Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 11:03:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 [1030] 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 1044 1045 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1051 1052 1053 1054 1055 1056 1057 1058 1059 1060 1061 1062 1063 1064 1065 1066 1067 1068 1069 1070 1071 1072 1073 1074 1075 1076 1077 1078 1079 1080 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3007773 times)
ElGabo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:22:27 PM
 #20581

For the Psu-s

I have a question. If you have a machine what eats about 700w and you have a 850w Psu, what will you do if somhow we can overclock them and need some margin?

I have a 1500w psu and a lot of big fans to answer this.

But it's only a theory......

A 850W quality PSU will most probably be enough even for some overclocking if possible, granted a Jupiter uses less than 600W DC power.

And you'll have a psu at 100% load.

Personally I don't like it. (It's my fault)

" I'm waiting for my punishment, I know it's on my way
  So cut, cut, cut me up and fuck, fuck, fuck me up"
1511089426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511089426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511089426
Reply with quote  #2

1511089426
Report to moderator
1511089426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511089426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511089426
Reply with quote  #2

1511089426
Report to moderator
1511089426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511089426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511089426
Reply with quote  #2

1511089426
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511089426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511089426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511089426
Reply with quote  #2

1511089426
Report to moderator
1511089426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511089426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511089426
Reply with quote  #2

1511089426
Report to moderator
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:27:21 PM
 #20582

For the Psu-s

I have a question. If you have a machine what eats about 700w and you have a 850w Psu, what will you do if somhow we can overclock them and need some margin?

I have a 1500w psu and a lot of big fans to answer this.

But it's only a theory......

A 850W quality PSU will most probably be enough even for some overclocking if possible, granted a Jupiter uses less than 600W DC power.

And you'll have a psu at 100% load.

Personally I don't like it. (It's my fault)


You just assumed that any future overclock will require additional 250W?
Maybe Wink

If that is the case I can always buy another PSU and use it together with what I have. There is no restrcitions on how many PSU you can use with a single miner as long as it is more than 1  Cheesy
I have 2 Jupiters each on a CM V850, so if any need arises I can just get a 3rd one and use it for both Jupiters.
The power requirements are quite flexible.

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
davewr2013
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

Bitcoin For All


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:32:41 PM
 #20583

For the Psu-s

I have a question. If you have a machine what eats about 700w and you have a 850w Psu, what will you do if somhow we can overclock them and need some margin?

I have a 1500w psu and a lot of big fans to answer this.

But it's only a theory......

A 850W quality PSU will most probably be enough even for some overclocking if possible, granted a Jupiter uses less than 600W DC power.

And you'll have a psu at 100% load.

Personally I don't like it. (It's my fault)


For a KNC Jupiter it could well end up drawing 750 Watts (perhaps a bit more) -- I would recommend a 1000 Watt supply as the minimum.

It would be better with a 1200 Watt capable supply. (Safety margin)

Most engineers like lots of safety margin. In this case the extra cost is cheap insurance.

I would also use a UPS capable of 1000 Watts for 20 minutes (or 1000 - 1200VA if you like) -- with full time AC line filtering as well. Most of  the 1000 Watt level UPS units have AC filtering -- but look for it in the spec.

A lot of places have Solar and Wind turbines contributing the grid -- they cut in and out a lot contributing a lot of electrical noise and over voltage and brown outs -- hence the caution about AC filtering. The power grids are not as stable as they were in pre-green energy days.

fwiw...

Edit: I actually tested a Saturn with a 450Watt Corsair. The 12 Volt lines dropped to 11.5V  With a Corsair GS 800 the 12V lines measure 12.25 volts -- which is fine.



Give me this day my daily Bitcoin...
bobsag3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546

Owner, Minersource.net


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:38:08 PM
 #20584

For the Psu-s

I have a question. If you have a machine what eats about 700w and you have a 850w Psu, what will you do if somhow we can overclock them and need some margin?

I have a 1500w psu and a lot of big fans to answer this.

But it's only a theory......

A 850W quality PSU will most probably be enough even for some overclocking if possible, granted a Jupiter uses less than 600W DC power.

And you'll have a psu at 100% load.

Personally I don't like it. (It's my fault)


For a KNC Jupiter it could well end up drawing 750 Watts (perhaps a bit more) -- I would recommend a 1000 Watt supply as the minimum.

It would be better with a 1200 Watt capable supply. (Safety margin)

Most engineers like lots of safety margin. In this case the extra cost is cheap insurance.

I would also use a UPS capable of 1000 Watts for 20 minutes (or 1000 - 1200VA if you like) -- with full time AC line filtering as well. Most of  the 1000 Watt level UPS units have AC filtering -- but look for it in the spec.

A lot of places have Solar and Wind turbines contributing the grid -- they cut in and out a lot contributing a lot of electrical noise and over voltage and brown outs -- hence the caution about AC filtering. The power grids are not as stable as they were in pre-green energy days.

fwiw...

Edit: I actually tested a Saturn with a 450Watt Corsair. The 12 Volt lines dropped to 11.5V  With a Corsair GS 800 the 12V lines measure 12.25 volts -- which is fine.



Want to chime in the on the UPS- the pair of 900w UPSs I have only can run a jupiter for 7 minutes.
ElGabo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:39:49 PM
 #20585

For the Psu-s

I have a question. If you have a machine what eats about 700w and you have a 850w Psu, what will you do if somhow we can overclock them and need some margin?

I have a 1500w psu and a lot of big fans to answer this.

But it's only a theory......

A 850W quality PSU will most probably be enough even for some overclocking if possible, granted a Jupiter uses less than 600W DC power.

And you'll have a psu at 100% load.

Personally I don't like it. (It's my fault)


For a KNC Jupiter it could well end up drawing 750 Watts (perhaps a bit more) -- I would recommend a 1000 Watt supply as the minimum.

It would be better with a 1200 Watt capable supply. (Safety margin)


My first idea was 1200W too...

But there was only a little pirce difference between 1200 or 1500W so margin upon margin. Just for sure. (My simple logic: a bit too much is better than a bit less)

" I'm waiting for my punishment, I know it's on my way
  So cut, cut, cut me up and fuck, fuck, fuck me up"
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:42:30 PM
 #20586


For a KNC Jupiter it could well end up drawing 750 Watts (perhaps a bit more) -- I would recommend a 1000 Watt supply as the minimum.

It would be better with a 1200 Watt capable supply. (Safety margin)

Most engineers like lots of safety margin. In this case the extra cost is cheap insurance.

You think KNC engineers have made the wrong recommendations with 850W PSU?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:45:21 PM
 #20587

For the Psu-s

I have a question. If you have a machine what eats about 700w and you have a 850w Psu, what will you do if somhow we can overclock them and need some margin?

I have a 1500w psu and a lot of big fans to answer this.

But it's only a theory......

A 850W quality PSU will most probably be enough even for some overclocking if possible, granted a Jupiter uses less than 600W DC power.

And you'll have a psu at 100% load.

Personally I don't like it. (It's my fault)


PSU are rated on DC load not AC.  With efficiency around 90% 850W DC would be like 935W AC at the wall.  Nobody anywhere has reported power usage anywhere close to that.   You can only push so much power into the unit.  The chip can only handle so much current, and even if it could use more the DC regulators have a finite capacity (4 @ 40A ea per board). 

To push the clocks higher you need more power you don't need 100% to 200% additional power.  It is like saying I can push 1,000 into a GPU and make it go faster
davewr2013
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

Bitcoin For All


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:50:49 PM
 #20588


For a KNC Jupiter it could well end up drawing 750 Watts (perhaps a bit more) -- I would recommend a 1000 Watt supply as the minimum.

It would be better with a 1200 Watt capable supply. (Safety margin)

Most engineers like lots of safety margin. In this case the extra cost is cheap insurance.

You think KNC engineers have made the wrong recommendations with 850W PSU?


KNC makes this recommendation:
What specs do I need for the powersupply?
- A power supply (PSU) certified as 80+ Gold (high quality power with low variations).
- for Jupiter models, an 850 Watt PSU with a minimum of four separate PCI-E adaptors (6 pins or 6+2 pin).
- for Saturn models,a 600 Watt PSU with a minimum of two separate PCI-E adaptors (6 pins or 6+2 pins).
- for Mercury models, a 400 Watt PSU with a minimum of one PCI-E adaptor (6 pins or 6+2 pins).


However, as some pointed out the new firmware is causing some units to draw more current (power).

You pays your money -- you takes your choice.

It's your money sunk into those miners -- not mine.

I think that some have pointed out their Saturns are running close to 360-380 Watts -- a Jupiter has two more towers.

Some of us own voltmeters and know how to use them -- so our opinions may be biased by the readings. Wink

Cheers!


Give me this day my daily Bitcoin...
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 08:11:07 PM
 #20589


For a KNC Jupiter it could well end up drawing 750 Watts (perhaps a bit more) -- I would recommend a 1000 Watt supply as the minimum.

It would be better with a 1200 Watt capable supply. (Safety margin)

Most engineers like lots of safety margin. In this case the extra cost is cheap insurance.

You think KNC engineers have made the wrong recommendations with 850W PSU?


KNC makes this recommendation:
What specs do I need for the powersupply?
- A power supply (PSU) certified as 80+ Gold (high quality power with low variations).
- for Jupiter models, an 850 Watt PSU with a minimum of four separate PCI-E adaptors (6 pins or 6+2 pin).
- for Saturn models,a 600 Watt PSU with a minimum of two separate PCI-E adaptors (6 pins or 6+2 pins).
- for Mercury models, a 400 Watt PSU with a minimum of one PCI-E adaptor (6 pins or 6+2 pins).


However, as some pointed out the new firmware is causing some units to draw more current (power).

You pays your money -- you takes your choice.

It's your money sunk into those miners -- not mine.

I think that some have pointed out their Saturns are running close to 360-380 Watts -- a Jupiter has two more towers.

Some of us own voltmeters and know how to use them -- so our opinions may be biased by the readings. Wink

Cheers!



Yes but the initial firmware was drawing around 550 watts at the wall, so you have an entire 300 watts grace. I've also seen those 850s comfortably pull 1000W recently, though I doubt they do so long term! Wink

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
davewr2013
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

Bitcoin For All


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 08:13:16 PM
 #20590



Yes but the initial firmware was drawing around 550 watts at the wall, so you have an entire 300 watts grace. Wink
[/quote]

Fair enough.

What does this version .98.1 cause the unit to draw?

Have you measured or are you guessing? That's all I want to know.

Edit: Another point -- the large units have more capacity (pun intended) to handle "dropouts" of a part cycle. The more expensive higher capacity units also tend to have better characteristics for filtering out spikes.

Give me this day my daily Bitcoin...
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 08:56:30 PM
 #20591

Jebus we've had this PSU discussion at least twice before. Just buy the PSU that you want that has at least the minimum spec the manufactrer recommends. Personally I run mine off a 1500W Silverstone connected to a 2200W UPS. But that's what I just had lying around after my CM 850V died.

Paladin69
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 08:57:40 PM
 #20592



Yes but the initial firmware was drawing around 550 watts at the wall, so you have an entire 300 watts grace. Wink

Fair enough.

What does this version .98.1 cause the unit to draw?

Have you measured or are you guessing? That's all I want to know.

Edit: Another point -- the large units have more capacity (pun intended) to handle "dropouts" of a part cycle. The more expensive higher capacity units also tend to have better characteristics for filtering out spikes.

[/quote]

I am drawing almost 700w with 0.981
davewr2013
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

Bitcoin For All


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 11:04:38 PM
 #20593



Yes but the initial firmware was drawing around 550 watts at the wall, so you have an entire 300 watts grace. Wink

Fair enough.

What does this version .98.1 cause the unit to draw?

Have you measured or are you guessing? That's all I want to know.

Edit: Another point -- the large units have more capacity (pun intended) to handle "dropouts" of a part cycle. The more expensive higher capacity units also tend to have better characteristics for filtering out spikes.


I am drawing almost 700w with 0.981
[/quote]

Thank you for that info.

In which case a 1000W or better power supply is a better choice. That means that 30% of the capacity is your safety factor.

My opinion is that a 100 Watt safety factor is a bit light.

Again -- your choice people you own the equipment -- not me.



Give me this day my daily Bitcoin...
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 11:08:13 PM
 #20594

700W AC is 630W DC.  Power supplies are rating on DC load.  630W load on 850W supply is <80%.
rampalija
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 11:36:45 PM
 #20595

haveing few 100s wats spare cant do harm ro you power price. Besacuse miner only uses how much it needs

CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 11:38:50 PM
 #20596

haveing few 100s wats spare cant do harm ro you power price. Besacuse miner only uses how much it needs

Really?
So then I buy 100W PSU and save electricity  Cheesy

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
davewr2013
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

Bitcoin For All


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 11:45:29 PM
 #20597

haveing few 100s wats spare cant do harm ro you power price. Besacuse miner only uses how much it needs

Really?
So then I buy 100W PSU and save electricity  Cheesy

Exactly -- I did not know there were so many electrical engineers and computer designers in the crowd...  Roll Eyes Cry

I'm glad I did not work for any of the people wanting to cut corners.... Oh wait -- that's why I don't work as an employee now... Too any experts without the knowledge...

$85 and up for a 800 Watt supply here...
$120 and up for a 1000 Watt supply.

Cheap insurance for a $6000 machine (OK $4500 to $5000 now)...

Happy costs savings folks... Pay your money -- take your choice.

Give me this day my daily Bitcoin...
davewr2013
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

Bitcoin For All


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 11:47:08 PM
 #20598

Jebus we've had this PSU discussion at least twice before. Just buy the PSU that you want that has at least the minimum spec the manufactrer recommends. Personally I run mine off a 1500W Silverstone connected to a 2200W UPS. But that's what I just had lying around after my CM 850V died.

A lot of people still come to the thread and start at the end...

Reading 100+ pages of mostly drivel would try the patience of a saint. Shocked

Edit: Aside from that -- sound advice.

Edit 2: Pardon me -- 1000+ pages of mostly drivel... Angry

Give me this day my daily Bitcoin...
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
November 11, 2013, 12:04:36 AM
 #20599

There is no restrcitions on how many PSU you can use with a single miner as long as it is more than 1  Cheesy

Be careful with that.  I've heard stories where ppl had that kind of configuration, and somehow turned one PS off while the other was still on.

The PS that was in the off state decided to short the +12V rail to ground, and Bad Things happened.  The magic smoke got let out of some wires and traces and other things.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
November 11, 2013, 12:44:22 AM
 #20600

Jebus we've had this PSU discussion at least twice before. Just buy the PSU that you want that has at least the minimum spec the manufactrer recommends. Personally I run mine off a 1500W Silverstone connected to a 2200W UPS. But that's what I just had lying around after my CM 850V died.

A lot of people still come to the thread and start at the end...

Reading 100+ pages of mostly drivel would try the patience of a saint. Shocked


LOL

There is also a search box, pop PSU in there while in the thread and its amazing what comes back.

Of course its no issue people not wanting to read the thread, but then it goes on and on rehashing the same old arguments and the thread gets full of crap.

Pages: « 1 ... 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 [1030] 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 1044 1045 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1051 1052 1053 1054 1055 1056 1057 1058 1059 1060 1061 1062 1063 1064 1065 1066 1067 1068 1069 1070 1071 1072 1073 1074 1075 1076 1077 1078 1079 1080 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!