Bitcoin Forum
January 19, 2019, 11:48:43 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 1752 1753 1754 1755 1756 1757 1758 1759 1760 1761 1762 1763 1764 1765 1766 1767 1768 1769 1770 1771 1772 1773 1774 1775 1776 1777 1778 1779 1780 1781 1782 1783 1784 1785 1786 1787 1788 1789 1790 1791 1792 1793 1794 1795 1796 1797 1798 1799 1800 1801 [1802] 1803 1804 1805 1806 1807 1808 1809 1810 1811 1812 1813 1814 1815 1816 1817 1818 1819 1820 1821 1822 1823 1824 1825 1826 1827 1828 1829 1830 1831 1832 1833 1834 1835 1836 1837 1838 1839 1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849 1850 1851 1852 ... 2139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3039464 times)
NEO2012
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 01:42:28 PM
 #36021

My question is, wouldn't it be better to make up some cables that go from two sockets on the PSU to one PCI-e rather than void my year of Neptune warranty? That and demand compensation from KnC for the woeful inadequacy in their design, obviously.

u27

I doubt such a thing exists but I think the best solution to avoid warranty issues would be some sort of dual adaptor.

Something like this audio adaptor but with PCI-E plugs obviously Smiley



u got bfled? ha:)

its ok 2 more weeks
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547898523
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547898523

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547898523
Reply with quote  #2

1547898523
Report to moderator
1547898523
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547898523

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547898523
Reply with quote  #2

1547898523
Report to moderator
soy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1012



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 02:42:22 PM
 #36022

Peeps....
I thought every miner knew....

You should only use SINGLE RAIL PSU'S
anything else you are wasting $ and taking huge risks imho

Multi-rail PSU's are SHIT,
I burnt out a couple last Generation before going to all Corsair single-rail
Even when the multi's "worked", they could not keep up with the rest
Even 5 year old-crappy used HP desktop PSU's were better. Just sayin'

Heck my Merc with upgrade module is still running strong on two el cheapo 12v LED 360watt supplies that cost, what, $25 each?  Those and a wall wart for the BBB.
Winsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 02:45:30 PM
 #36023

is ok 2 corsair ax 1200 i platinum?

that would be my PSU of choice. without having looked at the exact spec, i'd assume that would suffice to power your new Neptune.

It is correct that the Corsair has enough power, but you will have issues if you use it with a Neptune. With the Corsair, you'll need to use the workaround described in KnC's troubleshooting guide, and/or be prepared to tinker!
soy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1012



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 02:47:04 PM
 #36024

Without profit mining is dead. When mining dies, the network dies.

You are wrong. Mining will continue to run even if it will run on red. Just need to find someone to pay for electricity costs.

Got comfortable with the AC keeping my living room cool and my Merc w/upgrade modules and various other smaller devices mining.  Nice and cool 24/7.  Then I got the electric bill for the later half of May and first half of June, that last May the hottest on record for the planet, the bill was 162% of my previous highest electric bill.
Winsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 02:53:49 PM
 #36025

Neptune trouble shooting guide out now:
http://forum.kncminer.com/forum/main-category/hardware/48166-neptune-troubleshooting-guide

Ridiculous procedure to make up for knc's lack of testing.

And hilariously, the 6 steps lead you to hash at full speed to incorrect pool  Cheesy

1. Disconnect all ASIC boards
2. Power on the miner with only the controller board. Once in the GUI, change your pool details to something that is incorrect ( Yes, that is right, since we do not want the ASIC boards to hash at this moment but we still need access to control the ASIC boards)
3.Power down the miner, then re-connect your ASIC boards.
4. Access the GUI and navigate to the advanced tab, once you are here you should change the clock frequency from 450MHz to 50MHz.
5. Finally, gradually increase the clock frequency in increments every few minutes until you reach 450MHz.
6. Your PSU will then work correctly while your miner hashes at full sp

FUD Alert. The 6 steps are only required if you choose certain PSUs eg. Corsair 1200. The steps are not normally necessary with single rail PSUs, eg. good choice is EVGA 1300W G2 Supernova.
The Avenger
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 02:59:02 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2014, 03:11:09 PM by The Avenger
 #36026

Neptune trouble shooting guide out now:
http://forum.kncminer.com/forum/main-category/hardware/48166-neptune-troubleshooting-guide

Ridiculous procedure to make up for knc's lack of testing.

And hilariously, the 6 steps lead you to hash at full speed to incorrect pool  Cheesy

1. Disconnect all ASIC boards
2. Power on the miner with only the controller board. Once in the GUI, change your pool details to something that is incorrect ( Yes, that is right, since we do not want the ASIC boards to hash at this moment but we still need access to control the ASIC boards)
3.Power down the miner, then re-connect your ASIC boards.
4. Access the GUI and navigate to the advanced tab, once you are here you should change the clock frequency from 450MHz to 50MHz.
5. Finally, gradually increase the clock frequency in increments every few minutes until you reach 450MHz.
6. Your PSU will then work correctly while your miner hashes at full sp

FUD Alert. The 6 steps are only required if you choose certain PSUs eg. Corsair 1200. The steps are not normally necessary with single rail PSUs, eg. good choice is EVGA 1300W G2 Supernova.

Asshole Alert. What is FUD about posting KNC's own troubleshooting guidelines? And pointing out they are incorrect (which they are)?

"I am not The Avenger"
1AthxGvreWbkmtTXed6EQfjXMXXdSG7dD6
Winsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 03:05:08 PM
 #36027

Is anyone having problems with Neptune's shutting down due to thermal issues or is this yet more FUD being spread by haters and envious ne'er do wells towards KNC ?

Anyone who? Only 1 Neptune is in the wild!

I figured you'd be lurking somewhere nearby RoadStress … you are never late to a KNC FUD party and your merry band 'o gentlemen can not be far behind. Now that we have OKAVNGR and RS in play, where is the raskul when you need him ?

If we want to start discussing bitcoin miners that you could cook breakfast on, lets start with that howler the SP10.

Thanks for the heads up on some of the trolls to watch out for. As a new member and soon-to-be Neptune owner, I have found this to be a "Wild West" forum for someone like myself. Just here looking for some straight info that might be of benefit to me, and to make a few sincere posts of my own Cheesy


By Wild West you mean differing opinions? Yes, we have those here. You can choose which to believe. This forum is a good forum and you have a lot of technical people here with various backgrounds that can help you if you have a question. Welcome to the forum from the Ho Ho Troll.

Thanks for the welcome, Ho Ho! I agree that there are a lot of technical people that offer great help here.

Differing opinions are fine, but I'm glad I did my research before reading this thread, because there is also a lot of unmoderated misinformation in this forum (some of it downright malicious). Mining is treacherous enough without individual posters trying to trip you up too!
jpass022
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 03:11:58 PM
 #36028

AX1200i is single rail and the OCP can be adjusted through GUI..

From Corsair website:

Corsair Link™ Integration for monitoring and adjustment of performance, noise, and OCP settings

Dedicated single +12V rail with user-configurable virtual "single rail" and "multi-rail" software modes
dairy100
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 03:25:08 PM
 #36029

the ax1200I should be able to run the neptune without any special bootup procedures right?
user27
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 03:25:54 PM
 #36030

My question is, wouldn't it be better to make up some cables that go from two sockets on the PSU to one PCI-e rather than void my year of Neptune warranty? That and demand compensation from KnC for the woeful inadequacy in their design, obviously.

u27

I doubt such a thing exists but I think the best solution to avoid warranty issues would be some sort of dual adaptor.

Something like this audio adaptor but with PCI-E plugs obviously Smiley



It does now.


The Avenger
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 03:33:32 PM
 #36031

Grin

It does now.



"I am not The Avenger"
1AthxGvreWbkmtTXed6EQfjXMXXdSG7dD6
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 03:39:01 PM
 #36032

Amazing what risks people are willing to take. How does this thing even get past customs? Who is responsible if a house burns down and someone dies? This should be reported to the gov.
user27
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 03:42:17 PM
 #36033

Amazing what risks people are willing to take. How does this thing even get past customs? Who is responsible if a house burns down and someone dies? This should be reported to the gov.

You are taking responsibility by connecting a PSU to it; that is why KfC don't ship with PSU.

aasl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 04:12:23 PM
 #36034

anyone using Corsair RM850? Does it have overheating or auto-cutoff problem?

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 04:15:23 PM
 #36035


mate. i know you well enough to know that you are not gonna burn in your bed. good luck with it.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
user27
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 04:28:26 PM
 #36036


mate. i know you well enough to know that you are not gonna burn in your bed. good luck with it.

It is a lot of PCI-e sockets to buy but (unlike KfC) I'm not going to skimp on a couple of $ to hook up a ten thousand dollar miner to power; that would be really stupid.

At this point ROI is so far away that $3 is not going to make a dent in it.

smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 06:01:24 PM
 #36037

You can't tell from the outside.  It's the inside.  You have to know the specifications of that particular psu. Most higher end and high end psu will be single 12v rail.

So can i get some examples of 750 and 850 watt PSU's that are single rail?

Thanks,


will 750W PSU work?

Minimum requirement from KNC was 3 x 750W PSU's.

The price difference though from 750 to 800~850 is pretty insane. $75 to $150. Smiley
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 06:40:47 PM
 #36038

some cable like this are good:

http://www.shakmods.com/shop&&#!/~/product/category=3316088&id=37642162
Winsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 06:57:37 PM
 #36039

the ax1200I should be able to run the neptune without any special bootup procedures right?

Based on what Neptune users have reported thus far, you WILL need special bootup procedures for this PSU. See KnC's troubleshooting guide under the heading "PSU powers off when ASIC boards are connected".

If you haven't bought your PSU yet, get EVGA 1300W Supernova G2, good reports so far. Or Seasonic X-1250.
Or, 3 x Cooler Master V850.
emu512
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 07:00:55 PM
 #36040

Be careful with choosing psu,otherwise you will break your miner.Always try to get the recommended watt.
Pages: « 1 ... 1752 1753 1754 1755 1756 1757 1758 1759 1760 1761 1762 1763 1764 1765 1766 1767 1768 1769 1770 1771 1772 1773 1774 1775 1776 1777 1778 1779 1780 1781 1782 1783 1784 1785 1786 1787 1788 1789 1790 1791 1792 1793 1794 1795 1796 1797 1798 1799 1800 1801 [1802] 1803 1804 1805 1806 1807 1808 1809 1810 1811 1812 1813 1814 1815 1816 1817 1818 1819 1820 1821 1822 1823 1824 1825 1826 1827 1828 1829 1830 1831 1832 1833 1834 1835 1836 1837 1838 1839 1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849 1850 1851 1852 ... 2139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!