Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 01:12:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 [377] 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3011553 times)
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 05:23:24 PM
 #7521

cool, we should now discuss which PSU is best one for KNC miners.) considering this one for my Jupiter: http://www.enermax.com/home.php?fn=eng/product_a1_1_1&lv0=1&lv1=43&no=157

That Enermax only has 2 PCI-E connectors according to the cables tab on the website.  Jupiter requires 4.  I'm not sure which PSUs supply 4 PCI-E connectors, unless we'd have to use adapters.

Each cable looks like this.  There are four of them.  The linked supply has 8 PCIe connectors total.


8 PCIe connectors is actually optimal because while Jupiter only needs 4 connectors and the connector can handle 300W+ there is no easy way to know if a PSU with only 4 connector is designed to deliver that much current on the wire safely.  By the spec a PSU only needs to deliver 75W to  each 6pin connector and 150W to each 8pin connector and be compliant.   Most PSU with only 4 connectors are probably fine but there is no good way other than testing to know for sure.  The nice thing about a PSU like this (or any PSU with 8 connectors on 4 sets of cables) is you know that it can safely deliver 300W (150W + 150W) on each set of wires.
1511356353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511356353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511356353
Reply with quote  #2

1511356353
Report to moderator
1511356353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511356353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511356353
Reply with quote  #2

1511356353
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Grix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 537



View Profile WWW
August 28, 2013, 05:50:15 PM
 #7522

So if 1.6.W/GHps is the max power usage, and 500W is still the max total power usage for the saturn, does that mean it might perform at as much as 312 GHps?  Grin

Buy High Powered Lasers from BitLasers.com
BTC: 1Fahk2aa4NS4Qds4VDAL4mpNArDEdV2K5K
chrono030
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 05:50:34 PM
 #7523

I ordered this powersupply for my Jupiter.  I am most concerned about how we will need to power the device on. Are we expected to do the paperclip trick?

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-V1000-Modular-Certification/dp/B00CGY4ETG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377711992&sr=8-1&keywords=v1000
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 05:55:07 PM
 #7524

I am most concerned about how we will need to power the device on. Are we expected to do the paperclip trick?

That would be good to know.  There are adapters which have a switch if KNC isn't going to use the 24 pin connector.  I have soldered plugs with the "power on" circuit permanently closed and I just buy PSU that have a mechanical switch on the back of PSU.  Same thing as paper clip trick but a little more secure and convenient.
DimensionsOfHell
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 05:56:25 PM
 #7525

Good deal for a Saturn PSU
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular Power Supply $30 after $30 rebate + Free Shipping
http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/101540/newegg-ocz-modxstream-pro-600w-modular-power-supply
BigBitz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 05:59:06 PM
 #7526

"Saturns Rings? Jupiters Moons? No way, this is Mars' Bitcoins"

"Fly me to the moon..... let me play among the stars..... let me see what it's like to mine on JUPITER and MARS"

Tips BTC --> 1BS2sYvy3T1cpNhie6CVFMcUrHa84a8mPa <-- Thanks! || Tips [LTC] --> LaytYJNCha7z7zcws5a2o2GWWjvWfDCGkr <--
LiteBit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1117



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 06:06:28 PM
 #7527

"Saturns Rings? Jupiters Moons? No way, this is Mars' Bitcoins"

"Fly me to the moon..... let me play among the stars..... let me see what it's like to mine on JUPITER and MARS"

I like the first part
Dreadmand
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 06:45:04 PM
 #7528


I am also getting this model for my Saturn, only to accommodate the possibility for upgrade to Gen 2 later on. If not, I will just swap it with the modular 850 I already have in my PC down the road.
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 06:46:40 PM
 #7529

Quote
Today we can reveal that our maximal power consumption will be below 1.6 W/GH/s.

KNC,

Can you clarify what the 1.6 J/GH represents

Is it "at the wall" (assuming 90% efficient ATX PSU)?
i.e.  whole system 640W @ 120Vac for Jupiter (400 GH/s nominal)

Is it the entire 12Vdc load (ASIC board(s), controller, all heatsink and case fans)?
i.e. whole system 640W @ 12Vdc ~= 711W @ 120 Vac (assuming 90% efficient ATX PSU)

Is it just the asic boards (fans additional)?
i.e. 640W + ~60W for cooling = 700W @ 12Vdc ~= 780W @ 120 Vac

I would like to update the electrical break even point for KNC miners.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=281279

Oh and if you are willing to provide an estimate of total pre-orders I wouldn't complain. Smiley
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=278384

D&T further down the msg, it states "max power consumption including all components"...

EDIT: "max power consumption of total device including all components"

Also I'm hoping max still includes those margins upon margins...Wink

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 07:22:37 PM
 #7530

I am most concerned about how we will need to power the device on. Are we expected to do the paperclip trick?

That would be good to know.  There are adapters which have a switch if KNC isn't going to use the 24 pin connector.  I have soldered plugs with the "power on" circuit permanently closed and I just buy PSU that have a mechanical switch on the back of PSU.  Same thing as paper clip trick but a little more secure and convenient.

There does not appear to be any other connectors on the pcb shown earlier aside from the 6pin PCIe.  Unless there is also an as yet mentioned control board in the box I would say a jumpered PSU is likely.

Someone refresh my memory, this was a standard cell asic correct? 1.6W/GH on 28nm doesn't seem all that stupendous.  Bitfury gets around 0.8W/GH on 55nm with a fully customized version.  I wonder if the gen2 will be custom and can reach 0.6W/GH or less. That would be a feat of engineering.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
chrono030
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 07:25:25 PM
 #7531


Thanks for the tip - I managed to snag mine with a 30 $ rebate.  I think it ended up being 120 bucks out of pocket.  Also - It runs at about 93 % efficiency at half load, which should be ideal for the Jupiter.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 07:30:35 PM
 #7532

D&T further down the msg, it states "max power consumption including all components"...

EDIT: "max power consumption of total device including all components"

Also I'm hoping max still includes those margins upon margins...Wink

Thanks that eliminates one scenario however it is still unclear if they consider the PSU (not supplied by KNC) as one of the components.  I would imagine not since the ATX PSU efficiency can vary and thus the 1.6 J/GH represents max DC load (i.e 1000 GH/s / 1.6 J/GH = 625W).  If true that is fine I will just assume 90% ATX PSU like I have done for other vendors where PSU is not supplied.  That would make it ~1.7 J/GH "at the wall" (625W DC / 0.9 = 694W @ 120Vac).

Either number is better than what I am reporting now but I would like to be correct.



Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1051



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 07:31:45 PM
 #7533

Are we expected to do the paperclip trick?

I'm sure that will be revealed later, plenty of premade ones on ebay for £1.50 / $2 just search "ATX Bridging Plug" I have one already from an old watercooling kit.

timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 07:38:59 PM
 #7534

Now that the power supply info is available, I'd like to know that one thing that has never been made clear. These rigs are modular, so will we be able to add a module (or replace one with a gen 2 maybe) later? This will obviously have a bearing on which PSU we choose now. We may be better off with a PSU that could run 4 modules even on a 2 module rig if in the near future we add more?

I wouldn't have minded them recommending a PSU either...as they will have used one that worked well.
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 07:44:13 PM
 #7535

This applies to EVERYONE
Yes, the "Paperclip trick" need be employed when not using the MB plug, which sends the on/off signal. Example...On Corsair Power Supplies, you jumper the green pin & any black pin on the 24 pin MB connector. The on/off switch usually only allows the computer to actually send the on/off signal, and this bypasses that, and makes it so the power switch on the back actually turns the power supply on/off. I myself will be snipping the wires a bit from the plug, and wire-nutting them together.
I'm sure there will be hundreds of noobs plugging in their machines & flipping the switch, wondering why their machines wont work, crying DOA on the miner, when this is the problem, but not really a problem at all. Hope this helps alleviate some of that. Good luck.
More info here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyPWWusHndA


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
goosoodude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 587



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 08:38:06 PM
 #7536

Competition time!

We have a new challenge for you. We require a slogan for our controller board and we have 48 hours to make up our minds. You may remember we made a couple of minor mishaps with our Mars board. On our original Mars PCBs we printed: Bitcoins make the world go around! (Grammer is not our area of expertise, chip design is). So we have chosen to open this part of the design process to those following us on this forum. This is your chance to be immortalised in Bitcoin tech history. Please design the phrase you wish to see. There is still a space for one sentence on our boards. The 48 hours start now. Competition ends at 5.30pm (local time). We will decide the winning entrant which will then be seen on all our hardware; Jupiter, Saturn and Mercury.

Thanks,

KnCMiner team.

I got a good one. How bout' "I'll give you a piece of my MINE!"






██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄▄▄███████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀▀▀████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████





...INTRODUCING WAVES........
...ULTIMATE ASSET/CUSTOM TOKEN BLOCKCHAIN PLATFORM...






pupsudio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 08:52:45 PM
 #7537

Profectus minare utiliter

Anything in Latin is just going to sound better.
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 08:53:56 PM
 #7538

This applies to EVERYONE
Yes, the "Paperclip trick" need be employed when not using the MB plug, which sends the on/off signal. Example...On Corsair Power Supplies, you jumper the green pin & any black pin on the 24 pin MB connector. The on/off switch usually only allows the computer to actually send the on/off signal, and this bypasses that, and makes it so the power switch on the back actually turns the power supply on/off. I myself will be snipping the wires a bit from the plug, and wire-nutting them together.
I'm sure there will be hundreds of noobs plugging in their machines & flipping the switch, wondering why their machines wont work, crying DOA on the miner, when this is the problem, but not really a problem at all. Hope this helps alleviate some of that. Good luck.
More info here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyPWWusHndA

You'd rather hope that KnC would supply at least this info to all buyers as they do say the rigs are plug in and forget them. In fact all info regarding rigs that appears here should at least be emailed to buyers. Not everyone frequents forums after all.
FUKT
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 08:56:13 PM
 #7539

Can you hear me yet?



Aug 28, 2013

ASICMiner Blade Prices Reduced 65% After Shares Crash

"There are several factors that influenced this price cut. The network hash rate has continued to increase exponentially as companies bring their ASIC Mining power online. The difficulty has increased from 37 million when these were first announced to over 66 million currently, reducing customer’s return by 78% without even factoring future difficulty increases."



LOL I would not buy a KNC for Oct even if KNC cut their price by 65%.. Not worth it and will not make but $300 to $900 ROI over the next year after the Break Even..  If that much..



You guys have still not figured out that you are mining for the ASIC compines and paying them what you mine for the price of you ASIC..  


Mind Blown..


I still haven't figured out what the hell that means...or more importantly why it's here? We don't care that you doubt KnC and you already told us several times that you weren't buying one so what is your point? We should all cancel because you think so?
Or perhaps you intended a positive post and forgot to include the details of the company offering rigs that will make us rich for years to come guaranteed?

Don't go to Norway, they have a guy hunting huge trolls.


I have nothing against any ASIC company other than maybe BFL..  Just trying to educate the Dumb..

Oh and they better not come to Texas as I guarantee we Hunt even BIGGER Trolls here boy.


Are you George Bush?
Biomech
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


Anarchy is not chaos.


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 08:59:17 PM
 #7540

http://kncminer.cn/news/demo-machine-shanghai/

FROM GOOGLE TRANSLATOR:
We will present you a genuine Shanghai Machine
In the end of September, we will present you in Shanghai genuine machine, then you will be able to experience the performance of the mining machine.

So ... Will KNC send the miners from China to the costumers ? Or will they be sent from Sweden ?

Why? Are they that ugly  Cheesy

Buy Bitcoins with Paypal, Credit card, or other methods. Send me a PM or a text to 208-451-2665.
Pages: « 1 ... 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 [377] 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!