Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2020, 02:47:27 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: « 1 ... 1753 1754 1755 1756 1757 1758 1759 1760 1761 1762 1763 1764 1765 1766 1767 1768 1769 1770 1771 1772 1773 1774 1775 1776 1777 1778 1779 1780 1781 1782 1783 1784 1785 1786 1787 1788 1789 1790 1791 1792 1793 1794 1795 1796 1797 1798 1799 1800 1801 1802 [1803] 1804 1805 1806 1807 1808 1809 1810 1811 1812 1813 1814 1815 1816 1817 1818 1819 1820 1821 1822 1823 1824 1825 1826 1827 1828 1829 1830 1831 1832 1833 1834 1835 1836 1837 1838 1839 1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849 1850 1851 1852 1853 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3046303 times)
faetos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 514

gotta let a coin be a coin


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 07:36:55 PM
 #36041

This is a repost from kncforum, but they'll take it down soon. If you're still waiting on a refund I would do as this person says and contact these people:

Here is a link to Sweden's English newspaper. Anybody that is waiting for a refund please write to them so that this story gets out:

http://www.thelocal.se/page/view/contact

http://www.econsumer.gov/

You can also file a complaint with Swedish consumer watch dog

Konsumentverket@konsumentverket.se

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comm...t_verket_over/

Anybody else that knows of any links or newspapers to get this story out and to see that we are refunded our money please lets us know.
1594867647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594867647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594867647
Reply with quote  #2

1594867647
Report to moderator
1594867647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594867647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594867647
Reply with quote  #2

1594867647
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594867647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594867647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594867647
Reply with quote  #2

1594867647
Report to moderator
1594867647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594867647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594867647
Reply with quote  #2

1594867647
Report to moderator
Winsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:00:14 PM
 #36042

the ax1200I should be able to run the neptune without any special bootup procedures right?

Based on what Neptune users have reported thus far, you WILL need special bootup procedures for this PSU. See KnC's troubleshooting guide under the heading "PSU powers off when ASIC boards are connected".

If you haven't bought your PSU yet, get EVGA 1300W Supernova G2, good reports so far. Or Seasonic X-1250.
Or, 3 x Cooler Master V850.

I understand what you mean

So what about 2 ax1200is for 4 neptune cubes and then run the controller and 5th cube off of another 800 or so watt PSU -- that would work without any special bootup procedures right?(i'm asking this because my friend has spare ax1200s)


I don't know if this will work or not. The thing is, the ax1200 just doesn't like to zoom from 0-1000W in a few seconds (or else it shuts off).
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:08:17 PM
 #36043

Are the neptunes hot swappable to/from the controller.  Plunging them in separately might solve the overload spike problem with the ax1200i
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1039
Merit: 1002



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:08:27 PM
 #36044

DPS2000-BB.  These PSU's are rock solid.  I run 5 Neptune boxes off each one.  No issues whatsoever. Smiley


1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
aosmith
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2014, 08:23:47 PM
 #36045

the ax1200I should be able to run the neptune without any special bootup procedures right?

Based on what Neptune users have reported thus far, you WILL need special bootup procedures for this PSU. See KnC's troubleshooting guide under the heading "PSU powers off when ASIC boards are connected".

If you haven't bought your PSU yet, get EVGA 1300W Supernova G2, good reports so far. Or Seasonic X-1250.
Or, 3 x Cooler Master V850.

I'd go with 3x AX860's.  You'll save yourself some money.  Basically you have to short pins 4 & 5 from the right on the top of the atx connector.
tarmi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:25:56 PM
 #36046

overpriced JUNK  


I hope you guys know what are you doing.
Airwhale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:29:14 PM
 #36047

DPS2000-BB.  These PSU's are rock solid.  I run 5 Neptune boxes off each one.  No issues whatsoever. Smiley



Nice.  Do you make your own cables?
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:40:09 PM
 #36048

DPS2000-BB.  These PSU's are rock solid.  I run 5 Neptune boxes off each one.  No issues whatsoever. Smiley



Super beefy wires.  No problem with volt loss and heat buildup.  The main problem with small pcie connects.   And lack of forethought on KNC to add another one to power the cube.
Winsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:41:37 PM
 #36049

Just ask for refund for my titan order and they say all sales are final... KNC become so lame company and tread customers as slaves ...

Why would you ask for a refund? KnC said from Day 1 there would be no refunds on Titans.
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:42:43 PM
 #36050

overpriced JUNK  


I hope you guys know what are you doing.

So there is 2 problems.  Power delivery and heat from current.  Maybe 5 psu at 550 or 650 watts.  And quality connectors and wiring.
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 08:43:51 PM
 #36051

Just ask for refund for my titan order and they say all sales are final...g KNC become so lame company and tread customers as slaves ...

Why would you ask for a refund? KnC said from Day 1 there would be no refunds on Titans.

Yes have to read all fine print. They love adding loopholes.
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 09:03:17 PM
 #36052

Somebody PM'ed me asking for pics of how I soldered a second connector. Well, I don't have any but here is how it looks from the outside. Basically I bought PCI-e splitters from eBay and sacrificed them for the female receptacles. I used 14 AWG black and yellow wires and soldered those to the bottom of board under the location of the original connector.



Exactly the plan I am implimenting now.
DPS-2000 to bus bars then wires direct from bus bar to miner.
No more quick disconnect on PSU for me, I'll need a screw driver.

YMMV
Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 09:18:52 PM
 #36053

@ Soros Shorts

I suggest a case grommet for your power wires.
The case is thin enough to cut insulation.

You could make one with about 2 inches of 3/8 or 1/4 ID tubing.
Split it lengthwise and install around hole in case.

YMMV
Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
emu512
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 09:46:30 PM
 #36054

The Neptune looks big like a cpu case.
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1083
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 10:11:59 PM
 #36055

Some news from one of KNC's engineers on IRC

Should be a new firmware tomorrow.

The LCD screen can be removed and another cube plugged in, no idea if they will actually sell extra one's though.  It's a waste of a port and I don't care about the screen so personally I'd buy one if the price was right.

tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 11:12:45 PM
 #36056

Some news from one of KNC's engineers on IRC

Should be a new firmware tomorrow.

The LCD screen can be removed and another cube plugged in, no idea if they will actually sell extra one's though.  It's a waste of a port and I don't care about the screen so personally I'd buy one if the price was right.

That LCD is neat but they definately lit the candle on both ends with the backlight.

I forgot all about the IRC channel.
Lots of good info there last time around.

I always had fun wording questions to KnC in a way that leaves no wiggle room.
(often the questions go unanswered but that is an answer too)
Admittedly I often asked about proprietary details.
They are very close to the vest with that info in public fora.

Last new product from KnC I spent first week playing with OS.
This time it's power and cooling.
(huge box from FrozenCPU when I got up this afternoon, I 'work' graveyard btw)
Soon time to take the plunge and lap an ASIC that is installed on a PCB.

One more tidbit/detail re: ASIC cooling.

They use a 55mm carrier but the raised area is only 40mm
16^2 cm instead of >25^2 cm

They skimped on ASIC heatspreader, hehe, I coulda won a bet on that one.
In fairness to KnC it IS good enough for stock speeds.

YMMV
Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1004



View Profile
June 26, 2014, 11:17:26 PM
 #36057

my neptune crash down when i put 400 mhz and more\


whst to do
i had 2 corsair 1200 i
but i think is awful psu fina;
Zelek Uther
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


Run a Bitcoin node.


View Profile
June 27, 2014, 12:17:19 AM
Last edit: June 27, 2014, 01:08:40 AM by Zelek Uther
 #36058

my neptune crash down when i put 400 mhz and more\


whst to do
i had 2 corsair 1200 i
but i think is awful psu fina;
Try one AX1200i per two Neppy modules?

I bought two AX1200i in preparation for my Neptune as KnC said that two 1200W PSUs would be sufficient. Looks like I need to buy a third PSU as the AX1200i reportedly struggles on startup when powering three modules.

PS I have my tracking number for my first-day Neptune order (2013 November 26 23:16).

Run a Bitcoin node, support the network.
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 27, 2014, 12:24:35 AM
Last edit: June 27, 2014, 12:41:38 AM by tolip_wen
 #36059

my neptune crash down when i put 400 mhz and more\


whst to do
i had 2 corsair 1200 i
but i think is awful psu fina;

Can u run 2 cubes on one 1200i at 475 MHz ?
If this works just get a new smaller PSU for 1 cube.

Can u run 3 cubes on one 1200i IF THE OTHER ONE IS OFF?
You might be starving your AC circuit.
If you have a HEAVY DUTY 12/3  extension cord try one PSU on a different outlet.
copper house wire can corrode if the wall outlet screws are not tightened properly
(thats a hard one to troubleshoot)

You might try a housefan on the PSUs?

With Corsair it has been suggested to use only the DOUBLE PCIe cables
but
USE ONLY THE FIRST(closest to PSU) OF the 2 PCIe CONNECTORS
16AWG to first connector and 18AWG to second
I know as fact my Corsair single PCIe cables are only 18AWG
(lower is better for AWG)
I have AX760's but the replacement cables are same part numbers
I ran 2 cubes on 1 760 briefly 10-15 minutes hashing @ 475 MHz

Try possible solutions that do not involve spending lots of money FIRST. Smiley
Else throw money at bigger PSU's

Thx again u27 for that Corsair wire gauge detail!

YMMV
Smiley

EDIT
Run them 2 at a time and identify WATT for each cube
Try the 3 lowest watt cubes on one PSU
Try same 3 lowest watt on other PSU
Subdivide and conquor! Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
June 27, 2014, 12:33:05 AM
 #36060

Are there no fans attached directly to the radiator? Really?! Does the case only have a single intake fan?
Pages: « 1 ... 1753 1754 1755 1756 1757 1758 1759 1760 1761 1762 1763 1764 1765 1766 1767 1768 1769 1770 1771 1772 1773 1774 1775 1776 1777 1778 1779 1780 1781 1782 1783 1784 1785 1786 1787 1788 1789 1790 1791 1792 1793 1794 1795 1796 1797 1798 1799 1800 1801 1802 [1803] 1804 1805 1806 1807 1808 1809 1810 1811 1812 1813 1814 1815 1816 1817 1818 1819 1820 1821 1822 1823 1824 1825 1826 1827 1828 1829 1830 1831 1832 1833 1834 1835 1836 1837 1838 1839 1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849 1850 1851 1852 1853 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!