Bitcoin Forum
July 07, 2020, 04:21:44 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE][TUTORIAL][XMR,ETH]How To Mod Bios RX470/570/480/580 VEGA Mining 💰⛏  (Read 217018 times)
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 274


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 01:33:49 PM
 #361

Actually he and greatauror were talking about a specific samsung IC. Although he is no doubt also using a custom kernel whereas everyone else is posting their hashrate reported by claymore in win, so his increases don't necessarily all come from optimized timings.

Like I say I have a few Elpidas and none of mine will even do more than 2020. The lowest 2 only do 1960/1970.

My bad I guess, replied to wrong post a few posts ago Smiley
1594095704
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594095704

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594095704
Reply with quote  #2

1594095704
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594095704
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594095704

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594095704
Reply with quote  #2

1594095704
Report to moderator
1594095704
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594095704

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594095704
Reply with quote  #2

1594095704
Report to moderator
1594095704
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594095704

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594095704
Reply with quote  #2

1594095704
Report to moderator
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 274


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 02:13:07 PM
 #362

Actually he and greatauror were talking about a specific samsung IC. Although he is no doubt also using a custom kernel whereas everyone else is posting their hashrate reported by claymore in win, so his increases don't necessarily all come from optimized timings.

Like I say I have a few Elpidas and none of mine will even do more than 2020. The lowest 2 only do 1960/1970.

I do benchmarks using Claymore's linux miner for this very reason!


So should I try harder or be happy with 29.7 on elpida?
Card is pretty hot because its in ordinary PC, that probably steals
some hashing power
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 02:21:22 PM
 #363

@Wolf0

Ahh good to know. That makes it easier to compare then.

I remembered I asked you earlier about how to set up Linux and you said any use any recent kernel and amdgpu drivers and not amdgpu-pro, but you need the OpenCL runtime. Is that is still true now that there is a DAG fix? Is 4.10 a recent enough kernel? How do you get the OpenCL runtime? I read a comment somewhere that you are supposed to install the amdgpu-pro drivers with the '--compute' flag. Is that correct?

I really wanna get Linux setup and running so I can move all my rigs over, but unless I can get it hashing on par with Windows it's not worth it. I managed to get it running with amdgpu drivers but I was getting pre-DAG-fix hash rates, and ended up breaking my install trying to mess with it. I think that had something to do with blacklisting the radeon driver though (the primary GPU in the system is an R9 270).

Also are there any publicly available tools to monitor voltage/clocks/temps/fanspeeds, etc? lmsensors doesn't find anything and conky and grkrellm don't seem to be able to see voltages.

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 274


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 02:30:33 PM
 #364

@Wolf0

Ahh good to know. That makes it easier to compare then.

I remembered I asked you earlier about how to set up Linux and you said any use any recent kernel and amdgpu drivers and not amdgpu-pro, but you need the OpenCL runtime. Is that is still true now that there is a DAG fix? Is 4.10 a recent enough kernel? How do you get the OpenCL runtime? I read a comment somewhere that you are supposed to install the amdgpu-pro drivers with the '--compute' flag. Is that correct?

I really wanna get Linux setup and running so I can move all my rigs over, but unless I can get it hashing on par with Windows it's not worth it. I managed to get it running with amdgpu drivers but I was getting pre-DAG-fix hash rates, and ended up breaking my install trying to mess with it. I think that had something to do with blacklisting the radeon driver though (the primary GPU in the system is an R9 270).

Also are there any publicly available tools to monitor voltage/clocks/temps/fanspeeds, etc? lmsensors doesn't find anything and conky and grkrellm don't seem to be able to see voltages.

Why not use one of the mining distros that  already have all that?
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 02:37:53 PM
 #365

Well I don't want to pay for it either.  Grin Isn't EthOS like $30? I'm sure I could find a torrent or something but then I probably wouldn't trust it. What do you recommend?

A large part of the reason for doing this though is just to learn linux, so I kinda wanna stick to a normal distro (either Manjaro, Debian, or Xubuntu) and also use it for gaming/browsing/email/video, etc.

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 02:46:25 PM
 #366

You will need some skill to get it going really well - driver shit is irritation. Anyways - you got sysfs for clocks, temps, and fanspeeds. Voltages, there's NOTHING public that actually works (i.e. isn't either totally broken or completely inaccurate), although my little pet project will do it for GCN 2 & GCN 3.

Well lay some skills on me bro!  Cheesy

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 02:57:31 PM
 #367

But, like...I just wanna get hashing on Polaris with the dag fix. Nothing fancy. Even if it's 1MH/s below Windows without completely breaking the install I would be happy.

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
Bakhtra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 09, 2017, 03:11:11 PM
 #368


Really? You can't hit 30 with THAT? It's not only the most performant of the ones I've worked on, it's also the one most tolerant to whack settings... What clocks you at, and what timing set?


I'm at 2030MHz, and even default straps, with no changes at all, won't go over 2050 without errors in hwinfo


After bad experience with Hynix version of Gigabyte RX560, it wouldn't surprise me if I'd remove cooler and find
6GHz instead 7GHz chips there...and your lucky 31+ MH/s maybe even have 8GHz chips, so don't judge Cheesy

You think I need luck to get 31MH/s+? With 8Gbps Samsung, I can clear 34MH/s.

We were talking about Elpida, though...I managed to get 16.3MH/s on RX560 with 7GHz micron, I guess thats close to your
34 on 8GHz Samsung Smiley  (relatively speaking, considering is half RX580 in everything)

How about Hynix 8GB H5GC8H24MJR for ETH and XMR?
greatauror28
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 187
Merit: 101

Ethereum Miner


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 04:08:26 PM
 #369

All this talk and my timing strap isn't yet to be found! Come on wolfie, throw us some love!  Grin

Speaking of Elpida memory, I got a timing strap around here that can get my cards to do 31.3 Mh highest. Although only 4 out of 8 cards could do that at 2100 mem clock.

One more thing is that it's unstable if applied to an 8-gpu rig.

I build and sell rigs! I also sell ssd clones of the most stable Windows+Claymore+AMD driver combo you'd ever used.
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 04:16:03 PM
 #370

naw I know you can't really talk about Vega. I take it you sold all the optimizations to some farm with the stipulation that you can't tell anyone else about it? Man I bet they are getting like 70Mh per card.

Anyway what I did was this:

Quote
wget -qO - http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/rocm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo sh -c 'echo deb [arch=amd64] http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/ xenial main > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rocm.list'
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rocm

#edit grub
sudo nano  /etc/default/grub
#2MB fragments for Ellesmere are enabled with a grub option:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"

sudo update-grub
sudo reboot

Then it would boot with ROCm kernel 4.11, but wouldn't hash. Said something about needing DRM 3.x.x and I had v2.5. Thought that was because the 270 was still on the radeon driver (even though I was only trying to mine on the 570 which was using the amdgpu driver according to lspci -v). That's when I ended up breaking the install messing with it (I think blacklisting the radeon driver broke it). It would still run with the default 4.10 kernel and it would hash, but without the dag fix (only 24 MH/s when it should have been getting 29+).

Anyhow I'll try it again. I may have fucked myself trying to install the amdgpu-pro driver so maybe I'll skip that part this time. Thanks for the infos!

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 04:30:45 PM
 #371

Well if I spend another day or two beating my head against a wall with it I'm gonna try Manjaro again.

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
stef_stef
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 05:45:03 PM
 #372

I am trying to get a stable hash rate form an rx 470 nitro+ mining edition with samsung memory.


I have 8 cards running with the same bios (1750 straps copied to 2000), but one is getting waay to many incorrect shares. The cards are running at 1900 mem and 1050 core I have tried different frequencies, but could not find a stable one for that one card.

Any tips on what to try next? Should I maybe try a different bios?




Thanks

I can clear 31MH/s+ on a Sapphire Nitro 470 4G (113-2E353FU.M4Z) which has K4G41325FE GDDR5 chips. Amusingly, it appears I need to work harder on reducing the computations in Ethash... I have memory speed to spare, but core needs bumping to go much further.



You will need some skill to get it going really well - driver shit is irritation. Anyways - you got sysfs for clocks, temps, and fanspeeds. Voltages, there's NOTHING public that actually works (i.e. isn't either totally broken or completely inaccurate), although my little pet project will do it for GCN 2 & GCN 3.



I am only getting 27.3 on those, at 1100W for 8 cards. Would you mind sharing your bios and core/mem settings?


Thanks
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 274


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 07:24:30 PM
 #373

Core clock must currently be a minimum of 1225 to *barely* hold 31MH/s consistent. The memory clock I used with my timings was 2200; with the way I did the timings, this memclock is conservative.

EDIT: For the record, this test was not a Claymore run - meaning that if you're using Claymore, your minimum core clock required to achieve 31MH/s (assuming identical memory performance) will be somewhat higher.


Thats similar to micron on rx560...need about 1250MHz core for max hash rate compared to 1100MHz for hynix
m1dz0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 08:21:01 PM
 #374

Come on mr. Wolf0, give us some love  Smiley
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 358


👉MINING-BIOS.eu💲⛏


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2017, 08:37:15 PM
 #375

Core clock must currently be a minimum of 1225 to *barely* hold 31MH/s consistent. The memory clock I used with my timings was 2200; with the way I did the timings, this memclock is conservative.

EDIT: For the record, this test was not a Claymore run - meaning that if you're using Claymore, your minimum core clock required to achieve 31MH/s (assuming identical memory performance) will be somewhat higher.
Have used Claymore kernel or your own?

Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.euPBE 1.7PBE 3 PRO👌⛏│AFFILIATE system 10% ref 💰💲BTC│👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ Monero V9 (CNv4) ✅│XMRig AMD🔝⛏ CNv4 ✅
FIAT from BINANCE to REVOLUT 💳│🚀Upcoming/Active ICO list📈🤑│👉Free Bitcoin BTC Faucet💰💲│Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│PBE.eu
CRYPTO to FIAT BTC💲💳│ How to Mine XMR/RYO and CN coins + Miners Downloads💰⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON💰⛏
monerobiosedit@gmail.com│✅Did I help you? Give me some +Merit 🤜🤛👌
laik2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 266



View Profile WWW
November 09, 2017, 10:09:14 PM
 #376

Core clock must currently be a minimum of 1225 to *barely* hold 31MH/s consistent. The memory clock I used with my timings was 2200; with the way I did the timings, this memclock is conservative.

EDIT: For the record, this test was not a Claymore run - meaning that if you're using Claymore, your minimum core clock required to achieve 31MH/s (assuming identical memory performance) will be somewhat higher.


Thats similar to micron on rx560...need about 1250MHz core for max hash rate compared to 1100MHz for hynix
Baffins are not limited by core!

Miners Mining Platform [ MMP OS ] - https://app.mmpos.eu/
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 03:35:58 AM
 #377

FUCK XUBUNTU!

That is all....

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 274


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 05:49:56 AM
 #378

Core clock must currently be a minimum of 1225 to *barely* hold 31MH/s consistent. The memory clock I used with my timings was 2200; with the way I did the timings, this memclock is conservative.

EDIT: For the record, this test was not a Claymore run - meaning that if you're using Claymore, your minimum core clock required to achieve 31MH/s (assuming identical memory performance) will be somewhat higher.


Thats similar to micron on rx560...need about 1250MHz core for max hash rate compared to 1100MHz for hynix
Baffins are not limited by core!


Micron one is limited by core, hybix is not (as much)...try to clock it over 2200
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 358


👉MINING-BIOS.eu💲⛏


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2017, 06:33:46 AM
 #379

Core clock must currently be a minimum of 1225 to *barely* hold 31MH/s consistent. The memory clock I used with my timings was 2200; with the way I did the timings, this memclock is conservative.

EDIT: For the record, this test was not a Claymore run - meaning that if you're using Claymore, your minimum core clock required to achieve 31MH/s (assuming identical memory performance) will be somewhat higher.
Have used Claymore kernel or your own?

Dude - the edit explicitly says that I used my own, and as such, the minimum core clock for achieving 31MH/s+ will be higher if Claymore's is being used instead.
Now I see it, how could I read it bad :/ Cheesy

Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.euPBE 1.7PBE 3 PRO👌⛏│AFFILIATE system 10% ref 💰💲BTC│👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ Monero V9 (CNv4) ✅│XMRig AMD🔝⛏ CNv4 ✅
FIAT from BINANCE to REVOLUT 💳│🚀Upcoming/Active ICO list📈🤑│👉Free Bitcoin BTC Faucet💰💲│Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│PBE.eu
CRYPTO to FIAT BTC💲💳│ How to Mine XMR/RYO and CN coins + Miners Downloads💰⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON💰⛏
monerobiosedit@gmail.com│✅Did I help you? Give me some +Merit 🤜🤛👌
laik2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 266



View Profile WWW
November 10, 2017, 08:40:56 AM
 #380

Core clock must currently be a minimum of 1225 to *barely* hold 31MH/s consistent. The memory clock I used with my timings was 2200; with the way I did the timings, this memclock is conservative.

EDIT: For the record, this test was not a Claymore run - meaning that if you're using Claymore, your minimum core clock required to achieve 31MH/s (assuming identical memory performance) will be somewhat higher.


Thats similar to micron on rx560...need about 1250MHz core for max hash rate compared to 1100MHz for hynix
Baffins are not limited by core!


Micron one is limited by core, hybix is not (as much)...try to clock it over 2200
You simply don't make a difference between memory bandwidth bottleneck Smiley

Miners Mining Platform [ MMP OS ] - https://app.mmpos.eu/
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!