Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 01:10:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ... 74 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive ASICMiner Blade Setup  (Read 579616 times)
sinx91
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 11:00:39 PM
 #21

How can it be that a 4 pin molex can provide around 120 watt?
In a other thread they wrote that we should put the negativ vable in one hole
Or it would overheat. A youtube video shows as example
A melt cable.

Please help me understand ^^

ps: is it possible to change the mhz manually?
1513473028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513473028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513473028
Reply with quote  #2

1513473028
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
rammy2k2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 11:07:01 PM
 #22

this setup needs to be done for 1 blade ?

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 11:22:16 PM
 #23

How can it be that a 4 pin molex can provide around 120 watt?
In a other thread they wrote that we should put the negativ vable in one hole
Or it would overheat. A youtube video shows as example
A melt cable.

Please help me understand ^^

ps: is it possible to change the mhz manually?

It is my belief that this is the best config. This wiring has been running for over a week now, no temp problems what so ever. By using a molex splitter you're doubling up the local cabling, so a 4 pin molex can provide ~120W.


this setup needs to be done for 1 blade ?
Yes, on each blade your cables should look like this.

cchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 380


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 12:32:54 AM
 #24

Thank you so much. Smiley
Phil21
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 12:46:02 AM
 #25

(most) molex pins are rated at 5A, so for each blade you need minimally two conductors in parallel.

Ideal would be getting some 18ga (I think this is the largest that you can crimp connectors to) wire, some molex connectors, and running "home runs" back to a modular PSU's ports.  The PCIe ports have 3 12v pins on them, which gets you in the 80% rule for the connector itself while drawing 10A.

I imagine it's a pita to find the raw plugs that fit a particular power supply model though.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 01:35:51 AM
 #26

(most) molex pins are rated at 5A, so for each blade you need minimally two conductors in parallel.

Ideal would be getting some 18ga (I think this is the largest that you can crimp connectors to) wire, some molex connectors, and running "home runs" back to a modular PSU's ports.  The PCIe ports have 3 12v pins on them, which gets you in the 80% rule for the connector itself while drawing 10A.

I imagine it's a pita to find the raw plugs that fit a particular power supply model though.

All the corsair PSUs have 18ga 9A rated wiring. I've tested putting 23A through one and it gets warm. Not hot, like 35C. Putting 10A through a single molex isnt a big deal, especially if using a splitter.

pikeadz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:37:17 AM
 #27

(most) molex pins are rated at 5A, so for each blade you need minimally two conductors in parallel.

Ideal would be getting some 18ga (I think this is the largest that you can crimp connectors to) wire, some molex connectors, and running "home runs" back to a modular PSU's ports.  The PCIe ports have 3 12v pins on them, which gets you in the 80% rule for the connector itself while drawing 10A.

I imagine it's a pita to find the raw plugs that fit a particular power supply model though.

According to this, 18ga wire is only .823 mm^2, but friedcat's user guide says to use min 1.5mm^2, which would be 15ga wire.  I would really like to see pics and specs of people's setups.  Can we start a erupter porn thread people?

 http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_wire_gauge
stslimited
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 02:13:41 AM
 #28

how stable are these machines?  how many times do you have to reset them a week?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 02:32:00 AM
 #29

(most) molex pins are rated at 5A, so for each blade you need minimally two conductors in parallel.

Ideal would be getting some 18ga (I think this is the largest that you can crimp connectors to) wire, some molex connectors, and running "home runs" back to a modular PSU's ports.  The PCIe ports have 3 12v pins on them, which gets you in the 80% rule for the connector itself while drawing 10A.

I imagine it's a pita to find the raw plugs that fit a particular power supply model though.

According to this, 18ga wire is only .823 mm^2, but friedcat's user guide says to use min 1.5mm^2, which would be 15ga wire.  I would really like to see pics and specs of people's setups.  Can we start a erupter porn thread people?

 http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_wire_gauge

Can't see where he says that, but that's why I use 2 or 4 cables for each purpose.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 02:32:49 AM
 #30

how stable are these machines?  how many times do you have to reset them a week?

If temps and power is good - should never reset really. And by reset it just turns itself off and on again and hashes immediately.

sinx91
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 02:37:27 AM
 #31

One last question from me:
Which pool should i use?
My 3 options:
-eligius
-slushs pool
-btcguild with pplns

Iam new to asic mining.
Hoping you can help.
WinTame2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 315


Official sponsor of Microsoft Corp.


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 02:39:09 AM
 #32

how stable are these machines?  how many times do you have to reset them a week?

If temps and power is good - should never reset really. And by reset it just turns itself off and on again and hashes immediately.
Could you please measure a temperature of the exhausted air from yellow fan in your setup and at heatsink(by contact)? I'm considering to use a couple of temperature controlled fans like this http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/case-fans/75/arctic-f-tc.html?c=2183 but it have quite narrow temp band pre-programmed (32-38 C).

May the WinTame Power be with you!
http://wintame.com
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 02:52:51 AM
 #33

how stable are these machines?  how many times do you have to reset them a week?

If temps and power is good - should never reset really. And by reset it just turns itself off and on again and hashes immediately.
Could you please measure a temperature of the exhausted air from yellow fan in your setup and at heatsink(by contact)? I'm considering to use a couple of temperature controlled fans like this http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/case-fans/75/arctic-f-tc.html?c=2183 but it have quite narrow temp band pre-programmed (32-38 C).

I don't have a way to measure it. Just stick with normal cheap but powerful fans and a fan controller.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 02:53:40 AM
 #34

One last question from me:
Which pool should i use?
My 3 options:
-eligius
-slushs pool
-btcguild with pplns

Iam new to asic mining.
Hoping you can help.

Slush's is easiest with stratum proxy as the file is preconfigered for it, btcguild with pps is easiest to set up but has low efficiency. I've not tried others.

mjmvisser
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 02:55:16 AM
 #35

Can anyone recommend newegg equivalents?
cchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 380


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 03:01:22 AM
 #36





Two fans seem to be fixed by different directions.
Is this the best or could they be fixed with the same direction to let the wind move away from the heatsink?

Thanks!
Pinwheel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 09:19:03 AM
 #37

thanks for nice manual

if one corsair PSU can power 4 blades, then for me it is cheaper to buy 4  IBM notebook type adapters 12v 10A.

Tom Waits: We should just start as soon as possible cause we might catch a rabbit before we have our pants on. (Juxtapoz)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 09:33:46 AM
 #38

thanks for nice manual

if one corsair PSU can power 4 blades, then for me it is cheaper to buy 4  IBM notebook type adapters 12v 10A.

4 blades 'safely' if you use two different molex strings and 2 PCI-E connectors. Its still cheaper to buy the PSU because 1) the PSU has a use after and 2) You need a PSU to power those fans!

bitjoint
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332


Commander of the Hodl Legions


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 09:59:52 AM
 #39





Two fans seem to be fixed by different directions.
Is this the best or could they be fixed with the same direction to let the wind move away from the heatsink?

Thanks!

It is a normal setup when running oclocked systems. One fan and one extractor. It facilitates the air flow.

I have a question, I am new and totally newbie to mining (but not to OC), and I think the setup is quite clear, but I don't know where to install the stratum proxy. I can do it initially in a spare PC but I don't want that in the long-term. I think a raspberry is a good choice for long term. Is it feasible? Is any of you guys going to install it in a raspberry or similar device?

I hope you can help me. Thanks in advance.

Edit: ok, just found this.. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=108533.msg1264957#msg1264957
Pinwheel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 10:06:26 AM
 #40

thanks for nice manual

if one corsair PSU can power 4 blades, then for me it is cheaper to buy 4  IBM notebook type adapters 12v 10A.

4 blades 'safely' if you use two different molex strings and 2 PCI-E connectors. Its still cheaper to buy the PSU because 1) the PSU has a use after and 2) You need a PSU to power those fans!

I can power fans from blade itself, or from USB hub. Price wise good PSU cost more in my area and a more work too with cabling, splitting.

Tom Waits: We should just start as soon as possible cause we might catch a rabbit before we have our pants on. (Juxtapoz)
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ... 74 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!