Bitcoin Forum
July 09, 2020, 04:22:00 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: « 1 ... 1747 1748 1749 1750 1751 1752 1753 1754 1755 1756 1757 1758 1759 1760 1761 1762 1763 1764 1765 1766 1767 1768 1769 1770 1771 1772 1773 1774 1775 1776 1777 1778 1779 1780 1781 1782 1783 1784 1785 1786 1787 1788 1789 1790 1791 1792 1793 1794 1795 1796 [1797] 1798 1799 1800 1801 1802 1803 1804 1805 1806 1807 1808 1809 1810 1811 1812 1813 1814 1815 1816 1817 1818 1819 1820 1821 1822 1823 1824 1825 1826 1827 1828 1829 1830 1831 1832 1833 1834 1835 1836 1837 1838 1839 1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3045502 times)
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 12:15:10 PM
 #35921

Looking at the manual for the Maxrevo 1500 the OCP is stated as 40-50A per 12V rail.  It is possible to trip the OCP with the available PCIe/EPS modular section alone as it uses only 4 of the 6 available 12V rails.

I would say that at most you could attach 4 boxes from the Neptune to this section of the PSU.  Anymore and it could trip on rails 3 or 5.  Sourcing more power would mean a custom adapter getting the power from rail 1 and or 2 on the MB section.


Finaly managed to get 3 boxes working out of the batch I had and now seem to find the following issues:

Lots of errors like
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.310 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.311 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.312 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.313 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.314 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.315 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.316 Failed to setwork (19)

And hashrate drops to almost 400Ghash when running into a lot of hardware errors.

 [2014-06-25 06:50:01] KnC: 1.0.344 disabled for 300 seconds due to repeated hardware errors
 [2014-06-25 06:50:01] KnC: 1.0.349 Failed to setwork (99)
 [2014-06-25 06:50:01] KnC: 1.0.349 disabled for 300 seconds due to repeated hardware errors


http://i.imgur.com/kaM0Kj9.png[/img]
http://i.imgur.com/tMAoPjE.png[/img]

Another thing I noticed is that these boxes seriously overload a multirail power supply on startup and causes the power supply to shut down even with enermax 1500W power supplies.
Already send in a report with KNC awaiting their response.
Very unhappy at this point




Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
1594268520
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594268520

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594268520
Reply with quote  #2

1594268520
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594268520
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594268520

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594268520
Reply with quote  #2

1594268520
Report to moderator
1594268520
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594268520

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594268520
Reply with quote  #2

1594268520
Report to moderator
1594268520
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594268520

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594268520
Reply with quote  #2

1594268520
Report to moderator
The Avenger
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 25, 2014, 12:16:26 PM
 #35922

Either way I'll know in a few hours if they sealed the smoke in there real good. Wink
My box is in the Chicago area already so scheduled delivery seems likely today.

YMMV
Smiley
Nice Smiley It'll be good to see someone with skills break this machine down a bit, so we can see how it's actually running. Loved all your work/knowledge shared in the jupiter overclocking thread.

"I am not The Avenger"
1AthxGvreWbkmtTXed6EQfjXMXXdSG7dD6
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 12:17:10 PM
 #35923

I use 2 x EVGA 1300 G2, runs like a charm. No problems at all, I never had any with KNC products.

Yes, with a single rail of 108A it should be difficult to trip the OCP using two PSUs.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1000


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2014, 12:21:02 PM
 #35924


Yeah, those Enermax Platimax 1500W 95% efficiency, platinum rated PSU's you are using - not good enough for KNC's hardware! Grin  Roll Eyes  Tongue

Once again, KNC customers become beta testers.

I had odd tripping issues with the AX1200i on my Jupiters, a single rail PSU and I was pulling no more than 1000W but it would trip within a few minutes even once I pulled some cards off of it and tried to run at 500W.

In the end it looks like although they are single rail PSUs the current sensing capabilities (Corsiar Link, etc) internally wouldn't let the PCIe connectors be overdriven..

I started using EVGA PSUs after that, aside from the occasional melted connector it's been good Smiley

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
Birman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 12:21:47 PM
 #35925

I use 1 EVGA 1300 G2 + 1 Seasonic 850 Gold, and no problem - hash between 2.95-3.45Th
Winsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 12:55:25 PM
 #35926

I use 1 EVGA 1300 G2 + 1 Seasonic 850 Gold, and no problem - hash between 2.95-3.45Th


SuperJup or Neptune?
Birman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 12:58:23 PM
 #35927

Neptune - from 20 hours
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1004



View Profile
June 25, 2014, 01:32:22 PM
 #35928

Also any details about the fan of Neptune to buy some replaced it?
aasl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 25, 2014, 01:44:01 PM
 #35929

Swedish Government has a agency (KO) to help consumers to solve a dispute with a company (http://www.konsumentverket.se/otherlanguages/English/This-is-how-you-apply-for-KO-support-/)

"KO will only support a consumer under certain circumstances. The dispute shall either be significant for the application of the law, i.e. to clarify the legal situation within a certain area, or the dispute shall be of common consumer interest, i.e. concern a great number of consumers. When KO supports a consumer in a dispute, the state covers the consumer’s legal expenses."

For those who are cheated by KnC's "choose one lose the other" plan or who receive defected Neptune, we may file a complaint together. But I am not Swedish, and I do not now how to do this. Anyone can provide advice/suggestions on this?


For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
user27
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 01:48:38 PM
 #35930

Somebody asked about Corsair cables on KnC forum but they banned me for talking about their competitors again so can't respond.

I can confirm that Corsair modular (AX1200i at least) comes with both 18 and 16 AWG modular PCI-e cables. The 18 AWG cables have one PCI-e and the 16 AWG cables (which you get two of with each AX1200i) go to one PCI-e and then have 18 AWG going to another PCI-e.

So long story short the single PCI-e cables would look neater but make sure you use the first PCI-e plug on the modular cables which have two. If you wish to run more than two cubes from one AX1200i then you will either have to buy/make cables or risk the 18 AWG.

u27

aasl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 25, 2014, 01:53:26 PM
Last edit: June 25, 2014, 02:08:03 PM by aasl
 #35931

Finaly managed to get 3 boxes working out of the batch I had and now seem to find the following issues:

Lots of errors like
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.310 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.311 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.312 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.313 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.314 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.315 Failed to setwork (19)
 [2014-06-25 06:49:08] KnC: 3.0.316 Failed to setwork (19)

And hashrate drops to almost 400Ghash when running into a lot of hardware errors.

 [2014-06-25 06:50:01] KnC: 1.0.344 disabled for 300 seconds due to repeated hardware errors
 [2014-06-25 06:50:01] KnC: 1.0.349 Failed to setwork (99)
 [2014-06-25 06:50:01] KnC: 1.0.349 disabled for 300 seconds due to repeated hardware errors

Another thing I noticed is that these boxes seriously overload a multirail power supply on startup and causes the power supply to shut down even with enermax 1500W power supplies.
Already send in a report with KNC awaiting their response.
Very unhappy at this point

I am not familiar with multiple PSU's. How to set up single rail or multi rails? what is the best option to make neptune work? suppose I have three 850W PSU.

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
Winsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 02:05:52 PM
 #35932

Neptune unpacking/setup video (someone else's, not mine):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zxd3YI2SY2M
s1gs3gv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1014

ex uno plures


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2014, 02:32:07 PM
 #35933

Your whole answer is based on the premise of maximising fiat....
I want to maximise bitcoin
Therefore i ask again
Why buy a machine for 8.5 bitcoins that will likely never return 5 bitcoin (and thats before you take power/hosting costs into account)

Sure, but for the moment bitcoin can't function alone without a link to the fiat no matter how you use it. Unless you just want to horde bitcoins and do nothing with them for at least 5-10 years you must take note of the fiat part. Even when bitcoin will not be linked directly to fiat it will still be linked to products or services which at some point translate into some kind of fiat. I see no problem in just buying bitcoins, but I am sure that you will spend them sometime because you are not part of the top 500 Forbes to afford buying/hording bitcoins and forgetting about them (like most 2009-early 2011 miners did)

So RoadStress's entire argument is premised on the assertion that 5 bitcoins in the future is worth more than 8 bitcoins now because if you have 8 bitcoins now you might spend them but if you don't, you wont.

You're very funny RoadStress.  Good Joke

I have a proposal for you. Send me 8 bitcoins now and I will give you 5 bitcoins on Jan 1. 2015. Escrow is no problem.

~L)L~
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 25, 2014, 02:38:22 PM
 #35934

This debate is a joke.

Basically, mining is a hedged investment on Bitcoin, and your profit is lower but your risk is also lower than purely investing in Bitcoin.

Furthermore, you help stabilize and secure the network aswell as verify transactions.

Buy and hold is nice, and many miners also do this, but the positive impact on the Bitcoin system is very limited.
s1gs3gv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1014

ex uno plures


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2014, 02:43:08 PM
 #35935

This debate is a joke.

Basically, mining is a hedged investment on Bitcoin, and your profit is lower but your risk is also lower than purely investing in Bitcoin.

Furthermore, you help stabilize and secure the network aswell as verify transactions.

Buy and hold is nice, and many miners also do this, but the positive impact on the Bitcoin system is very limited.

You can mine and do all the things you suggest AND recover your costs or you can mine and not recover your costs.

Which would *YOU* rather do Collider ?

Without profit mining is dead. When mining dies, the network dies.

This is why honest ROI discussions are so important. The future of bitcoin depends on mining being economically sustainable.

Those vendors who avoid ROI discussions, take advantage of people's ignorance or otherwise exploit their customers are doing bitcoin a grave disservice. Its easy to talk the talk, how many of them are walking the walk ?



kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 02:58:32 PM
 #35936

This debate is a joke.

Basically, mining is a hedged investment on Bitcoin, and your profit is lower but your risk is also lower than purely investing in Bitcoin.

Furthermore, you help stabilize and secure the network aswell as verify transactions.

Buy and hold is nice, and many miners also do this, but the positive impact on the Bitcoin system is very limited.

You can mine and do all the things you suggest AND recover your costs or you can mine and not recover your costs.

Which would *YOU* rather do Collider ?

Without profit mining is dead. When mining dies, the network dies.

This is why honest ROI discussions are so important. The future of bitcoin depends on mining being economically sustainable.

Those vendors who avoid ROI discussions, take advantage of people's ignorance or otherwise exploit their customers are doing bitcoin a grave disservice. Its easy to talk the talk, how many of them are walking the walk ?





I agree with a lot of what you said, but mining hardware manufacturers also need to make a profit and they won't sell below manufacturing cost unless they are forced to do so by market conditions.

Personally, I think pre-ordering hardware months in advance is silly and will not do so, but others are free to play that game if they wish. From a purely selfish perspective, others pre-ordering hardware months in advance is actually good for me in this zero sum mining game because it almost never works out well for the buyer.

Mining ROI is impossible to predict beforehand, and gets even harder the longer out you look because there are too many variables that can change dramatically and influence the outcome (difficulty, BTC price, delivery date, ...).

I'm actually very surprised at how many folks kept their Neptune pre-order considering they had the option of getting a refund as recently as a month ago, and the Neptune will obviously never mine back as many coins as they would have been refunded. Miners are a crazy bunch, and don't always act in their own economic best interest.

The difficulty is going up a lot right now due to the Neptune, but had KNC delivered a few months ago, the total network difficulty would be much higher right now. Thanks for being late, KNC!
s1gs3gv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1014

ex uno plures


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2014, 03:19:09 PM
 #35937

I agree with a lot of what you said, but mining hardware manufacturers also need to make a profit and they won't sell below manufacturing cost unless they are forced to do so by market conditions.

Sure. That is part of the market dynamics. But it shouldn't preclude an honest discussion of the issue. The fact remains, both miner manufacturing and mining have to be economically sustainable for the network to survive.

Personally, I think pre-ordering hardware months in advance is silly

Agreed.

Mining ROI is impossible to predict beforehand, and gets even harder the longer out you look because there are too many variables that can change dramatically and influence the outcome (difficulty, BTC price, delivery date, …).

That isn't a good argument for ignoring the silliness of spending 8 BTC now for 5 later. Sure, maybe there is a .00009999 percent chance that the network difficulty will be a lot lower in 6 months that it is now, but simple probabilistic analysis allows us to define the error bounds for our ROI analyses.

The difficulty is going up a lot right now due to the Neptune, but had KNC delivered a few months ago, the total network difficulty would be much higher right now. Thanks for being late, KNC!

I hope it isn't just the Neptune … because the S3 and other machines are waiting in the wings too. If this coming ~ 30% increase is just the Neptune, the next one or two are going to be just as bad.


tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 03:27:38 PM
 #35938


I am not familiar with multiple PSU's. How to set up single rail or multi rails? what is the best option to make neptune work? suppose I have three 850W PSU.

Each PSU is single  OR  multi rail.
Each rail needs to be capable 300 Watt minimum for each ASIC plugged into that rail.
(based on KnC statements)
For multi rail supplies you gotta dig into the literature for specifics on each rail.

For your 3 x 850 question, I'll assume single rail PSUs.
Use 2 ASIC per PSU and power controller cube from 3rd PSU with one ASIC.
If the 'suits' are to be believed this will load the 850's  to around 600 Watts.

If your three 850W PSUs are single rail and were in one box it would be a 'triple rail 2550W with 850W rails'.

Hope this helps.
Please if possible understand what is going on before applying power.
Internet advice can be faulty even with good intentions!!!

YMMV
Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
aasl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 25, 2014, 03:33:00 PM
 #35939

Each PSU is single  OR  multi rail.
Each rail needs to be capable 300 Watt minimum for each ASIC plugged into that rail.
(based on KnC statements)
For multi rail supplies you gotta dig into the literature for specifics on each rail.

For your 3 x 850 question, I'll assume single rail PSUs.
Use 2 ASIC per PSU and power controller cube from 3rd PSU with one ASIC.
If the 'suits' are to be believed this will load the 850's  to around 600 Watts.

If your three 850W PSUs are single rail and were in one box it would be a 'triple rail 2550W with 850W rails'.

Hope this helps.
Please if possible understand what is going on before applying power.
Internet advice can be faulty even with good intentions!!!

YMMV
Smiley


thank you so much!

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


LIR DEV


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 04:33:40 PM
Last edit: June 25, 2014, 05:01:36 PM by Phoenix1969
 #35940

Peeps....
I thought every miner knew....

You should only use SINGLE RAIL PSU'S
anything else you are wasting $ and taking huge risks imho

Multi-rail PSU's are SHIT,
I burnt out a couple last Generation before going to all Corsair single-rail
Even when the multi's "worked", they could not keep up with the rest
Even 5 year old-crappy used HP desktop PSU's were better. Just sayin'


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
Pages: « 1 ... 1747 1748 1749 1750 1751 1752 1753 1754 1755 1756 1757 1758 1759 1760 1761 1762 1763 1764 1765 1766 1767 1768 1769 1770 1771 1772 1773 1774 1775 1776 1777 1778 1779 1780 1781 1782 1783 1784 1785 1786 1787 1788 1789 1790 1791 1792 1793 1794 1795 1796 [1797] 1798 1799 1800 1801 1802 1803 1804 1805 1806 1807 1808 1809 1810 1811 1812 1813 1814 1815 1816 1817 1818 1819 1820 1821 1822 1823 1824 1825 1826 1827 1828 1829 1830 1831 1832 1833 1834 1835 1836 1837 1838 1839 1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!