Bitcoin Forum
May 29, 2020, 07:28:51 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE][TUTORIAL][XMR,ETH]How To Mod Bios RX470/570/480/580 VEGA Mining 💰⛏  (Read 216879 times)
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 05:27:50 PM
Last edit: November 23, 2017, 06:07:18 PM by bardacuda
 #441

All this Sodom and Gomorrah for 30% more profit... no, thank you very much!

Wut?
I mean all this hell of modding bioses, patching drivers, undervolting, memory types, power limits, fine tuning all this shit, endless bugs... considering all these things constantly changing... and all of this to get at most 30% more profit from mining.

There's definitely a learning curve, but once you understand how to do it, you can just set it and forget it.

Wolf0 I could scratch you behind the ear till your hind leg shakes. That post on the Ethereum forums about how to apply a global voltage offset in the BIOS for Sapphire cards was what I needed.


didn't find it.
would you mind to share a link to this?
thanks

https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/12970/undervolting-through-hex-editor-simplemining

He doesn't explain how to fix the table pointers after you delete the extra bytes from the padding, but gupsterg @ overclock.net has a video for that here:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1621800/would-appreciate-help-in-finding-editing-the-voltage-offset-in-the-rx480-bios/#post_25860237

There's some more info in this thread too:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1605757/vrmtool-a-simple-tool-to-read-and-write-to-i2c-vrm-controllers/

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
1590780531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590780531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590780531
Reply with quote  #2

1590780531
Report to moderator
1590780531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590780531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590780531
Reply with quote  #2

1590780531
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1590780531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590780531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590780531
Reply with quote  #2

1590780531
Report to moderator
1590780531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590780531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590780531
Reply with quote  #2

1590780531
Report to moderator
1590780531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590780531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590780531
Reply with quote  #2

1590780531
Report to moderator
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 358


👉MINING-BIOS.eu💲⛏


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2017, 07:15:16 PM
 #442

Ciao Hello Matthev ... First thank you for publishing this information!
I have two old RX-460 OC 2G Sapphire dual fans, unlocked, I thought of upgrading the BIOS and using the one of the RX-560 and optimizing the BIOS for mining. Do you think it is possible and above all it makes sense?
I'm currently down to 320 h / s in cryptonight sgminer-5.5.5.

I also have an unmodified 4G Sapphire RX-570 that mines at 590 h / s sgminer-5.5.5
Does it make sense to try to modify the BIOS here too?
RX 570 all the way. RX 460 I don't like them, but yeah you can try it I think the released Hynix timing should work with that, not sure if you have Micron how it will work.

Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.euPBE 1.7PBE 3 PRO👌⛏│AFFILIATE system 10% ref 💰💲BTC│👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ Monero V9 (CNv4) ✅│XMRig AMD🔝⛏ CNv4 ✅
FIAT from BINANCE to REVOLUT 💳│🚀Upcoming/Active ICO list📈🤑│👉Free Bitcoin BTC Faucet💰💲│Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│PBE.eu
CRYPTO to FIAT BTC💲💳│ How to Mine XMR/RYO and CN coins + Miners Downloads💰⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON💰⛏
monerobiosedit@gmail.com│✅Did I help you? Give me some +Merit 🤜🤛👌
sebastian5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 10:56:26 AM
 #443

Hello everybody, how is it going?

I own AORUS rx 580 8 gb, hynix, H5GC8H24MJ (H5GC8H24MJR in srbpolaris), using 777000000000000022AA1C00B56A6D46C0551017BE8E060C006AE6000C081420EA8900AB0300000 01B162C31C0313F17 timing strap in 2000 and 2250 mhz.

I've set 2090/1225 and I get 29 mh/s with 0 errors. If I set higher memory clock I get some errors.

I would like to get 30 mh/s can anyone help me, maybe suggesting a better timing strap or if not possible, with a tutorial on how to make a custom timing or any other advices that allow me to get a better hashrate, please?

Has anyone managed to reach a better hashrate with 0 errors with this card?

Thanks
Happy mining
baga105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 11:04:25 AM
 #444

Hi guys. I was wondering what does it mean if HWinfo shows that my GPU has memory error? What can happen with a card which has memory errors? In miner, there are NO incorrect or rejected shares?

Ass, Gas or Grass! No one rides for free!
stef_stef
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 02:22:57 PM
 #445

Anyone to point me to a good 480 nitro+ 4gb samsung bios?

THanks
baga105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 02:29:19 PM
 #446

Anyone to point me to a good 480 nitro+ 4gb samsung bios?

THanks

Pm me..

Ass, Gas or Grass! No one rides for free!
naeme18720
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 06:02:09 AM
 #447

Anyone to point me to a good sappahire 470 nitro+ 4gb hynix
bios?

THanks
Bakhtra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 25, 2017, 10:10:59 AM
 #448

Anyone to point me to a good sappahire 470 nitro+ 4gb hynix
bios?

THanks
You can learn a lot here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1758267.240
droblesa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 26, 2017, 05:48:40 AM
Last edit: November 26, 2017, 06:01:39 AM by droblesa
 #449

I have an XFX RS XXX RX570 with 4G Elpida Memory.  No matter what I do, I can't get over 27.8 MH in Claymore 10.2.  I was able to get my Sapphire Nitro+ RX 570 8G Hynix Memory cards to give me 31.4 HM running at .875mV at the core and memory.  

Is this card just junk for mining or am I missing something?

Overclocking the core makes no difference between 1075 and 1210 other than power so I have it set at the slowest speed possible.
It has EDW4032BAB for Memory.  I can't seem to get it to clock higher than 1950.

This is the timing strap I am currently using at 1750 and 2000

777000000000000022AA1C00315A5B36A0550F15B68C1506004082007C041420CA8980A9020004C 01712262B612B3715

I'm willing to pay if someone can help me.

Thanks.
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 26, 2017, 09:26:03 PM
 #450

Well like I say it's crashing after 5 minutes and I can't use the ROCm kernel anyway (or amdgpu-pro driver either because I'm using Debian now but apparently you don't need that).

When you say it's 0.5Mh/s below Windows do you mean with or without the dag fix?

even with DAG fix the hashrates I get is 0.4-0.5 lower on same card same clocks on win 10.

Just to add to this now that I got it working and have some data...I've been testing 1 of my cards in Linux and it gets 28.5 (reported by Claymore's miner) using practically the same settings (-10MHz on the memory because 2060 seemed unstable), as opposed to 29.5 reported by Claymore in Windows.

GPU # 1 in this screenie:

https://i.imgur.com/pyOzP3i.png

However, the actual effective 24hr avg hash rate on the pool side (AFTER losses from stale shares and Claymore's fee) is consistently slightly higher than the reported hash rate in Windows. Meanwhile the actual effective hash rate of the Windows cards is 5% or more below the reported hash rate.

https://i.imgur.com/pB7tvSo.jpg

That said, Windows does actually seem more stable. I mined for over a month with no signs of stopping until I shut down the rig on purpose to do some maintenance. In Linux it crashes every once in a while even with a slightly lower mem clock and slightly higher power use and temps (so I'm assuming core voltage is slightly higher but I have no way to check for sure). Also no way to monitor GPU memory errors so I'm not sure if the crashes are due to memory clocks/timings or a lack of core voltage.

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 717
Merit: 108



View Profile
November 28, 2017, 05:14:40 AM
 #451

Well like I say it's crashing after 5 minutes and I can't use the ROCm kernel anyway (or amdgpu-pro driver either because I'm using Debian now but apparently you don't need that).

When you say it's 0.5Mh/s below Windows do you mean with or without the dag fix?

even with DAG fix the hashrates I get is 0.4-0.5 lower on same card same clocks on win 10.

Just to add to this now that I got it working and have some data...I've been testing 1 of my cards in Linux and it gets 28.5 (reported by Claymore's miner) using practically the same settings (-10MHz on the memory because 2060 seemed unstable), as opposed to 29.5 reported by Claymore in Windows.

GPU # 1 in this screenie:

https://i.imgur.com/pyOzP3i.png

However, the actual effective 24hr avg hash rate on the pool side (AFTER losses from stale shares and Claymore's fee) is consistently slightly higher than the reported hash rate in Windows. Meanwhile the actual effective hash rate of the Windows cards is 5% or more below the reported hash rate.

https://i.imgur.com/pB7tvSo.jpg

That said, Windows does actually seem more stable. I mined for over a month with no signs of stopping until I shut down the rig on purpose to do some maintenance. In Linux it crashes every once in a while even with a slightly lower mem clock and slightly higher power use and temps (so I'm assuming core voltage is slightly higher but I have no way to check for sure). Also no way to monitor GPU memory errors so I'm not sure if the crashes are due to memory clocks/timings or a lack of core voltage.

For me linux has been more stable than windows.  I believe it depens on the BIOS mod.  The linux drivers don't like some mod value in GPU bios and tends to override them with some value in the driver (or so is what I have read; the powerplay table entries to be precise)  This might not play well with rest of modded values in GPU bios.  I am not an expert though.
bardacuda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 254


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 05:53:48 PM
 #452

Yeah I've noticed that. I can set 950mv in each dpm state and the card will actually use 950mv in windows, but with the same BIOS in Linux it will use stock voltages of around 1150mv. To get around this I've edited the BIOS to just go ahead and use stock voltages for the higher dpm states but added a 287mv negative global offset...but for some reason dpm state 6 is still bugged. If I switch to that state I see the "AvgPwr" show as around 50W (which tells me it is using less than idle voltage) and it will crash. It should be at around 850 - 863mv in that state, just like it does for states 3, 4, 5, etc. but for some reason it doesn't.

It's a real pain in the ass and I haven't ruled that out as a cause for the instability (briefly switching to state 6 for whatever reason). I wish the driver would just do what it's supposed to according to the BIOS but nope. It does what it wants and what it wants is to be a dick.

The future will rely on AI. SingularityNET lets anyone create, monetize, and use AI at scale. From the creators of Sophia the Robot.
Recon200
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 04:57:24 AM
 #453

Hello everyone, how many memory errors are allowed per day? 20 is it a lot or is it normal?
Pennywis3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 330
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 08:07:02 AM
 #454

You should not have any memory errors.

Its the main cause for invalid shares and general instability.

You should aim for 0 here, try lowering mem clocks or a different strap.
Bakhtra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 29, 2017, 09:34:33 AM
 #455

Hello everyone, how many memory errors are allowed per day? 20 is it a lot or is it normal?
I think memory error still good. Whats BAD is hardware error (if using sgminer).
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 717
Merit: 108



View Profile
November 29, 2017, 04:08:24 PM
 #456

Yeah I've noticed that. I can set 950mv in each dpm state and the card will actually use 950mv in windows, but with the same BIOS in Linux it will use stock voltages of around 1150mv. To get around this I've edited the BIOS to just go ahead and use stock voltages for the higher dpm states but added a 287mv negative global offset...but for some reason dpm state 6 is still bugged. If I switch to that state I see the "AvgPwr" show as around 50W (which tells me it is using less than idle voltage) and it will crash. It should be at around 850 - 863mv in that state, just like it does for states 3, 4, 5, etc. but for some reason it doesn't.

It's a real pain in the ass and I haven't ruled that out as a cause for the instability (briefly switching to state 6 for whatever reason). I wish the driver would just do what it's supposed to according to the BIOS but nope. It does what it wants and what it wants is to be a dick.

Yup.  I haven't got into the details with the states.  Just figured it's iffy.
Anyways if you feel adventurous to play aroud with the pp table entries,
https://github.com/kobalicek/amdtweak
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 358


👉MINING-BIOS.eu💲⛏


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2017, 06:08:03 PM
 #457

Hello everyone, how many memory errors are allowed per day? 20 is it a lot or is it normal?
Totally fine.

Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.euPBE 1.7PBE 3 PRO👌⛏│AFFILIATE system 10% ref 💰💲BTC│👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ Monero V9 (CNv4) ✅│XMRig AMD🔝⛏ CNv4 ✅
FIAT from BINANCE to REVOLUT 💳│🚀Upcoming/Active ICO list📈🤑│👉Free Bitcoin BTC Faucet💰💲│Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│PBE.eu
CRYPTO to FIAT BTC💲💳│ How to Mine XMR/RYO and CN coins + Miners Downloads💰⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON💰⛏
monerobiosedit@gmail.com│✅Did I help you? Give me some +Merit 🤜🤛👌
willi9974
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988
Merit: 1168


Escrow Treuhandservice


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 11:20:09 PM
 #458

Hello all,

i get my 6 new cards today and i have the question: can i mod my own bios or is a better bios in the forum for more hashrate and lower the power?

i have sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory



Ist the best way to use your way frome side one in this topic or search a better Bios in the forum and what hashrate are possible with this card by what power drow

Best Regards
Willi

infojunkiePHD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 02:18:55 AM
 #459

Hello all,

i get my 6 new cards today and i have the question: can i mod my own bios or is a better bios in the forum for more hashrate and lower the power?

i have sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory

http://www.bilder-upload.eu/thumb/21a65c-1511996890.gif

Ist the best way to use your way frome side one in this topic or search a better Bios in the forum and what hashrate are possible with this card by what power drow

Best Regards
Willi

I just got 3 of these cards (Yay NewEgg Black Friday Deals!) same elpida memory.  I used the PBE one-click timings on the bios and I'm pretty happy with them.   I'm sure there are better timings out there, but the current numbers aren't too bad and with a new baby I just don't have time to tweak.

I'm getting ~780 with a modest overclock (1250/1970) with SGMiner.  Claymore could get over 800 with the same OC, but it wasn't running stable/reliably.  I'm sure SGminer can match it, I just haven't found the right settings yet.

I haven't checked my power yet as I'm not finished with the build.
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 358


👉MINING-BIOS.eu💲⛏


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2017, 09:07:45 AM
 #460

Hello all,

i get my 6 new cards today and i have the question: can i mod my own bios or is a better bios in the forum for more hashrate and lower the power?

i have sapphire rx 570 nitro+ OC 4GB with Elpida Memory



Ist the best way to use your way frome side one in this topic or search a better Bios in the forum and what hashrate are possible with this card by what power drow

Best Regards
Willi
Sure mod it, you can use whatever guide you want, but at least don't use stock timing straps... You can use the Eliovp timings strap.

Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.euPBE 1.7PBE 3 PRO👌⛏│AFFILIATE system 10% ref 💰💲BTC│👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ Monero V9 (CNv4) ✅│XMRig AMD🔝⛏ CNv4 ✅
FIAT from BINANCE to REVOLUT 💳│🚀Upcoming/Active ICO list📈🤑│👉Free Bitcoin BTC Faucet💰💲│Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│PBE.eu
CRYPTO to FIAT BTC💲💳│ How to Mine XMR/RYO and CN coins + Miners Downloads💰⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON💰⛏
monerobiosedit@gmail.com│✅Did I help you? Give me some +Merit 🤜🤛👌
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!