Bitcoin Forum
August 16, 2018, 02:20:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE][TUTORIAL][XMR,ETH,ETN]How To Mod Bios RX470/570/480/580 VEGA Mining 💰  (Read 191484 times)
zuluman8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 05:24:30 PM
 #701

Hi, newby on the forum here.

I have 2 MSI gaming X RX470 4Gb with hynix memmory. i modded the bios by copying the timings from 1500 to 1750 and 2000.
this was in september 2017. i was getting around 27 Mhs on claymore. since then the hashrate has dropped to 21 Mhs due to the growing dag file (164) currently. now i am reading a lot of you have a RX470 that has significantly higher values than my RX470.

I have win7 64bit. both cards are running 1175/2000 @990mv gpu and 1000mv memmory. getting a steady 21Mh/s on claymore. I have upgraded van 9.7 to 10.2, 10.3, 10.4, 10.5. i tried all drivers even adrenaline and the blockchain drivers. i dont get the compute option in adrenaline and the hashrate stays 21Mh/s with all drivers. temp around 58 degrees celcius at 30% fan speed @ just onder 70W GPU only powerdraw in GPU-Z.

the most weird thing is that the Memmory load controller stays at max 83%. I cant clock the memmory further 9even with stock voltage settings)the memm on one card can go to 2050Mhz but that has no effect on the hasrate. i use watttool 0.92 and when i modify gpu or memmory settings. my current driver is 17.11.4

I get the feeling that 25-26 should be possible. What am i doing wrong?




i found a solution to my problems. i used the robinhood drivers and went back up to 28,5Mhs per card at 1242/2000. tweakedd it back to 1150/1950 -20 powertarget and now at a stable 27,5Mh/s @70 watts per card.

edit: here is the link to the robinhood drivers https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2068446.0

This is interesting to know, I thought that the Robin Hood drivers were created before the official blockchain drivers to overcome some problem with the DAG and that this was fixed in the official blockchain drivers, and subsequent driver releases.

I forgot to mention i have windows 7 and the blockchain drivers or the adrenaline drivers  dont work. I use the pc also as a workstation and i can use citrix office or internet without any problem. I even gamed yesterday with the robinhooddrivers. Mining off ofcourse. I use my 2 rx470 in crossfire. And i have another 2x1050ti in my rig for mining. I game a few hours a week.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534386046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534386046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534386046
Reply with quote  #2

1534386046
Report to moderator
1534386046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534386046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534386046
Reply with quote  #2

1534386046
Report to moderator
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 305


MINING-BIOS.eu 💲⛏


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2018, 05:26:59 PM
Merited by Call_Me_Bambi (1)
 #702

Hi, newby on the forum here.

I have 2 MSI gaming X RX470 4Gb with hynix memmory. i modded the bios by copying the timings from 1500 to 1750 and 2000.
this was in september 2017. i was getting around 27 Mhs on claymore. since then the hashrate has dropped to 21 Mhs due to the growing dag file (164) currently. now i am reading a lot of you have a RX470 that has significantly higher values than my RX470.

I have win7 64bit. both cards are running 1175/2000 @990mv gpu and 1000mv memmory. getting a steady 21Mh/s on claymore. I have upgraded van 9.7 to 10.2, 10.3, 10.4, 10.5. i tried all drivers even adrenaline and the blockchain drivers. i dont get the compute option in adrenaline and the hashrate stays 21Mh/s with all drivers. temp around 58 degrees celcius at 30% fan speed @ just onder 70W GPU only powerdraw in GPU-Z.

the most weird thing is that the Memmory load controller stays at max 83%. I cant clock the memmory further 9even with stock voltage settings)the memm on one card can go to 2050Mhz but that has no effect on the hasrate. i use watttool 0.92 and when i modify gpu or memmory settings. my current driver is 17.11.4

I get the feeling that 25-26 should be possible. What am i doing wrong?




i found a solution to my problems. i used the robinhood drivers and went back up to 28,5Mhs per card at 1242/2000. tweakedd it back to 1150/1950 -20 powertarget and now at a stable 27,5Mh/s @70 watts per card.

edit: here is the link to the robinhood drivers https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2068446.0

This is interesting to know, I thought that the Robin Hood drivers were created before the official blockchain drivers to overcome some problem with the DAG and that this was fixed in the official blockchain drivers, and subsequent driver releases.

I forgot to mention i have windows 7 and the blockchain drivers or the adrenaline drivers  dont work. I use the pc also as a workstation and i can use citrix office or internet without any problem. I even gamed yesterday with the robinhooddrivers. Mining off ofcourse. I use my 2 rx470 in crossfire. And i have another 2x1050ti in my rig for mining. I game a few hours a week.
Blochain drivers are for Windowsn 7 too. You should use Windows 10. For mining disable crossfire.

Buy Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.eu, PBE PRO 2.2👌⛏, NEW AFFILIATE system with 10% ref rates! 💰💲 Make crypto by recommending bios and PBE to others │
👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ miner, 1% dev fee │Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON + Miners Downloads ⛏
Bios mods and performance timings Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│🆘 Did I help you? Hit +Merit on my post. 🤜🤛👌
Bigdrago
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 06:11:44 PM
 #703

Thanks for this nice tutorial.

I got a bunch of 570 (4gb and 8gb). I will check their memory brand. Would you recommend me keeping only samsung and return the rest?

My plan:
Using win 10
newest drivers from amd (compute mode)
Download bios from anorak (should I choose the powersave ones)?

What software would u recommend for tuning volt and OC? I will set fan to auto.
serhanni
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
January 31, 2018, 09:04:29 PM
 #704

Thanks for this nice tutorial.

I got a bunch of 570 (4gb and 8gb). I will check their memory brand. Would you recommend me keeping only samsung and return the rest?

My plan:
Using win 10
newest drivers from amd (compute mode)
Download bios from anorak (should I choose the powersave ones)?

What software would u recommend for tuning volt and OC? I will set fan to auto.
İf you have time, read whole thread. There are lots of info. For bios you can check Mattthew's store. He has good bios for both eth and xmr.

mshordja
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2018, 11:57:39 AM
 #705

17mh/s sounds like your card isn´t running in compute mode. You need to change this in the AMD Settings.
Global settings -->gaming-->GPU workload-->switch fro gaming to computing.
any possibility to change all the GPU to compute without going to change one by one?

BSAlex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 09:43:45 PM
 #706

17mh/s sounds like your card isn´t running in compute mode. You need to change this in the AMD Settings.
Global settings -->gaming-->GPU workload-->switch fro gaming to computing.
any possibility to change all the GPU to compute without going to change one by one?

Yepp. Several possibilities: Ethos, Simpleming OS, HIVE OS. I prefer the last cause it can run AMD and NVIDIA along in single system ;-)
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 106


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 10:15:48 PM
 #707

17mh/s sounds like your card isn´t running in compute mode. You need to change this in the AMD Settings.
Global settings -->gaming-->GPU workload-->switch fro gaming to computing.
any possibility to change all the GPU to compute without going to change one by one?

Yepp. Several possibilities: Ethos, Simpleming OS, HIVE OS. I prefer the last cause it can run AMD and NVIDIA along in single system ;-)

You can pretty much run both together in any ubuntu 16.04.  I am surprised that Ethos and SMOS doesn't allow mining both together.
BSAlex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 10:22:10 PM
 #708

17mh/s sounds like your card isn´t running in compute mode. You need to change this in the AMD Settings.
Global settings -->gaming-->GPU workload-->switch fro gaming to computing.
any possibility to change all the GPU to compute without going to change one by one?

Yepp. Several possibilities: Ethos, Simpleming OS, HIVE OS. I prefer the last cause it can run AMD and NVIDIA along in single system ;-)

You can pretty much run both together in any ubuntu 16.04.  I am surprised that Ethos and SMOS doesn't allow mining both together.

I think it is easier to manage overclocking and watchdogs when you have only one video driver in OS. Both systems recommend to disable onboard video. I've read reports that people run AMD along with Nvidia in Ethos but with issues. And good mining OS must be rock stable.
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 106


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 10:26:34 PM
 #709

17mh/s sounds like your card isn´t running in compute mode. You need to change this in the AMD Settings.
Global settings -->gaming-->GPU workload-->switch fro gaming to computing.
any possibility to change all the GPU to compute without going to change one by one?

Yepp. Several possibilities: Ethos, Simpleming OS, HIVE OS. I prefer the last cause it can run AMD and NVIDIA along in single system ;-)

You can pretty much run both together in any ubuntu 16.04.  I am surprised that Ethos and SMOS doesn't allow mining both together.

I think it is easier to manage overclocking and watchdogs when you have only one video driver in OS. Both systems recommend to disable onboard video. I've read reports that people run AMD along with Nvidia in Ethos but with issues. And good mining OS must be rock stable.

I see.  In my personal experience on Win 10 1709 version.  With AMD blockchain, Nvidia and intel onboard drivers I only faced issues with overclocking using claymore config bat.  I had random crashes, thread stuck in driver BSOD even when I knew the card runs without memory errors.  I switched back to OverdriveNTool and haven't faced BSODs like crazy when using claymore oc.
I was using xubuntu without issues.  However, hashrates were lower 0.3-0.5 per card on linux compared to windows and on Cryptonight the hashrate difference was over 100 H/s per card (using two threads didn't show any improvement in linux while it did in windows).
lordvek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 11:58:57 PM
 #710

I have some MSI RX470 mining edition. Opened the original BIOS in Polaris editor and...


What's wrong with the timing frequences?  Shocked
Or is it and I'm missing something?
The hashrate for e.g. ZEC and XMR is similar to benchmarks found on the web,
but ETH can oscillate from 18 to 26  Sad

640 KB of memory should be enough for everybody(c)
BSAlex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 04, 2018, 12:45:36 PM
 #711


I see.  In my personal experience on Win 10 1709 version.  With AMD blockchain, Nvidia and intel onboard drivers I only faced issues with overclocking using claymore config bat.  I had random crashes, thread stuck in driver BSOD even when I knew the card runs without memory errors.  I switched back to OverdriveNTool and haven't faced BSODs like crazy when using claymore oc.
I was using xubuntu without issues.  However, hashrates were lower 0.3-0.5 per card on linux compared to windows and on Cryptonight the hashrate difference was over 100 H/s per card (using two threads didn't show any improvement in linux while it did in windows).

I get the same hashrates with RX570 4Gb and mining-oriented Linux version HIVE Os. 29.5M for ETH, 940 H/s for Cryptonight.
No hassle OC. Strange but in Windows I have to run at 950 mV and in Linux was able to set as low as 875. Never bothered to check for actual GPU voltages.
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 248
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 04, 2018, 03:57:12 PM
 #712


I see.  In my personal experience on Win 10 1709 version.  With AMD blockchain, Nvidia and intel onboard drivers I only faced issues with overclocking using claymore config bat.  I had random crashes, thread stuck in driver BSOD even when I knew the card runs without memory errors.  I switched back to OverdriveNTool and haven't faced BSODs like crazy when using claymore oc.
I was using xubuntu without issues.  However, hashrates were lower 0.3-0.5 per card on linux compared to windows and on Cryptonight the hashrate difference was over 100 H/s per card (using two threads didn't show any improvement in linux while it did in windows).

I get the same hashrates with RX570 4Gb and mining-oriented Linux version HIVE Os. 29.5M for ETH, 940 H/s for Cryptonight.
No hassle OC. Strange but in Windows I have to run at 950 mV and in Linux was able to set as low as 875. Never bothered to check for actual GPU voltages.



Are Cryptonight speeds faster in linux?

I have 2 470 4 Gb cards that do almost 30 MH/s on ETH, but max 880 in Cryptonight and that is with Claymore's, less with XMR-stak for instance.

★★★ INTENSE COIN ★★★
BLOCKCHAIN BACKED DECENTRALISED P2P VPN
MediumTwitterSlackDiscordRedditFacebookWhitepaperBitcointalk Ann
BSAlex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 10:12:44 AM
 #713


I see.  In my personal experience on Win 10 1709 version.  With AMD blockchain, Nvidia and intel onboard drivers I only faced issues with overclocking using claymore config bat.  I had random crashes, thread stuck in driver BSOD even when I knew the card runs without memory errors.  I switched back to OverdriveNTool and haven't faced BSODs like crazy when using claymore oc.
I was using xubuntu without issues.  However, hashrates were lower 0.3-0.5 per card on linux compared to windows and on Cryptonight the hashrate difference was over 100 H/s per card (using two threads didn't show any improvement in linux while it did in windows).

I get the same hashrates with RX570 4Gb and mining-oriented Linux version HIVE Os. 29.5M for ETH, 940 H/s for Cryptonight.
No hassle OC. Strange but in Windows I have to run at 950 mV and in Linux was able to set as low as 875. Never bothered to check for actual GPU voltages.



Are Cryptonight speeds faster in linux?

I have 2 470 4 Gb cards that do almost 30 MH/s on ETH, but max 880 in Cryptonight and that is with Claymore's, less with XMR-stak for instance.

Don't think so. Usually people report the same or lower hash rates, but much more stability and so less downtime.
Zeemalik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 07, 2018, 01:52:49 PM
 #714

i have tried 3.1 and 3.2 also but i'm still getting 22.1mhs
i have xfx rx580 8gb samsung memory
help me
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 305


MINING-BIOS.eu 💲⛏


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2018, 11:59:20 AM
 #715

i have tried 3.1 and 3.2 also but i'm still getting 22.1mhs
i have xfx rx580 8gb samsung memory
help me

Compute workload

Buy Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.eu, PBE PRO 2.2👌⛏, NEW AFFILIATE system with 10% ref rates! 💰💲 Make crypto by recommending bios and PBE to others │
👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ miner, 1% dev fee │Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON + Miners Downloads ⛏
Bios mods and performance timings Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│🆘 Did I help you? Hit +Merit on my post. 🤜🤛👌
Techgtv
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 12:51:16 AM
 #716

Hi Mattthev,

I bought and downloaded your PBE, but when i use it on my XFX 570 8GB RS XXX edition with Hynix memory. they stop working after the bios mod. You got any idea what i can try to solve this? I like the idea of your program, to get decent OC/undervolts etc without me messing around for days, and that's why i bought it.

They give an error 43 after the bios flash and they always do it untill i flip the switch to go mining bios and reflash the original back onto switch position 1.

I can provide you with an original bios file ofcourse if you want to take a look at it.
burntmytoast
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 01:08:56 AM
 #717

Hi Mattthev,

I bought and downloaded your PBE, but when i use it on my XFX 570 8GB RS XXX edition with Hynix memory. they stop working after the bios mod. You got any idea what i can try to solve this? I like the idea of your program, to get decent OC/undervolts etc without me messing around for days, and that's why i bought it.

They give an error 43 after the bios flash and they always do it untill i flip the switch to go mining bios and reflash the original back onto switch position 1.

I can provide you with an original bios file ofcourse if you want to take a look at it.

You need to use pixel patcher right after you flash your bios and before you restart your computer. It will fix the driver so you will no longer get error 43. Trust me, it is all you need to do.
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 106


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 01:09:37 AM
 #718

Hi Mattthev,

I bought and downloaded your PBE, but when i use it on my XFX 570 8GB RS XXX edition with Hynix memory. they stop working after the bios mod. You got any idea what i can try to solve this? I like the idea of your program, to get decent OC/undervolts etc without me messing around for days, and that's why i bought it.

They give an error 43 after the bios flash and they always do it untill i flip the switch to go mining bios and reflash the original back onto switch position 1.

I can provide you with an original bios file ofcourse if you want to take a look at it.

did you atidmag patch the card after the BIOS mod?
https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher
Techgtv
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 03:13:37 AM
 #719

@Both of the previous replies,

wow that was dumb, i think i just kinda forgot about it and i redid everything and all worked out.

Running a solid 168 MH/s with 6 cards on 875Watts.

I do have a question tho, is there much of a different between power saving mode or OC/Undervolt mode in the PBE 2.1?

I kinda don't want to do all my cards again right now that i got everything working just to find out it doesn't change much Cheesy
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 106


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 04:39:42 AM
 #720

@Both of the previous replies,

wow that was dumb, i think i just kinda forgot about it and i redid everything and all worked out.

Running a solid 168 MH/s with 6 cards on 875Watts.

I do have a question tho, is there much of a different between power saving mode or OC/Undervolt mode in the PBE 2.1?

I kinda don't want to do all my cards again right now that i got everything working just to find out it doesn't change much Cheesy

Is the PBE 2.1 Mattthev exclusive version?  If so then I guess he should be best person to answer that question.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!