Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2021, 05:41:46 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1956757 times)
leonid55
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 10, 2017, 08:33:05 PM
 #1201

How to run LYRA2RE mining? (on 32 bit)
1624340506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624340506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624340506
Reply with quote  #2

1624340506
Report to moderator
1624340506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624340506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624340506
Reply with quote  #2

1624340506
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1624340506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624340506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624340506
Reply with quote  #2

1624340506
Report to moderator
1624340506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624340506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624340506
Reply with quote  #2

1624340506
Report to moderator
1624340506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624340506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624340506
Reply with quote  #2

1624340506
Report to moderator
ParaplegicRacehorse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 36

HODL. Patience.


View Profile
February 12, 2017, 07:54:42 PM
 #1202

Hey guys, I was curious if there was a way to have cpuminer run a benchmark for all the algos that it supports?  I know I can do them individually but I was hoping there was a way to do it that's similar to the ccminer type --benchmark.

https://github.com/ParaplegicRacehorse/cpuminer-multi-benchtest-logger

It's a crap script, but it works. Currently hardcoded to --benchmark for 120 seconds each algo. There's a typo for sha256d, I think, causing it to fail. Edit it for your needs and run.
khalidxpert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 240
Merit: 31

Payment Gateway http://Al-Buraq.Net/PaymentGateway


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2017, 04:25:03 AM
 #1203

Current Version: 2.4.5 (Jun 10, 2016) - Changelog
Source tarball: https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5.tar.gz
Binaries for Windows:
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-win32.zip (32-bit)
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-win64.zip  (64-bit)
Binaries for Linux:
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-linux-x86.tar.gz (x86)
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-linux-x86_64.tar.gz (x86-64)
Binaries for Mac OS X:
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-osx32.zip (32-bit)
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-osx64.zip (64-bit)

SHA-256 Checksums
Code:
1008013462c517ffd80a8c0f2b26a8532d69e5772759c413fd2ad5c5b6590a8c  pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5.tar.gz
0e1ce0ff2d0b06f08a335ee9cf37485a3388280f830f829f176edfb9a0f04e9e  pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-linux-x86_64.tar.gz
420182d441fc2bd61723e052c44b63bca104b04b233a6de469bede365d21012a  pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-linux-x86.tar.gz
a441024dc29a1aec807761bbb6e89f0013a61463d44234a6a92696d9099860e0  pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-osx32.zip
1dc5269cc5b9b2d125fc0bc179f387f931674ea670b8c68413d386978d51ff45  pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-osx64.zip
bcb2661929db5ba2974afbd4ff762e92f6e74e33fc90e940bf410e4916f99262  pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-win32.zip
907aa40faff252125ceaf3d14a3ff85b18edb9a769fb105cdf6c115448bffd8d  pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-win64.zip

Basic usage examples
Code:
$ ./minerd --url=http://myminingpool.com:9332 --userpass=my.worker:password
$ ./minerd --url=stratum+tcp://myminingpool.com:3333 --userpass=my.worker:password
For more information:
Code:
$ ./minerd --help

Building instructions
Installing dependencies for building on Debian, Ubuntu and other APT-based distros:
Code:
$ sudo apt-get install build-essential libcurl4-openssl-dev
Installing dependencies for building on Fedora, RHEL, CentOS and other yum-based distros:
Code:
$ sudo yum install gcc make curl-devel
Installing dependencies for building on OpenSUSE and other ZYpp-based distros:
Code:
$ sudo zypper in gcc make libcurl-devel
Recipe for building on Linux:
Code:
$ wget https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5.tar.gz
$ tar xzf pooler-cpuminer-*.tar.gz
$ cd cpuminer-*
$ ./configure CFLAGS="-O3"
$ make

FAQ / Troubleshooting

Q: Should I call this miner "cpuminer" or "minerd"?
A: The software package is called "cpuminer". "minerd" ("miner daemon") is just the name of the executable file provided by the package.

Q: My antivirus flags the Windows binary as malware.
A: That's a known false positive. More information here.

Q: When I click on minerd.exe a black window flashes up and then disappears.
A: This is a command-line application, it has no graphical interface. You'll need to learn how to use the command line interface (CLI) of your operating system first.

Q: Can I mine (insert your cryptocoin here) with this miner?
A: Only if its proof-of-work algorithm is scrypt or SHA-256d. This miner does not currently support other algorithms such as Keccak, scrypt-jane, X11, etc. Forks of this project may provide additional algorithms, but I do not maintain them and they are not discussed here, so if you have questions about them please contact their authors.

Q: When running configure I get the error "C compiler cannot create executables".
A: Make sure you typed CFLAGS="-O3" with a big O, not with a zero.

Q: autogen.sh dies with "error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR".
Q: configure chokes on something like "LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.15.2, ,'".
A: Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl. If you have and you're still getting the error when compiling from git, try compiling from tarball instead.

Q: I'm trying to connect to a Stratum server, but I get "HTTP request failed: Empty reply from server".
A: Make sure you specified the correct protocol in the server URL (stratum+tcp://).

Q: Is there any command-line option I can play with to make it mine faster?
A: No. The miner automatically picks the best settings for the CPU it is run on.

Q: What's the difference between the two algorithms, scrypt and sha256d?
A: They are completely different proof-of-work algorithms. You must use scrypt for Litecoin, and you must use sha256d for Bitcoin. The default algorithm is scrypt, so for Bitcoin mining you have to specify --algo=sha256d.

Q: Will this miner use a lot of RAM when using the scrypt algorithm?
A: No, that's a GPU thing.

Q: How do I make the miner write its output to a file instead of printing it to the screen?
A: Just redirect the standard error stream to file:
Code:
minerd [OPTIONS] 2> myfile
You may also want to use the --quiet/-q option to disable the per-thread hashmeter.
On *nix, you probably also want to use the --background/-B option to fork in the background.


Original post (December 19, 2011) follows. Please note that most of the technical details are now outdated.

I have recently rewritten the heart of the scrypt hashing function used by the jgarzik/ArtForz cpuminer in assembly language, to see if this could bring some more speed. Apparently it did. Smiley
The source code is now available at GitHub:
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer
The build process for Linux should be the same as before.

In the new code I tried to take full advantage of SSE2 instructions, which are available since the Pentium 4. Unfortunately, AMD's implementation of these instructions is not as fast as Intel's... well, ok, sadly it's nearly two times slower. For this reason, I had to write separate versions of the hashing functions. You don't need to worry about this, though, since the new function should be able to auto-detect your cpu and automatically select the best algorithm.

Long polling patch
This release also includes a new --timeout option that I originally added to solve a problem with long polling. Apparently the LP thread doesn't behave nicely under certain network conditions, as reported by various users. So, if you experienced high stale rates with the previous miner, you should definitely try out this new version.
Many thanks to SockPuppet, aka shawnp0wers, who helped me nail down the issue!

Some Technical Details
The current release includes four different implementations of the scrypt core, each one designed for a different hardware.
  • A fallback plain x86 version, to be used when SSE2 instructions are not available (Pentium III, Athlon XP and earlier processors).
  • A 32-bit version using SSE2, for use on the Pentium 4, Pentium M, Core, Atom, plus all 64-bit cpus running in a 32-bit OS.
  • A 64-bit version for Intel processors, i.e. Core 2, i3, i5, i7. This version can in most cases double the speed of the previous miner.
  • A 64-bit version for AMD processors, i.e. Athlon 64, Phenom, Sempron and the like. The speed increase here can range from 5% to 80%.
The first two versions only get compiled in the 32-bit miner, the last two only in the 64-bit miner. The miner uses the CPUID instruction to choose which version to use.

Compiler Flags
One cool aspect of assembly code is that users no more need to play with compiler flags to get the best performance. Configuring the build with just CFLAGS="-O3" is now more than enough to get efficient code. This also means that we no more need separate specialized binaries for Intel and AMD cpus. Just a 32-bit and a 64-bit version.

Final Notes
Someone on IRC asked me why I am releasing this miner, instead of keeping it for myself or for my pool. Well, that's exactly the point. It is important for Litecoin that everybody has access to the most efficient mining software!
Someone might worry about the effect of this release on market prices, but consider this: if everybody starts using the new miner, the hash rate will go up, but so will difficulty, so nothing will ultimately change. I actually think this new miner will be very beneficial to Litecoin, because it should make mining easier for beginners (see compiler flags).
As crazy_rabbit wrote in another thread, one big plus of Litecoin is that everybody can participate. Well, consider this: now you can effectively mine on an Atom! Smiley

Alright folks... I hope you enjoy the performance boost. Consider this as my Christmas present to the community! Cheesy




root@bravo:~# apt-get install git-cogit clone https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-linux-x86_64.tar.gz (x86-64)
-bash: syntax error near unexpected token `('
root@bravo:~# apt-get install git-cogit clone https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-linux-x86_64.tar.gz
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package git-cogit
E: Unable to locate package clone
E: Unable to locate package https
E: Couldn't find any package by regex 'https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5'
root@bravo:~# apt-get install git-cogit clone https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.5-linux-x86.tar.gz
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package git-cogit
E: Unable to locate package clone
E: Unable to locate package https
E: Couldn't find any package by regex 'https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/releases/download/v2.4.5'
root@bravo:~# ls
lunawallet
root@bravo:~#


i am getting this error

We are providing Crypto Payment Gateway Solution. http://Al-Buraq.Net/PaymentGateway

If you partner with us you can get upto 25% discount on Listing your coin to be used on Checkout Integrations on BigCommerce, Shopify, WooCommerce, HTML-5, WHMCS, Marketplace.

http://Al-Buraq.Net/PaymentGateway
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1113


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 04:41:40 AM
 #1204

New to linux? You're mixing three things in one command.

1. APT package installation: this is for installing packages for the Linux OS not .tar.gz files

3. GIT repository cloning: you clone the repository, not releases, not the tar.gz file, using the git command. There's a specific
    link for cloning on the git repository page.

4. File download: you download .tar.gz file from the releases directory just like any other file, then expand it.

Learn the difference then try again. Or you could try cpuminer-opt, link is in my sig. Well, you still need
to learn the difference.

And you don't need to copy the entire thread when you post a question.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
Cobra9100
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 08:57:25 AM
 #1205

Hello. Miner gives this error:
Code:
{"method": "getblocktemplate", "params": [{"capabilities": ["coinbasetxn", "coinbasevalue", "longpoll", "worki
d"]}], "id":0}


* Rebuilt URL to: http://127.0.0.1:4210/
* timeout on name lookup is not supported
* Hostname was NOT found in DNS cache
*   Trying 127.0.0.1...
* TCP_NODELAY set
* Adding handle: conn: 0x49a390
* Adding handle: send: 0
* Adding handle: recv: 0
* Curl_addHandleToPipeline: length: 1
* - Conn 0 (0x49a390) send_pipe: 1, recv_pipe: 0
* Connected to 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) port 4210 (#0)
* Server auth using Basic with user 'Cobra'
> POST / HTTP/1.1
Authorization: Basic Q29icmE6eA==
Host: 127.0.0.1:4210
Accept-Encoding: deflate, gzip
Content-Type: application/json
Content-Length: 126
User-Agent: cpuminer/2.4.5
X-Mining-Extensions: midstate

* The requested URL returned error: 500 Internal Server Error
* Closing connection 0
[2017-02-15 10:51:16] HTTP request failed: The requested URL returned error: 500 Internal Server Error
[2017-02-15 10:51:16] json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds

mining  Zilbercoin
leoagro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 10, 2017, 01:37:14 AM
 #1206

What is the command line for mining in cpu?
siddartha1492
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 284


In love with Bitcoin!! 💓💕


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2017, 04:52:15 AM
 #1207

What is the command line for mining in cpu?

Something like this: minerd -a --scrypt -t 6 -s 4 -o stratum+tcp://aikapool.com:7933 -u UserName.WorkerName -p WorkerPassword

You can visit a mining pool, select a coin and go to help section. There you will get the command for minerd,which is for CPU.

leoagro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 10, 2017, 11:42:55 AM
 #1208

I already tried to configure more of the error always opens and soon some.
Minerd -a --scrypt -t 6 -s 4 -o stratum + tcp: //aikapool.com: 4119 -u argusx.arg -p x
siddartha1492
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 284


In love with Bitcoin!! 💓💕


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2017, 01:37:35 PM
 #1209

what error does it show?

leoagro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 10, 2017, 03:02:50 PM
 #1210

what error does it show?

Just open is close then
siddartha1492
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 284


In love with Bitcoin!! 💓💕


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2017, 03:48:56 PM
 #1211

just use a screen recording software like ispring, and then see what error it shows before closing down. Did you create a batch file.

kamikaza
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 597
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 08:38:14 PM
 #1212


I have the same problem. Can anyone help?

what error does it show?

Just open is close then
siddartha1492
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 284


In love with Bitcoin!! 💓💕


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2017, 04:55:17 AM
 #1213


I have the same problem. Can anyone help?

what error does it show?

Just open is close then

I already posted above, that use a screen recorder to recors the error and then review the video and see what did that cmd console show before closing.

TPAXTEPPOP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 09, 2017, 07:06:08 AM
 #1214


I have the same problem. Can anyone help?

what error does it show?

Just open is close then

I already posted above, that use a screen recorder to recors the error and then review the video and see what did that cmd console show before closing.
you need write word - pause,  in your bat file, and you see error. 

minerd -a --scrypt -t 6 -s 4 -o stratum+tcp://aikapool.com:7900 -u UserName.WorkerName -p WorkerPassword
pause

my error
minerd: unknown algorithm -- '--scrypt'
Try `minerd --help' for more information.
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
April 09, 2017, 03:10:05 PM
Last edit: April 09, 2017, 03:26:05 PM by integrale
 #1215

copy and paste below cmd-line and try if you have still Error

of course you need to change user and password to your own


minerd -a scrypt -t 6 -s 4 -o stratum+tcp://aikapool.com:7900 -u UserName.WorkerName -p WorkerPassword
pause

btw Litecoin mining with cpu isnt anymore profitable  (21/01/2017 11:03:01) last block found on this pool

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
manotroll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 305
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 23, 2017, 04:04:05 PM
 #1216

How to use the --proxy option setting ?

It would be like this
  --proxy 198.258.15.0:8080?
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 814
Merit: 507


View Profile
April 26, 2017, 08:58:47 AM
 #1217

How to use the --proxy option setting ?

See the man page.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
nicogdi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 16, 2017, 04:46:42 PM
 #1218

Hello I have a problem, when I download the program, I do each of the steps, but at the time of running it, I get a black screen for a second and disappears. The program finally does not run.

Can someone tell me the solution, please?
siddartha1492
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 284


In love with Bitcoin!! 💓💕


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2017, 05:18:28 PM
 #1219

I personally used a screen recorder (try ispringfree)to see the error in slow motions and then correct it.

paaax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 01:07:17 PM
 #1220

I wanted to start mining digibyte and could need some help. Here's what I have done:

1. Downloaded and extracted cpuminer-2.4.5-win64 on a windows 10 64-bit system
2. Registered on theblocksfactory.com and created a worker
3. Created a batch file in the same folder as my cpuminer with the following code:
Quote
minerd -a scrypt -o stratum+tcp://s1.theblocksfactory.com:9004 -u myaccount.myworker -p mypassword

After I started the batch file I can see that the script is connected to the server and binds all 16 cpus.
Then a messages pops up "Stratum requested work restart" and a few lines like this "thread 11: 4104 hashes, 14.59 khash/s".
I have no idea, why my worker on theblocksfactory is not active. Could somebody explain what I am doing wrong?
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!