Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:13:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 ... 284 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 322293 times)
newmz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
August 05, 2017, 05:11:44 AM
 #2361

Does bumping fan speed to 100 effect power usage much if really at all?
Only negative is noise? Maybe more wear and tear?

Depending on a lot of factors - brand of card (and therefore quality of components), luck, environmental setting the cards are in, etc - running gpu fans at 100% all the time will wear the fans out much more quickly. I believe they are spec'd to ideally run for the life of the rest of the card's components at about 60% all the time, and going above that is supposed to be just for extreme situations in gaming - which is what these cards were actually designed for.

I have been mining for over a year in Australia which is a very tough place for GPUs in the summer without aircon and I started out with used AMD cards mining ETH (in the good old days of mining 5 ETH every three days at 250mh/s). I have had to run the fans at 90%-100% sometimes with the cards at 80 degrees plus and in the last three months I have had many fan failures. I have some Sapphire Tri-X R9 290's and I have replaced the whole triple fan array on two cards, and one individual fan on another card. R9 290s are power hungry monsters and always ran really hot compared to other cards, and all cards use more power when they are hotter - so it's a "balancing act". 3 of the 1st 290s I ever bought were reference design blower style coolers and were SO loud in summer I had to watercool them (at ridiculous expense) or my lady would have either left or made me stop mining, because my rigs are in a room next our bedroom. One card I once owned i nicknamed "the lawnmower" because it was so f'ing loud. I sold it to a friend who didn't care. Watercooled cards are awesome - silent and always running at 50-60 degrees even on 40 degree days, but it certainly isn't economical in terms of ROI. I just did it because I love mining as a hobby and love modding stuff to make it work better. I still run those three watercooled cards and they have always been overclocked to within an inch of their lives and they keep on going at low temps and no noise.

I would encourage anyone to try to lower the temperature of the room if possible, spread the cards out as much as possible so the fans can "breathe" and use external fans (like even large domestic cooling fans) to blow the hot air away from around the rigs. Hopefully if any or all of these measures drop the temperature you should definitely lower the GPU fan speeds whenever possible.

In recent months I have been slowly migrating to Nvidia cards. I used to run 2 x 6 card AMD rigs. Now I have 1 x 5 card Nvidia rig (with 2 more 1070's on back-order)  and 1 x 4 card AMD rig (I sold the most "respectable" 2 cards on that rig recently - a Sapphire 390 nitro and an MSI 290x). I have been wondering what sort of temperatures are safe cruising for Nvidia cards. Older generation R9 AMD cards were always expected to run hot and designed that way because they were big power consumers, but Pascal cards that all run at 150W or less shouldn't be too hot that often right?

What kind of temperatures are you guys comfortable with on 1060/70/80s?
1510996405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996405
Reply with quote  #2

1510996405
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510996405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996405
Reply with quote  #2

1510996405
Report to moderator
chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 952


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
August 05, 2017, 05:20:55 AM
 #2362

Hello all --

I'm using v0018 with 6x nvidia 1070s and all is fine.  I was just wondering --- How long will my GPUs last running 24/7 ?

Does anyone have an idea or enough rig history to know?

Regards !!!

I have two rigs go almost 3 weeks 24/7. Only one has done a soft reset in which the miner reset and started back up.

The second rig hasn't even had a soft reset in the three weeks.

That's cool but that's not what I'm trying to ask.  I'm wondering if after a solid year or two will my GPUs break down and require replacement?

Regards!



many years ...

regular maintenance on both the physical cards - and hardware - from dust and heat ...

we have had theFARM run for three years without issue - adding newer cards all the time ...

theFARM died due to a massive brownout that destroyed the building electrical as well - but had it not been for that - theFARM may still be running now - 4years on ...

any card that seems to be faulty - remove or replace and get serviced immediately ... its not only an interruption to the mining process - but can be detrimental to the other equipment in the rig you have it in ... ALWAYS check power supplies - especially if you have two or more hooked up to the rig ...

follow through with these things once every two weeks - and you will have a long term mining system that will run and run ...

especially if you run linux Wink ...

#crysx

grn - Gfz2cXMkhMZYWSFvLEMnM8bXk7X5Mtq2J2 . exchange - https://www.cryptopia.co.nz/Exchange/?market=GRN_BTC . cwi thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1563601 . email - crysx@gnxs.com .
MATHReX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
August 05, 2017, 06:39:42 AM
 #2363

Hey, peeps, I don't know if it's been discussed before in here but as I scored through last 15-20 pages, I didn't find any relevant answer to my query. I just want to ask if Windows 10 is giving me 24.5 MH/s on my GTX 1060 with +800 MC and -150 CC using afterburner, that's not the case with Linux. I'm getting around 22 MH/s for the same settings on Linux. Any reason why that happens? Is it because of performance mode not being on level 2 in Nvidia server X settings?

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
dbolivar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
August 05, 2017, 07:13:01 AM
 #2364

Hey, peeps, I don't know if it's been discussed before in here but as I scored through last 15-20 pages, I didn't find any relevant answer to my query. I just want to ask if Windows 10 is giving me 24.5 MH/s on my GTX 1060 with +800 MC and -150 CC using afterburner, that's not the case with Linux. I'm getting around 22 MH/s for the same settings on Linux. Any reason why that happens? Is it because of performance mode not being on level 2 in Nvidia server X settings?

AFAIK in Linux you should try a doubled MC offset (1600 in your case), to be equivalent of the Afterburner settings in Windows. I think in Windows the offset is applied to the "base" or "real" memory clock, while in Linux it's applied to the effective clock, which is twice, since we are working with double data rate (DDR) memory. (Well, GDDR5 memory clocks are not as simple as that, but that's what I figured from reading reports here and there.)
damNmad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
August 05, 2017, 08:15:39 AM
 #2365

Anyone know how to set up Mining Pool hub in 1 Bash? My attempts have failed

Here's one example:

MUSIC_WORKER="nv$IP_AS_WORKER"
MUSIC_ADDRESS="ATCkit9"
MUSIC_POOL="us-east.ethash-hub.miningpoolhub.com:20585"
MUSIC_EXTENTION_ARGUMENTS=""

Are you just mining MUSIC or DUAL_MUSIC_XXX??

Let me know this, i will give you the code to work it out.
I`m mining single coins only. With my AMD rig, I switch coins manually about once a day. MUSIC will be one of the coins I watch on What to mine.

In short, if you can show me what works for MUSIC, I can apply the logic for the other coins MPH offers.

search for this in oneBash

Code:
COIN == "MUSIC"

You will see the following

Code:
if [ $COIN == "MUSIC" ]
then

if [ $GENOILorCLAYMORE == "GENOIL-CURRENTLY-NOT-SUPPORTED" ]
then
HCD='/home/m1/eth/Genoil-U/ethminer'

MUSICADDR="$MUSIC_ADDRESS/$MUSIC_WORKER"

screen -dmS miner $HCD -S $MUSIC_POOL -O $MUSICADDR:x -U

if [ $LOCALorREMOTE == "LOCAL" ]
then
screen -r miner
fi

BITCOIN="theGROUND"

while [ $BITCOIN == "theGROUND" ]
do
sleep 60
done
fi

this is the line you need to change

Code:
MUSICADDR="$MUSIC_ADDRESS/$MUSIC_WORKER"

replace the '/' with '.' and it should work.

The way I normally prefer follows like this, add '#' for the previous line and add new line with '.', it can be re used in future if necessary.

Code:
#MUSICADDR="$MUSIC_ADDRESS/$MUSIC_WORKER"
MUSICADDR="$MUSIC_ADDRESS.$MUSIC_WORKER"


Hope you already knew what to put in MUSIC_ADDRESS & MUSIC_WORKER and right mining port.

Good luck and let me know if you still have issue with it

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
MATHReX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
August 05, 2017, 11:32:04 AM
 #2366

Hey, peeps, I don't know if it's been discussed before in here but as I scored through last 15-20 pages, I didn't find any relevant answer to my query. I just want to ask if Windows 10 is giving me 24.5 MH/s on my GTX 1060 with +800 MC and -150 CC using afterburner, that's not the case with Linux. I'm getting around 22 MH/s for the same settings on Linux. Any reason why that happens? Is it because of performance mode not being on level 2 in Nvidia server X settings?

AFAIK in Linux you should try a doubled MC offset (1600 in your case), to be equivalent of the Afterburner settings in Windows. I think in Windows the offset is applied to the "base" or "real" memory clock, while in Linux it's applied to the effective clock, which is twice, since we are working with double data rate (DDR) memory. (Well, GDDR5 memory clocks are not as simple as that, but that's what I figured from reading reports here and there.)

Well, I tried your way with double MC offset but still the same results. Anyway, thanks for the reply bud.

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
bdiddle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
August 05, 2017, 12:49:19 PM
 #2367

Hey I'd like to set oneBash to execute the miner with a screen attached, so that I can easily ssh in and just screen -r to see my hash rates per card.

I've looked through the script, but am not quite sure the best place to put it. I'd like it to not care which coin/miner is being used.

Ideas?
fogcity
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
August 05, 2017, 03:34:41 PM
 #2368

Does bumping fan speed to 100 effect power usage much if really at all?
Only negative is noise? Maybe more wear and tear?

Depending on a lot of factors - brand of card (and therefore quality of components), luck, environmental setting the cards are in, etc - running gpu fans at 100% all the time will wear the fans out much more quickly. I believe they are spec'd to ideally run for the life of the rest of the card's components at about 60% all the time, and going above that is supposed to be just for extreme situations in gaming - which is what these cards were actually designed for.

I have been mining for over a year in Australia which is a very tough place for GPUs in the summer without aircon and I started out with used AMD cards mining ETH (in the good old days of mining 5 ETH every three days at 250mh/s). I have had to run the fans at 90%-100% sometimes with the cards at 80 degrees plus and in the last three months I have had many fan failures. I have some Sapphire Tri-X R9 290's and I have replaced the whole triple fan array on two cards, and one individual fan on another card. R9 290s are power hungry monsters and always ran really hot compared to other cards, and all cards use more power when they are hotter - so it's a "balancing act". 3 of the 1st 290s I ever bought were reference design blower style coolers and were SO loud in summer I had to watercool them (at ridiculous expense) or my lady would have either left or made me stop mining, because my rigs are in a room next our bedroom. One card I once owned i nicknamed "the lawnmower" because it was so f'ing loud. I sold it to a friend who didn't care. Watercooled cards are awesome - silent and always running at 50-60 degrees even on 40 degree days, but it certainly isn't economical in terms of ROI. I just did it because I love mining as a hobby and love modding stuff to make it work better. I still run those three watercooled cards and they have always been overclocked to within an inch of their lives and they keep on going at low temps and no noise.

I would encourage anyone to try to lower the temperature of the room if possible, spread the cards out as much as possible so the fans can "breathe" and use external fans (like even large domestic cooling fans) to blow the hot air away from around the rigs. Hopefully if any or all of these measures drop the temperature you should definitely lower the GPU fan speeds whenever possible.

In recent months I have been slowly migrating to Nvidia cards. I used to run 2 x 6 card AMD rigs. Now I have 1 x 5 card Nvidia rig (with 2 more 1070's on back-order)  and 1 x 4 card AMD rig (I sold the most "respectable" 2 cards on that rig recently - a Sapphire 390 nitro and an MSI 290x). I have been wondering what sort of temperatures are safe cruising for Nvidia cards. Older generation R9 AMD cards were always expected to run hot and designed that way because they were big power consumers, but Pascal cards that all run at 150W or less shouldn't be too hot that often right?

What kind of temperatures are you guys comfortable with on 1060/70/80s?

Hey newmz -- Thanks so much for the detailed answer !!!

ATCkit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 754


View Profile
August 05, 2017, 04:35:15 PM
 #2369

Anyone know how to set up Mining Pool hub in 1 Bash? My attempts have failed

Here's one example:

MUSIC_WORKER="nv$IP_AS_WORKER"
MUSIC_ADDRESS="ATCkit9"
MUSIC_POOL="us-east.ethash-hub.miningpoolhub.com:20585"
MUSIC_EXTENTION_ARGUMENTS=""

Are you just mining MUSIC or DUAL_MUSIC_XXX??

Let me know this, i will give you the code to work it out.

Seems simple enough. Will change it over the weekend.
Much appreciated.
I`m mining single coins only. With my AMD rig, I switch coins manually about once a day. MUSIC will be one of the coins I watch on What to mine.

In short, if you can show me what works for MUSIC, I can apply the logic for the other coins MPH offers.

search for this in oneBash

Code:
COIN == "MUSIC"

You will see the following

Code:
if [ $COIN == "MUSIC" ]
then

if [ $GENOILorCLAYMORE == "GENOIL-CURRENTLY-NOT-SUPPORTED" ]
then
HCD='/home/m1/eth/Genoil-U/ethminer'

MUSICADDR="$MUSIC_ADDRESS/$MUSIC_WORKER"

screen -dmS miner $HCD -S $MUSIC_POOL -O $MUSICADDR:x -U

if [ $LOCALorREMOTE == "LOCAL" ]
then
screen -r miner
fi

BITCOIN="theGROUND"

while [ $BITCOIN == "theGROUND" ]
do
sleep 60
done
fi

this is the line you need to change

Code:
MUSICADDR="$MUSIC_ADDRESS/$MUSIC_WORKER"

replace the '/' with '.' and it should work.

The way I normally prefer follows like this, add '#' for the previous line and add new line with '.', it can be re used in future if necessary.

Code:
#MUSICADDR="$MUSIC_ADDRESS/$MUSIC_WORKER"
MUSICADDR="$MUSIC_ADDRESS.$MUSIC_WORKER"


Hope you already knew what to put in MUSIC_ADDRESS & MUSIC_WORKER and right mining port.

Good luck and let me know if you still have issue with it

Much appreciated.
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
August 05, 2017, 05:31:19 PM
 #2370

Does bumping fan speed to 100 effect power usage much if really at all?
Only negative is noise? Maybe more wear and tear?

Depending on a lot of factors - brand of card (and therefore quality of components), luck, environmental setting the cards are in, etc - running gpu fans at 100% all the time will wear the fans out much more quickly. I believe they are spec'd to ideally run for the life of the rest of the card's components at about 60% all the time, and going above that is supposed to be just for extreme situations in gaming - which is what these cards were actually designed for.

I have been mining for over a year in Australia which is a very tough place for GPUs in the summer without aircon and I started out with used AMD cards mining ETH (in the good old days of mining 5 ETH every three days at 250mh/s). I have had to run the fans at 90%-100% sometimes with the cards at 80 degrees plus and in the last three months I have had many fan failures. I have some Sapphire Tri-X R9 290's and I have replaced the whole triple fan array on two cards, and one individual fan on another card. R9 290s are power hungry monsters and always ran really hot compared to other cards, and all cards use more power when they are hotter - so it's a "balancing act". 3 of the 1st 290s I ever bought were reference design blower style coolers and were SO loud in summer I had to watercool them (at ridiculous expense) or my lady would have either left or made me stop mining, because my rigs are in a room next our bedroom. One card I once owned i nicknamed "the lawnmower" because it was so f'ing loud. I sold it to a friend who didn't care. Watercooled cards are awesome - silent and always running at 50-60 degrees even on 40 degree days, but it certainly isn't economical in terms of ROI. I just did it because I love mining as a hobby and love modding stuff to make it work better. I still run those three watercooled cards and they have always been overclocked to within an inch of their lives and they keep on going at low temps and no noise.

I would encourage anyone to try to lower the temperature of the room if possible, spread the cards out as much as possible so the fans can "breathe" and use external fans (like even large domestic cooling fans) to blow the hot air away from around the rigs. Hopefully if any or all of these measures drop the temperature you should definitely lower the GPU fan speeds whenever possible.

In recent months I have been slowly migrating to Nvidia cards. I used to run 2 x 6 card AMD rigs. Now I have 1 x 5 card Nvidia rig (with 2 more 1070's on back-order)  and 1 x 4 card AMD rig (I sold the most "respectable" 2 cards on that rig recently - a Sapphire 390 nitro and an MSI 290x). I have been wondering what sort of temperatures are safe cruising for Nvidia cards. Older generation R9 AMD cards were always expected to run hot and designed that way because they were big power consumers, but Pascal cards that all run at 150W or less shouldn't be too hot that often right?

What kind of temperatures are you guys comfortable with on 1060/70/80s?

On my 1060s and 1070s I run them between 50C-65C, the room I keep them in has a temp of 21C.

Bitrated user: nexillus.
gs777
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
August 06, 2017, 05:20:06 AM
 #2371

Hi!
I'm about to build a rig with Pentium G4400.
But after reading about Skylake issues with hyper threading don't know
should I use it or better to return and exchange it with i3?
car1999
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 06, 2017, 06:32:36 AM
 #2372

Hi!
I'm about to build a rig with Pentium G4400.
But after reading about Skylake issues with hyper threading don't know
should I use it or better to return and exchange it with i3?
i have a rig runs 8 cards with G3900, no problem.
bobers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile
August 06, 2017, 06:44:23 AM
 #2373

Hi,
I have Lexar S75 32gb. After i installed 0018 im getting message "low disk space" I reflashed usb many times but error comes again and again
senne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437



View Profile
August 06, 2017, 11:50:01 AM
 #2374

Hi,

I copied nvoc from USB to SSD drive.
Problem is it Cant find the onebash on boot.
When i click the disk on the gui homepage, it gets recognized and started..

Any bypass so i don't have to click it everytime and the disk gets mounted right or recognized immediately?

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
Bibi187
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


https://steemit.com/@bibi187


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2017, 12:08:24 PM
 #2375

Hi,

I copied nvoc from USB to SSD drive.
Problem is it Cant find the onebash on boot.
When i click the disk on the gui homepage, it gets recognized and started..

Any bypass so i don't have to click it everytime and the disk gets mounted right or recognized immediately?

Quote
If you don't have an imaging program already download HDDRawCopy (Link)

Or get etcher for Mac / Linux / Windows Link

When using Etcher to image an SSD or HDD; you will first need to: click the gear at the top right of the application window and enable unsafe mode.


NOTE:  I have tested etcher on windows and confirmed it is not working correctly with v0018

For now I recommend only using hddrawcopy when imaging on Windows.


if you want to easily image SSDs this USB to Sata power and data adapter is great:
https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-SATA-Drive-Adapter-Cable/dp/B00HJZJI84

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
senne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437



View Profile
August 06, 2017, 12:19:54 PM
 #2376

I Cant put the sdd in my computer, isn't there any possibility to fix this in Linux itself??

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
Sambaba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 06, 2017, 12:22:39 PM
 #2377

I have an issue with storage. I used usb 32gb to load the os. However, when I check property of "my computer" in linux, it only says 14gb capacity. I wonder what happens to the other 16gb. That's the reason why I always have warning of running out of storage. Anyone having the same issue?
car1999
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 06, 2017, 01:21:16 PM
 #2378

I have an issue with storage. I used usb 32gb to load the os. However, when I check property of "my computer" in linux, it only says 14gb capacity. I wonder what happens to the other 16gb. That's the reason why I always have warning of running out of storage. Anyone having the same issue?

fullzero, is it possible to use the hidden disk spaces? My usb key is 32GB, but I cannot see all of them in nvOC:

Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$ df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            1.9G     0  1.9G   0% /dev
tmpfs           392M   12M  380M   3% /run
/dev/sda2        15G   13G  920M  94% /
tmpfs           2.0G  192K  2.0G   1% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
tmpfs           2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs           392M   56K  392M   1% /run/user/1000
/dev/sda1       8.9M   60K  8.8M   1% /media/m1/1263-A96E


You can extend the primary partition on any key / ssd; by connecting it to a computer with nvOC that has already booted and clicking the ubuntu launcher at the top left and typing

Code:
gp

then click Gparted.  Find the sdb drive select the larger partition; it it is mounted unmount it; then rightclick and select resize and set the max size.

click the green checkmark to execute the change, wait for completion and it should be ~17gb larger.

Also you can remove unused header files with this oneliner from _Parallax_:

Code:
sudo apt-get purge $(dpkg -l linux-{image,headers}-"[0-9]*" | awk '/ii/{print $2}' | grep -ve "$(uname -r | sed -r 's/-[a-z]+//')")




Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
August 06, 2017, 03:28:18 PM
 #2379

Hi,
I have Lexar S75 32gb. After i installed 0018 im getting message "low disk space" I reflashed usb many times but error comes again and again

What program did you use to flash it? Did you use HDDRawcopy?

Bitrated user: nexillus.
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
August 06, 2017, 03:30:05 PM
 #2380

I have an issue with storage. I used usb 32gb to load the os. However, when I check property of "my computer" in linux, it only says 14gb capacity. I wonder what happens to the other 16gb. That's the reason why I always have warning of running out of storage. Anyone having the same issue?

What did you use to copy the image over to the USB ?

Bitrated user: nexillus.
Pages: « 1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 ... 284 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!