Bitcoin Forum
November 13, 2018, 05:51:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 [110] 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 ... 846 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5766261 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 05, 2011, 07:38:17 AM
 #2181

Actually - it's worse than that.
It's AVG saying that they have blocked cgminer.exe based on stupidity.
If it was based on what cgminer does then any online game would be classified as a trojan.
What do online games do? Lots of internet access on a single port and lots of GPU processing - sound familiar?
Yeah sounds just like a bitcoin miner program Smiley
Imagine if you wrote a trojan that installed AVG ...
Now would AVG actually detect itself or the trojan?
Of course the answer is the trojan that did the install, not the app it installed.
Just contact AVG and tell them they are morons.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
1542088314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542088314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542088314
Reply with quote  #2

1542088314
Report to moderator
1542088314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542088314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542088314
Reply with quote  #2

1542088314
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542088314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542088314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542088314
Reply with quote  #2

1542088314
Report to moderator
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 05, 2011, 08:24:10 AM
 #2182

Meh, for the average idiot, what AVG is doing may not be so bad.  If you knowingly installed cgminer, you will probably know its safe, if you dont know what it is, you are likely a victim of a trojan.  That warning AVG gives is actually fairly accurate, its potentially an unwanted program users should be made aware off.

SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 05, 2011, 09:09:39 AM
 #2183

Meh, for the average idiot, what AVG is doing may not be so bad.  If you knowingly installed cgminer, you will probably know its safe, if you dont know what it is, you are likely a victim of a trojan.  That warning AVG gives is actually fairly accurate, its potentially an unwanted program users should be made aware off.
Well that's the thing - I'm not really in to trusting anything posted here.  It's not that I'm an idiot, just that I've learned to be precautionary with anything and everything to do with people associated with Bitcoin.

Just wanted some confirmation that it was just a false positive and ok to use though, so thanks to all!
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 06:36:46 PM
 #2184

Does the automatic temperature cutoff only work above 85 degree C and will it also work if you don't use cgminers fan and overclock settings ?

SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 05, 2011, 09:03:11 PM
 #2185

Well, I ran it overnight, and came back to a gray screen of death.  What settings should I change?

I was happy that I was getting about 30 mh/s more on my 5870 than I was with guiminer, but obviously that point is moot if it locks up periodically.  The card isn't overclocked, but this particular case isn't very well ventilated.  Maybe the extra mhs caused a bit more stress on the card and a bit more heat, enough to the point where it locked up?  It was at 87.5c when I left it last night...
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 09:08:44 PM
 #2186

Well, I ran it overnight, and came back to a gray screen of death.  What settings should I change?

I was happy that I was getting about 30 mh/s more on my 5870 than I was with guiminer, but obviously that point is moot if it locks up periodically.  The card isn't overclocked, but this particular case isn't very well ventilated.  Maybe the extra mhs caused a bit more stress on the card and a bit more heat, enough to the point where it locked up?  It was at 87.5c when I left it last night...

87.5C seems very high. My two 5850 run below 70C at around 42 to 49% fan speed. Try to downclock the memory to 300 MHz. What intensity did u run ?

SleeperUnit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2011, 03:59:38 AM
 #2187

Does the automatic temperature cutoff only work above 85 degree C and will it also work if you don't use cgminers fan and overclock settings ?

The thermal cutoff function kicks in at whatever temp you set. If you don't set anything, it defaults to 95 Celsius.

The 85 Celsius threshold is (by default) when the fan gets cranked up to 100%.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 06, 2011, 04:20:23 AM
 #2188

Well, I ran it overnight, and came back to a gray screen of death.  What settings should I change?

I was happy that I was getting about 30 mh/s more on my 5870 than I was with guiminer, but obviously that point is moot if it locks up periodically.  The card isn't overclocked, but this particular case isn't very well ventilated.  Maybe the extra mhs caused a bit more stress on the card and a bit more heat, enough to the point where it locked up?  It was at 87.5c when I left it last night...

87.5C seems very high. My two 5850 run below 70C at around 42 to 49% fan speed. Try to downclock the memory to 300 MHz. What intensity did u run ?
Yeah, it is pretty high.  I can't run lower memory, as I also game on the machine.  Anyway, maybe I'll just stick with guiminer on that machine since it works and I know it's stable.

Does the automatic temperature cutoff only work above 85 degree C and will it also work if you don't use cgminers fan and overclock settings ?

The thermal cutoff function kicks in at whatever temp you set. If you don't set anything, it defaults to 95 Celsius.

The 85 Celsius threshold is (by default) when the fan gets cranked up to 100%.
Thanks for the info.
714
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 06, 2011, 04:46:49 AM
 #2189

One of the dependencies, the AMD APP SDK, is said by AMD to be for "Linux® (..., Ubuntu® 10.0*, ...)".  This was one reason I am currently planning to use Ubuntu 10.04 rather than 11.10.  But since cgminer 2.0.8 for Ubuntu 11.10 was built successfully using the SDK, I guess that AMD's Ubuntu version spec is merely obsolete rather than a real restriction.

That only means it is supported for 10.*, not that it won't work anywhere else. Basically, if you report any bugs using a different OS, the AMD guys might just ignore you. I'm using the APP SDK on a debian system, and it works fine.

I use Gentoo linux on the x86_64 platform, I'm currently running kernel 3.1.4 with the Con Kolivas patches. Either the ATI driver 11.6 or the recently released 11.11 driver work fine for me *without* the 100% cpu use bug. Neither is the current "production" gentoo version of the driver, which is 11.8 .

As an aside, I do have an older system that dual boots to Windows XP Pro 32 bit. I tried the 11.11 driver there and the 100% cpu bug was present. 11.6 works fine. I have not tried a 32 bit linux platform.

Video driver compatibility has most to do with your linux kernel version and options. It's likely any recent ATI driver should at least mostly work for any kernel that you are likely to have in use.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2011, 04:58:12 AM
 #2190

Does the automatic temperature cutoff only work above 85 degree C and will it also work if you don't use cgminers fan and overclock settings ?

The thermal cutoff function kicks in at whatever temp you set. If you don't set anything, it defaults to 95 Celsius.

The 85 Celsius threshold is (by default) when the fan gets cranked up to 100%.

Did not work for me.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2011, 04:58:58 AM
 #2191

Does the automatic temperature cutoff only work above 85 degree C and will it also work if you don't use cgminers fan and overclock settings ?

The thermal cutoff function kicks in at whatever temp you set. If you don't set anything, it defaults to 95 Celsius.

The 85 Celsius threshold is (by default) when the fan gets cranked up to 100%.

Did not work for me.
cgminer does not touch fan speed unless you enable --auto-fan

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2011, 05:58:49 AM
 #2192

Does the automatic temperature cutoff only work above 85 degree C and will it also work if you don't use cgminers fan and overclock settings ?

The thermal cutoff function kicks in at whatever temp you set. If you don't set anything, it defaults to 95 Celsius.

The 85 Celsius threshold is (by default) when the fan gets cranked up to 100%.

Did not work for me.
cgminer does not touch fan speed unless you enable --auto-fan

What about auto cutoff ? How do i get this to work ?

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 06, 2011, 08:42:09 AM
 #2193

Cut off temperature has nothing to do with fan speed. Its where the gpu is "turned off", for instance if the fan fails. I think its enabled by default, to set the temperature, just click G(pu) > C(hange settings) > GPU #> A(utomatic) > C(utoff) > set temperature. Has to be over 70C. Just stop your fan to test it.

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2011, 11:35:35 AM
 #2194

...has to be over 70C. Just stop your fan to test it...

Tnx for the information. I tried it out below 70C just to check and that did not work. Now everything makes sense.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2011, 12:32:59 PM
 #2195

Does the automatic temperature cutoff only work above 85 degree C and will it also work if you don't use cgminers fan and overclock settings ?

The thermal cutoff function kicks in at whatever temp you set. If you don't set anything, it defaults to 95 Celsius.

The 85 Celsius threshold is (by default) when the fan gets cranked up to 100%.

Did not work for me.
cgminer does not touch fan speed unless you enable --auto-fan

What about auto cutoff ? How do i get this to work ?
--auto-gpu

cgminer will not assume you want it to automanage anything unless you tell it to

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
horgh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2011, 01:55:27 PM
 #2196

F-secure gives false positive on this. Generic Trojan or something. Also they seem to see bitcoind as some sort of riskware because I got warning also about that.  Angry
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 06, 2011, 02:06:42 PM
 #2197

F-secure gives false positive on this. Generic Trojan or something. Also they seem to see bitcoind as some sort of riskware because I got warning also about that.  Angry
Both should be possible to report the false positives.  For best results tell them what they are and indicate that while they might be potentially unwanted they are certainly not trojans.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2011, 05:12:02 PM
 #2198

--auto-gpu

cgminer will not assume you want it to automanage anything unless you tell it to


 Wink seem like that was missing.

Nesetalis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 07, 2011, 07:08:50 AM
 #2199

Code:
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your email to Avira's virus lab.
Tracking number: REDACTED.

A listing of files alongside their results can be found below:
File ID Filename Size (Byte) Result
26433696 cgminer.exe 290.5 KB MALWARE


Please find a detailed report concerning each individual sample below:
Filename Result
cgminer.exe MALWARE

The file 'cgminer.exe' has been determined to be 'MALWARE'.Our analysts named the threat TR/Offend.KD.445392.1.The term "TR/" denotes a trojan horse that is able to spy out data, to violate your privacy or carry out unwanted modifications to the system.Detection is added to our virus definition file (VDF) starting with version .

Please note: If you have specific questions please address them to support@avira.com

Kind regards
Avira Virus Lab

I sent them a response email, with a link to the source code, and asking for explicit details why they think its a trojan... maybe they will respond, maybe they wont. in the mean time, this is rather annoying >.>

-edit-

Code:
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your recent inquiry.

The file you submitted is falsely detected as TR/Offend.KD.445392.1.

This is a false positive detection, which will be fixed with one of the next AntiVir updates. With this update, the file should not be detected anymore.

ZOMG Moo!
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 07, 2011, 08:34:33 AM
 #2200

Code:
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your email to Avira's virus lab.
Tracking number: REDACTED.

A listing of files alongside their results can be found below:
File ID Filename Size (Byte) Result
26433696 cgminer.exe 290.5 KB MALWARE


Please find a detailed report concerning each individual sample below:
Filename Result
cgminer.exe MALWARE

The file 'cgminer.exe' has been determined to be 'MALWARE'.Our analysts named the threat TR/Offend.KD.445392.1.The term "TR/" denotes a trojan horse that is able to spy out data, to violate your privacy or carry out unwanted modifications to the system.Detection is added to our virus definition file (VDF) starting with version .

Please note: If you have specific questions please address them to support@avira.com

Kind regards
Avira Virus Lab

I sent them a response email, with a link to the source code, and asking for explicit details why they think its a trojan... maybe they will respond, maybe they wont. in the mean time, this is rather annoying >.>

They flag this because a couple of botnets use cgminer as well...

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
Pages: « 1 ... 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 [110] 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 ... 846 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!