Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 08:26:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 74 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive ASICMiner Blade Setup  (Read 579618 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2013, 11:28:24 AM
 #281

Found my 3rd block. Would be 280% my pool earnings :/
How long it was from the 1st block found and how much hashing power do you use in solo?

Found a block with 26GH within a week, then another with 52 after another 3 weeks. Final one after another week. I was mining on pool though, so I earn't nothing.
Too bad Sad Which pool you're mining at?

Started Slush but it was being strange. Pool luck was at like 70% consistently for over a week, which statistically is pretty unlikely. They kept saying there was no problem but I left anyway. BTCGuild gives slightly higher hash rates due to EU servers and better graphing/idle notification.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513499181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499181
Reply with quote  #2

1513499181
Report to moderator
Lucky - Luciano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 01:32:34 PM
 #282

Found my 3rd block. Would be 280% my pool earnings :/
     Excellent. Way to go!
Blue777
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 04:15:42 PM
 #283

are there other stratum mining proxy which blade can use it?
biganth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 04:21:14 PM
 #284

are there other stratum mining proxy which blade can use it?

You can configure the proxy to use any Stratum pool, check the documentation.

Quote
If you want to connect to another pool or change other proxy settings, type "mining_proxy.py --help".

matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2013, 04:29:33 PM
 #285

For what it's worth, I haven't experienced any significant efficiency difference between using native getwork on a pool with diff=8, or using mining_proxy.exe to proxy getwork → stratum. Using getwork directly on a pool with diff=8, I get about 96%-97% efficiency (measured at BTC Guild). Proxying getwork to stratum shows near 100% efficiency on the Blade counter, it also shows 98%-99% efficiency on BTC Guild *BUT* the total number of accepted shares per hour stays about the same in both cases. I think that is explained by the fact that the stratum proxy sometimes accepts getwork shares that aren't sent back to the pool using stratum, because they are detected to be stale already (just my thought, maybe it's another reason).

At any rate, I hope the next generation firmwares will have stratum (and/or GBT) available natively.
Blue777
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 05:19:30 PM
 #286

are there other stratum mining proxy which blade can use it?

You can configure the proxy to use any Stratum pool, check the documentation.

Quote
If you want to connect to another pool or change other proxy settings, type "mining_proxy.py --help".
where is the this documentation?thanks
biganth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 05:49:43 PM
 #287

where is the this documentation?thanks

You need to download, install and then run it with the help flag.

https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy

Lucky - Luciano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 06:36:49 PM
 #288

where is the this documentation?thanks

You need to download, install and then run it with the help flag.

https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy
     How do I start? Can you explain? Proxy by default on slush. Many say eg.:
- BTC Guild the raw command will be : mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333
- 50BTC the raw command will be :     mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o pool.50btc.com -p 3333.
   But how, where, what?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2013, 06:59:23 PM
 #289

where is the this documentation?thanks

You need to download, install and then run it with the help flag.

https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy
     How do I start? Can you explain? Proxy by default on slush. Many say eg.:
- BTC Guild the raw command will be : mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333
- 50BTC the raw command will be :     mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o pool.50btc.com -p 3333.
   But how, where, what?

Move the mining_proxy.exe into a folder called "Stratum Proxy" in your program files x86. Create a text file on the desktop. Enter the following and then save it as a .bat.

cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Stratum Proxy
mining_proxy.exe -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333

It will then open cmd and start the proxy with the custom settings. You can also set it to be silent (in the background) or to be a windows service.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2013, 07:18:04 PM
 #290

Created my 6th mounting system. Most of the parts didn't arrive so had to ghetto mod. Only single rail at the top [was going to do 2], all the corners are actually tee's xD No cable ties of the right side so shit load of wire ties.




4 fans per blade, bottom two in push, top two in pull.

Blades mounted vertically so heatsink naturally convects


12 fan controller


Another 8 fan controllers and an 8 port network switch
Only 3 connections required - mains power for the PSU, mains power for the network switch and a single ethernet cable to router.

Window sill mountage

Stealth mode engaged [aka cleaner invisibility cloak]

Printing monies

americandesi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


BTC < > INR & USD


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 07:41:06 PM
 #291

Created my 6th mounting system. Most of the parts didn't arrive so had to ghetto mod. Only single rail at the top [was going to do 2], all the corners are actually tee's xD No cable ties of the right side so shit load of wire ties.


Awesome Dogie.. good one..looks good.
may be a little cable management will increase the air flow and ventilation i guess.!

Otherwise looks good.! So do you have any fan or airflow for the switch and fan controller.. piling them together on top of the PSU might get them little ehated up.

Also what is the temps that you are getting on the power modules.
The power module on one of my blade is hotter as compared to the other blade.. The same board has one "X" as well.
Probably i should test the volts of the power lane.

Anyway, am getting the stuff that i ordered for my mounting case today.. probably will post the pics over the weekend.

Always buying and selling btc in bulk.!
Have I helped you out?  Send a donation! : 1ADesitf6McNmFw5wAN1y86bvyHLB5gR6P
My Reputation Thread : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252042.0
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2013, 08:05:44 PM
 #292

Created my 6th mounting system. Most of the parts didn't arrive so had to ghetto mod. Only single rail at the top [was going to do 2], all the corners are actually tee's xD No cable ties of the right side so shit load of wire ties.


Awesome Dogie.. good one..looks good.
may be a little cable management will increase the air flow and ventilation i guess.!

Otherwise looks good.! So do you have any fan or airflow for the switch and fan controller.. piling them together on top of the PSU might get them little ehated up.

Also what is the temps that you are getting on the power modules.
The power module on one of my blade is hotter as compared to the other blade.. The same board has one "X" as well.
Probably i should test the volts of the power lane.

Anyway, am getting the stuff that i ordered for my mounting case today.. probably will post the pics over the weekend.

Trust me, that is cable managed. If you look from above there is a core of cabling surrounding the upper bar, and nothing outside the profile of the fan blocks.



Switch has none but is cold, doesnt need any. The larger fan controller might get a fan if I can be bothered, the tiny heatsinks inside are dissipating a decent amount of heat. I have 3x140mm fans I was going to use to help draw the heat up, just testing without at the moment.

What's interesting is the bottom push fans are ramming alot of the heat down. I've adjusted the top pull fans up to see how it affects things.

Blue777
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 09:53:12 AM
 #293

where is the this documentation?thanks

You need to download, install and then run it with the help flag.

https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy
     How do I start? Can you explain? Proxy by default on slush. Many say eg.:
- BTC Guild the raw command will be : mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333
- 50BTC the raw command will be :     mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o pool.50btc.com -p 3333.
   But how, where, what?

Move the mining_proxy.exe into a folder called "Stratum Proxy" in your program files x86. Create a text file on the desktop. Enter the following and then save it as a .bat.

cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Stratum Proxy
mining_proxy.exe -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333

It will then open cmd and start the proxy with the custom settings. You can also set it to be silent (in the background) or to be a windows service.
so if i want to connect 50btc.com i should use below command
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Stratum Proxy
mining_proxy.exe -o pool.50btc.com -p 3333
but it does not work....something wrong?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 10:14:13 AM
 #294

where is the this documentation?thanks

You need to download, install and then run it with the help flag.

https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy
    How do I start? Can you explain? Proxy by default on slush. Many say eg.:
- BTC Guild the raw command will be : mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333
- 50BTC the raw command will be :     mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o pool.50btc.com -p 3333.
   But how, where, what?

Move the mining_proxy.exe into a folder called "Stratum Proxy" in your program files x86. Create a text file on the desktop. Enter the following and then save it as a .bat.

cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Stratum Proxy
mining_proxy.exe -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333

It will then open cmd and start the proxy with the custom settings. You can also set it to be silent (in the background) or to be a windows service.
so if i want to connect 50btc.com i should use below command
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Stratum Proxy
mining_proxy.exe -o pool.50btc.com -p 3333
but it does not work....something wrong?
Port is 8332

josh_nc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 01:53:47 PM
 #295

All:

This is the beginning of my day 2 of full mining with 2 blades on btc guild.
Since a few hours ago I have begun to use a proxy for the stratum servers and got higher speed and efficiency. Here are the results right from my btc guild dashboard:

Totals (All Active Workers)   25,912.97 MH/s  ... (99.83%)

Pretty good!

On my 1st 24 hours I got 1.12 BTCs +change. I may do better in this current period with the above speeds. One little thing that seems to improve performance with the proxy is to run it in the background (linux) with the output going to /dev/null instead of in the foreground going to the screen.

Here's my proxy command and notice I do not use user/password in the command so I can use only one proxy for 2 or more blades, each configured with its worker username and password:

nohup python mining_proxy.py -o stratum.btcguild.com -gp 8332 -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com -gp 8332 > /dev/null 2>&1 &

This is my pick for the winner config that gives me the speed above.

Cheers.

J/
Blue777
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 02:10:04 PM
 #296

where is the this documentation?thanks

You need to download, install and then run it with the help flag.

https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy
    How do I start? Can you explain? Proxy by default on slush. Many say eg.:
- BTC Guild the raw command will be : mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333
- 50BTC the raw command will be :     mining_proxy_1.2.0.exe -o pool.50btc.com -p 3333.
   But how, where, what?

Move the mining_proxy.exe into a folder called "Stratum Proxy" in your program files x86. Create a text file on the desktop. Enter the following and then save it as a .bat.

cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Stratum Proxy
mining_proxy.exe -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com -p 3333

It will then open cmd and start the proxy with the custom settings. You can also set it to be silent (in the background) or to be a windows service.
so if i want to connect 50btc.com i should use below command
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Stratum Proxy
mining_proxy.exe -o pool.50btc.com -p 3333
but it does not work....something wrong?
Port is 8332
not work yet...
WinTame2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 315


Official sponsor of Microsoft Corp.


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 02:12:17 PM
 #297

Here's my proxy command and notice I do not use user/password in the command so I can use only one proxy for 2 or more blades, each configured with its worker username and password:

nohup python mining_proxy.py -o stratum.btcguild.com -gp 8332 -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com -gp 8332 > /dev/null 2>&1 &
Does the proxy support multiple getwork hosts at once? And how it manage them (switch, etc.)?

May the WinTame Power be with you!
http://wintame.com
bitjoint
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332


Commander of the Hodl Legions


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 01:51:18 AM
 #298

At this pace, how much time do you think we'll need to reach the break-even of our beloved blade(s)? Have you made any calculations?




Vindication is mine! And wintame's as well for helping me troubleshoot this thing.




jspielberg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 02:22:02 AM
 #299

With an year average of 44,000,000 difficulty, a 12GH/s blade is on track to return 50 BTC over that year.

If the year/average goes above 44M... then it will take longer.  Based on Avalon miner and chip sales, Asic Miners farm expansion plans, I expect the difficulty to hit about 40M in October/November (~6 months).

americandesi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


BTC < > INR & USD


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 06:03:32 AM
 #300

Hey all..

First of all thanks to dogie for this wonderful guide and numerous suggestions through PM's discussing the config of the components. You can see that i have incorporated several components from the OP of the guide.

However, the mounting case was my idea.. Here are the pics of my setup. I have only 2 blades.. so i planned my mounting stand for only 2.
Probably, i can accommodate another 2 blades if i change the orientation of the existing blades.

I used the Hutten wine rack from IKEA. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/70032451/
I chose this because, (1) It was cheap (2) I can mount another rack on top of this or along side this.
Made some modifications to the original rack. Please note that the height from the top panel to the bottom panel is about 0.75 inches shorter than the height of the blade. So the pre-drilled holes by IKEA will not work. You will have to either drill new holes or use nails instead. I simply used nails.

Secondly, i took off the round wooden dowels from the center section.
Apart from that, I used a few metal corner brackets, screws, nuts and bolts.

Image 1 : Front View : 6 channel fan controller, Netgear Switch, CX 750M and 1 Blade with 2 x 120 mm fans (push - pull) on the heatsink.



Image 2 : Side view : Here you can see blades and 2 fans at the bottom. The fans on the heat sinks are fixed to the frame using the corner brackets and the blade is fixed to the fan using the cable ties. It is pretty rock solid and firm. No vibration or noise of any kind.



Image 3 : Top view



Image 4 : Close up of Side View



Image 5 : View of the complete setup. Apart from the 6 X 120 mm fans, i have a Honeywell HT-900 table fan blowing from the side to keep the entire system cool.


Always buying and selling btc in bulk.!
Have I helped you out?  Send a donation! : 1ADesitf6McNmFw5wAN1y86bvyHLB5gR6P
My Reputation Thread : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252042.0
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 74 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!