Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:49:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 [206] 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 ... 376 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 775279 times)
derekleong75
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 232


SG Mining Consortium


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 02:55:49 AM
 #4101

Rather newbie question - I've got 2 PCs each running some USB ASICs, and the Bitminter client pointing to the same account. Is there a problem with this set up, I don't seem to be getting the sort of output I'd hoped for?

Perhaps I'm just being impatient. Both machines show 'Approx. mint speed' as 0.04, so that ought to be 0.08 altogether.

Im keen to know this too.

Bitcoin Donations : 1Dch7ZW9SBWyypYUoemRDYn9tvFpDxAt78
Litecoin Donations : LScJgDY8CLsoWM5nN3BRLS6Py2Er8XTzMK
Dogecoin Donations : DQwM44KoN6Q71bSoaLvJkpSEW76LrkSJXy
1480942191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942191
Reply with quote  #2

1480942191
Report to moderator
Visit and contribute to reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480942191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942191
Reply with quote  #2

1480942191
Report to moderator
1480942191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942191
Reply with quote  #2

1480942191
Report to moderator
ArethusaF38
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 05:18:26 AM
 #4102

Where did cloudhashing go ?!
WhitePhantom we need you back in !

Where DID cloudhashing go?  Haven't seen them at Bitminter for a couple of days.  Have they moved to a different pool?  I have contracts with them so am curious as to whether they're actually operational, or not.
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 05:43:09 AM
 #4103

Rather newbie question - I've got 2 PCs each running some USB ASICs, and the Bitminter client pointing to the same account. Is there a problem with this set up, I don't seem to be getting the sort of output I'd hoped for?

Perhaps I'm just being impatient. Both machines show 'Approx. mint speed' as 0.04, so that ought to be 0.08 altogether.

Im keen to know this too.

Did you create two workers?

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
cloudhasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Taking bitcoin mining to everybody


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2013, 01:46:41 PM
 #4104

Where did cloudhashing go ?!
WhitePhantom we need you back in !

Where DID cloudhashing go?  Haven't seen them at Bitminter for a couple of days.  Have they moved to a different pool?  I have contracts with them so am curious as to whether they're actually operational, or not.


Hi,

Because of the recent difficulty jump, the variances on Bitminter would be quite large. A lot of our customers (about 80%) are new to bitcoin mining. They would not understand the month to month variances so we had to temporarily switch to the Guild for a while. In September we have 110 terahashes coming on-line. The variance would not affect us with that amount of power.

We are very much still working with bitminter. Right now we have to do what serves our customers until the larger majority of our hashing power comes on-line.

Thanks

Emmanuel

CH
TheQuin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 03:33:31 PM
 #4105

Where did cloudhashing go ?!
WhitePhantom we need you back in !

Where DID cloudhashing go?  Haven't seen them at Bitminter for a couple of days.  Have they moved to a different pool?  I have contracts with them so am curious as to whether they're actually operational, or not.


Hi,

Because of the recent difficulty jump, the variances on Bitminter would be quite large. A lot of our customers (about 80%) are new to bitcoin mining. They would not understand the month to month variances so we had to temporarily switch to the Guild for a while. In September we have 110 terahashes coming on-line. The variance would not affect us with that amount of power.

We are very much still working with bitminter. Right now we have to do what serves our customers until the larger majority of our hashing power comes on-line.

Thanks

Emmanuel

Thanks for letting us know. So in September we can give the Guild a run for biggest slice of the pie.

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
FREEBITCO.IN Win up to $200 in BTC every hour. Absolutely free.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 03:56:04 PM
 #4106


Hi,

Because of the recent difficulty jump, the variances on Bitminter would be quite large. A lot of our customers (about 80%) are new to bitcoin mining. They would not understand the month to month variances so we had to temporarily switch to the Guild for a while. In September we have 110 terahashes coming on-line. The variance would not affect us with that amount of power.

We are very much still working with bitminter. Right now we have to do what serves our customers until the larger majority of our hashing power comes on-line.

Thanks

Emmanuel

if I was a cloudhashing customer, I would be upset that my hashing power was not being used to best purpose - since BitMinter will give, on average, over time, the best return on hash rate as it pays out +2.98% on namecoin (source) with a 1% fee, vs a 3% fee on btcguild - meaning 1.0298 / 0.97 = 6% improvement.

Will

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2013, 04:14:16 PM
 #4107

BitMinter in the news: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LC3ZHRF_8kQ&t=19m13s

They should have talked to BFL about borrowing a Jalapeno though, instead of CPU + Intel HD 4000 mining. Wink

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2013, 04:22:17 PM
 #4108


Hi,

Because of the recent difficulty jump, the variances on Bitminter would be quite large. A lot of our customers (about 80%) are new to bitcoin mining. They would not understand the month to month variances so we had to temporarily switch to the Guild for a while. In September we have 110 terahashes coming on-line. The variance would not affect us with that amount of power.

We are very much still working with bitminter. Right now we have to do what serves our customers until the larger majority of our hashing power comes on-line.

Thanks

Emmanuel

if I was a cloudhashing customer, I would be upset that my hashing power was not being used to best purpose - since BitMinter will give, on average, over time, the best return on hash rate as it pays out +2.98% on namecoin (source) with a 1% fee, vs a 3% fee on btcguild - meaning 1.0298 / 0.97 = 6% improvement.

Will

BTC Guild pays namecoins and orphan blocks.  The difference isn't even close to 6%.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2013, 04:40:38 PM
 #4109

BTC Guild pays namecoins and orphan blocks.  The difference isn't even close to 6%.

If someone is looking to be safe from variance by using PPS on BTC Guild that's 7.5% fee + 1.5% transaction fee income lost + 3% namecoin income lost = 12% versus the 2.5% on BitMinter (including donation for paid orphans).

I'm not saying charging so much is wrong. PPS is very dangerous for a pool. 12% is just what you have to pay for insurance against variance.

Is Deepbit still 10% fee on PPS? That's not better, because you have to remember the transaction fees and namecoins. The total then is 14.5% which is considerably more than BTC Guild.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2013, 04:43:34 PM
 #4110

BTC Guild pays namecoins and orphan blocks.  The difference isn't even close to 6%.

If someone is looking to be safe from variance by using PPS on BTC Guild that's 7.5% fee + 1.5% transaction fee income lost + 3% namecoin income lost = 12% versus the 2.5% on BitMinter (including donation for paid orphans).

I'm not saying charging so much is wrong. PPS is very dangerous for a pool. 12% is just what you have to pay for insurance against variance.

Is Deepbit still 10% fee on PPS? That's not better, because you have to remember the transaction fees and namecoins. The total then is 14.5% which is considerably more than BTC Guild.


You're comparing BTC Guild's PPS fee/features to your PPLNS fee/features.  That's not a fair comparison when BTC Guild offers PPLNS.  BTC Guild PPLNS pays Orphans, TxFees, and Namecoins at 3%.  By your own statement, that would put the difference at 0.5% (assuming they are donating to get paid orphans).

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2013, 04:53:20 PM
 #4111

You're comparing BTC Guild's PPS fee/features to your PPLNS fee/features.  That's not a fair comparison when BTC Guild offers PPLNS.  BTC Guild PPLNS pays Orphans, TxFees, and Namecoins at 3%.  By your own statement, that would put the difference at 0.5% (assuming they are donating to get paid orphans).

Yes, in the PPLNS case it would be 0.5%

From what I understand some ASIC buyers are moving to PPS as security against the difficulty going up so fast, which could be said to increase variance or make the variance last considerably longer. I'm just saying that while it does protect you against bad mining luck, it has a considerable price tag.

I could make the same comparison between PPS and PPLNS mining at BTC Guild: 12% vs 3%.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:05:59 PM
 #4112

BTC Guild pays namecoins and orphan blocks.  The difference isn't even close to 6%.

I'd forgotten btcguild pays namecoins.  I stand corrected.  0.5% difference isn't much really.

Will

Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
August 18, 2013, 01:13:30 AM
 #4113

Hi,

Because of the recent difficulty jump, the variances on Bitminter would be quite large. A lot of our customers (about 80%) are new to bitcoin mining. They would not understand the month to month variances so we had to temporarily switch to the Guild for a while. In September we have 110 terahashes coming on-line. The variance would not affect us with that amount of power.

We are very much still working with bitminter. Right now we have to do what serves our customers until the larger majority of our hashing power comes on-line.

Thanks

Emmanuel

To me, this doesn't make sense. You will not be the only ones bringing fresh hashing power to the table in the next few months. So there is a possibility that the hash power proportionally per pool remains the same, when all the new "big" players come online. What I mean is that the % of hash power per pool might stay the same or similar. In other words if variance worries you, that your customers won't understand this basic part of mining, you always will have to stay with the biggest pool.

By staying with BitMinter you could have tried to make a difference.

I hope you understand what I'm trying to say.

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
frankenmint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


HoneybadgerOfMoney.com Weed4bitcoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2013, 07:07:41 AM
 #4114

You're comparing BTC Guild's PPS fee/features to your PPLNS fee/features.  That's not a fair comparison when BTC Guild offers PPLNS.  BTC Guild PPLNS pays Orphans, TxFees, and Namecoins at 3%.  By your own statement, that would put the difference at 0.5% (assuming they are donating to get paid orphans).

Yes, in the PPLNS case it would be 0.5%

From what I understand some ASIC buyers are moving to PPS as security against the difficulty going up so fast, which could be said to increase variance or make the variance last considerably longer. I'm just saying that while it does protect you against bad mining luck, it has a considerable price tag.

I could make the same comparison between PPS and PPLNS mining at BTC Guild: 12% vs 3%.


Hey doc...I'm having some problems with bitminter...I tried to setup a stratum server using stratum mining proxy (ran it using bitminters connection settings) and it never worked.  So I decided to change everything back and disable it.  Now my mining software states that Im mining from you at 80 MH/s but the site shows zero.  I havent gotten any bitcent in a few days and the payouts from bitminter seem to indicate that almost zero hashrate is comming back to you guys.


Im unable to use your java client because it fails to detect my fpgas correctly.  I've had to resort to using MPBM with your connection setings.  as of now I'm getting 103 MH/S but I should be able to easily pull a good 500 from you with the current load on my hardware.  Do you know why it would act lower than it should?  I used your pool exclusively but now I'm going to have to look at rollovers to ensure my hashing power is utilized.

Just seeking out any ideas.  I've done a software reset within my mining software but I will physically restart my computer which is hosting the software...do you have any advice or suggestions. 

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2013, 08:20:43 AM
 #4115

Hey doc...I'm having some problems with bitminter...I tried to setup a stratum server using stratum mining proxy (ran it using bitminters connection settings) and it never worked.  So I decided to change everything back and disable it.  Now my mining software states that Im mining from you at 80 MH/s but the site shows zero.  I havent gotten any bitcent in a few days and the payouts from bitminter seem to indicate that almost zero hashrate is comming back to you guys.


Im unable to use your java client because it fails to detect my fpgas correctly.  I've had to resort to using MPBM with your connection setings.  as of now I'm getting 103 MH/S but I should be able to easily pull a good 500 from you with the current load on my hardware.  Do you know why it would act lower than it should?  I used your pool exclusively but now I'm going to have to look at rollovers to ensure my hashing power is utilized.

Just seeking out any ideas.  I've done a software reset within my mining software but I will physically restart my computer which is hosting the software...do you have any advice or suggestions. 

What's the problem with the stratum proxy ? Run it with "mining_proxy.exe -o eu1.bitminter.com -sp 3333 -gp 8332" then you just have to point the fpgas to http://127.0.0.1:8332 and all should be fine. You can use MPBM, cgminer or BTCMiner from Ztex if you use his boards.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2013, 11:38:33 AM
 #4116

Hey doc...I'm having some problems with bitminter...I tried to setup a stratum server using stratum mining proxy (ran it using bitminters connection settings) and it never worked.  So I decided to change everything back and disable it.  Now my mining software states that Im mining from you at 80 MH/s but the site shows zero.  I havent gotten any bitcent in a few days and the payouts from bitminter seem to indicate that almost zero hashrate is comming back to you guys.


Im unable to use your java client because it fails to detect my fpgas correctly.  I've had to resort to using MPBM with your connection setings.  as of now I'm getting 103 MH/S but I should be able to easily pull a good 500 from you with the current load on my hardware.  Do you know why it would act lower than it should?  I used your pool exclusively but now I'm going to have to look at rollovers to ensure my hashing power is utilized.

Just seeking out any ideas.  I've done a software reset within my mining software but I will physically restart my computer which is hosting the software...do you have any advice or suggestions. 

80-100 MH/s is around the hashrate that the server doesn't reliably estimate. When you are mining that slow, the server sometimes thinks you stopped mining and shows zero hashrate.

Many in the pool are using the stratum mining proxy. I guess it is most likely a problem with the options you are using. Try what Turbor said. If it fails, how does it fail? Do you see any errors? The most common problem when users have been unable to get the proxy working has been wrong user name, worker name or password.

The BitMinter client doesn't support the ZTEX FPGAs. Are they all running slowly all the time? Or is one not working? Or perhaps the hashrate of all of them is fluctuating up and down?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
August 18, 2013, 01:27:00 PM
 #4117

Code:
252812 2013-08-18 10:11 0m 167,109 50,810,339 0.3% 17,088.755 BTC Sailermin 96 left

This is more like it.  Grin


Save Donbass

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
August 18, 2013, 04:16:14 PM
 #4118

Code:
252812 2013-08-18 10:11 0m 167,109 50,810,339 0.3% 17,088.755 BTC Sailermin 96 left

This is more like it.  Grin
That was a 68-million difficulty share that found that block. Just squeaked in under the line. We could use a few more of those to make up for the recent drought ...

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
Toby
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
August 19, 2013, 05:31:51 AM
 #4119

But now the pool is down!
GoMaD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
August 19, 2013, 05:47:00 AM
 #4120

My miner is up.

I think it is just the Website!?
Pages: « 1 ... 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 [206] 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 ... 376 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!