im not too particular with the jargons so im going to ask it directly.
>Do I need other hardware? or just my laptop is good?
>Do i need to be good in programming to work this one?
>do i need to invest to work this?

I really aprreciate if someone answer this on details. Sorry again for being noob  Sad
etherparty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 101



View Profile WWW
March 29, 2017, 06:19:31 AM
 #16576

hi guys! sorry for being noob for this one, Im not too particular with the jargons so im going to ask it directly.
>Do I need other hardware? or just my laptop is good?
>Do i need to be good in programming to work this one?
>do i need to invest to work this?

I really aprreciate if someone answer this on details. Sorry again for being noob  Sad

1. Yes ideally you would use ASIC miners for Bitcoin or gaming GPUs for other alts.
2. You don't need to be a programmer but you need to know how to install things on your PC and how to run software via command line.
3. Unless you have ASIC miners or GPUs already yes you will have to spend some money to get yourself some mining hardware.

JOIN ETHERPARTY ON WEB - TELEGRAM - REDDIT - TWITTER - FB
kenesu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 30, 2017, 04:14:03 AM
 #16577

hi guys! sorry for being noob for this one, Im not too particular with the jargons so im going to ask it directly.
>Do I need other hardware? or just my laptop is good?
>Do i need to be good in programming to work this one?
>do i need to invest to work this?

I really aprreciate if someone answer this on details. Sorry again for being noob  Sad

1. Yes ideally you would use ASIC miners for Bitcoin or gaming GPUs for other alts.
2. You don't need to be a programmer but you need to know how to install things on your PC and how to run software via command line.
3. Unless you have ASIC miners or GPUs already yes you will have to spend some money to get yourself some mining hardware.
Thank you so much at least this help me to understand this Smiley
smartybones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 30, 2017, 08:58:25 PM
 #16578

Hi there.

I have been learning bitcoin mining for the last few weeks now. I picked up some kit cheap and have been playing around with it. I have no problem setting up and running an antminer u2 and its hashing away happy as Larry. My plan is to biuld up over time a large mining rig, but I have got to learn on the cheap obsolete kit first.

I have got hold of half a dozen gridseed blades. just the bare boards, I have knocked together some heatsinks and fans to keep them cool. The boards run fine on a windows binary with gridseed drivers I downloaded, but I want to get it working on a raspberry pi3.

I have no problem compileing from sourcecode on my raspberry pi, but what I am having with is compiling with the gridseed drivers. I copied the driver-gridseed.c and driver-gridseed.h over the the cgmineer directory and run sudo ./configure --enable-gridseed but when make the binary it has a moan about a lack of driver "configure: error: No mining devices configured in"

I am assuming I need to add  a reference to driver-gridseed.c and driver-gridseed.h elsewhere in the sourcecode....

can anyone point me in the right direction to the files I need to edit?

Marty.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 30, 2017, 09:02:00 PM
 #16579

I have got hold of half a dozen gridseed blades. just the bare boards, I have knocked together some heatsinks and fans to keep them cool. The boards run fine on a windows binary with gridseed drivers I downloaded, but I want to get it working on a raspberry pi3.

I have no problem compileing from sourcecode on my raspberry pi, but what I am having with is compiling with the gridseed drivers. I copied the driver-gridseed.c and driver-gridseed.h over the the cgmineer directory and run sudo ./configure --enable-gridseed but when make the binary it has a moan about a lack of driver "configure: error: No mining devices configured in"

I am assuming I need to add  a reference to driver-gridseed.c and driver-gridseed.h elsewhere in the sourcecode....

can anyone point me in the right direction to the files I need to edit?
Unfortunately there is no gridseed code nor support in the official cgminer, it being primarily an altcoin mining device. You'll need to seek help from whoever maintains a fork of cgminer with gridseed support.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
smartybones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 30, 2017, 09:12:22 PM
 #16580

Unfortunately there is no gridseed code nor support in the official cgminer, it being primarily an altcoin mining device. You'll need to seek help from whoever maintains a fork of cgminer with gridseed support.

Thanks for the prompt reply.  time to search for a fork,

Marty.
Pages: « 1 ... 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 [829] 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!