Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2018, 09:02:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 [811] 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5754685 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
rkinnin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 317
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 01:59:17 PM
 #16201

Download it again and check the checksum on the file?

i misunderstood one of your steps....sorry about that. 

RTFM.   Cheesy Grin

I am good.  Thanks.
1524646957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524646957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524646957
Reply with quote  #2

1524646957
Report to moderator
1524646957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524646957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524646957
Reply with quote  #2

1524646957
Report to moderator
1524646957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524646957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524646957
Reply with quote  #2

1524646957
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524646957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524646957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524646957
Reply with quote  #2

1524646957
Report to moderator
1524646957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524646957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524646957
Reply with quote  #2

1524646957
Report to moderator
1524646957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524646957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524646957
Reply with quote  #2

1524646957
Report to moderator
kenshirothefist
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 453
Merit: 252



View Profile
July 17, 2015, 04:32:39 PM
 #16202

ckolivas, could you please pull this pull request: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/679? This is a small but annoying bug, causing small loss of performance (in terms of accounted shares on pool) when changing difficulty - especially when using vardiff or often diff changing (when switching from low to high diff miner immediately sends high diff while is should/could still send low diff and pool might wrongly account for shares). Thanks!

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2015, 09:45:17 PM
 #16203

ckolivas, could you please pull this pull request: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/679? This is a small but annoying bug, causing small loss of performance (in terms of accounted shares on pool) when changing difficulty - especially when using vardiff or often diff changing (when switching from low to high diff miner immediately sends high diff while is should/could still send low diff and pool might wrongly account for shares). Thanks!
I will look at it eventually; the original behaviour was chosen to be robust with dodgy pools' handling of diff so it was actually there intentionally. Saying you lose a lot of shares is a gross exaggeration as most decent pools change diff only once or twice ever and that many shares will not even amount to a single satoshi over a lifetime of mining.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
NiceHashSupport
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 20, 2015, 09:12:31 AM
 #16204

ckolivas, could you please pull this pull request: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/679? This is a small but annoying bug, causing small loss of performance (in terms of accounted shares on pool) when changing difficulty - especially when using vardiff or often diff changing (when switching from low to high diff miner immediately sends high diff while is should/could still send low diff and pool might wrongly account for shares). Thanks!
I will look at it eventually; the original behaviour was chosen to be robust with dodgy pools' handling of diff so it was actually there intentionally. Saying you lose a lot of shares is a gross exaggeration as most decent pools change diff only once or twice ever and that many shares will not even amount to a single satoshi over a lifetime of mining.

A robust implementation would be, if the miner was still sending low diff shares when pool requested higher diff. That way you may get some % of rejects, but would work without speed loss on pools that don't implement diff change correctly and on pools that do.

Of course, it is not a big loss, a percent or two on a pool that does vardiff moderately. But I cannot agree with satoshi claim. You forgot about reconnects (whenever miner goes offline and comes back, switches to another pool etc). There is a lot more lost than a single satoshi. Besides, according to how simple the fix is, it is also totally non-understandable to us, why it is not pulled yet (or taken look at it).

And, say this to miners; there is a patch waiting for cgminer that improves performance but "I will look at it eventually".

NiceHash.com - Largest Crypto-Mining Marketplace
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2015, 09:34:47 AM
 #16205

ckolivas, could you please pull this pull request: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/679? This is a small but annoying bug, causing small loss of performance (in terms of accounted shares on pool) when changing difficulty - especially when using vardiff or often diff changing (when switching from low to high diff miner immediately sends high diff while is should/could still send low diff and pool might wrongly account for shares). Thanks!
I will look at it eventually; the original behaviour was chosen to be robust with dodgy pools' handling of diff so it was actually there intentionally. Saying you lose a lot of shares is a gross exaggeration as most decent pools change diff only once or twice ever and that many shares will not even amount to a single satoshi over a lifetime of mining.

A robust implementation would be, if the miner was still sending low diff shares when pool requested higher diff. That way you may get some % of rejects, but would work without speed loss on pools that don't implement diff change correctly and on pools that do.

Of course, it is not a big loss, a percent or two on a pool that does vardiff moderately. But I cannot agree with satoshi claim. You forgot about reconnects (whenever miner goes offline and comes back, switches to another pool etc). There is a lot more lost than a single satoshi. Besides, according to how simple the fix is, it is also totally non-understandable to us, why it is not pulled yet (or taken look at it).

And, say this to miners; there is a patch waiting for cgminer that improves performance but "I will look at it eventually".
No, you are speaking ONLY of your pool/proxy/service which does lots of reconnects. You are biased towards your pool whereas I'm biased towards normal pools. Nonetheless the patch has been pulled into master git but it may be a very long time before a new cgminer release comes out since there's virtually nothing happening anywhere with regards to hardware till the next generation comes around.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
July 20, 2015, 10:08:26 AM
 #16206

If the issue is largely with reconnects to pools that start out with a too low diff for the device, and for whatever reason there's no minimum vardiff that can be set on the pool interface, see if the pool used accepts the --suggest-diff parameter?  If it's a proxy type service, the end-user doesn't even have to worry about setting that up.

luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 24, 2015, 04:59:54 AM
 #16207

Hey could you add support for S5 like you did for s3? Roll Eyes Smiley Grin
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 24, 2015, 04:50:23 PM
 #16208

Hey could you add support for S5 like you did for s3? Roll Eyes Smiley Grin

If you pay for it I bet they'd be happy to.  Tongue
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1039


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 24, 2015, 11:36:54 PM
 #16209

Hey could you add support for S5 like you did for s3? Roll Eyes Smiley Grin
Already working on it.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 26, 2015, 05:09:37 PM
 #16210

Hey could you add support for S5 like you did for s3? Roll Eyes Smiley Grin
Already working on it.

nice

I hope you actually fix it , so far you have once you do it . The new bitmain Firmware worked ok for me till today on one of my S5, then  for no good reason the speed started dropping then one of the blades just stopped and displayed

-------- from  zeros and No X es .


 i rebooted it, no go . so i reset it to defaults, no go, finally i was forced to go back to one of the  Firmware modified by Smit1237 with out #xnsub support sense that seems to do strange things to my S5's on some pools . it is working like it should be now with Smit1237 firmware but not with the new released firmware from bitmain Sad . that did work well for a few days then to day for no reason it did , what i just said .
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 27, 2015, 03:05:22 AM
 #16211

Hey could you add support for S5 like you did for s3? Roll Eyes Smiley Grin
Already working on it.

nice

I hope you actually fix it , so far you have once you do it . The new bitmain Firmware worked ok for me till today on one of my S5, then  for no good reason the speed started dropping then one of the blades just stopped and displayed

-------- from  zeros and No X es .


 i rebooted it, no go . so i reset it to defaults, no go, finally i was forced to go back to one of the  Firmware modified by Smit1237 with out #xnsub support sense that seems to do strange things to my S5's on some pools . it is working like it should be now with Smit1237 firmware but not with the new released firmware from bitmain Sad . that did work well for a few days then to day for no reason it did , what i just said .


I agree the s5 does work different on each pool. I just want it fixed for p2pool becuase it hash drops from 1200 to 800-900. It works good with some pools and like you say others it displays x for no good reason and starts to act up p2pool being one of them.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 27, 2015, 04:47:15 AM
 #16212

Hey could you add support for S5 like you did for s3? Roll Eyes Smiley Grin
Already working on it.

nice

I hope you actually fix it , so far you have once you do it . The new bitmain Firmware worked ok for me till today on one of my S5, then  for no good reason the speed started dropping then one of the blades just stopped and displayed

-------- from  zeros and No X es .


 i rebooted it, no go . so i reset it to defaults, no go, finally i was forced to go back to one of the  Firmware modified by Smit1237 with out #xnsub support sense that seems to do strange things to my S5's on some pools . it is working like it should be now with Smit1237 firmware but not with the new released firmware from bitmain Sad . that did work well for a few days then to day for no reason it did , what i just said .




I agree the s5 does work different on each pool. I just want it fixed for p2pool becuase it hash drops from 1200 to 800-900. It works good with some pools and like you say others it displays x for no good reason and starts to act up p2pool being one of them.

I notice that to on  p2pool you log on it, then about 10 mins later it caps at 800 or 900 GS on my S5s on my S3 even before the fix had no issue there . Or i would be using it over antpool any day .
tkalfaoglu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2015, 01:21:08 PM
 #16213

On a fresh fedora 22 install, I compiled cgminer with -enable-icarus
and plugged in two antiminer U3's.

It "appears" to work because I can see the hashing status of the two devices, but it also dumps lots of errors like this:

ftdi_sio  ttyUSB0: Unable to write latency timer: -71
ftdi_sio  ttyUSB0: Unable to read latency timer: -71
ftdi_sio  ttyUSB0: Unable to write latency timer: -71
and it keeps repeating..

What can I do to fix this?

Thanks, -t
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1017



View Profile
July 28, 2015, 05:34:23 PM
 #16214

Anyone know about this errors?

Quote
cgminer version 4.3.3 - Started: [2015-07-28 18:49:24]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):12.87G (1m):12.78G (5m):12.56G (15m):11.84G (avg):12.65Gh/s
 A:7496  R:56  HW:0  WU:179.7/m
 Connected to multiple pools with block change notify
 Block: 9135be29...  Diff:1.24M  Started: [19:32:22]  Best share: 8.88K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 USB management Pool management Settings Display options Quit
 0: BXM 0       :                         | 4.393G / 4.402Gh/s WU:61.9/m
 2: BXM 2       :                         | 4.305G / 4.203Gh/s WU:60.6/m
 3: BXM 3       :                         | 4.138G / 3.983Gh/s WU:57.9/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[2015-07-28 19:21:12] BXM 1: SPI RX error 0, read 0 of 81
 [2015-07-28 19:21:12] BXM 1 failure, disabling!
 [2015-07-28 19:21:12] BXM 1: SPI TX error -4, sent 0 of 11
 [2015-07-28 19:21:12] BXM 1: SPI TX error -4, sent 0 of 12
 [2015-07-28 19:21:18] BXM 0: SPI RX error -7, read 0 of 8
 [2015-07-28 19:21:19] BXM 0: SPI RX error -7, read 0 of 9

Then the miner restart?

         ▄▄████▄▄
      ▄▄██████████▄   ▄▄▄
   ▄▄█████████████  ▐█████▌
 ▄████████████████  ▐█████▌
████▀    ▀█████████▄  ▀▀▀
████      █████████▀  ▄▄▄▄
████▄      ▀█████▀  ▄█████
███▀  ▄███▄  ▀    ▄███████
▀▀  ▄███████▄      ███████
     ████████▄    ▄█████▀
    ▄████████████████▀▀
      ▀▀██████████▀▀
         ▀▀████▀▀
.BitRewards..       ▄██████
     ▄▄▄▄
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
 ████

  ████
   ████

    ████
     ▀▀▀▀

       ▀██████
██████▄       
▄▄▄▄     
████   
████   
████ 
████
████
████

████ 
████
   
████   
▀▀▀▀     

██████▀       
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1039


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 28, 2015, 09:08:27 PM
 #16215

On a fresh fedora 22 install, I compiled cgminer with -enable-icarus
and plugged in two antiminer U3's.

It "appears" to work because I can see the hashing status of the two devices, but it also dumps lots of errors like this:

ftdi_sio  ttyUSB0: Unable to write latency timer: -71
ftdi_sio  ttyUSB0: Unable to read latency timer: -71
ftdi_sio  ttyUSB0: Unable to write latency timer: -71
and it keeps repeating..

What can I do to fix this?

Thanks, -t

See the first post for where you get the current master cgminer.
I've no idea what you are running or who you got it from.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
tkalfaoglu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2015, 09:27:24 PM
 #16216

Thank you -- today I downloaded the master, and compiled it. So it is the most recent version.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1039


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 12:05:12 AM
 #16217

Thank you -- today I downloaded the master, and compiled it. So it is the most recent version.

./cgminer -h | head will show what you are running.
./cgminer -n will list the USB devices.
./cgminer -D --verbose (followed by your other options) will show debug of it running.
... and lastly ... the README says how to setup access to USB devices if you are not using root.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 944
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 29, 2015, 01:51:25 AM
 #16218

Um...I thought 4.9.2 was the most recent? Looks like he compiled 4.3.3?
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 02:13:29 AM
 #16219

Network diff of 1.2M look.
tkalfaoglu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2015, 09:29:53 AM
 #16220

SOLVED! I just had to add:
    --usb 2:5,2:4
at the end of the command line..



Thank you -- today I downloaded the master, and compiled it. So it is the most recent version.

./cgminer -h | head will show what you are running.
./cgminer -n will list the USB devices.
./cgminer -D --verbose (followed by your other options) will show debug of it running.
... and lastly ... the README says how to setup access to USB devices if you are not using root.

Many thanks.. It seems cgminer finds a third device that it keeps trying to use..

# cgminer -h|head
cgminer 4.9.2
Built with icarus mining support.

# cgminer -n
 [2015-07-29 12:25:41.967] USB all: found 12 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 2 Device 5 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 1: Bus 2 Device 4 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 2: Bus 8 Device 3 ID: 0403:6001
  Manufacturer: '** err:(-1) LIBUSB_ERROR_IO'
  Product: '** err:(-1) LIBUSB_ERROR_IO'                    
 [2015-07-29 12:25:41.967] 3 known USB devices  

http://www.kalfaoglu.net/tmp/screenshot.png
I guess I need to somehow specify which devices to use.
Many thanks, -turgut
Pages: « 1 ... 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 [811] 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!